Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SOURCE
SOURCE — Item #10093
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

The ultimate micronutrient supplement

  • A unique proprietary blend of pure dehydrated seaweed meals
  • Includes at least 60 elements and their associated micronutrient compounds
SOURCE is an extremely broad-spectrum horse supplement with at least 60 elements and their associated micronutrient compounds in a biologically active form. SOURCE contains small amounts of naturally occurring vitamins, including the 14 currently recognized "essential trace elements" and the 21 trace elements now under special consideration with respect to essentiality, plus other unidentified associative factors whose role in nutrition has not yet been established.



SOURCE contains a proprietary blend of pure dehydrated seaweed meals...and nothing else! All-natural, concentrated herbs of the ocean. 



View our Mineral Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (1/2 oz) daily)
  • Crude Protein (min)
    5.9%
  • Crude Fat (min)
    2%
  • Crude Fiber (max)
    6%
  • Iodine (min)
    660 ppm
Ingredients:: Dehydrated Seaweed Meals.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: Mix 1 heaping measure (included) (1/2 oz/14 gr) per day with feed, even during hard training, pregnancy and lactation or breeding. Amount based on 1,000 lb (450 kg) body weight. Adjust accordingly. A leavel measure holds 3 teaspoons, a heaping measure holds 4 teaspoons. Feed 1 teaspoon per 250 lb body weight. Do not exceed reccomended feeding levels.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Omega Horseshine® is a premium omega 3 essential ...
    Description:
    "Omega Horseshine® is a premium omega 3 essential fatty acid supplement made with fortified, stabilized, ground flax. Horse Journal's: ""Product of the Year!"", ""Our First Pick - Most Concentrated Source of Quality Omega-3"", & ""Recommended Immune-Boosting Product"". Recommended by John ...
    "Did you know that adult horses need at ...
    Description:
    "Did you know that adult horses need at least one ounce of salt per day? Hot weather and exercise both increase this need, while hay, pasture, and commercial feeds provide very little salt. This combination can leave your horse’s diet ...
    MSM
    "Select the Best's MSM is an ultra-pure 99.9% ...
    MSM
    Description:
    "Select the Best's MSM is an ultra-pure 99.9% source of bio-available sulfur. MSM, or methylsulfonylmethane, is thought to support a healthy inflammatory response. No fillers, artificial colors, or flavors. View Our Inflammation & Comfort Supplement Comparison Chart View our Joint ...
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of ...
    Description:
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of the original SOURCE formula with added support for the aging horse. In addition to a daily serving of SOURCE, FOCUS SR contains antioxidants, vitamins, beneficial microbes, chelated minerals, fatty acids, and enzymes. ...
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of grass-type hays (timothy, coastal, Bermuda, native grass)/grain-based diets. The ...
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a ...
    Description:
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a balanced blend of vital nutrients to support healthy hoof growth, deep coat color, quality skin and coat condition, and all-year-round optimum health. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our Hoof Supplement Comparison ...
    "TriSport offers you the performance of glucosamine, chondroitin ...
    Description:
    "TriSport offers you the performance of glucosamine, chondroitin sulfate, and MSM in a easy to administer product that your horses will love! Two ounces per day (the standard usage rate) will provide a full 10,000 mg of glucosamine HCl and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SOURCE is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 128.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used since it came out over 30 years ago Great product
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I have all three of my horses on this after I read that abcesses can be linked to low levels of iodine. Last winter I had one horse who had 6 weeks off due to an abcess. This year they are all fine. It may be the source and it may not but its a great product and cant hurt.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Healthier Horses! We noticed our ASB getting somewhat dull and had some white-hairs popping up. Some people said it could be from a copper deficiency, but whatever it was that he was not getting from the pasture and his grain, he got from Source! His white hairs were gone, and his coat gleamed better than ever. My friend started using it on her pasture-pet horses with bad hooves and their hooves started getting noticeably stronger, and healthier looking. This is a great all-around supplement! Not for picky eaters though!!
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for over 20 years LOVE Source!! I have used this product since I was in single digits. WHere I used to take lessons as a child, they had their horses on it. I went to another place for lesson, they used. Ever horse I have owned, every customer I have had, I put on Source. It equals out the vitamins that are missed by the hay/grass/grain. Health coat, health mane/tail, gleam in the hrose's eye. I can NOT say enough about this product
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seemed like a good idea My Pinto got a nasty sunburn this past summer and so I went to the web for an answer...one person mentioned that their horse's tendency to sunburn went away when she started using Source. So, I decided to try it. He has not sunburned again but I also purchased a fly sheet with a neck cover and he has now grown in his winter coat...it seems to have helped create a more luxurious coat than he had last year, which was the first winter I had him. I also give him flax or coconut supplements so they could be helping the coat to. At any rate it's not expensive so I'll keep him on it and see what happens next summer.
    Date published: 2011-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My gelding has been on Source for two shipments. I haven't noticed a huge difference yet. I heard that Source is very effective on hoof quality, but I haven't seen notable results yet. I like that he's getting all of the micronutrient's in a palatable, easily fed manner. I have high hopes for this product.
    Date published: 2011-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING product My mare came back to us from a lease with her coat bleached and her skin broken out from her severe fly allergy (as she had been left uncovered). I was heartbroken to see her in such condition. I added Source and within days everything began to clear up and within 2 weeks she was pretty much back to normal. It's a wonder supplement. And at such an affordable price, you can't afford NOT to add it to your supplement plan. LOVE it.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! One of my horses seems to have a problem with sores developing on his front fetlocks every year in the fall and winter. I don't know what causes it, but everything I've tried to heal them up seems to work at first, then the sores come back - same place every time. If I use the same product to heal them up again, it doesn't work - I have to use something else. The sores came back again this year and I started feeding Original Source along with using stuff directly on the sores. They healed up and I quit using stuff on the sores. They are still healed up so far! I hope this trend continues! Time will tell if Source does the trick for him in keeping these sores from coming back at all. He eats it right up - as well as one of my mares.However, my other mare has decided that she will not eat any more powder at all. Not even the powder that forms from handling her pelleted feed that she loves! So, I've switched to the Source pellets instead - she eats those without any problem at all.
    Date published: 2011-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! I would Deffinately recommend this to anyone who wants a basic supplement. Puts a gleem on their coats and they seem more alert and bright eyed. Deffinately a great product
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would not reccomend the powder form of these vitamins to a picky eater. I love the SOURCE micronuggets!!!
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I've been using Source for years, really makes a difference in my horse's coat, feet, and overall health.
    Date published: 2011-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SOURCE I got this for my 22 year old QH who was just not looking as good as I would have liked. He grew a very long winter coat last year and would not shed out completely. In June he still had long hair on his neck and legs.I added SOURCE in July and within two weeks he was shedding like crazy. He has now lost almost all of the long, nasty hair, is shiny again and beginning to get dapples on his back and barrel. He has some nice, new hoof growth and his crusty, watery eye crud has improved. Overall, he looks like a new horse.I'm very impressed with the results of this product. Adding SOURCE to my horse's smartpak is the only change I have made, so I can only attribute his improvement to adding this. I will definately keep him on SOURCE after seeing the improvement in his condition and I'm starting my younger horse on it as well. The reasonable price is a nice added bonus, too!
    Date published: 2011-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Source - my favorite supplement Ive fed source to numerous hunter/jumpers and AQHA all-around horses over the past 15 years. Within 6 weeks their coats completely dapple out and Im always complemented on how shiny my horses are. Ive also luckily never had a horse colic on me. I really believe adding kelp to the diet (including mine) helps horse and human be healthy from the inside out. I like to combine it with pro-biotics as way of keeping everything running at optimum internal performance especially for horses exposed to stressful training or showing conditions. Ive never had a horse refuse to eat Source when top dressed on their daily feed.
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from TB lloks great! I started giving my TB source and Grand Hoof to improve her poor feet. She has only been on these sups for a few weeks, so no real change in her feet. However her coat is amazing! Her color is more intense, even her white socks seem whiter, and her coat is shiney and soft
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Supplement I have used Source for more than 25 years on all types of horses.The overall health of the animal can easily be seen in the coat, hooves and the lack of vet bills. It genuinely makes a difference.
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have 6 horses (including a mini) on source. All are in blooming health with shining coats and I have noticed the manure is no longer being picked through by the birds. It really is an economical supplement that affords confidence that my horses are getting those extra nutrients.
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Supplement for General Health I've used Source for my horses for over 30 years now. It helps grown strong hooves, and it does lend a shine to their coats, although it is not a coat supplement. I can tell a difference if I run out of Source and they are off of it for a few weeks. I've tried one or two other supplements at one time or another, and nothing impresses me as much as Source.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Probably good ingredients if they will eat it. Only 1 of my 4 horses would eat it and he will eat anything. Its a very fine powder which didn't work well for feeding outside horses.Other than that - it may be a very good product nutritionally - it sounded good. I just couldn't get them to eat it.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have been using source for many years. Was recommended by my vet in California. Some horses are challenged by the taste, but they get used to it.
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Positive Results My OTTB has been on Source for 2 yrs. I adopted him right off the track and he has gone through many lifestyle transitions in our time together. I immediately supplemented with Source upon adoption. Through it all he has transitioned like the champion he is and I believe Source has been a major component. He has a beautiful coat, healthy bare feet, winning temperament and sparkling eyes. I would say it is a great addition to a balanced diet for a horse.
    Date published: 2011-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Have used Source for many years and the always see results within 2 weeks. Horses look better and utilize their feed better. Really works!!
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I have been using this for year on end. Every horse I have own in the 30+ years I have been riding, has been put on Source. Just an great, all around supplement. Give it a chance to work, and you won't be disappointed.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mineral Supply Tom Mayes works on my horses and he swears by this supplement. In the winter there isn't enough fresh grass to make sure the horses get enough minerals. This supplement is also much cheaper through smartpak which I love.
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Necessity for me I've used Source original for years in addition to a balanced vitamin and mineral supplement. I use it primarily for the iodine content but it also seems to give that extra "oomph" the horses need to truly shine and be healthy. I would never use this as a sole supplement though because the levels of vitamins and minerals is neglible. I've called the company to inquire on levels and have been told there is nothing guaranteed, but there are minor traces of many different elements. But I do think it helps as a source of naturally occuring iodine.
    Date published: 2011-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Supplement Available I have used Source for over 15 years, I wouldn't be without it. We discontinued it once a few years ago and noticed the birds picking at all the horse droppings. They were picking out hay and grain! We restarted the Source and the birds disappeared, proving that Source helps your horse get all the nutrients out of his food. Our horses have shiny coats, soft manes and tails, and strong, durable feet. I think that if you give your horse ONE supplement, it should be Source!
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_108
    • loc_en_US, sid_93, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders