Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

AluShield Aerosol Bandage

Item #20749

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The AluShield Aerosol Bandage is the fastest and easiest way to protect wounds without having to wrap bandage on horses.  The unique aerosol formula protects wounds from water, dirt, debris, bacteria, and insects, while still allowing them to breathe.

Favorite Features

  • Safe for use on dogs
  • No need for a bandage
  • Allows wounds to breathe

Sizing It Up

2.6oz

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Elastikon Bandage Tape is high twist, cotton ...
    Description:
    The Elastikon Bandage Tape is high twist, cotton elastic cloth tape with a rubber-based adhesive. Designed to help provide the elasticity needed for dynamic pressure dressing. Favorite Features Conforms to difficult areas. Perfect for keeping flexible bandages, like Vetrap and ...
    We Love This PowerFlex Bandages offer superior strength ...
    Description:
    We Love This PowerFlex Bandages offer superior strength and performance with abrasion and wear resistance up to five times that of any other support bandage. Provides dense protective padding that is soft, lightweight, and comfortable. For use with horses, dogs, ...
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    AluShield Aerosol Bandage is rated 4.8684 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Emergency Bandage I have actually used this product, years ago in human medicine. Works great. Sometimes the location of a wound does not warrant a dressing. this does the trick.
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great at what it does My horse had a run-in with a fence. Two layers of stitches (internal musculature & external skin). We used this to keep it clean and covered. It worked well and stayed put. I love alushield. It's a great product and I'm very happy with it. I've used it in the past and in summer, keeps bugs/dust out of injuries as well.
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly effective My mare had a significant abrasion on the side of her face. After cleansing the wound site, someone at the barn gave this to me to try. Looks 'weird' when applied. Never used this type of product before. Well, the result was beautiful! The wound was well protected and remained clean, and allowed quick healing. Never a hint of inflammation or infection. Had to buy a can of my own for my first-aid kit to have on hand!!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have First Aid After my colt was castrated my vet recommended using this to keep his incisions clean and tidy. It worked great! This is a must have in any barn first aid kit!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AluShield Aerosol Bandage This product has done a great jub! I've tried 4 or 5 products, which have all failed, on a particularly hard cut/sore. There was no way to wrab it and the horse kept rubbing/itching it raw. This must have soothed it enough that it is starting to heal!!
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for small cuts Living in Florida its a must. Once the summer sores are healing, I put that on to protect it from the flies, but found it was important to apply a few times during the day
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hard to bandage areas I've been using AluShield for years. My main use is on a horse who has photosensitivity on her white hairs (her blaze), and gets sunburned. While we keep a long nose fly mask on her year round, the AluShield is a great protectant under the mask. We also use it for scrapes and abrasions. When it dries, it's not sticky, so it doesn't attract dirt.
    Date published: 2014-10-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to use. My trainer used this on my mare's leg wound, so I purchased another can to use when I brought her home. It works well on areas that are difficult to bandage. I used it twice a day and it kept the wound free from dirt and flies. She healed up well.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on anywhere. I use AluShield on those hard to protect booboos that regular bandaging just can't cover. Wounds heal fast and flies hate this stuff!
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for fly sores I used this on fly sores and it's great. It keeps the flies off (even kills them if they're on there when you apply it) and isn't gloopy like the fly deterrent salves.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Super convenient. My horse could care less during application. Super results fast
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for grey horses I buy alushield regularly for everyday cuts, but its also great for when my grey show horse gets rubs or scars as it hides the mark.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works without the mess of balms I love this product it works wonders on small to moderate cuts and scrapes, heals them up quickly without the mess. I have a mostly white paint who's always getting nicks and scratches. My only complaint would be that the aerosol aspect of the product tends to clog after a while. That being said a can usually lasts me up to a year.
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to apply; keeps scrapes clean I got this to use on my older Quarter Horse who often gets scrapes that need cleaning but bandages don't stay on well. AluShield is handy to apply after cleaning off dirt, etc. It stays on and keeps dirt and flies off the scraped skin.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product Helped a lot with a large hock sore. Kept out bugs and gave it a chance to heal from the inside.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is amazing!!! I seriously love this stuff for my mare! Not only do I use it for wounds, it works amazing for scratches/mud fever! My horse has horrible scratches and this has really helped. I love it and recommend it so much that practically my whole barn is using it now :)
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product for wounds!! I used Alushield for the first time last night after two of our mares got pretty banged up from running through the trees. This is the greatest product to protect the cuts and lasts through the humid weather we are having here in Central Texas! I am so happy my friend recommended it and will be adding this to our First Aid box!
    Date published: 2014-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff!!! My mare had a sore on the back of her pastern that just wouldn't heal. She comes inside at night, but has 12 hours of turnout per day. Seemed like whatever was getting into the sore during the day prevented it from healing. Not wanting to put her on stall rest for a little sore, I tried all kinds of salves, kept it clean after turnout, and tried bandaging it. Nothing worked. Tried the AluShield (after thoroughly cleaning it and drying it)....one application was all that was needed!!! No more swelling or oozing. It healed right up!
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works fast My Trainer recommended this to my since my horse is so sensitive to flys
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool, Quick and easy This product is excellent for surface cuts and abrasions and does not inhibit regrowth of hair.
    Date published: 2013-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Helps with Healing It's rainy season here in Florida and my horse got a small cut on the bulb of this back heel, a tough spot to heal. I put a salve on the spot then sprayed with AluShield and the moisture was reduced greatly so the cut could heal nicely. This is great stuff!
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from must have This wound spray is great for "bed sores" on hocks and elsewhere. It lasts for a few days, and also keeps the flies away. It's a good value if you use it judiciously.
    Date published: 2013-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellend wound care product! I have used AluShield for over 10 years, and it is definitely my go-to product for minor wound care. Every time I see a scrape or cut, I pull out a bottle of iodine, along with a can of AluShield. This is a great product to keep bugs, flies, dirt, debree & bedding out of a cut while it heals. It is especially great during warm months that are extra buggy. With 2 youngsters who constantly like to nip & roughhouse when they play, AluShield is a must have in my barn first aid kit!
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product This is a terrific wound spray. It also acts as a barrier and prevents flys from coming in contact with the wound.
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Genius! I love this product, and am glad Smartpak has it now (I used to get it from my vet). My young OTTB's are very accident prone, and this protects small wounds, still lets it heal and form a scab, and is so easy once you get the hang of the aerosol. (You might turn your fingers silver at first). Your horse might resemble the tin-man if it's big scrape or something, but I couldn't live without this.
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad SmartPak carries this! I am SO glad SmartPak is carrying this product. This is one of those products I cannot live without. My mare is to put it nicely "accident prone." Despite living in a safe stall and being t/o in a safe paddock, she is constantly coming in with cuts and scrapes. I used to use antibiotic cream on her owwies, but that prevented a good scab from forming, which I didn't like. This stuff is amazing!!! Keeps the wound clean and dry and allows a scab to form nicely. Also lasts a solid two days without needing to be reapplied, which is great for me as a boarder who works full time. Definitely give it a try. It's one of those products you will always have on hand.
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Field Board MUST-HAVE My barn has mostly field board, and this summer many of the horses got minor cuts and scrapes, and the question was always "Where is the spray stuff?" This is a MUST-HAVE. No matter what the cut looks like, I always feel better once my horse has been sprayed with it.
    Date published: 2012-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT!!! This is a great product! It is perfect for a horse that lives outside. It creates a bit of a protective barrier. Keeps the wound clean and dry and doesnt attract dirt like some of the ointments!
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute Barn Staple! This is one of the main products that it an absolute "must have" in my first aid kit. Its the perfect thing for most minor cuts and scrapes. Definitely a barn favorite!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep this on hand! I recommend that everyone have this around their barn. It is perfect for protecting scrapes - especially from insects. It takes a little getting use to the aeresol spray - the first time I got silver spray all over. I too am thrilled to see SmartPak carrying this!
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    • 2016-02-11T15:38CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_35
    • loc_en_US, sid_10749, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.