Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartDark & Handsome® Original

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #19476
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Supports deep, dark shine

  • 1,450 mg of omega 3 fatty acids for healthy skin & a shiny coat
  • Paprika & nutmeg for a dark, rich coat color
SmartDark & Handsome is now being offered in an updated formula at a new low price! The new formula provides the same key ingredients for a deep, rich coat color and more than double the amount of omega 3 fatty acids from flaxseed for healthy skin and a shiny coat. Best of all, it offers all of that great support for helping your horse maintain his dark coat color at an even better value!
Check out the new SmartDark & Handsome formula

SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, dark shine in black, bay, and brown coats. This unique formula provides a rich blend of omega 3 fatty acids from fish oil, flaxseed and chia seed, combined with paprika and nutmeg. SmartDark & Handsome is not just for the boys – it’s great for mares, too. (We just couldn’t resist the name!)

Note for Competitive Riders: This product contains paprika, which may contain trace amounts of Capsaicin.  

Have a horse of a different color? We recommend SmartShine Ultra.

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 30g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (30 g) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    9%
  • L-Lysine
    8%
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    16%
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids
    4.8% (1450 mg)
  • Supplying:
  • EPA
    .3% (90 mg)
  • DHA
    .2% (60 mg)
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids
    4.5% (1340 mg)
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    13%
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
    100 mg
  • Folic Acid
    62 mg
  • Biotin
    5 mg
  • Copper
    1,250 ppm (35 mg)
  • Manganese
    2,090 ppm (60 mg)
  • Zinc
    2,250 ppm (65 mg)
Ingredient Statement:: Heat Stabilized Rice Bran, Flaxseed Meal, Paprika, Dried Kelp, L-Lysine, Vegetable Oil, Fenugreek Seed, Chia Seed, Fish Oil, Lecithin, Biotin, Zinc Polysaccharide Complex, Manganese Polysaccharide Complex, Vitamin E Supplement, Copper Polysaccharide Complex, Nutmeg, Riboflavin, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Folic Acid, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Sodium Propionate (preservative).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. .5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feeding Instructions: Feed 30 g daily (1 scoop = 30 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Accurate replacement of the full spectrum of electrolytes ...
    Description:
    "Accurate replacement of the full spectrum of electrolytes based on recent studies of electrolyte loss in equine sweat. Now in a Gingersnap Spice flavor. View our Electrolyte Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated ...
    Description:
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs, developed by an equine veterinarian. This supplement helps protect horses from stress, supports the immune system, and aids in healthy recovery. Recommended for daily use. View our ...
    "A SmartPak exclusive! All the benefits of Uckele’s ...
    Description:
    "A SmartPak exclusive! All the benefits of Uckele’s renowned Cocosoya Oil in a tasty powder that horses love. This unique blend includes stabilized flaxseed and rice bran, along with probiotics and prebiotics for digestive health. The combination of omega 3 ...
    "Recent research has prompted leading equine nutritionists to ...
    Description:
    "Recent research has prompted leading equine nutritionists to suggest increased dietary intake of Vitamin E. E-5000 is a highly concentrated source of Vitamin E with 5,000 IUs per ounce. View our Antioxidant Comparison Chart Learn More about E-5000"
    "Grand Vite is a comprehensive vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Grand Vite is a comprehensive vitamin and mineral supplement that provides balanced ratios of key vitamins, chelated minerals, amino acids, and botanicals. Grand Vite contains active yeast cultures that support the digestibility of nutrients. View our Multi-Vitamin Comparison Chart Learn ...
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a ...
    Description:
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a balanced blend of vital nutrients to support healthy hoof growth, deep coat color, quality skin and coat condition, and all-year-round optimum health. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our Hoof Supplement Comparison ...
    "Voted top choice in the March 2007 Horse ...
    Description:
    "Voted top choice in the March 2007 Horse Journal, Perfect Balance Electrolite supports rapid re-hydration by including proper levels of sodium, potassium, chloride, sulfate, magnesium, calcium, and chelated minerals in a highly concentrated and highly effective formula designed to match ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartDark & Handsome® Original is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 286.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Three months-no color change Tried this last year on my black and white paint mare who turns a nasty orangey color by the end of summer. Not only did she still fade but she did not like the taste of it. Wetting her food improved intake. I have yet found anything that has worked to keep her dark-supplements, sunscreens, or fly sheets. Gave two stars because it seemed to improve her coat texture a bit, but not enough to be overly impressed with.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not much difference My Friesian has been on this for a month and so far I don't see much of a difference. She may be a little shinier but she is not any blacker. I'm trying another month to see if it just needs longer to work. I do love my smart paks!
    Date published: 2015-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works quite well! I started this product 2 months ago..My horses coats are sleek and shiny with no Sun fading!
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressed... My solid black paint started this supplement in the winter and I noticed as he shed his winter coat his hair did become VERY black. You could also see where new scratches and bites marks had been because the new hair coming in was jet black. Though he still became extremely sun bleached by summertime and looked no different than last year. He also hates the taste.
    Date published: 2015-07-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked, but not enough, and expensive Used this on my dark dark bay mare (looks black when coat first comes in, but fades easily) awhile ago, and then took her off of it. That winter her coat got so terribly bleached, she looks like she got a bad dye job! She turned this awful buckskin brindle color. So I put her back on it, and I can tell that its helped a little with her color. She hasn't faded near as much. However, her coat, mane, and tail are really dry and she has a lot of dandruff. I'm switching to a different supplement (from Smartpak of course!) that will hopefully focus more on the coat and skin health instead of the color and hopefully it'll work overall! My horse enjoyed the taste, but that isn't saying much since she'll eat anything!
    Date published: 2015-07-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from May have reduced bleaching but did not stop I purchase the product in May for my black horse. Despite being covered with a sheet with limited turnout he still bleaches in the summer. The smart dark and handsome did not stop the bleaching but he is not as light. It appears to have reduced it a bit but did not eliminate the bleaching. I just have to wait for fall!
    Date published: 2015-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This. Stuff. Works! Since starting this our horses, one black roan and one true black, coats have become richer and have dappled. This has definitely made them darker..... (they are already smart and handsome! )
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too impressed Had my mare on it since last winter. Did not see much of a change in her coat. She is not stalled every day, she goes in and out as she pleases.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Color I am on my 2nd bucket of SmartDark & Handsome. My horses color is dark and shiney. Although we are in spring and going into summer I am hoping that the supplement is contributing to his beautiful coat.
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This. Works! We started using this product about a month ago. Results were apparent much sooner though. If you have a dark colored horse, you need thus product! I highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Change Made my mare's coat shinier, but so does the big $7 bag of biotin I can get at the feed store. She still bleached just as much. Waste of money.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!! My horse Bear has a great, shiny coat. I know the smartpak, Dark and Handsome plays a big role in that. Thanks for keeping my horse looking and feeling his best.
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have really been pleased with the results. Have had all my dark show miniatures on this for about 30 days and am already pleased with the results. It has really made the black shine through.
    Date published: 2015-05-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I haven't seen the results I want yet. I think I need another month c
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too soon to tell My mare has been on this for about a month. It has made her coat glossy but I think it is too soon to tell if it will keep her black as the summer comes on. I will repost after a few more months.
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I had my horse on this before our show season started and it was AWESOME! Kept him super dark! I wish it was show legal so I could keep him on it year round
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! I have a horse with black and brown spots and I've noticed a huge difference in him maintaining his dark color even when in the sun all day. He won't eat it though plain I have to add applesauce to get him to eat. But it does not work on my dark bay horse at all.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This product literally turned my horse from a flakey skinned dull rough coat to a ridiculously soft and shiny mare! Everyone always asks me how the heck I get my horse so amazing looking! So dark and shiny!!!!
    Date published: 2015-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works Bought this for my new gelding- he was very light brown and faded out. After being on this for a couple of weeks he's now almost black. It works!
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not noticing any changes yet. I'm almost done with my first month and it seems she was darker before I started using it. I will try month 2 and if she isn't darker I guess I'll get my money back ):
    Date published: 2015-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made my horse SO dark and SO shiny! SmartDark and Handsome lives up to its name! This product made my black horse who bays a bit in the winter dark again! It also made him really soft and shiny. I'm so excited to see what he is going to look like when he sheds out! The only thing which I wouldn't even consider a negative is I'm going to have to pull him from it a week before shows! But that's no big deal!!! Awesome product and can't wait to see the 2 month results!!!
    Date published: 2015-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Keeps my friesian dark and his coat beautiful. Helps keep his mane and tail glossy and dark.
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I realize it's only the middle of February, but I'm not really seeing any results .
    Date published: 2015-02-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from He may be smart and handsome, but he isn't dark Unfortunately I will be taking this product off of my horse's SmartPaks. I had initially put him on it because he is currently rehabbing, so I don't need to worry about him testing at any shows. I have always wanted to try this supplement. He may be smart and handsome, but I haven't noticed any color difference in his coat. I gave it a three star rating because he enjoyed the taste, and his coat seems healthy, but it wasn't bringing out the dark bay in him. Note that I have had him on it for the full two months that the product guarantees. It may take longer, but I will be putting my money toward his hoof and joint supplements which are more important to me (and him).
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is even more dark & handsome, now!! Been using for several months. My guy's coat is darker and so shiny!
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! My horses coat looked bleached from the sun. It was dull and had an orange hue to it. After using, SmartDark & Handsome my mare's coat looks beautiful and her dapples are showing!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have a much darker horse with a lot of shine! My filly lives out 24/7 and had a very dull bleached out coat. I wanted to put her on something that would not only gives some shine to her coat, but try and bring back some of the dark color. This product worked great! She has a very soft and healthy feeling hair now that I am thrilled with. She was skeptical about eating it the first meal, but licks to bowl clean to get it all now. Definitely worth trying!
    Date published: 2014-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't believe the black coat My horse is a "dark bay" but bleaches to an ugly tan every summer. He stays out 24/7 unless there is bad weather. I tried a fly sheet for some UV protection to no avail. I started using Smart Dark and Handsome mid July in the worst of the Mississippi sun and heat. It seemed to be working slowly, then all of a sudden, at the end of August, y horse is darker than he has ever been. Gorgeous? Where he isn't a deep black, he has dapples in deep brown. He's never looked better! I'm so impressed and will never go without again.
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inky Black Horses! I bought a month supply of this product for my two horses, a 22-year-old black Morgan and an 11-year-old black Morgan/cross pony. After just two weeks, I could already tell a difference in their coats. Now, after over a month on the product, they are both inky black and beautiful!
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the title....it's what got my attention. I really can't judge this product yet, only been using it for a couple weeks but I have never used a Smart Pak Product that didn't work.
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_262
    • loc_en_US, sid_9476, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 79ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders