Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
U-Gard
Corta-Flx, Inc. — Item #11526
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Field trials showed positive results

  • Provides calcium & magnesium to help neutralize excess gastric acid
  • A field trial conducted with Thoroughbreds at a race training facility showed positive results
U-Gard™ is a calcium supplement for horses in training and competition. Field trials prove U-Gard™ highly effective on gastric lesions.View our Ulcer & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart 

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (1 oz) daily)
  • Calcium (min)
    2.5%
  • Calcium (max)
    3.5%
  • Magnesium (min)
    3.5%
Ingredients: : Kaolin, Calcium Carbonate, Magnesium Hydroxide Glycine, Diatomaceous Earth, Zinc Oxide, Methylcellulose, Silicon Dioxide, Dried Apple Pectin Pulp, Aloe Vera Gel, Sodium Propionate (a preservative), Iron Oxide, Natural and Artificial Flavors.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: For an average 1,000 lb (500 kg) horse, feed 1 oz (28 g) twice daily with the horse's regular feed or mix with a small amount of water and give orally. Feed to others according to body weight, less for smaller horses, ponies and foals, and more for larger breeds. (1 oz [28 g] measure by weight enclosed)
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "SmartGI Ultra Pellets provide the ultimate support for ...
    Description:
    "SmartGI Ultra Pellets provide the ultimate support for the entire digestive tract, from stomach to hindgut. This formula combines two of our most popular supplements, SmartGut Ultra Pellets and SmartDigest Ultra Pellets, at a 15% savings over purchasing those two ...
    "U-GARD™ is highly effective on gastric lesions in ...
    Description:
    "U-GARD™ is highly effective on gastric lesions in horses. Try this calcium supplement for your horse, and make gastric issues a thing of the past. View our Ulcer & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart"
    "SmartGI Pellets provide basic support for the whole ...
    Description:
    "SmartGI Pellets provide basic support for the whole digestive tract, including both stomach and hindgut. This formula combines all the active ingredients of both SmartGut Pellets and SmartDigest, at a 15% savings over purchasing those two supplements individually. Glutamine, soothing ...
    "Actively prevent stomach ulcers and the pain and ...
    Description:
    "Actively prevent stomach ulcers and the pain and discomfort that often accompanies them by giving your horse ULCERGARD during times of increased stress or exercise. ULCERGARD is the first and only proven non-prescription preventative for Equine Gastric Ulcer Syndrome. No ...
    "SmartGut provides comprehensive gastric support through a selection ...
    Description:
    "SmartGut provides comprehensive gastric support through a selection of ingredients that help maintain stomach health. These include ingredients to neutralize excess gastric acid, probiotics, prebiotics, soluble fiber, the amino acids L-glutamine and glycine, soothing herbs and other safeguards for a ...
    "U-7 Gastric Aid is a clinically studied vitamin/herbal ...
    Description:
    "U-7 Gastric Aid is a clinically studied vitamin/herbal blend designed to support gastric health in horses with a poor appetite, poor attitude, dull coat, or reduced performance. U-7 Gastric Aid is also recommended for all horses that are confined to ...
    "G.U.T. is a combination of synergistic ingredients designed ...
    Description:
    "G.U.T. is a combination of synergistic ingredients designed specifically for horses with gastric problems. Great for picky eaters. Does not contain aluminum. View our Ulcer & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    U-Gard is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 235.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from U Guard Works great on horses that are under lot of stress n have been treated for stomach ulcer I use it before an after shows
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Read bang for your buck! I bought this because both my horses were on that U guard pellets and I bought the powder because it was a lot cheaper and would last a lot longer. I do not feed it straight as it is very powdery and chalky, I mix it with their grain they eat it up! Also good to mix with soaked beet pulp or a mash. I use this on my show horses to prevent ulcers and help with digestion, it makes a noticeable difference.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It worked at first.... Well, I have had my horse on the uGard pellets for a long time and he seemed to be doing well! However, he relapsed recently, after I switched to the powder form. The vet does not think the switch is what caused it but it is still clear that uGard isn't going to cut it for this guy. Also, this is a SUPER MESSY way to feed this product. I much prefer the pellets.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! product Everyone should use this with all of their horses!!!! Pleasure or competitive horses...
    Date published: 2015-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works awesome Couldn't buy anything better it's the best!!! Everyone should use it!!
    Date published: 2015-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, but everything is pink! I have been using U Gard for a little over a month and my horse has had noticeable improvement - less sour when working, no longer pinning ears at the girth being done up, less edgy. The only con about this product is that it's consistency is a fine pink powder.. and it gets everywhere.. and turns everything pink. If you've ever used ExStress powder then you know it turns everything orange, and this product is similar. That being said, I will continue my horse on U Gard as I have seen improvement. My horse is not a picky eater and has no issues with the powder.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my favorite smartpak I have used this product for years on all my show horses. They never go off feed or stress at shows. Also I use it as calcium source to keep high potasuim disorders in check
    Date published: 2014-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I switched to this product after using Aloe juice for a few months after ulcer treatment. When aloe juice became less available in my area I switched to u Gard for more consistency and it was pretty reasonable in price, it seems to work quite well! Better then the aloe and it's coming in SmartPaks which is super easy! Plus my picky mare eats it well!
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I honestly can't tell if it's working! Maybe it's just that my horse doesn't need it but I didn't see a difference. I used it for a few months and the overall messy factor just isn't worth it. When we compete I'll just use the Ulcer guard paste as a just in case. The walls off her stall are literally pink now from her rubbing the power off her mouth! If someone has an ulcer prone horse than this might be good for them!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective and reasonably priced I have had my horse on this in the past, then decided to take him off of it to see if it made a difference (I was told putting him on a cup of alfalfa pellets morning and night, and it would be a good ulcer preventative. Did NOT work for my horse!). U-Gard makes a huge difference in his attitude! When he wasn't on it, he was girthy and generally a bit more crabby. I treated him for ulcers and put him back on this, and he won't be going off of it again! It's so reasonably priced and makes a marked difference, so it's a no brainer. I like the U-Gard Pellets a little more than the powder - the powder is pretty fine and I find I lose a bit of it in the air. My horse eats both versions fine, though he's not really picky.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from UGard Excellent product works great several of the horses in our barn is on it. Well worth it!
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff. works well. good value Used U-gard for several years now. Great stuff, really seems to improve the overall look and mood of my high strung anglo. Definitely helps with the ulcer symptoms, never had an issue with any horses eating it even though it has a strong 'tums' like smell. They all seem to lap the stuff up. Good value for money and great for maintaining those slightly ulcer prone/worrier horses especially during show season or heavy training.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ulcer guard My only wish for this product is that it was in a pelleted form. My mare is picky and some of it gets left at the bottom of the bucket. However, the product gets the job done and my mare is doing wonderfully.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! So convenient and my horse's ulcers are doing great!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally changed my OTTB I bought this for my OTTB who has issues with ulcers and would chronically colic- when I put him on U-Guard he changed totally. He seemed much more relaxed, was much easier to work (he began bending to the right finally!), and colics less frequently. (He probably wouldn't colic at all if he didn't crib!)
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with U-Gard! I started my horse on this supplement 1.5 months ago. He is very susceptible to ulcers and gets very grouchy and uncomfortable every time we trailer and show. I used to have him on Ranitidine all the time, and I am happier with the results of this supplement than I was with the prescription Ranitidine. I feed this powder with wet beet pulp to make sure he gets all of it, but I have actually found him licking the extra powder out of his feeder so it must taste pretty good! He seems more relaxed and comfortable while working, and he is eating better while away from home. I still have to give him an extra dose of UlcerGard on the days he gets trailered, but overall this supplement is an affordable way to prevent the really bad ulcer flare-ups.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy horse!! I bought this over a month ago to try on my thoroughbred mare cause she is a semi hard keeper of weight and I've tried multiple things to try and keep the weight on. So I thought well maybe she has ulcers cause there common in xrace horses. So I decided to try her on a supplement first and so far she has actually started to put on some wieght and I've noticed she's been in a happier mood. So in conclusion I will continue feeding U-Gard to my happy mare!!
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bye-bye ulcers! Excellent product to eliminate current ulcer issues and protect against future ulcers! I only had my 2 yr. old on this product for 1 month, (due to stall rest), and his ulcers gave him no troubles! I have yet to see the return of ulcer-like symptoms!!
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product My quarter horse developed an ulcer and for years had bad flares. He is doing much better since I put him in this product daily.
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for picky eaters My horse suffers from ulcers, most calcium supplements help a little, but she refuses to eat U-gard powder. I'm surprised by all of the high palatability ratings previously posted. It smells, looks, and tastes like chalk. I've tried hiding the dusty powder in different types of mashes and grain but my mare won't touch it!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfactory My OTTB isn't as sensitive around his belly compared to a couple of weeks ago.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not What My Mare Needed Didn't work for me, not the product's fault.
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product U Guard has helped my rescue mare recover from ulcers. She is very happy and comfortable now. I use this product on both my horses whenever they need extra protection for their stomachs due to stress or medication. I also sent U Guard to a rescue and they report it has helped one of their older horses feel better. That's a great recommendation to me.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works quickly! A horse came in my barn that showed all the classic signs of ulcers, would eat and stop, eat and stop, and cribbed when she ate. Put her on U-Gard and within days she almost completely stopped cribbing! When does that ever happen?! And she started eating normally. I do feel this may not be a good product for long term use, so I have overhauled her diet, which seems to be working. I keep this magic pink powder around, though, just in case. Plus, it can be good to give pre-ride to help combat acid-splash.
    Date published: 2013-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noticed Changed I have noticed that my gelding is calmer, the mare does not seem to showing any changes, but she is kinda crazy anyway.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Many Ailments Although I've been taught that ulcer supplements like this don't work, I still love it. I feed it to my old horse and a teenaged thoroughbred who has trouble keeping weight on. Both of them eat it well and they really help. Right now, I'm also giving it to my 29 year old arabian who has been battling ulcers. We're giving it orally diluted in water because he won't eat anything on his feed right now (we think he's afraid to hurt his stomach again). I love it and would recommend it to anyone looking for something to ease some stomach pains or help keep weight on a horse.
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not needed? I bought this for a off the track thoroughbred who was very sensitive to grooming, couldnt keep weight on, constantly nibbling at his sides and mildly girthy. I figured that rather then having the vet come out and scope him for ulcers, I would try to prevent them in general. Unfortunately, I saw no change in him. I dont know if this means that he doesnt have any ulcers or that the product did not work but based on the fact that it came VERY highly recommended to me I am going to assume he doesn't need it.He is a picky eater and although it is a lot of pink powder, he ate it all up. I fed it to him with his beet pulp so it was mixed in with water.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly for my horse! I have a horse with allergies to alfalfa so he can't eat anything pelleted and he loves this supplement. He doesn't have ulcers but he had an acidity problem so my vet recommended this product and he's been on this product twice a day now for about 6 years. I've had to increase the dose from 1/2 scoop am/pm to 1/2 scoop am and 1 scoop pm but only in the last year. I'd definitely use it on any of my horses that need the stomach acidity protection.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_214
    • loc_en_US, sid_1526, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders