Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartDigest® Ultra Powder
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #16312
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Comprehensive hindgut support

  • Provides clinically studied ingredients, including prebiotics, probiotics, yeast, and enzymes
  • Order in SmartPaks & you may be eligible for $7,500 of colic surgery reimbursement through ColiCare
The clinically studied ingredients in SmartDigest Ultra include prebiotics shown to reduce disruption in the cecum and colon and to inhibit the absorption of harmful bacteria in the hindgut; yeast shown to improve fiber digestion and to assist the beneficial bacteria of the cecum in adjusting to feed changes; and enzymes demonstrated to increase the proper digestion of starch in the foregut.

SmartDigest Ultra provides unparalleled hindgut support for every horse, to help maintain digestive balance.

Order SmartDigest Ultra in SmartPaks and you may be eligible for up to $7,500 of colic surgery reimbursement through our ColiCare program!

Also available in PELLETS!

View our Digestion Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 30 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (30 g) daily)
  • Fructooligosaccharides
    1,250 mg
  • Mannanoligosaccharides
    1,050 mg
  • L-Glutamine
    1,000 mg
  • Kaolin
    1,000 mg
  • Arabinogalactan
    700 mg
  • Deglycyrrized Licorice
    500 mg
  • Psyllium Seed Husk
    450 mg
  • Fenugreek Seed
    400 mg
  • Oat Beta Glucan
    150 mg
  • Apple Fiber
    140 mg
  • Citrus Pectin
    50 mg
  • Active Dry Yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisiae)
    30 billion CFU
  • Lactobacillus Acidophilus
    22.5 billion CFU
  • Enterococcus Faecium
    1.5 billion CFU
  • Lactobacillus Casei
    1 billion CFU
  • Enterococcus Lactis
    1 billion CFU
  • Bifidobacterium Longum
    450 million CFU
  • Enzase-EQ™ (a proprietary blend of Aspergillus Oryzae, Aspergillus Niger, Bacillus Subtilus and Pancrelipase, supplying Amylase, Protease, Lipase, Cellulase and Lactase enzymes)
    1,300 mg
Inactive Ingredients: : Brewers Dried Yeast, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Magnesium Silicate, Natural Flavors, Salt, Stabilized Rice Bran, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 30 g daily, 1 scoop = 30 g.

Compare

SmartDigest Ultra

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The stresses of everyday life can lead to ...
    Description:
    "The stresses of everyday life can lead to bad gas, loose stool, digestive upset, and other conditions. Probios® Treats are specially formulated for the overall wellness of your best friend. Apple-flavored. 1 lb resealable pouch (about 70 treats). What are ...
    "Total Gut Health is one of the most ...
    Description:
    "Total Gut Health is one of the most comprehensive gastrointestinal support products available because it addresses the entire GI tract. It supports the growth of healthy intestinal microflora, helping to promote intestinal health and immune function as well as ensure ...
    "The horse’s gastrointestinal tract is easily imbalanced by ...
    Description:
    "The horse’s gastrointestinal tract is easily imbalanced by stress, disease, diet, environment, or training. EquiOtic™ supports a healthy GI tract by helping regulate the surface bacteria with equine sourced Lactobacillus reuteri that is cultured from the horse. Only EquiOtic™ delivers ...
    "Time-released hindgut buffer to decrease risk of hindgut ...
    Description:
    "Time-released hindgut buffer to decrease risk of hindgut acidosis in at risk horses. Horses consuming grain as part of their daily ration or grazing lush pasture have an increased risk of developing hindgut acidosis due to starch or fructan overload ...
    "Probios powder is a probiotic supplement for horses ...
    Description:
    "Probios powder is a probiotic supplement for horses that contains guaranteed levels of Lactobacillus plantarum, Enterococcus faecium, Lactobacillus casei, and Lactobacillus acidophilus. Probios is the world's most widely recognized, researched, and used brand of DFM (direct-fed microbial). View our Digestion ...
    "Fastrack Probiotic Pack contains beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, ...
    Description:
    "Fastrack Probiotic Pack contains beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, enzymes, and fructooligosaccharides (FOS) to enhance digestive tract and horse health. The unique combination of ingredients enhance nutrient absorption, encourage the growth of fiber-digesting bacteria, stabilize digestive tract pH, and provide ...
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone ...
    Description:
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone levels and healthy nervous system function. Perfect for helping maintain a quiet disposition in mares and geldings, this formula includes a combination of raspberry leaf, taurine, magnesium, dong quai root powder, and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartDigest® Ultra Powder is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 732.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My Elderly horse with Cushings was having awfully soft poop. After fec checks and pro biotics no change. Then turned to pure liquid after 2 was of trying smart gut he has normal poop and clean legs coat looks better I Can't be happier and best part he doesn't even notice it's in his feed.
    Date published: 2016-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Worked! My Horse was having messy stools and that icky brown liquid down his legs and I could not get it under control. My stable friend told me what she used and to be patient that it would take a little time. It has been 5 weeks and YEAH!!! A Clean Butt, finally no more daily trips to the wash rack just to clean a butt and back legs.
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well Since I started my horse on this product it took under 3 weeks to clear up an ongoing loose stool problem. It has worked wonders for my horse.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super supplement I bought cool calories for my rescue horse and he has gained all his weight. He also had diarrhea and this ha been eliminated with Smart Digest. I can tell, he feels good and looks great.Outstanding customer service. They really care for your horse
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Suppliment I put my 3 year old into training so she was having a lot of changes to her environment and feed. I feel this helped her make the change and keeps her stomach even. Downfall is she is a picky eater and it took her a while to like this supplement. Now she eats it up.
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-12-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Picky eater wouldn't touch I only used 1 month cause my OTTB would not eat it. But she is the pickiest eater I have ever had!
    Date published: 2015-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm so happy that I put Summer on the Smart Pack Just the peace of mind is worth it.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer loves it. The peace of mind I get is well worth it.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!!! My paint gelding has always gotten loose stools in the winter when he is on hay only. I tried several other probiotic products with no success. Last winter I tried SmartDigest Ultra and it worked like a charm. He can be picky, but will even eat the powder without any grain. It kind of smells like maple syrup :) It is a bit expensive, but worth every penny. No more poopy butt in the winter!!!!
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the pre-measured packaging!!!! we put all three of our horses on SmartDigest Ultra Powder 6 weeks ago. I hope to never find out that it is NOT working!! I love the pre-measured packages and my horses love the taste.
    Date published: 2015-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My mare that is using it is so touchy, can't even change hay fields on her. But, so far so good. We have only been using it a little over a month now.
    Date published: 2015-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rebuilt my filly after Doxycycline My Andalusian filly as a foal coliced and was sensitive to antibiotics. As a 2 year old, she contracted Lyme's disease and was placed on a low dosage of Doxycycline, cautiously. The first day she had loose stool, then throughout the duration of the antibiotic she was weak acting, continued a dull coat and looked nauseous for lack of a better explanation. After consulting with Smartpak personnel about halfway through the anti., they suggested the SmartDigest Ultra powder. They recommended the 3.7lb size for a fair amount to see a difference. She just finished the bucket. Her coat came around nicer than I have seen it and her gut sounds are good sounding. She is also 'in the present' acting again. She doesn't love the taste, but will ultimately eat it. Her stable mate, on the other hand LOVES the taste of it and waits to clean up any she may leave behind :) I am dialing this in as a barn staple going forward and will update my review if my thoughts change. I could use the colic insurance from using the premeasured packets (which are supposed to be cheaper than the loose buckets) but the reality is she doesn't always eat the whole dosage and I can give custom scoops to other horses, at will. It probably is not how the product is to be used, but it is my realty.
    Date published: 2015-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Great product! Great for a picky eater too. Customer service was great also.
    Date published: 2015-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Possibly too soon to tell on the benefits My two horses are boarded at a large facility where the hay is from one supplier but different consistencies with each monthly delivery. Neither have had issues with colic. One horse has constant watery stool that drips from behind in warm weather and the other can be anxious/antsy when hungry. Both are treated with omeprazole frequently. Wanted an all-around supplement to help aid digestion and hind gut health. They have been on this supplement for about 2 months so we may be too soon to see results. Horse with watery stool seems better but the weather is cooler now too. The other horse has seen no change yet. Both horses have no issues eating up the powder. Will continue feeding it for another few months and make a decision down the road on whether it is beneficial.
    Date published: 2015-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am very happy with this product. It has helped Levi's digestive issues a lot.
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ulcer Prevention I've had my 7 year old OTTB on SmartDigest Ultra for 5 months after treating for ulcers. No gas, loose stools, or any symptoms since starting. It works great for sensitive tummies. She loves the taste so much she licks up any left over! Also like that it qualifies for Colicare!
    Date published: 2015-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really helped my horse My horse had a problem with chronic diarrhea and my vet suggested I try this out. It is the only product I have tried thus far where I have seen a significant change in his stool. I would definitely recommend giving it a try if your horse suffers with the same problem.
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product Started my horse on this supplement over a year ago, and love it!
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mare coliced after being on SmartPak Digest Ultra I'm so so sad right now to report that my mare, that has (other than a slight gas colic in July 2009 on a hot day with her foal by her side...) never coliced. I started her on SPDU as a precaution and loved the idea of the Colic Surgery protection. My mare has spend the last 3 days under emergency care with an IV and tube to administer fluids. She is just starting to show signs of a bit of relief. In addition to my mare's colic episode, my best friend, put her mare on SmartPak Digest Ultra (on my recommendation) and she just passed away from colic 3 weeks ago. I'm pulling my horse off SPDU and looking for a new supplement right away. I feel horrible that my poor girl has suffered so much despite spending hundreds of dollars on this supplement over the past 2 years. :(
    Date published: 2015-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish we had tried this first... A month on this product and she is a happier horse!
    Date published: 2015-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from ??? I am mostly reviewing this for the chance to win the $25 gift certificate. I have been feeding SmartDigest Ultra for a month and I assume it is doing what it is supposed to do. He hasn't colicked in the last month but, then again, he has never colicked. I got it mostly cause he is a cribber and I have heard that cribbing is sometimes a response to ulcers. He does still crib, BTW.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have had my 7 yr old Quarter Horse (easy keeper) on this product for several months now. He seems to be doing great, better than before starting SmartPak and seems happier
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WORKS! My senior mare was pooping regular but small, dark, hard stools. Now its nice and soft and looks healthy.......not to mention she feels great and nickers at the gate for her special mix of goodness.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We really like it! I have had my 20 year old OTTB since he was 3, and he's always been a picky eater. I've tried just about everything in the way of various feeds and supplements over the years to improve his appetite but it wasn't until I started him on SmartDigest Ultra that he began nickering to me when he sees me bringing his lunch. That's the meal that has the SmartDigest Ultra in it. He's gained weight and, although I wasn't expecting this to be a benefit, he seems less anxious now. Wish I had started feeding this years ago!
    Date published: 2015-07-19
    • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_64, tr_668
    • loc_en_US, sid_6312, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders