Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Weight Builder

Farnam Companies, Inc. — Item #10816
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Adds calories without extra grain

  • Provides extra calories from fat for weight gain & a healthy body condition
  • Contains over twice the calories found in an equal amount of grain
Farnam’s Weight Builder provides extra calories for weight gain and to fuel performance. Weight Builder contains 40% fat, is high in omega 3 fatty acids, and has added calcium to help maintain calcium/phosphorus ratio.

NOT FOR SALE IN NEW MEXICO

Learn More about Weight Builder

View our Weight Gain Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per serving:
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (4 oz) daily)
  • Crude Protein (min)
    14.0%
  • Crude Fat (min)
    40%
  • Omega 3 fatty acid (min)
    3%
  • Crude Fiber (max)
    7%
  • Calcium (min)
    0.8%
  • Calcium (max)
    1.2%
  • Phosphorus
    0.5%
Ingredients:: Maize distiller’s grains with solubles dehydrated, heat stabilized flax meal, calcium carbonate, partially hydrogenated vegetable fat, propionic acid, mixed tocopherols (a natural preservative), BHT/BHA (as a preservative), artificial flavor.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Instructions: Enclosed scoop holds 2 ounces.

To enhance skin coat and condition, feed one scoop (2 ounces) daily with regular grain ration.

For added calories, feed 2 scoops (4 ounces) daily with regular grain ration.

Depending on a horse's activity level and condition, up to 8 oz of Weight Builder may be fed with no adverse effects.
You Might Like

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Weight Builder is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps them gain weight I am very happy with this product. My horses love it and it seems to do its job of adding additional pounds on my horses that need the extra weight.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Puts Weight On Very good product for putting weight on. There was a noticable difference within a few weeks. But, my mare got picky after awhile and picked her grain out leaving the supplement behind. So, you may need to add some honey or molasses.
    Date published: 2011-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weight without bloating I love this supplement, its a supplement that you can see gratifying results with in just a couple days. Ive used it on hard keepers, horses coming out of neglectful situations that needed weight put on and horses in high intensity training that are having trouble keeping weight on. Ive never had a horse refuse to eat it, and Ive never fed it to a horse that it didn't have results on. Ive found you get a better distribution of weight, as opposed to feeding a large amount of grain and getting a slumpy fat gut. Ive also noticed an improvement in coat conditions and energy levels. For the price, this is a great supplement, A long time favorite!
    Date published: 2011-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Weight Building Supplement I have been using this supplement on/off on my TB mare for the last 2 years - she was very underweight when I got her and I gave her 2 scoops/day for over a year to help her gain 200+ pounds. Now I still give her one scoop/day to maintain her weight. As a bonus, it gives her coat a great shine.
    Date published: 2011-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results In Just 1 Month My mare is a very hard keeper, when I got her she was very skinny. I put her on this stuff and It has worked wonders. It made her coat very shiny and I am noticing a much better topline and her ribs out filling out nicely. No potbelly at all.
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny I have been using this product for 3 weeks on my new horse. He was about 200lbs under weight and being a Tb was a challenge. He has gained 75lbs in 3 weeks. His coat is so shiny and he looks and feels better. He will never be without this supplament. Love it. He is a picky eater as well and gobbles it right up. Smells great too.
    Date published: 2011-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supplement My horse needed to gain some weight. Increasing the food some didn't help enough. The weight builder is a quality product, not just a bulk builder. Even when not ridden all winter, his body condition still looks like a horse with light work. His mass looks good and so does his coat.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weight Builder WOW I have a 15+ year old Arab mix that I purchased for my 12 y/o daughter in December. He came from a rescue farm and while generally healthy was still very underweight. I board him at the rescue facility and have worked closely with the owner on his feed. After reading some of the reviews I figured I had nothing to lose and ordered my first bucket of Weight Builder. We weighed my horse and 2 other the day we started them and within the first 2 weeks saw wonderful results. We're into our second bucket and I had to buy a larger girth for my daughters horse! When our vet came to pull coggins on some of the other horses on the farm she almost pulled Lil Red (she'd done his prior to starting WB) when I told her it was Lil Red she was thrilled with how great he looked. She asked me if she could take pictures for her website as she had pictures of him when he first arrived at the farm. I highly recommend Weight Builder and my vet will be recommending to her clients too!!
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results This products works amazing! It helped put the weight right back on my gelding after the winter. I have used this product previously on different horses and my only complaint is the palatability. Some horses won't eat it, or pick through it!
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cushings horse My arabian has cushings and lost weight till we got her medicine correct. This product put the weight back on her and continues to help her maintain a healthy weight. Thanks
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best for value my gelding who stops eating at competitions thrives on this product; he has enough reserves to compete on...... thank you!
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Weight builder has been great for our older horses that are hard to keep weight on.
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a very fussy 36 year old who is really tough to keep weight on and refuses to eat his food if I try to add any supplements. He likes his weight builder and it helps to keep him in fantastic body condition.
    Date published: 2010-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from must buy! I have a Arab/TB who is REALLY hard to keep weight on. SUPER HARD! well i had tried everything from getting her teeth checked, worming her for frequently(as suggested by vet) and even switching her to senior feed for more calories (shes only 5) Well a friend suggested this and literally in 2 weeks i could see a HUGE difference!! She is keeping the weight on and got it on quickly.
    Date published: 2010-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adds & Maintains Weight I've used this and the SmarkFlex Senior supplement with excellent results. Most think my 21-year-old thoroughbred is 10 years younger. She has lots of energy, good weight, coat and muscle.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fattening my Skinny, Picky TB Mare My thoroughbred mare is VERY hard to put weight on. She's healthy, and I maintain her teeth, worm her, regular vet checks, etc., but she has a hot temperament and just stays very lean--I even just got a comment on a recent dressage test that she was too skinny! I didn't know what else I could do to put weight on her. She has good quality, free choice hay, and I feed her a vet recommended grain/supplement regimen. So I tried this product a month ago at my trainer's suggestion and voila! I noticed the difference after two weeks--no kidding! My mare also has a very picky palate, so I added this product slowly to her grain, but she readily eats it. I guarantee I will not get that skinny comment on a test again with this product.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse is insulin resistant but was loosing weight due to regular workouts and change in feed. This product did the trick quickly and economically. It spurred her appetite for the new feed. Very palatable and easy to feed. Thanks
    Date published: 2010-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really great product i've been using this product for over two years now and it works great & gives my horses a real shine to their coats.
    Date published: 2010-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glossy Coats A great choice for stunning summer coats that radiate in the sunlight. My horse's summer is so glossy that it literally shimmers. I use this product in combination with Senior Feed to up the caloric intake in a >>SLOW<< eater who spends a portion of his day in turnout with faster eaters. He loves it and begs for it every day. I love it because he actually keeps weight on.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from firt time user I have only been using it for about 2 weeks. The 21 yr. old mare seems to be gaining. She has cushings and I am having a time to build up her lost weight. I am sure this will help with her weight.
    Date published: 2010-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good product We first purchased this product for my daughters yearling. It worked well keeping weight on him in between growing spells. We also started using it for one of our geldings that has trouble keeping weight on. We are very pleased with the results.
    Date published: 2010-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New to this product, but happy with it I've read many very positive reviews about this product and decided to try it on my own horse. At first she wasn't happy about it, but then I gave her a little less, mixed in very well with her grain, and now she eats it all! I'm pleased, as she's a picky eater!!
    Date published: 2010-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Halter and All-Around Horses I have been using this product on my All-around show horse for two years, and it works great! Not only does it keep her weight and muscle tone in shape for halter, it also keeps her in good shape for her all around classes when used along side with regular training.
    Date published: 2010-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellant product Wb not only put weight on my hardworking horse, but it also added a shine that everyone admires!
    Date published: 2009-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny! This produce is worth every penny. We used it on a horse that I had in training for a few months, and it made him look absolutely spectacular. His owner did not even recognize him when she came to pick him up! I recommend this to everyone who needs help adding weight to their horses.
    Date published: 2009-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adding some mass Our TB is on her 2nd month of weight builder. Took about this long to start to see the difference. It is easily added to her food through the smartpak method. She was pretty thin when we got her, but now with the weight builder, a good feed,hay & extra hay stretcher; we are seeing a difference.
    Date published: 2009-09-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product Weight builder is a great product! I've used it on multiple horses, and am currently using it on my 16 year old Thoroughbred. We have been doing a lot of riding this summer and he's very muscled and lean, however I just want to get a little more weight on him before the winter comes. Weight builder provides quick calories to help him gain weight without having to increasing his grain intake. After only two weeks on the product I already have seen mild changes in his appearance. I recommend weight builder to any horse that needs to put on some weight.
    Date published: 2009-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff My 25 y/o gelding dropped a lot of weight last winter. Had everything checked, upped his feed... to no avail. Eventually, I put him on this product twice a day and he looks so much better, shiny and filled out. This weight builder formula smells so good, I'm almost tempted to add it to my own cereal (just kidding).
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works!! My OTTB was loosing weight and this product turned that around in 30 days.
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helping my older horse This winter was hard on my 30 year old Quarter Horse gelding. He had dropped a lot of weight and really wasn't eating very well. I had the vet check his teeth and of course checked him for parasites. I tried beet pulp, alfalfa, senior diet and high quality hay to get some weight back on him. I decided to add Farnam Weight Builder to his diet. In the past month his appetite has improved. I think the combination of pasture, senior feed and Weight Builder has really helped him. He likes the flavor of the Weight Builder and in a month his ribs no longer show, he has a lot more energy, and his coat is bright and glossy.
    Date published: 2009-06-01
    • y_2018, m_1, d_17, h_7
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_816, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders