Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartEnergy® Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #18251
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Comprehensive support to power performance

  • Provides 6,000 mcg of vitamin B12 and 50 mg of folic acid to promote healthy energy levels
  • Includes targeted nutrients that support healthy red blood cell production

Running low on horsepower? If your horse isn’t giving you his all, it might be because he doesn’t have everything he needs. Give him comprehensive nutritional support to power his performance so he can give you everything he’s got.

SmartEnergy is ideal for horses that lack stamina, are lethargic, or are easily fatigued. While many other energy supplements are focused on providing iron, feeding extra iron has not been shown to improve red blood cell count or athletic ability, and veterinarians agree that iron is rarely deficient in a horse’s diet. SmartEnergy offers a smarter solution by providing a range of nutritional building blocks required for the production of healthy red blood cells, without added iron.

View our Energy Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 40 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (40 g) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    16 %
  • L-Tyrosine
    0.6% (250 mg)
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    4.5%
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    10%
  • Vitamin E
    150 mg
  • Vitamin B12
    6,000 mcg
  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine)
    82 mg
  • Folic Acid
    50 mg
  • Magnesium
    0.8% (325 mg)
  • Cobalt
    135 ppm (5 mg)
  • Copper
    3,250 ppm (125 mg)
  • Iodine
    125 ppm (4.7 mg)
  • Selenium
    12.5 ppm (0.5 mg)
  • Zinc
    5,025 ppm (200 mg)
  • Trimethylglycine (Betaine)
    3.6 g
Ingredient Statement:: Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Betaine Hydrochloride, Lignin Sulfonate, Dried Milk Protein, Dried Kelp, Vitamin B 12 Supplement, Vegetable Oil, Zinc Polysaccharide Complex, Copper Polysaccharide Complex, Magnesium Oxide, Fenugreek Seed, Vitamin E Supplement, L-Tyrosine, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Folic Acid, Calcium Propionate (preservative), Cobalt Carbonate, Ethylenediamine Dihydriodide.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feed 40 g daily, 1 scoop = 40 g

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish ...
    Description:
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish the vital nutrients lost during stress and exercise. Fortified with essential B vitamins, minerals, and iron to help increase oxygen-carrying ability and red blood cell count. Contains branched-chain amino acids to aid ...
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak ...
    Description:
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak hooves in need of more aggressive nutritional support! This formula provides 35 mg of biotin for promoting healthy hoof wall growth. Higher levels of the key ingredients lysine, methionine, threonine and vitamin ...
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex Senior, SmartHoof, and SmartOmega 3 at a savings of nearly 25% compared to buying those products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains glucosamine, hyaluronic acid, MSM, devil's claw, biotin, omega 3 fatty ...
    "SmartVite Perform Senior provides the right selection of ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform Senior provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working senior’s nutrient needs so he can excel. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer optimal nutrition for older horses in moderate ...
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the ...
    Description:
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the damaging effects of free radicals and oxidative stress. SmartAntioxidant Pellets are a potent, cost-effective antioxidant formula containing vitamin C, vitamin E, grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase and citrus bioflavonoids. SmartAntioxidant Pellets ...
    "NEW SmartMuscle Mass Pellets provide all 10 essential ...
    Description:
    "NEW SmartMuscle Mass Pellets provide all 10 essential amino acids from high-quality protein sources to support lean muscle development. This formula also includes gamma oryzanol, branched-chain amino acids, and bioactive whey to aid in the normal muscle-building process. Strong, defined ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartEnergy® Pellets is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 113.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have a very laid-back hunter pony who seemed to struggle with endurance and sustainability. I tried this product not knowing what else to do, and in 3 weeks, I had a new horse. Not hot or over-excited, he just kept the canter without breaking, and generally felt stronger and more relaxed in his work. I suggest starting out with the minimum suggested dose and letting your horse's behavior guide how much to increase. Several other owners in the barn have since asked me for the name of this product !
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My lazy horse pepped right up ! Love the product !!
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, great price! My sluggish pony has been on this supplement for 3 months now. It didn't help as much I hoped, but there was improvement, so I am keeping her on the supplement. Great price, much less expensive than most energy supplements out there, and I LOVE how it comes pre-measured for every day :)
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love this supplement for my barrel horse, he feels great and always acts like he has more energy every day!
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Senior TB Horse Going Strong My 27 year old TB gelding needed a red cell supplement per my Vet. He is a picky eater and refused the red cell liquid supplement. I tried this energy supplement and his red cell count improved AND his energy was great. He eats the supplement with no problem. He runs up hills and across fields again. I would recommend this product for anyone with a horse that needs more energy. Your vet should check your horse's red and white cell levels first of course.
    Date published: 2013-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I have battled with weight control and energy issues with my Insulin Resistant Lusitano gelding for the past 6 years (since I bought him). I tried Thyo-L, keeping him off pasture during spring and summer months or any time the grass was growing. About a month ago I added SmarPak IR and a bit later added the SmartEngergy. My boy has dropped about 100 lbs. (though still has the fat pockets at his shoulders) and he has much more energy. To be fair, I also added some alfalfa pellets to my local hay, so I'm not entirely sure which of these additions gave the most results. My horse loves the flavor of both SmarPak supplements and he is much more "awake". He even started jumping at noises that he has been exposed to since he's lived here! I have a different horse...the one I've always wanted! By the way, with my Vets okay I have slowly removed him from the Thyro-L.
    Date published: 2013-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse was short on energy. I tried other products to increase his energy but nothing seemed to work. Then I saw this product online. My horse is also insulin resistant so I decided to run this by my vet before trying it. She said it was perfectly safe so I decided to try it. What a difference it has made. My horse is a 3 day eventer and has placed in the top 3 in his class all year long. I highly recommendThis product.
    Date published: 2013-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Energy Pellets I have noticed a huge difference since i started feeding Smart Energy pellets. My daughters jumper pony, who prefers to move along at a very slow tempo unless she is jumping, has certainly moved it up a notch on the flat and over fences. Since feeding these pellets , My daughter and her pony have only come home from shows with Reserve and Champion ribbons. This supplement has made a huge difference and I highly reccomend it.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GO without WACKO 6 YO Gelding Luken for Blue Skies just didn't have a gas pedal. He'd be good for about 30 minutes dressage training a few days a week. Get to four days in a row of hard riding, and forget about it! He wasn't naughty, but he sure wasn't going forward, either.Enter SmartEnergy. Regular dose, 7 days. Today? Different horse. "Harley" has a GO, he rode hard for over 45minutes, and had more to give. Whitetail deer sprinted behind his arena, and he barely flicked an ear. No spook, and still sustained energy.If you need more energy from your horse, but don't want to peel him off the stall walls? This is the product for you!
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just awesome My event horse needed extra "oomph". This was exactly what was needed. He had more energy from the first time I added this to his feed. Once again, great job Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a new horse! I decided to try SmartEnergy because my Irish Sport Pony was sluggish and "lazy". People didn't like riding him because he needed so much leg to keep going. I know that's not his real nature, so after having him vetted, I decided to try this product. I was looking for something that would give him more stamina without getting him hot, and that's just what this product did. After a little more than one month, I now have a pony who is quicker in transitions, and who now canters without looking for excuses to break. He is just as happy, -no change in moods, only more active. Love the product!
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! My 15 year old Saddlebred gelding used to get sluggish in the summer heat. Not anymore! He is now more than happy to gallop and play for most of an afternoon. This gives him the extra boost he needs to act like his old self.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Energy to spare I added the energy supplement to help a lazy horse that would not pick his feet up. Well, it worked!! Not only does he pick up his feet, he also dances and prances. LOL. So, if you or your horse need more energy, give it a shot.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from We haven't quite been on it for 2 months. Some days it appears it working & some days not.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a different horse now!! I have had my lazy/no energy Percheron cross on this supplement for over 5 months and he is a different horse!! His stamina has improved and he is nicely forward. Such a joy to ride him now!!
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice "Slow Burn" Really liked this product. I found some of the other energy supplements (RedCell in particular) gave my Haflinger quick energy...he would really SPOOK, then go back to "normal". SmartEnergy gave him a nice steady "slow burn" energy, without the jumpy-ness. Was useful in keeping his energy up during interval work so I could build the fitness and increase energy.
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have noticed an improvement It has only been about a month since starting this supplement and I have noticed an increase in energy. It has not made him "spooky" as other energy supplements have.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No change yet I've had her on this supplement for a month and haven't noticed ANY difference whatsoever. I just got a new shipment so we'll see if there are any changes, if not I'll stop giving her this. Ugh
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need more energy Added to my horses smartpaks to increase stamina for training and also more energy at shows. I haven't noticed any change yet.
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MUST HAVE! I ride an Irish Sport Horse who knows the world of lazy all two well. The problem was that any food with sugar, such as sweet feed, would send him through the roof and he would get way to jittery. I spoke to a Smartpak representative and they recommended their Smart Energy Pellets. They have been working wonders. My horse has more energy and has completely stayed sane. I love what they are doing for him!
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works the Best! My trainer had my 19 year old saddlebred gelding on Red Cell for energy this summer. After two months on the liquid, I wasn't noticing much of a difference. I looked up SmartEnergy on a whim and read the reviews of other senior horse owners, many of whom said Red Cell didn't really work for them either.My boy has been on SmartEnergy for a month now and he's as frisky as he was at 15! He's back to his old self and seems to enjoy our classes again.I don't know why I tried other supplements. SmartPak supplements always work the best!
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! My Percheron cross was as lazy as you can get and would be exhausted after a short while. I put him on SmartEnergy and the results really are amazing. He holds his canter with minimal pushing, where as before he would constantly break stride. He can go for so much longer than previously and recovers so fast! I tire before he does. I have been very impressed with this product and will continue to use it. He also gobbles it right up!!
    Date published: 2012-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased with this Product Every summer my horse seems to be more tired than normal. I used to chalk it up to heat, but notice other horses were more peppy. The other reviews on this product were from people with similar problems. Most mentioned past cases of Lyme disease that seemed to reoccur low grade each summer. This product got my horse back to his normal self without an added or unwanted energy. I would highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gives Him a Boost I have a Belgian Draft/Tb, and I think the heat and humidity have sapped his energy a little bit. I thought this might be a good product for him. I have noticed he has been able to work without being so drained afterward. This gives him energy without making him spooky or hot.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smart energy couldn't see any difference when feeding this
    Date published: 2012-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Am So Grateful To SmartPak For Developing This My mare is extremely finicky, but gobbles up these pellets. More importantly, she suffers from bouts of anemia. I was so excited to find a blood building product that did not contain iron, as I will be able to use it constantly without the worry of iron toxicity. My mare's Packed Cell Volume increased by 10.7 within 30 days of use. SmartEnergy is staying in her SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the job... My Perch/Tb cross was petering out way too soon during a workout. He balked midway through a cross country canter w/o jumps. I had increased his feed and he still seemed tired. The SmartEnergy Pellets were the extra oomph that he needed. He enjoys working again.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Red Cell My horse was acting extremely lethargic this last winter. His blood work came back with both low red and white cell counts and anemic. This seems to be a annual residual effect from an ehrlichiosis infection. In the past Red Cell seemed to help, not this year. I take B-vitamins myself and know the difference in energy levels and thought it was worth a shot. The very first day, his appetite picked up and within a week his energy was normal. He finally put weight on, moves better and has energy for riding. The amazing this is, by accident, he's only getting half the normal dose! Highly recommend for hard keepers, senior horses and those in the northern states.
    Date published: 2012-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results After noticing my otherwise fit 20 year old schoolmaster was just ho-humming through his work I decided to try this product. SO glad I did. Before resorting to larger spurs or letting the thought that he was just getting "older" creep into my head I wanted to address his energy level with this. Within 3 weeks he is delightfully forward, attentive and very happy in his work without being hot. LOVE!
    Date published: 2012-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixed Anemia Blood work late last summer revealed my mare was anemic, so I put her on this product. This last weekend we were at an eventing clinic and she had so much energy we probably could have made time around an Advanced course. I was wracking my brain, trying to figure out why she was so full of gas. Then it occurred to me she probably wasn't anemic anymore. Blood work two days later showed that yes, her red blood cells are up where they should be. I am happily able to stop this supplement now, because it did what it was supposed to. If we ever have this problem again I'll definitely return to it.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_104
    • loc_en_US, sid_8251, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders