Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

AluShield Aerosol Bandage

Item #20749
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save 5% (Details)

days
You'll save $ per shipment, or $ per year!
(Discounted price will be reflected in your cart)
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The AluShield Aerosol Bandage is the fastest and easiest way to protect wounds without having to wrap bandage on horses.  The unique aerosol formula protects wounds from water, dirt, debris, bacteria, and insects, while still allowing them to breathe.

Made in the USA

Favorite Features

  • Safe for use on dogs
  • No need for a bandage
  • Allows wounds to breathe

Sizing

2.6oz
What Customers Say:

Ingredients

Aluminum powder, 40 mg/gram.

 

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Apply A Thin Layer Of Allushield To The Affected Area
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This A must in all ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This A must in all barns! Strong, conformable veterinary tape for securing bandages and other applications. Made in USA Favorite Features     • Convenient, custom fit around hard-to-tape areas     • Durable, strong backing ...
    "Absorbine Fungasol Ointment is proven effective to help ...
    Description:
    "Absorbine Fungasol Ointment is proven effective to help combat bacterial and fungal skin conditions such as rain rot, ringworm, girth itch, wound bacteria, and more! This product contains soothing Melaleuca Alternifolia Leaf (tea Tree) oil and other ingredients known for ...
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, ...
    Description:
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, making it a great all-around addition to your first-aid kit! Its non-irritating formula works well on wounds, lacerations, post-surgical wound care, fungal infections, scratches, white-line disease, thrush, rain rot and more. Made ...
    "Find out what Veterinarians have known for years! ...
    Description:
    "Find out what Veterinarians have known for years! DERMAfas® Veterinary Wound Cream is great for treating cuts, abrasions, burns, ear plaque, and summer itch. The patented amino-acid vitamin complex formula has proven successful in supplementing and encouraging natural regeneration of ...
    "Add our Equiderma Skin Lotion to your favorite ...
    Description:
    "Add our Equiderma Skin Lotion to your favorite must have’s and you’ll have a new champion by your side. With power, predictably and gentle grace it will quickly conquer the skin problems that leave your horse uncomfortable. Rain rot, scratches, ...
    "Use Equiderma Zinc Oxide Paste as a first ...
    Description:
    "Use Equiderma Zinc Oxide Paste as a first aid in the treatment of pastern dermatitis, commonly known as scratches, greasy heel, dew poisoning, or mud fever, and skin problems associated with sunburn. One of the problems we face when we ...
    "Equi-Essentials Standing Bandages work perfectly over any type ...
    Description:
    "Equi-Essentials Standing Bandages work perfectly over any type of quilt for a safe, protective wrap for your horses legs. The smooth material is easy to handle and color-fast, with strong hook and loop fastener for a secure closure. Come as ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    AluShield Aerosol Bandage is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Please make this in ointment form! My horse hated the spray feature so much that I gave up using this after a few tries. Too bad, as the few times I could get it on him really seemed to help with healing.
    Date published: 2017-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is very easy to use I have used it on a cut on her fetlock and it has cleared up really well. Even while going through water.
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like magic! I tried a friend's spray and immediately ordered some for myself. Works like magic, making a seal that lasts over cuts!
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to This is my go-to treatment for minor cuts and abrasions. Ointments wear off in a matter of hours, this stays on for DAYS, which is great when I can't make it out to the barn every day. Keeps water and flies off while the wound heals.
    Date published: 2016-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PRODUCT I have been using this product for several years. After washing out any superficial wounds, dry gently then spray on the AluShield. This is the most effective and practical way to keep wounds clean while they heal. My horses are proud to be covered in silver!
    Date published: 2016-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product! I bought this when my horse sustained a cut on the inside of one hind leg, not deep enough for stitches but not just a superficial surface cut. After being cleaned, keeping a layer of ointment under VetWrap wasn't helping with the healing process, it just kept losing the scab. With this product, I could spray Banixx wound spray on it, let that partially dry, then spray the aerosol bandage over it. The healing process sped up 200%, the bump around the cut went away, and I'm essentially just waiting for the hair to grow back. What an amazingly easy to use, effective product. Totally worth keeping a bottle in your horse's first aid kit, I know I'll be making sure to never run out!
    Date published: 2016-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My go to go to product for small wounds. recommended by our vet.
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! Works very well on tough areas to bandage and keeping moisture out.
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Effective. This is a great "liquid" bandage for hard-to-protect areas like bed/rolling sores. The aluminum formula helps to dry out a wound as well as keeping the flies off.
    Date published: 2016-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product i used this when my horse stepped on herself and part of her heal ripped off. The alushield helped keep it clean and it healed up great.
    Date published: 2016-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I've used Alushield for quite a while. It never lets me down ! It works really well for spots that you need medicated but not necessarily moisturized. We also use Corono ointment which is another great product but can keep the wound too soft at times. This go around I needed Alushield after 3 of our horses came back to us in rough Shape after unexpected shipping issues. This product helped protect their cuts and scrapes and still allowed them to be turned out without having everything stick to them! When showing in Florida or traverse city alushield is also fantastic if you have a horse prone to scratches !
    Date published: 2016-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stuff! This aerosol bandage is phenomenal! After cleaning the wound and dressing with any ointment or gel needed, you simply spray a light cover over the wound for an amazing protective layer. The wound stays clean and dry and healing is definitely enhanced. Love it!
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best wound spray of all. I've used this spray numerous times over the years. It is incredibly useful to have in your barn for cuts, scrapes, etc. I've sprayed this on wounds that were deep enough to be borderline suture/vet call. It is really impressive. It's looks like you are spraying on silver metallic paint and you think how can this work, but it does! Clean and treat daily till it's healed. I've thrown out any other wound treatments. Fantastic product to just keep on hand.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I was introduced to this stuff by my veterinarian when my grey had a melanoma on his tail that ulcerated (he swears by it). I was impressed not only by how easy it is to apply, but also how well it works to keep out dirt and debris while the wound healed. I was given another can by the surgeon who did the laser removal of the same melanoma two years later and it has been a staple in my barn ever since.
    Date published: 2016-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covers easily Great to cover small cuts and scrapes stays on very well
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! I couldn't be happier with how well this aerosol bandage works. I've been fighting with a fetlock sore on my guy's right front leg for a couple of months - despite deeper bedding and putting a wrap on at night - it just wasn't getting better. Until I started using this!
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Stuff! This is my go-to first aid product for cuts and scrapes. I have a very accident prone thoroughbred and keep a can of this in my grooming tote. I squirt wounds with a bit of hydrogen peroxide, pat dry with clean gauze, then apply this spray. Things tend to heal very quickly for me with this method. I love that it's not sticky, so it doesn't attract dirt and grime like ointments and creams do. It also stays on well. It usually lasts at least a day and is quick to reapply. I used it on one of my dogs recently, too (the can says it's fine for dogs). He had scraped open the top of his snout. It was an impossible place to bandage and he kept scratching it open and getting dirt in it. I was on the verge of taking him to the vet when I decided to try one last thing - I cleaned it with peroxide and sprayed AluShield on it and the next day the seeping had stopped and it healed very quickly after that.
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick to Heal My quarter horse had a sore which was continually aggravated when he laid down. I used AluShield Aerosol Bandage and in three days it had healed up to 75% and one more use took care of his sore. It has not come back and he's comfortable once again.
    Date published: 2015-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go-to wound bandage Love this liquid bandage. This is my go-to covering for all open wounds. I usually clean and treat the wound, then spray this over it to form a flexible band-aid to keep out flies and dirt. Works and great and really stays on.
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product and esdy to apply I love how easy this goes on and protects the wound.
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Emergency Bandage I have actually used this product, years ago in human medicine. Works great. Sometimes the location of a wound does not warrant a dressing. this does the trick.
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great at what it does My horse had a run-in with a fence. Two layers of stitches (internal musculature & external skin). We used this to keep it clean and covered. It worked well and stayed put. I love alushield. It's a great product and I'm very happy with it. I've used it in the past and in summer, keeps bugs/dust out of injuries as well.
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly effective My mare had a significant abrasion on the side of her face. After cleansing the wound site, someone at the barn gave this to me to try. Looks 'weird' when applied. Never used this type of product before. Well, the result was beautiful! The wound was well protected and remained clean, and allowed quick healing. Never a hint of inflammation or infection. Had to buy a can of my own for my first-aid kit to have on hand!!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have First Aid After my colt was castrated my vet recommended using this to keep his incisions clean and tidy. It worked great! This is a must have in any barn first aid kit!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AluShield Aerosol Bandage This product has done a great jub! I've tried 4 or 5 products, which have all failed, on a particularly hard cut/sore. There was no way to wrab it and the horse kept rubbing/itching it raw. This must have soothed it enough that it is starting to heal!!
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for small cuts Living in Florida its a must. Once the summer sores are healing, I put that on to protect it from the flies, but found it was important to apply a few times during the day
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hard to bandage areas I've been using AluShield for years. My main use is on a horse who has photosensitivity on her white hairs (her blaze), and gets sunburned. While we keep a long nose fly mask on her year round, the AluShield is a great protectant under the mask. We also use it for scrapes and abrasions. When it dries, it's not sticky, so it doesn't attract dirt.
    Date published: 2014-10-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to use. My trainer used this on my mare's leg wound, so I purchased another can to use when I brought her home. It works well on areas that are difficult to bandage. I used it twice a day and it kept the wound free from dirt and flies. She healed up well.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on anywhere. I use AluShield on those hard to protect booboos that regular bandaging just can't cover. Wounds heal fast and flies hate this stuff!
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for fly sores I used this on fly sores and it's great. It keeps the flies off (even kills them if they're on there when you apply it) and isn't gloopy like the fly deterrent salves.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_10749, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders