Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Alexus Riding Top by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #21209
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Alexus Riding Top is perfect for the all show rings! Even a sharp shirt for schooling with full 50+ UPF and protection against 98% of harmful UV rays. This top features a stand up collar and double layered cuffs which offer a traditional look under your show coat with completely non-traditional, technical fabric that's almost too good to be true. A blend of 92% polyester and 8% spandex fabric moves with you and stretches over every big oxer or extended trot- perfect for every discipline! 


Favorite Features 

  • Hidden snap closures in collar and cuffs provide a polished look in or out of the show ring  
  • Longer length stays tucked into your riding pants
  • 50+ UPV rating (the highest rating available) protects your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays during those long days at the barn in the hot summer sun
  • Stylish side panels and placket with contrasting colors makes this shirt fun and stylish in the show ring or schooling ring

Sizing It Up

XS (0-2)
S (4-6)
M (8-10)
L (12-14)
XL (16)
2XL (18)

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Our SmartPak line just got a lot more stylish! Throw ...
    Description:
    Our SmartPak line just got a lot more stylish! Throw on the SmartPak Merino Wool ¼ Zip Top with your favorite breeches and you're set for the barn or horse show. Made from a Merino Wool blend, the SmartPak ¼ zip top is sure ...
    The Equine Couture Kelsey Show Shirt delivers the ...
    Description:
    The Equine Couture Kelsey Show Shirt delivers the best of both worlds - traditional style AND cutting-edge performance. You CAN have it all! Woven subtle pinstripe front, collar, and cuffs provides the classic look you want in the show ring ...
    Here at SmartPak we like creating great things ...
    Description:
    Here at SmartPak we like creating great things for our customers, which is why we've made this shirt for you! Made from a flexible polyester and spandex blend, this shirt oozes maximum comfort. The SmartPak Trifecta 1/4 Zip Top has ...
    The Kerrits No Fault Show Shirt is cool, ...
    Description:
    The Kerrits No Fault Show Shirt is cool, classy and a little exotic, this top's a whole different animal for the show ring. We gave ventilation a little va-voom by combining fine mesh with textured "animal" fabric. And, the printed ...
    A stylish and classic show shirt with a ...
    Description:
    A stylish and classic show shirt with a twist! The Pikeur Star Riding Top is made with the quality and standard that you've come to know and expect from Pikeur. Featuring a nice bling logo on the left chest, the ...
    Look smart in this form-fitting, long sleeve shirt ...
    Description:
    Look smart in this form-fitting, long sleeve shirt and feel even smarter knowing that it is protecting your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays. This shirt's lightweight, Australian Versatex material offers the best sun protection available, so you can ...
    Look smart in this form-fitting, short sleeve shirt, ...
    Description:
    Look smart in this form-fitting, short sleeve shirt, and feel even smarter knowing that it is protecting your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays. With a UPF rating of 50+, the SunShield Short Sleeve Shirt by SmartPak is lightweight ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Alexus Riding Top by SmartPak is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 30.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sad to Return... RUNS LARGE I am sending this shirt back after I received it today... It is the most wonderful material and the style and (eggplant) color are drool worthy, but it is just too big to ever look neat under my show coat in the hunters. I am very disappointed because I ordered the XS and I am 5'4 and 110 lbs... If they ever come out with a XXS, I will be the first to order. Everything about the shirt was beautifully done except for the sizing... such a shame ),:
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice shirt for cooler climates! I bought this shirt for my daughter. I read all of the reviews and took the advice. I ordered a size smaller than usual and the shirt fits just right. The material is thick which is perfect for Fall and Winter showing in Connecticut. In addition, the collar isn't too tight and not too loose...it looks great under her show coat.
    Date published: 2015-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely shirt but too heavy! I ordered this because of the UPF rating--it's a great looking shirt for lessons, showing, etc. Unfortunately, it's much heavier than I was expecting and it's certainly too heavy for Florida. Probably very nice in cooler climates.
    Date published: 2015-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Shirt! I immediately loved this shirt from the moment I tried it on. The material isn't too thin, like a lot of the other show shirts, and is not as see through. That being said, it isn't as cool as some of the other shirts either, but is perfect for spring riding in CA. The shirt does run big...I am usually a small (5'9"/130LBS) and this is a bit baggy. If you are between sizes, I would order a size down. I can't comment on the durability since I have not worn it riding yet, however, the material is nice and does not seem "cheap."
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really large sizing! Got such a good price on this that I thought I would go ahead and try it, despite reviews that said it ran large and was a heavy weight. It should work well for Winter riding under layers. Maybe for early Spring / Fall days...definitely not Summer. The sleeves are so long I double the cuffs over to fit. Might try to shrink it on purpose
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit After several months and technical show shirts later I found one I love!
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs big I typically wear a large, this fits more like an xl but it tucks in nicely. Sleeves are big at the wrists and an odd memory foam.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking shirt Bought one for myself, and one for my trainer as a gift. We both love them! Looks really sharp, especially cuffs on shirts. Fits well. Very comfortable with breathable fabric and mesh under arms. Love the contrasting colors on the sides. Would definitely recommend, but a bit pricey.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Close but not quite right I bought this shirt to wear on cross country day. I like the fit and while I guess it's a little thick, it's not terribly so. What I can't get over is how dirty the thing is after being worn once, and washed at least 3 times. I mean, I put it on to tack up, then had it on to untack, and that was it! I can't get the dirt stains out of it, even after using spot remover. Why did I spend this much on a shirt that I now HAVE to wear under my XC vest?
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Shirt!! I needed a thick warm shirt since I was going to be doing a clinic in November and it was the perfect shirt!! The fabric is nice and thick so it will keep you warm with temperatures above 45 degrees, and is great to wear in the show ring too!! Also it was a bit nig so you can order a size down if you would like to.I ordered the eggplant on and got a lot of compliments about it...I can't wait for my next purchase!!
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice heavier shirt for riding. I bought this for fall/winter riding. Its heavier than the other sunshield shirts so its better for colder weather. As are most of the smartpak products it fits great because it has more space in the bust.
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Pretty Shirt I bout this shirt and the Araia Lowell shirt to ride in. I am pale and live in CA, so I was looking for a shirt to wear to protect me from the sun. This shirt is a heavier material, but really well constructed. It has great snaps on it too.I am tall - 5'9" and the shirt isn't made for my body type. It is fitted - but it is fitted for someone a bit shorter with a smaller torso. The sleeves are also too short. The fabric is thicker than I expected, so it is an even ride shirt, not a daytime ride shirt.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flattering shirt I really wanted to keep this shirt but I ended up returning it because it is not a lightweight material. For me, it would be a great shirt between 40 and 60 degrees depending on the amount of sun. The fabric seems very durable and the striped sides are slimming (I tried the eggplant which was a really pretty color). The shirt has defined handcuffs which I liked and the collar/snaps were nice. I would say it runs a little on the large side. I got a large and it was too big (for reference 5'6", 150, 34D/DD) I didn't think it was a fitted shape, more of a straight shape.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute top Has good absorbency and is very comfortable. Looks good too.
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt but not for summer! I ordered this shirt back in the spring as a shirt to wear in the summer that would offer UV protection. When I received it I was initially disappointed with how thick the material was. Definitely not something to be worn in temps above 75 degrees.I almost returned it but I'm so glad I decide not to. Now that we're getting into fall I've started wearing and it. This shirt is so comfortable and ultra flattering. I've gotten so many compliments on it. I highly recommend this shirt; just make sure you know what you're ordering! Now I just want SmartPak to start making it in more colors!
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this shirt This shirt runs true to size and the fabric is very soft. The fabric is thicker than I expected and I don't think it will be a good shirt for the summer, but I'm looking forward to wearing it in the spring and fall when the weather is a bit cooler. I'm 5'7", 145lbs and the small fit great. The arm-pit area was a bit big but not enough to go down a size since it fit everywhere else.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great shirt I needed something for the cooler weather coming and I found this top. The cool material and color combos are great. I have not ridden in it yet but plan to very soon. It does run a bit big but its perfect if you like something that is not skin tight. I bought the blue/grey and I love it. I plan on purchasing another.
    Date published: 2013-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not For Summer Showing I was looking to purchase a lightweight summer show top that was on the less expensive side. While I really liked this shirt, I would not wear this in the summer; it is too heavy. I believe it would make a perfect fall/winter show top though! The material is really nice & comfortable, but not lightweight enough. I also found it to run big, I typically wear a small, but this was swimming on me. I would recommend sizing down.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good inbetween like the shirt and many qualities ... didn't realize it had snaps on the collar / cuffs however, but it is nice and can see many functional uses
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the price I was hoping to make this my summer show shirt and was surprised by how thick the material was when I received the shirt. I did not find this shirt cool in our humid climate. This shirt did not fit me correctly and I will continue to look for the perfect summer show shirt.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my summer go-to When I received the shirt, my first impression was "bowling shirt." It is reminiscent of old style polyester. Because it's a little thicker than tech material, and NOT soft like Kerrits' IceFil, I did not find it to be comfortable in 80 degree temperatures--until a breeze kicked up. It's probably going to be okay for early spring or fall weather, but the product description overstates the feel and function of this shirt, and it will probably sit in the closet all summer. Aside from the material, the large Alexus name and logo appear on the shirt, and in a rubber-type transfer, which I anticipate will crack off in places after washings. For a $79 shirt, I would at least expect that the style was nice, and it is for the top half of the shirt, but I think they could have done better through the body and hem. (Although I like the cuffs and the eggplant color.) All in all, I think Kerrits puts out a better shirt for much less money.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfortable! This shirt feels very heavy, but I wore it in humid, 80+ degree heat at a horse show, and it felt comfortable. Both the style and the material drape nicely to cover any figure flaws, but still look crisp and trim. I can roll up the sleeves and they stay put because of the spandex. Came out of a tightly packed suitcase without a single wrinkle, and laundered great. Love this shirt, and will be ordering more.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Cute The top fits well and is the normal size I would order in other brands. The shirt and sleeves are not clingy and the top in blue offers very good "see thru" coverage. I have only worn it on 60ish degree days and not yet in the heat of summer.....its slightly more thick/substantial feeling than some other sun protection shirts.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from By far the best riding shirt I own! I can not say enough good things about this top! LOVE they color (I have the pale pink, but will be getting the eggplant as well) love the style with the sneaky and comfy snaps and the longer back makes tucking it into my show breeches look so neat and tidy. super comfortable material. I am also a sucker for big collars and this hits the spot! Whether you use it as a shirt under your show coat or just for schooling you've made the right decision by buying this top!!
    Date published: 2013-05-05
    • 2016-04-29T16:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_29
    • loc_en_US, sid_11209, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders