Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartTendon® Pellets Original

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17478
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Comprehensive tendon & ligament formula

  • 500 mg of bioavailable silica, a trace mineral essential to healthy, resilient connective tissue
  • 1,400 mg of hydrolyzed collagen, the main structural protein found in tendons & ligaments
SmartTendon Pellets are now being offered in an updated formula at a new low price! The new formula includes a significantly increased amount of hydrolyzed collagen, a key structural protein that helps give your horse’s body what it needs for resilient tendons and ligaments. Like the original formula, it also includes silica, MSM, and vitamin C for well-rounded support. Best of all, it offers all of that great support for healthy, resilient connective tissues at an even better value!
Check out the new SmartTendon Pellets formula

SmartTendon Pellets Original provide targeted support for tendons and ligaments! This cutting-edge formula contains a careful selection of active ingredients including 500 mg of bioavailable silica, a trace mineral that is essential to healthy, resilient connective tissue. It also contains 1,400 mg of hydrolyzed collagen, the main structural protein found in tendons and ligaments, as well as 5,000 mg of MSM. Research has shown that MSM protects tissues against the damaging effects of exercise and stress. Lastly, SmartTendon Pellets provide the antioxidants vitamin C and grape seed extract, to fight free radical damage and offer comprehensive soft tissue support. This unique formula can be given alone or combined with your favorite joint supplement. SmartTendon Pellets are intended for hardworking performance horses and to support normal recovery.

View our Tendon & Ligament Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    5,000 mg
  • L-Lysine
    2,000 mg
  • Hydrolyzed Collagen
    1,400 mg
  • Silica (Orthosilic Acid and Magnesium Silicate)
    500 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    250 mg
  • Calcium Ascorbate (Vitamin C)
    250 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Lignin Sulfonate, Sodium Propionate, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily, 1 scoop = 60 g

Clinical Research

You Might Like

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartTendon® Pellets Original is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 258.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product My mare has a suspensory tear and we put her on this product at the onset of diagnosis. She improved tremendously on ultrasound in about 45 days.
    Date published: 2017-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great !! My gelding has it's tendinitis so this supplement has made a huge difference for him .
    Date published: 2017-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can feel the improvement in Gelding since he's been on this supplement .
    Date published: 2017-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OTTB of 5yrs benefits My OTTB who raced for close to 5 years (unscathed amazingly) used to be on a different joint supplement however I've fallen for smart tendon! Cost effective and it works better. My guy doesn't feel as stiff and had preformed so much better in the the last two months of using it. I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2017-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartTendon Pellets I have only tried this product for 30 days. I am pleased with the results for that time. I will try to give another review after a couple more months. Thank you for the tech that told me about this product you was very helpful!
    Date published: 2017-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse ate it Horse ate it. Bought to try after a soft tissue injury. No idea if it helped or not too soon to tell.
    Date published: 2017-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My boy is picky and he loves the taste. He tore his collateral ligament a couple months ago so I'm using this product to help strengthen his ligaments and tendons. I love it. It's helped so much already.
    Date published: 2017-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Collagen for tendon and ligament support My 9 yr old Warmblood pulled a shoe and half his foot with it. Two weeks later he had severe tendinitis in that leg. I am using this product in addition to wrapping, icing, poulticing and anti-inflammatory meds. He is healing nicely and has started back to work. I will keep him on the supplement for good. I do not want a reoccurrence.
    Date published: 2017-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help for tenosynovitis I started my older mare on this after a tendon strain.... then I suspended it while we tried a steroid injection....but it was easy to use and she loved the taste of it. And the service from Smart Pak is always stellar.
    Date published: 2017-06-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smart Tendon To tell the truth I haven't used this product long enough to see if there is any difference yet. Most of the time it takes a at least 30 days to see if there is an improvement or not. I plan on using it all summer and then I will see if there is an improvement or not.
    Date published: 2017-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing better! My gelding hurt himself and ended up with tendinitis and pulled check ligament in his RF. He was on 8 weeks of strict stall rest. He has a handicap in his LF so he depends so much on his RF and it works overtime. He has just been upgraded to go in the medical paddock the barn owner/manager built for him. Heat is gone from his leg and swelling is MUCH better!!! The check ligament is much less pronounced and he's walking comfortably. Surely this supplement has assisted in his improvement. Phoenix is a very picky boy -- like the princess and the pea-- he notices the tiniest change! He readily ate this.
    Date published: 2017-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved Maggies Life I have a Halflinger that suffered a serious injury in Sept. She severed her front right tendon. Her old owners wanted to put her down, but she told me she wasn't ready so I took her into my care. Once the wound itself healed up I found out about these pellets. I am not sure if it was just a coincidence, but a week into a regiment of these pellets and me staying consistent with my rehab routine, She is no longer on stall rest and soon I think I can let her go inside and outside as she pleases.
    Date published: 2017-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too early to tell, but less stiffness I bought this product as a backup to the joint supplement my 17 year old mare is receiving because the hereditary issue she has is due to tendon weakness, causing her ankles to swell and become unable to stand upright. She's been on this product for about a month, and I don't notice her standing holding her leg up as often, and the swelling has gone done some. She will never recover from this issue unfortunately, but she is definitely more comfortable than she was a year ago.
    Date published: 2017-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ingredients Necessary for Ligament Support My horse suffered a ligament strain and needed a supplement that contained collagen and other buikding blicks for strong ligaments. This supplement is specially formulated to provide support for an injured kugament. I have noticed marked improvement since using this product.
    Date published: 2017-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! My mare sustained a minor inflammation on her OSL this past summer so I decided to help her rehab along, I put her on the Tendon Repair from Ramard. After using it for a couple months having her on it, I decided to switch her to the SmartPak product because its cheaper and it has many of the same components. At this point I’m not sure if anything is making a difference but it gives me piece of mind.
    Date published: 2017-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great supplement! Last March our 23 year old mare injured her tendon. We followed the vets directions and wrapped, etc. My daughter came across these supplements and we thought "why not", right? We began adding them to her daily feedings last May and and haven't stopped yet. We started lightly riding her again in September and she's been doing great! Watching her canter around the pasture this winter I'm hopeful she'll be ready to get back to work this spring. These supplements will continue to be a part of her feeding schedule moving forward.
    Date published: 2017-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I believe it works ! I purchased SmartTendon Pellets for my daughters rodeo horse that had bowed her tendon. I believe it's helped her heal to where she will be able to continue to compete.
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice support So I bought this about 6 months ago when my gelding injured his tendon, and it helped along the healing process by giving him extra support. Really like it.
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked well to support recovery! I started my 3y/o gelding on SmartTendon after he injured his suspensory ligament 8 weeks ago. I noticed less swelling in his leg about a week after starting the supplement. He had an ultrasound again today, and the vet said he is healing really well and to ease him back into work! Originally my vet thought it would take a lot longer for him to be looking this good. Thank you SmartPak for all the research that goes into your products and thank you SmartTendon for supporting my horse's recovery!
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for my rescue OTTB! I started this two months ago and have notice better performance in my gelding. He had no tendon issue. I bought this product to protect his legs ( better safe than sorry) in the jumper ring. As I've said there is a better performance from him. I recommend this product completely!
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product for the price! I bought this a month ago for a possible ligament/tendon injury. My mare seems to be improving. I purchased a two month supply this time and plan to keep using it. She will eat them from my hand or in her feed.
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My daughter's TB mare has chronic swelling in her hind legs (maybe windpuffs?), so we'd thought we'd give this a try... almost immediately we noticed less swelling overall and less swelling after rides... it's nice to not have to put stable bandages on every time she gets ridden..
    Date published: 2016-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! I have a 17 year old Appaloosa mare who injured her check ligament this past winter. After 8 weeks of hand walking only, we were allowed to start riding lightly to slowly build her back up. During the 3 month rehab program, she'd have considerable swelling in at the injury site, but no lameness. I happened to stumble upon the SmartTendon supplement while surfing the SmartPak website and was impressed with the reviews, so I decided to give it a shot! I ordered the 2 month supply, and had no issues with swelling once she started taking it!! She is now riding quite well with no swelling even though I have run out of the supplement. I do believe that it made a big difference in our rehabbing! I now have a happy, healthy pony again! Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hopeful Horse is recovering from an injury to tendon and been on this for 1 month. Can't wait for next ultrasound.
    Date published: 2016-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far Started using it recently, like it so far. I haven't been using long enough to see a real difference though. My OTTB completely tore his ligament and a tear in his tendon a little over a year ago so I am very cautious of his leg health!
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smart tendon pellets I have had my horse on the smart tendon pellets for almost a month. I decided to try them after a suspensory injury. Don't know if there helping yet but I know there certainly not hurting
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with the product. Will purchase again
    Date published: 2016-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Helping Anymore I had my rescue gelding on this a few months ago and it seemed to really help. I took him off of it and just had him on bute less pellets and Smartpak TLC pellets didn't help. So I tried devil claw only helped a little with extra msm added. So I decided to try this again after a month his popping and cracking worse. After my new order is used up i'll be going to horse.com to try some of their supplements.
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good supplement! This was my second auto shipment of the tendon supplements. My horse is recovering from a horrible trim job that caused strain on her tendons in both front legs. Within a week of having her on the second shipment from the time the pic was taken, we now have done a 5.5 mile ride plus, we are back to trotting and working on our dressage. Good product, horse loves the taste! Definitely, I feel this product has aided in the recovery of her tendons. Pic of her front legs show the swollen tendons on the inside of both legs of which have now healed up. We now have her hooves trimmed up properly and I have a much happier horse! Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2016-06-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from hard to tell My 18 yr old pony had a mild sprain on his tendon and has been on stall rest for 5 weeks so I thought this could not hurt! But who really knows if it helps?!
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_231
    • loc_en_US, sid_7478, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders