Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartEnergy® Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #18251
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Comprehensive support to power performance

  • Provides 6,000 mcg of vitamin B12 and 50 mg of folic acid to promote healthy energy levels
  • Includes targeted nutrients that support healthy red blood cell production

Running low on horsepower? If your horse isn’t giving you his all, it might be because he doesn’t have everything he needs. Give him comprehensive nutritional support to power his performance so he can give you everything he’s got.

SmartEnergy is ideal for horses that lack stamina, are lethargic, or are easily fatigued. While many other energy supplements are focused on providing iron, feeding extra iron has not been shown to improve red blood cell count or athletic ability, and veterinarians agree that iron is rarely deficient in a horse’s diet. SmartEnergy offers a smarter solution by providing a range of nutritional building blocks required for the production of healthy red blood cells, without added iron.

View our Energy Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 40 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (40 g) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    16 %
  • L-Tyrosine
    0.6% (250 mg)
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    4.5%
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    10%
  • Vitamin E
    150 mg
  • Vitamin B12
    6,000 mcg
  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine)
    82 mg
  • Folic Acid
    50 mg
  • Magnesium
    0.8% (325 mg)
  • Cobalt
    135 ppm (5 mg)
  • Copper
    3,250 ppm (125 mg)
  • Iodine
    125 ppm (4.7 mg)
  • Selenium
    12.5 ppm (0.5 mg)
  • Zinc
    5,025 ppm (200 mg)
  • Trimethylglycine (Betaine)
    3.6 g
Ingredient Statement:: Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Betaine Hydrochloride, Lignin Sulfonate, Dried Milk Protein, Dried Kelp, Vitamin B 12 Supplement, Vegetable Oil, Zinc Polysaccharide Complex, Copper Polysaccharide Complex, Magnesium Oxide, Fenugreek Seed, Vitamin E Supplement, L-Tyrosine, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Folic Acid, Calcium Propionate (preservative), Cobalt Carbonate, Ethylenediamine Dihydriodide.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feed 40 g daily, 1 scoop = 40 g

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish ...
    Description:
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish the vital nutrients lost during stress and exercise. Fortified with essential B vitamins, minerals, and iron to help increase oxygen-carrying ability and red blood cell count. Contains branched-chain amino acids to aid ...
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "New & improved taste horses love! SmartFlex Rehab ...
    Description:
    "New & improved taste horses love! SmartFlex Rehab is the ideal choice for your horse during rehabilitation. This one-of-a-kind formula supports the healing process by combining ingredients for joint and connective tissues with those involved in the normal inflammatory response. ...
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak ...
    Description:
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak hooves in need of more aggressive nutritional support! This formula provides 35 mg of biotin for promoting healthy hoof wall growth. Higher levels of the key ingredients lysine, methionine, threonine and vitamin ...
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex Senior, SmartHoof, and SmartOmega 3 at a savings of nearly 25% compared to buying those products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains glucosamine, hyaluronic acid, MSM, devil's claw, biotin, omega 3 fatty ...
    "SmartVite Perform Senior provides the right selection of ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform Senior provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working senior’s nutrient needs so he can excel. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer optimal nutrition for older horses in moderate ...
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the ...
    Description:
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the damaging effects of free radicals and oxidative stress. SmartAntioxidant Pellets are a potent, cost-effective antioxidant formula containing vitamin C, vitamin E, grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase and citrus bioflavonoids. SmartAntioxidant Pellets ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartEnergy® Pellets is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 113.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable difference! My very laid back paint horse has always been hard to get moving- it would take every ounce of strength I had to get him to go. I tried different crops and whips and spurs but he didn't really respond much to those. He's been on smart energy for about 4 months and he is a different horse. Riding is more enjoyable and finally has the momentum to get a lead change which we were never able to do.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had my horse on this for a month and she went from running in the middle of the 3D to the top of the 2d with boggles
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product. Started my gelding on this product about 2 weeks ago, seems to be increasing energy and endurance levels.
    Date published: 2016-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised Gave this a shot figuring it wouldn't do any harm if It didn't make a difference. And was surprised that it actually had an effect on my less than self motivated event horse!
    Date published: 2016-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Energy! This has given my horse the added energy without any "silliness". He is a completely different horse now and he not only loves his job, but has the energy to "take care of business"!
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I bought this product about a month ago and my horse has seen increased energy levels. He does not get hot, but it takes the edge off of his laziness. He's still pretty lazy, but is more willing to do the work I'm asking of him (low level eventing). I highly recommend this to anyone who has a pretty darn lazy horse that is hard to get moving.
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my horse needed! My gelding has been on smart energy for over a month now. He is naturally a laid back lazy horse. He began basic training earlier this year. Getting him to break over into a canter on the lunge or in the saddle was just exhausting. This supplement was just enough to give him those "hot feet" to get him moving out into the canter beautifully with very little aid. Thank you SmartPak for making our training easier and our rides more enjoyable and productive. At this price it's definitely worth a try on those dead heads in the barn!
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I have a barrel/pole horse that was being a bit lazy. I used the smartpak energy pellets and he was acting more energetic than ever.
    Date published: 2015-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great i have used this for two-three months and i see a total difference. I don't have to kick him on every step
    Date published: 2015-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MIRACLE IN A PELLET! I've only been using this supplement for about a week but the results are tremendous! I bought new horse (perch-x), changed his diet from 100% alfalfa and he immediately lost all steam. He struggled to canter, jump or have any endurance during our rides at all. My trainer couldn't believe this was the same horse that I'd tried!One week on this supplement and I have a brand new horse. He has spunk and energy and enjoys his job again. His canter has improved tremendously and he has stopped knocking rails and dragging his feet. I love SmartPaks but have never seen a supplement turn a horse around this much this fast. I am a believer!This horse isn't a picky eater at all but we've had no issues with palatability, he licks his feed bowl clean same as always.
    Date published: 2015-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse loves it I gave this two months but think I am going back to red cell. He likes the Taste though.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good My older horse has more energy and not as lazy :) He seems to enjoy the flavor as well .
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game changer for my daughter's horse! Purchased this for my daughter's extremeley slow and behind the leg quarter horse. Worked perfectly. It gave him energy without being spooky or hot. Forward enough to win her dressage classes, but calm enough to still do hunters. The only issue with this is the horse HATES the taste. I have to soak it and make a slurry and pour it over his feed. Even with that, I will probably keep him on it for life.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have been using SmartEnergy for 1 month and I have seen a change in my horse. She has more energy and moves forward without kicking each stride!!
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from A Total Waste of Money I ordered this for my ultra lazy Oldenberg and it has done nothing for his energy level. I upped the dosage and still nothing. Don't waste your money on this stuff.
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! More energy! My 7 year old mare's annual bloodwork came back with some moderately low numbers for her red blood counts. My Vet doesn't like all of the iron in a lot of energy supplements and the numbers were not bad enough for him to write a prescription. After reading the reviews I decided to try this and at a month in she definitely seems to have more stamina.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No difference at all I have had my thoroughbred on this for 2 months and noticed no difference while on it and after. Thanks to Smartpak's guarantee program I got my money back.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear results! My heavy dressage horse doesn't get fed much other than a balancer and free choice hay. We are always trying to pep him up (gallops in the open before rides or jump days to keep him fresh), but we still struggle. I put him on this with skeptical expectations. About a week into the supplement I began to see a CLEAR change in my horse. He was very forward and even playful during work a few times. I was shocked. Very very effective. I think because he tends to be so heavy he is limited in his feeding options and even with a balancer he probably was still not getting the proper energy supply. This is the most effective supplement I have ever used.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great!! Great product. My horse has much more energy and is a picky eater and ate this right up.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I ride a 10 year old Cleveland Bay. He's very big bodied and is lazy. He is used for low level dressage and trail riding. We've been feeding him these pellets for about 3-4 months now. I've noticed a huge difference in his energy level and his attitude. He's always in the front of the pack now on trail rides. His whole demeanor is perkier.
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality product with good results I have had my WB on this product for several months, and I definately have seen an improvement in his energy level. He has a tendency to be very lazy, but since he's been on the supplement, his energy level has been up, and he's game to do his job! He's very picky about flavors, but had no problem with this supplement.
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from no noticable difference I have a very unmotivated horse and I thought maybe there was something lacking in his diet. After using this product for nearly two months I didn't see any real difference. I don't feel that this is a bad product just wasn't what my horse needs at this time.
    Date published: 2014-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great push, no heat! I have an OTTB who came off the track in October and is just plain lazy! I could barely get him to canter and he had no impulsion over fences at all. After a week or so of smart energy he started having more energy without becoming spooky or hot! It was just the right push he needed! And he ate it right out of my hand the first day without questioning it!
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SEEMS TO BE BENEFICIAL My mare has been on this product for about 6 weeks. It seems to be helpful as she overall has more energy and her stamina has also improved. Even with this I have a lazy horse(in the ring)!!! If you exhale she thinks its time to walk. It appearently tastes fine, as she eats it well. The supplement works but my horses temperment is what it is!
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pony won't eat it I've had my quarter pony mare on this supplement for a few months now. AT FIRST- she ate them ok. Did help her energy level some and was happy. Recently, she'll eat all of her supplements and grain EXCEPT this one! She is not typically a picky eater. I have tried putting corn oil on the supplements and still doesn't help. It does work- if you can get your horse to eat it :-/
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Although everyone at my stables laughed at me when I said I needed an ENERGY supplement for my lazy horse, I'm please I purchased this product! My mare certainly has a heightened sense of alertness and energy. This did not make her spooky or hot headed, either. She has more stamina for our long trail rides and I feel like she tolerates the arena more! Great stuff.
    Date published: 2014-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I have had my mare on this for about a month and I noticed a difference. She is much more forward and willing to pick up the canter and has more "pep" to her step now. The major difference was how she is when she jumps, she used to be sluggish over fences and jump flat. Now she is excited and has scope over fences. So far I'm extremely happy with this product.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! i am so happy i ordered this in my mares smartpaks! i have a percheron cross who was not motivated to move at all with the help of this within a week i felt the difference! she is more willing to move foreward and canter without breaking, i love it!
    Date published: 2014-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! We bought this supplement for our pokey gelding, and it worked great! He is more responsive to the aids, and seems happier in his work. A happy horse = a happy rider! We're pleased! It also has not made him remotely spooky or hard to handle, just more willing to go forward.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_104
    • loc_en_US, sid_8251, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders