Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Tri-Amino
Uckele Health & Nutrition — Item #18489
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Essential amino acids for protein production

  • Contains 10,000 mg of L-lysine, 5,000 mg of DL-methionine & 2,000 mg of L-threonine
  • These three amino acids must be provided in horses' diets because they can't make them on their own
Support your horse with essential amino acids!

Tri-Amino contains lysine, methionine, and threonine. These essential amino acids must be supplied in the diet, because horses cannot make them on their own. Lysine, methionine, and threonine are also limiting amino acids, meaning that if they are not present in adequate amounts, the body's ability to make protein can be limited.

Lysine aids in bone health and immune function.

Methionine is vital to the health of hooves, and the density of the mane and coat.

Threonine aids in normal immune and digestive functions, as well as supporting muscle mass.

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 20g dose:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (20g) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
L-Lysine 10g (10,000 mg) 50%
DL-Methionine 5g (5,000 mg) 25%
L-Threonine 2g (2,000 mg) 10%
Ingredients:: L-Lysine Mono Hydrochloride, DL-Methionine, L-Threonine

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: Feed 20 grams daily. One rounded scoop = 20 grams

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Devil's Claw Plus is a herbal supplement that ...
    Description:
    "Devil's Claw Plus is a herbal supplement that provides devil's claw extract, 3,000 mg yucca, boswellia extract, and grape seed extract to support a normal inflammatory response. Devil's Claw Plus was one of Horse Journal's Top Picks. Note: Do not ...
    "Senior Flex H/A is a unique combination of ...
    Description:
    "Senior Flex H/A is a unique combination of joint, digestive and antioxidant support for the senior horse. Provides 50 mg of hyaluronic acid, 5,000 mg of glucosamine, 500 mg of chondroitin sulfate, 5,000 mg of MSM, 5,500 mg of yucca, ...
    "SUCCEED Digestive Conditioning Program is a once-a-day Functional ...
    Description:
    "SUCCEED Digestive Conditioning Program is a once-a-day Functional Feed™ supplement program that provides a natural, nutritional approach to digestive health. SUCCEED delivers highly specialized nutrients that support the healthy structure and function of the entire digestive tract – including the ...
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of ...
    Description:
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of the original SOURCE formula with added support for the aging horse. In addition to a daily serving of SOURCE, FOCUS SR contains antioxidants, vitamins, beneficial microbes, chelated minerals, fatty acids, and enzymes. ...
    "SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets are designed to help manage insulin ...
    Description:
    "SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets are designed to help manage insulin resistance, a condition that is part of Equine Metabolic Syndrome, and frequently associated with obesity. This comprehensive formula supports healthy metabolic function by providing ingredients such as chromium and magnesium to support ...
    "Yucca Saponin is an herb that is used ...
    Description:
    "Yucca Saponin is an herb that is used to support joint health and comfort in older horses or any horse experiencing stiffness and discomfort. Yucca Saponin contains 10% Yucca Schidigera extract. May support a healthy inflammatory response during normal daily ...
    "Research has proven that stress compromises immune function. ...
    Description:
    "Research has proven that stress compromises immune function. If your horse is a senior citizen, working hard, or travels often, consider a targeted supplement designed to support his immune health. SmartImmune provides a comprehensive and innovative approach to supporting healthy ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tri-Amino is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 148.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome results I recently purchased a horse that is coming back from an emaciated state. She had lost most of the muscle across her top line, her hooves were ridged and brittle, Her mane and tail were ragged and dull. After a little over 30 satyr on Tri Amino, she is building back good muscle, growing out healthy hoof, and her coat and mane and tail are once again Beeson soft and shiny. This supplement has been a key factor in her rehab.
    Date published: 2015-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be working! Thought that my horse needed a bit "extra" and I can always count on the SmartPak reps to help me decide on what to add.
    Date published: 2015-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple Just the essentials for muscle building. No extra. Haven't used it long enough to see the difference
    Date published: 2015-09-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gelding refuses to eat it Unfortunately, as much as my guy needs muscle, he's not inclined to eat this. He leaves it in the bottom of his feed bin. I can't say whether I'd recommend it or not as far as efficacy because he wasn't on it long and didn't eat much of it.
    Date published: 2015-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a 7 year old gelding who I bought this for. Right after I purchased it he was diagnosed with the beginning stage of EPM. He has lost a lot of muscle and I want to start him on it. The problem is he is VERY sensitive to grains, supplements etc. And they make him very hot. He turns from a very mellow horse to a bucking rearing maniac. I currently have him on the Flex Fit support for his joint issues and it is AMAZING! Doesn't make him hyper and has worked wonders for his joints. Can anyone tell me if the Amino Acids will make him hyper/hot?
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to help build top line I have been using this product on a youngster in training for about 6 months and seems to be helping build top line.
    Date published: 2015-05-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works if they will eat it
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great source of energy This is the 2nd month my horse has been on this supplement!!It has shown significant improvement with how she warms up and cools out!It also has given her more energy and kept her active
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great My older guy has a tough time keeping his topline with good work. I tried this supplement and after a month noticed a difference.
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Needed additional amino acids for my weanling. This fits the bill and she loves the taste of it.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product for Senior Horses!! I think the before and after pics speak for themselves! This is a great product and I have now put my 5 year old APHA gelding on it who was looking a little too lean. My senior gelding in the photo is 25 this next coming year and looks GREAT!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I've used this in the past to help my horse to rebuild muscle after an extended vacation and have recently put her back on to help build muscle while working this winter.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely helped build muscle!! Worked very well on both of my horses. Definitely worked better on my TWH than my QH, but I noticed significant improvement in both.
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product So far, this product has really helped her to start bulking up her top line
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Results in 20 days! I love this product. I put my APHA stallion on this to help with building muscle. He was put on this about the same time he was put on stall rest. He was flabby at the time he was started on Tri-Amino and put on stall rest, on about day 20 I noticed that his chest was no longer flabby and was muscular and that he had more defined muscle on his legs.
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really saw improvement in a short time I bought this for a newly purchased senior gelding. Looking for more muscle tone and topline improvement. In 3 weeks I could see more definition and on top of that, his haircoat is gorgeous! Great price for great results!
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not see a difference with my two horses. I bought this to build muscle on my 18 year old mare as well as my lanky 3 year old gelding. The mare appears to have built muscle in her legs. The gelding appears to be about the same. I'm on the fence about the effectiveness of the product.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Very Well I used this on a rescue TWH ( 5 years old at the time) and a young quarter horse (4 years old) and have been pleasantly surprised by the results. I'll attach a picture of the TWH, who has shown the greatest improvement.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be working My 5 year old Percheron mare has a noticeably increased energy level (I also started MSM at the same time) whether its the Tri-Amino or the MSM or the combination, I don't know but its very nice. She is normally dull in the summer heat and she clearly feels better during her work-outs. Too soon to really see a difference in her muscle.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped build muscle quick Been using this for 6 weeks and seeing good results. Have an older QH who came out of winter looking shabby- this has helped build him back up- especially in his hind end!
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! Muscle!! I have been using this product for about 2 months. I was not sure it was working, but in seeing photos, I can see it works! I am happy with this product, proof is in the pudding!
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Build muscle Fast This is a great product to increase muscular weight gain.
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from working great for my 24 yr old horse Added this to Buddy's smartpak about a month and a half ago. His top line has filled out. He no longer has the hollow "dips" on either side of his withers. His muscles are bulking up. Honestly I'm shocked a cheaper product could work so well. I recommend it to my sister in law. She just bought some this morning. Great stuff!
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for muscle definition! I started my yearling colt on this almost 3 weeks ago to aid in muscle building. He had already been working 1hr/day and still is, but after starting this supplement I can see where his muscles connect because he is so well defined! He is doing amazingly on it!
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much More Than That... I have been looking for a supplement for my 11 y/o AQHA gelding. He has recently been introduced to a more intense workout and I was noticing a slight decrease in his weight. Even after, slightly amping his feed up. So, I decided to try and find a supplement to help him keep his weigh, while continuing to built muscle. Honestly, I have never been a big fan of supplements, as i like for a "horse to be a horse". Anyways, I decided to check Smartpak out! The majority of the reviews I seen for this were for senior horses, but I find this product much more than just for that! It really does give my guy that little extra umph, that he needs in his diet. He is somewhat of a picky eater and was a little hesitant at first (typical raspberry face and slight head bobbing) but he loves it now! He even licks his feed pan dry:) If you have an active horse, are starting a new workout routine, or your horse just needs that little extra push for muscle mass or to maintain weight, this is the product! It is more than affordable and it actually WORKS!
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great choice I put my horse on this a few months ago to help fill in some gaps in his nutrition since he didn't have access to pasture at the time. Now that he does and he is back on a fitness program, he is looking much better and this supplement is definitely helping him get there. He is not a fan of powdered supplements so it took a couple of days for him to get used to it in his grain, but he eats it all up now, so I certainly believe it is palatable, as he is a certified picky eater :)
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for seniors needing to build/maintain muscle I started my 29-year-old TB on Tri-Amino a month ago to help him regain some muscle and weight he lost over the winter due to a colic episode. He is a VERY picky eater, so I could not start him on the full recommended amount right away, but eventually he worked up to it and now licks his bucket clean. In the time he has been on this supplement, he gained about 100 pounds (estimated by a weight tape), and the muscling over his hindquarters has improved. It is a slight, but noticeable difference, and I'll continue to keep him on this supplement to aid his muscle maintenance through his senior years.
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working JJ is building more muscle & tone, looks of energy and really perked up
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS! I own a 21 year old gelding that is an Appendix breed. I used this supplement after he tore a ligament and was going through rehab. He lost so much muscle in his top line when being on stall rest. This supplement was recommended by my vet to help with his muscle problems. It did take a while to notice a difference, but I think that was mostly due to the slow pace we were going under saddle. Once he was on a regular exercise schedule again, the supplements allowed him to KEEP the muscle..which was key for me since he has always been the type to drop muscle so quickly. The picture below was during the summer when he was only getting ridden 1-2 times per week :)
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very effective and great value My new horse arrived quite thin and with little muscling. After a month of correct work I wasn't seeing much of a difference, so a friend recommended I try this product. He's been on it for about 30 days now and I have noticed a huge difference in his topline and hind end. It is a great value and I highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_131
    • loc_en_US, sid_8489, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders