Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Wellness Complete Health® Senior Deboned Chicken and Barley (formerly Wellness Super5Mix® Just for Seniors)
Wellness — Item #12549
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE PORTIONPAKS

Why We Love This

Did you know Veterinarians generally consider small dogs to be senior at about 12 years of age, while large dogs reach the senior stage at 6 to 8 years? As dogs mature, changes occur in the way their bodies function. Health issues common in aging dogs may include a tendency for weight gain, decreased immune system function, more frequent intestinal problems and decreased mobility. Every ingredient in Wellness® Super5Mix® Senior is carefully chosen to add quality to the life of senior dogs. This unique blend provides the reduced calories and phosphorus, increased fiber and moderate levels of protein and fat needed by aging dogs. In addition, we add New Zealand Green Mussel and Sea Cucumber and supplemental glucosamine and chondroitin to help to soothe and replenish senior dogs’ joints. Add your love and help add life to their years!

Ingredients

  • Crude Protein, min
    22.00%
  • Crude Fat, min
    10.00%
  • Crude Fiber, max
    4.25%
  • Moisture, max
    10.00%
  • Calcium, min
    0.60%
  • Phosphorus, min
    0.55%
  • Calcium, max
    1.10%
  • Vitamin E, min
    200 IU/kg
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids*, min
    2.40%
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids*, min
    0.80%
  • Glucosamine HCl*, min
    800 mg/kg
  • Chondroitin Sulfate*, min
    700 mg/kg
  • Beta-Carotene*, min
    5 mg/kg
  • Taurine*, min
    0.09%
  • Total Micro-organisms*, min
    20,000,000 CFU/lb
  • (L. plantarum, E. faecium, L. casei, L. acidophilus in equal amounts)
  • *Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles
Deboned Chicken, Chicken Meal, Oatmeal, Ground Barley, Ground Brown Rice, Peas, Rice, Ground Flaxseed, Tomato Pomace, Chicken Fat, Tomatoes, Carrots, Natural Chicken Flavor, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Spinach, Vitamin E Supplement, Taurine, Zinc Proteinate, Mixed Tocopherols added to preserve freshness, Sweet Potatoes, Apples, Blueberries, Zinc Sulfate, Calcium Carbonate, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Vitamin A Supplement, Chondroitin Sulfate, Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Copper Sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Copper Proteinate, Chicory Root Extract, Manganese Proteinate, Manganese Sulfate, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Garlic Powder, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Biotin, Calcium Iodate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid, Dried Lactobacillus plantarum Fermentation Product, Dried Enterococcus faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus casei Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus Fermentation Product, Rosemary Extract, Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Transitioning to Wellness® – It is important to slowly transition your dog from his/her current diet as it takes a few days for the body to adapt to the new nutrient levels.  To transition, gradually mix in the new food over a 5-7 day period, increasing the amount of Wellness® each day, so that you are feeding 100% Wellness® by Day 7.

Determining Feeding Portions – Looking at the chart below, divide the total cups per day by the total number of times you feed your dog per day to determine the portion size for each meal.  Keep a clean bowl of fresh water available at all times.  Wellness® believes in feeding dry and wet food in combination whenever possible to increase the level of water in your dog’s diet. Nutrition is only one part of the equation!  Be sure to give your dog plenty of love, plenty of exercise and see your veterinarian regularly to help ensure total wellness.

RECOMMENDED FEEDING PORTIONS (Based on a standard 8 oz dry measuring cup): Every dog is a little different, so optimal feeding amounts may vary with age, size and activity level.  Please use the information below as an initial recommendation only and adjust as needed.

Weight of Dog      Cups/Day
(LBS)

3-17                       ¼ - 1
18-23                     1 - 1 ?
24-45                     1 ? - 2 ¼
46-65                     2 ? - 3
66-85                     3 - 3 ?
86-105                   3 ¾ - 4 ?
106-125                 4 ? - 4 ¾
For dogs over 125 lbs: Add ¼ cup per additional 10 lbs.

Combination Feeding: If feeding with wet food, reduce dry amount by 1/3 cup for every 6 oz of wet food.

For Puppies and Pregnant or Nursing Dogs: Feed 25% more than the amounts listed

Calorie Content: This food contains 3,220 kcal per kilogram of 340 kcal per cup ME (metabolizable energy) on an as fed basis (calculated).

Wellness® Complete Health Senior Deboned Chicken & Barley Recipe Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance


You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Plant enzymes AND probiotics designed to effectively maximize ...
    Description:
    "Plant enzymes AND probiotics designed to effectively maximize digestion and to facilitate the breakdown of cellulase while increasing intestinal microflora for optimal health. Helps break down food particles for better absorption. Also beneficial for dogs with allergies, joint problems and ...
    "A great choice for active dogs in their ...
    Description:
    "A great choice for active dogs in their prime. To make this high protein (24%) formula, we start with wholesome, high quality chicken meal, and add a mix of vegetables and fruit as an additional source of vitamins and minerals. ...
    "A great choice if your dog suffers from ...
    Description:
    "A great choice if your dog suffers from sensitivities, or does well on lamb as the major source of protein. Made with lamb meal from free range, grass fed lamb imported from New Zealand and Australia as the primary ingredient, ...
    "Salmon meal is a nutritious alternative source of ...
    Description:
    "Salmon meal is a nutritious alternative source of protein that contains high levels of important fatty acids, making it a natural choice for helping maintain skin and coat health. We combined Pacific ocean farmed salmon meal with quality grains and ...
    "PROZYME is a unique, all natural, high potency ...
    Description:
    "PROZYME is a unique, all natural, high potency supplement, made up of four highly concentrated and purified natural plant-derived enzymes (lipase, amylase, protease, and cellulase), that will unlock the nutrients contained in your pet's food. PROZYME is scientifically proven to ...
    "In addition to providing key ingredients for healthy ...
    Description:
    "In addition to providing key ingredients for healthy canine joints, Recovery SA was developed to support healthy circulation, aid in normal healing, and help combat tissue damage. The primary active ingredient of Recovery SA is Nutricol®, a potent blend of ...
    "The primary protein source in Wellness ® Super5Mix ...
    Description:
    "The primary protein source in Wellness ® Super5Mix Complete Health Chicken Recipe is human grade deboned chicken. In addition, this top-of-the-line dog food contains fresh fruits and vegetables, healthy grains, and vitamins and minerals. The additional Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Wellness Complete Health® Senior Deboned Chicken and Barley (formerly Wellness Super5Mix® Just for Seniors) is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dogs like it
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food For Picky Eaters This is a great food for picky dogs!!! My dog has corn allergies and is very particular about what she will eat. She loves this food. It is the only food I have been able to consistantly feed her without her turning her nose to it suddenly!!!Smartpaks make feeding this feed much more ecconomical and saves me time. As a vet student I don't have time to worry about which pet store has this food in stock or if I am running low!!! With Smartpaks there is no worry!!
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Stuff My 12 yr old Golden Mix is an extremely picky eater and also a sporadic one. He likes variety and this is one of my staples that I swap. Good quality ingredients, palatable, low protein. Very quality dog food. Only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that it is very spendy.
    Date published: 2011-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome food This is great dog food! No dyes or grain making it perfect for my sensitive skin JRT. Also he loves the taste!
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!! I love Wellness Formula in general because they never include any of the ingredients that could contain euthanized dogs, cats and horses. (When the protein source isn't specified- like "Animal Protein", "Animal Fat" "Bone Meal" etc.). But beyond that- this formula doesn't give my boxer mix any gas, and THAT is saying something!! He's afflicted with a senior and boxer tummy combo and this food is easy to digest and keeps him shiny and slick. He loves it and eats every bite.
    Date published: 2011-06-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Senior Formula Tastes Bad My two aged (14+) large dogs ate the samples without issue. Unfortunately, after a week, both went several days without eating a crumb of their kibble. (They survived by stealing leftovers from younger dogs' bowls). Both dropped noticeable pounds.These events were separated by a couple of months, so I doubt it was a bad batch, etc.In both cases, I had great success with AvoDerm - check out their web site. Cheaper, and very comparable in ingredients.
    Date published: 2011-03-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dogs changed their minds After they ate the sample, I switched to this food as the Newman's was no longer available in smartpaks. After one week my dogs stopped eating it and my one dog's allergies flared up again. We're switching back to Newman's.
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent dog food This dog food is easy on the tummy, no digestive upsets for my boxers. They are at "attention" when I am preparing their meals. Is is all eaten every time, every day. I can even use it as treats because they like it so much. All look healthy & shiny with energy.
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not A Morsel Left Over My 12+ year old lab gobbles it up like crazy! He hasn't shown this much excitement about eating in a long time! We originally were using the Senior Livesmart, and are seriously thinking about keeping him on the Wellness as he had been leaving a lot of his Livesmart Senior in the bowl too frequently and didn't seem to be too interested in it any longer. Perhaps he just got tired of eating the same dog food over the years and the Wellness was a change. Either way, we have been very pleased with SmartPak's quality in their food products as well as their customer service. Our dog has not had a weight problem and his coat has always looked fantastic! Since we have only been using the Wellness for approximately 2-3 weeks, it's difficult to say any more about it except that our dog loves it and it is a very highly rated dog food due to it's quality ingredients. The only downside I see is the high price tag-- hence the 3 star rating for value.
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! My dog is a 9 yr. old yellow lab. We tried several high quality senior products recommended to us by a local pet store, and they all seemed to cause horrible gas, or just didn't seem agreeable. We tried this product, and he is doing great! He eats a total of 2 1/2 cups per day. His weight is just right, no gas, and he has good energy and is very happy. We love the convenience of Smart paks!
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Al wants his dinner! Al, our 8 year old corgi needs to drop a few pounds but doesn't want to sacrifice at the dinner bowl! He loves this food and it seems to fill and satisfy him. I don't worry about over feeding him with the pre packaged paks so that's an added advantage. The folks at Smark Pak are wonderful to work with, very accommodating and the most polite people I've ever dealt with! Couldn't ask for more from the company or the people who service our account.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loves It !! Our 12 year old Retriever has really taken to this food and it seems to be helping with her weight control. We do however think it works out expensive when you add shipping costs.
    Date published: 2011-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've had my 10 yr. old Aussie on this for a year she runs,plays frisbee just like her "childhood".Used to buy it in store but just as good a deal here and you never run out like the store does. Thanks for carrying this product.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food My 13 and 14 year old golden were packing on the pounds and my vet said they had to lose weight. I chose this food and ordered it in SmartPaks. Six months later and both have lost over 15 pounds and my vet is thrilled. They are moving better and doing great. They love this food. Ordering it in SmartPaks helped because there was no temptation to scoop more food. Just opened the package that was premeasured and I was done.
    Date published: 2010-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something tasty but not loaded with fat I hate to admit it, but Al, our corgi/beagle mix is getting up there in years and needed to be taken off his regular adult diet hard dog food and on to something with less calories but still tasted good to him. If Al could talk I think he'd give Wellness Super5 Mix rave reviews! He eats every bite in his bowl and looks for more so I think that's a good sign that he likes the new formula!
    Date published: 2010-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 17 year old Jack Russell has become very fussy about her food. I also wanted to find something that was organic and less by-products. I tried the Newman's Own and she liked it for a couple of weeks and then stopped eating it. She has been eating this for two months now. Went to the vet the other day and she has put on a pound, which was another issue we were having with her.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wellness Just for Seniors I have 3 dogs on this food that are 5, 5, and 6 years old. I only wish there was an option to have small bites because 2 of my dogs are only 8 and 10 lbs and would do better with a little smaller kibble. However, they still gobble it up and seem to enjoy the taste. They are healthy, happy, and energetic. So I think the food is doing great! It has been 2 months and we are planning on sticking with this food for a while.
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loves The Taste! My Jack Russell Terrier, 12 years old, is usually picky about how his hard food taste and only eats it when he "has to". So far, he has readily ate his "Wellness" and asked for more!
    Date published: 2010-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite senior dry food My older dogs both have a tendency to get dry flaky skin if I'm not careful of the food they eat. I used to think that dry dull skin was just a symptom of old age, but since I've been using this dog food and mixing it with simple homemade recipes of my own, their coats have returned to the glossy, zero-dandruff look of their youth. Smartpak offers this product at about the same price as my local stores but I like the door to door delivery since the bags are so heavy, and when I order other items like canned food and treats (which SmartPak has a better price for than my local stores) it makes it more cost effective than going local.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Senior Dog Food I recently switched my 10 year old border collie to this dog food and have noticed a change in her mobility. She is more active and seems to engage in play with her much younger (18 month) "brother" as much as he does.
    Date published: 2009-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product My dog eats every bite!!!!!
    Date published: 2009-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for the Oldies Great food for those dogs who are getting up there in years and might not be so active anymore. And they seem to think it tastes great too.
    Date published: 2009-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from only brand of pet food i will every buy never will i EVER feed my animals anyhting like purina or iams. the research i have done that has shown me what putrid is put into those foods is astonishing and my pets will be "wellness" pets forever!!!thanks welness, for a much better option for my loves!
    Date published: 2009-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Senior dog food! I have an older rescue dog (my first "son") who had many issues when I adopted him due to prior neglect. The only food he could digest and would not upset his stomach was the Wellness line of foods (particularly the chicken - his favorite). As he has grown older, we have progressed to the Senior version and he loves it. No digestive issues, lots of energy and a healthy skin and coat. He is one happy "puppy" at 11 years old. I would recommend this project to anyone!
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Senior Food I Have Seen The Wellness Super5Mix for Seniors is the best senior dog food on many important levels. It has the right balance of high-grade, nutritious ingredients at the optimum levels to support healthy weight for an aging dog. Plus, it has added glucosamine, so I know that even if my picky eater skips out on his supplement, he is still getting a daily dose of joint support. And, even though it seems like a very plain dry food, my dog is happiest to eat it plain and dry (no wet food mixed in). It's a little pricey, but well worth it to keep my senior dog healthy.
    Date published: 2009-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Senior Dog is thriving Not knowing any better, my husband used to pick up the cheapest big bag of food from the feed store and dump it into one of those big doggy all-you-can-eat buffet feeders. Ozzy seemed fine but made huge smelly poops all over the yard. Thinking we could do better for him in his golden years, I took over the feeding. I did a lot of research and, trusting the products that SmartPak has to offer, decided on Wellness Senior.WOW! What a difference! I now feed with SmartPaks twice a day. Ozzy loves it and looks forward to meal time. AND my yard is a lot cleaner!
    Date published: 2009-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved Digestive Issues Completely! I have a 7yo GSD with 'mystery' digestive issues. Intermittently he would get extremely severe diarrhea and vomiting and then a few days later be 100% normal. He spent 2 separate 1-week stays at a vet school with a full workup each time (blood work, ultrasounds, radiographs, etc.) to no avail, I was always sent home with the 'healthiest sick dog there is'.I switched from Purina Pro Plan Large Breed Senior to Royal Canin German Shepherd Diet, and then to Wellness Super5Senior and the change is incredible! His hips no longer bother him, he's got the energy of a puppy again, has a beautiful coat and hasn't been sick since the switch!
    Date published: 2009-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our 6 year old lazy Lab Brando went from 95 pounds in July 2005 to only 85 pounds yesterday, thanks to his diet switch last summer to Wellness. He is significantly healthier, and his skin/coat have never been better. The vet has been after me for years to get weight off Brando -- even had him on a ridiculously expensive "prescription" food (you know what) that did no good. Of course, that was before I got a clue about better pet nutrition. Wellness worked! It's very easy to sell something you've experienced first hand and believe in.
    Date published: 2006-11-29
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_2549, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders