Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartCalm® Ultra Paste
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #21348
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Extra support for stressful situations

  • Includes magnesium, taurine, inositol, L-tryptophan, & thiamine to support nervous system function
  • Convenient paste is ideal for providing support in new situations & during times of stress
SmartCalm Ultra Paste is a comprehensive, herb-free formula that supports proper nervous system function, helping to manage stress and anxiety in skittish horses. This convenient paste is ideal for providing extra support in new situations and during times of stress.

This formula may be administered in addition to a daily serving of SmartCalm Pellets or SmartCalm Ultra Pellets. 

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 30 ml:
  • Magnesium
    4,000 mg
  • Taurine
    3,000 mg
  • Inositol
    1,500 mg
  • L-Tryptophan
    1000 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    550 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Ascorbyl Palmitate, Artificial Flavor, Citric Acid, Coconut Oil, Methylparaben, Silicon Dioxide, Soy Lecithin, Vegetable Oil (Cold Pressed), Vitamin E Supplement.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Directions for Use: For an average-sized horse, administer 1 tube (30 ml) on the back of the tongue 2 to 4 hours before an event. May be fed in addition to a daily serving of SmartCalm or SmartCalm Ultra Pellets.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that helps maintain relaxation and focus in horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-tryptophan, magnesium, thiamine (vitamin B1), ...
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak ...
    Description:
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak hooves in need of more aggressive nutritional support! This formula provides 35 mg of biotin for promoting healthy hoof wall growth. Higher levels of the key ingredients lysine, methionine, threonine and vitamin ...
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your horse’s nutrient requirements for optimal health. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in light or no work. ...
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, ...
    Description:
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, SmartMare Harmony is the ideal formula to help take her from moody to mellow! These tasty pellets provide carefully selected herbs including chamomile and passion flower to help maintain a calm disposition, ...
    "SmartVite Perform Senior provides the right selection of ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform Senior provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working senior’s nutrient needs so he can excel. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer optimal nutrition for older horses in moderate ...
    "SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, ...
    Description:
    "SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, dark shine in black, bay, and brown coats. This unique formula provides a rich blend of omega 3 fatty acids from fish oil, flaxseed and chia seed, combined with paprika and nutmeg. ...
    "SmartMuscle Mass Pellets provide all 10 essential amino ...
    Description:
    "SmartMuscle Mass Pellets provide all 10 essential amino acids from high-quality protein sources to support lean muscle development. This formula also includes gamma oryzanol, branched-chain amino acids, and bioactive whey to aid in the normal muscle-building process. Strong, defined muscles ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartCalm® Ultra Paste is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 125.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just not sure it worked . . . I bought this product in the past and have used it twice on not only one of my own horses but also have shared extra tubes with friends who are concerned about their horses behavior at a large yearly televised parade we participate in. While the horses I take to the parade are pretty solid in their training and behavior and so probably don't need any help, I think administering the paste does give the owner a mental edge in that you think your horse will act calmer so you ride with that expectation. The reason for my 3 star rating is that I used it for the first time on an 8 year old gelding two weeks ago and did not see any benefit. He tends to fidget and become nervous between classes especially in the first couple hours at a show and I thought this might help. I have been riding him since he was 3 1/2 so I'm familiar with how he acts and I saw no difference in his behavior. He did accept the paste willingly and seemed to like the flavor.
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it
    Date published: 2017-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for a great price! I have used Smartcalm Ultra and Perfect Prep and they both work equally as well except Smartcalm Ultra is less than half the price.
    Date published: 2017-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Irks! I administered the paste about an hour before riding. It seemed to take the nervous edge off my mare. I'll use it again.
    Date published: 2016-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new showing go-to! My young horse can get panic attacks at shows. I recently started him on SmartCalm Ultra supplements and I tried this when I took him to the state fair. His temperament was so much calmer than he usually is at shows! He acted like an old pro all weekend! I will be using this in addition to his SmartCalm supplements from now on at shows!
    Date published: 2016-10-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unfortunately this did not work as expected I bought this product for my thoroughbred to be used in conjunction with his daily calming supplement. I gave it the recommended time, and when I rode there was no change in his behavior, or anxiety. Luckily for me, I tested the product before I used it in a situation where him being calm would have been vital.... my recommendation is to not cheap out, and buy the perfect prep
    Date published: 2016-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works well My horse gets a little nervous when trailering to off farm events. I am pleased at the calm this product gives him. It must taste good because he doesn't fight the administration.
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped with the fairrer vist My OTTB boy had a bad experience with the farrier a while back and needed to calm a bit for another try at his feet. I gave him SmartCalm Ultra an hour before the visit; it clearly made a difference in his response to this formerly tense situation. SmartCalm Ultra is a must for his next trailer ride.
    Date published: 2016-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Improving mare My mare has been on about a month and trainer says the joint spplement seems to be helping
    Date published: 2016-08-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from By itself, didn't work for my gelding. However, I dispensed and combined with Platinum tranquility powder , a little grain and crushed peppermints and fed as a treat 1 hr before riding, and my gelding was very relaxed and rideable.
    Date published: 2016-08-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use helped young mare to focus better at showbecca 1746
    Date published: 2016-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a must have I bought this for the show grounds my horse hates, due to airplanes and airbrakes all night and all day. This really made a big difference. This was the first time I felt like I could ride and he stayed focused.
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent pad Works pretty well, but is a little thicker than I'd like it. Still slides a little but not as bad as it was.
    Date published: 2016-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Meh I used my first tube of this for hauling out last week. My horse definitely didn't settle as quickly as he had with Perfect Prep Ex. The slight difference in ingredients is like the result. I didn't find it too hard to dispense. Well no harder than any other tube paste (wormer etc) but I don't have small hands so perhaps I was better able to grip the tube for dosing.
    Date published: 2016-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great The paste works great for my mate. She can be hot, and this has helped her settle and keep her mind engaged on the ride.
    Date published: 2016-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work. REALLY hard to squeeze out though I used this paste once before on my horse for clipping and he seemed to get drowsy right away so I was happy it had a noticeable effect. I just used it again this past week for trailering (bad boy!) and while he was still a monster in the trailer, he was completely and totally relaxed about being in unfamiliar surroundings once there, and rode wonderfully. So while I am happy with the effect it has on my horse, it is SO hard to dispense. Idk if it's the thickness of the paste, or the plunger, but... Be aware you might need a second pair of hands to hold the horse because I need to use TWO hands to dispense this syringe.
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! I used this for the first time in what would have been a stressful night for my gelding and I. Trailering him alone for a jumping lesson and then getting his feet done. I was shocked. My trainer even noted how relaxed he was and he stood wonderful for the farrier. He was just a dream! I assumed it could have been luck too...so I did use it again the morning of a show and wow- again, he was not on edge, not looking for things to spook at, I felt I had his attention. Day 2 of show I was out of smartcalm so I bought perfect prep...HAH! It took me about 45 minutes to get to the ring because we were trotting in place...total spaz in the ring too. Needless to say that experiment was enough for me to buy the case of smartcalm and never look back. It really just takes the edge off...I will never show without it.
    Date published: 2016-07-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tiny difference I noticed a small change but i also had givin two pastes and his daily packs so i wouldnt spend the money on this paste again. It just wasn't that noticable of a difference for me.
    Date published: 2016-07-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too thick I bought 3 of these tubes for my nervous OTTB. I didn't notice too much of a difference in his attitude. But my main gripe about this paste is it's thickness and difficulty to push out into the horse's mouth. On the first try I only get half of the tube into his mouth. When I readjust my grip and place the tube into his mouth for the second time, it makes a mess because of what is already in his mouth. When I pull the tube out, I wind up pulling a lot of the paste back out with it as it seems very greasy and sticks to the outside of the tube. I always get it on my hands and need soap to wash it off. It is very oily. I think the Perfect Prep paste went into his mouth easier.
    Date published: 2016-06-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed I bought this to use on my halter mare who gets a little hot. I used it this past weekend and I did not notice any difference with her and if I have to be honest I think she was even worse.
    Date published: 2016-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results! Our local fireworks show is set off less than a mile from my home, so I decided to try the SmartCalm Ultra Paste this year to settle the nerves of my two mares during the noisy event (my younger mare was a nervous wreck last year). The show was last night and the results were amazing! They showed some concern at the beginning, then went back to munching on hay within a minute or two. They did run around a little bit during the big finale, but they were able to maintain their overall composure rather well. Thanks, SmartPak, for helping to keep my girls safe during this stressful event!
    Date published: 2016-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased this to help with show anxiety worked like a charm! I had a focused relaxed mare! I use this product with ultra calm supplements.
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I have been using this on my just turned 4 yr old when we go off property....works perfectly....takes the edge off and relaxes him....in general he is a very laid back horse never anxious but I think this helps him relax his baby brain more when in a new environment....used it on my older mare when we go to shows and takes the edge off as well....love this product!!
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartCalm I use this on my horses every morning of the horse show before we show. It really just mellows them out throughout the day.
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked like a charm! I gave it a try last weekend at a horse show. It worked great! Better then the name brand! My mare gets nervous, but she stayed on point with this. Some have reported its hard to push- but I had no problems what so ever! I will be buying this in the future! Thanks SmartPak for this amazing product.
    Date published: 2016-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes the edge off I have an ottb that gets hot when off property and this takes the edge off perfectly.
    Date published: 2016-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked quickly! I bought a tube of the paste to give to my new horse before getting clipped, because I was told he was horrible about it. One full tube in a 1500 lb horse and within 10 minutes he was yawning, drooping his head, and stood stock still for clipping! I rode him a few hours later and while he was fine, he did seem a little bit in slow motion, haha. So, it really seemed to work on my guy. Will be getting more of this to have on hand for stressful situations.
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't get it out This is possibly the worst paste syringe I have ever used. I can't tell you how the actual product works but I can tell you that I literally had to use two hands to deploy the syringe and push with way to much force in order to get the product out.
    Date published: 2016-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly! I have a very reactive event horse and while traveling for clinics to different facilities I gave this product a try. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!! Instead of trying to ride out the bucks and spooks before I get my horse's brain back- he was just all there for me ready to roll! Some normal excitement is understandable and he was totally game for our jumps. This product is definetly on repeat shipment from now on!
    Date published: 2016-04-15
    • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_116
    • loc_en_US, sid_11348, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders