PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email anytime!

SmartBreathe® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #18915
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
Choose size & ship frequency

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Helps your horse breathe easy

  • Includes MSM & herbs to support a normal inflammatory response & antioxidants for cellular health
  • Includes N-acetyl cysteine to help protect airway tissues from seasonal respiratory conditions
SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell health. This comprehensive formula also contains N-acetyl cysteine, which has been shown to help protect airway tissues from seasonal respiratory conditions. SmartBreathe Pellets are an ideal way to soothe and support your horse’s airways. Your horse is sure to love these tasty pellets!

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart


Active Ingredients per 60g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    5,000 mg
  • Citrus Bioflavonoids
    4,000 mg
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
    1,200 mg
  • N-Acetyl Cysteine
    500 mg
  • Quercetin
    400 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    300 mg
  • Pancreatin 8X
    250 mg
  • Supplying:
  • Amylase
    50,000 USP
  • Protease
    50,000 USP
  • Lipase
    4,000 USP
  • Fenugreek Seed
    250 mg
  • Curcumin Extract
    125 mg
  • Bromelain
    125 mg
  • Super Oxide Dismutase (bovine)
    100 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Calcium Carbonate, Calcium Propionate, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Flax Seed Meal, Stabilized Rice Bran.


Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. .5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily (1 scoop = 60 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Corta-Flx is a joint supplement that contains key ...
    "Corta-Flx is a joint supplement that contains key isolates of chondroitin sulfate and glucosamine in proper molecular size, assuring passage through cell walls. Corta-Flx is now available in the convenience of an easy-to-administer pellet. Available in pellets in SmartPaks or ...
    "D-Carb Balance is a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement formulated for ...
    "D-Carb Balance is a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement formulated for horses predisposed to insulin resistance and/or an inability to metabolize high carbohydrate levels. D-Carb Balance is in a palatable pellet form with a rice bran base. Chromium and magnesium may help regulate ...
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ...
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ingredients including glucosamine HCl, hyaluronic acid, chondroitin sulfate, and generous levels of ultra pure MSM. All of these connective tissue components are blended in a very palatable base of premium quality timothy-based ...
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-MOTION Pelleted Joint Product carries a ...
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-MOTION Pelleted Joint Product carries a blend of ingredients for support of the horse's body lubricants and connective tissues. This formula contains balanced levels of purified glucosamine, chondroitin sulfate, hyaluronic acid, collagen, and vitamin C. These ingredients are ...
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain ...
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain healthy, efficient airways all year round. Freeway Gold is an excellent choice for stabled horses or those with limited turnout. This formula contains tinctures of elecampane, liquorice, eyebright, cleaver, marshmallow, plantain, and ...
    "Mega-Mag™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    "Mega-Mag™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of alfalfa hay/grain based diets. The addition of live, stabilized direct-fed microbials, ...
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known ...
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known for its ability to help horses with stiffness and discomfort associated with exercise and normal daily activity. In addition, this economical supplement may help with itchy skin due to environmental or seasonal ...


    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
    • Competitor:


    SmartBreathe® Pellets is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 503.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ostrich in a round bale! I started feeding round bales about this time last year. Yup, you guessed it, my TB super-healthy, hardy mare turned into an ostrich - buried up to her ears in yummy hay. And then she started coughing. And it got worse over the next 3 months. The day the vet came out for an asthma attack had that round bale out of my field permanently. The cough reduced....and became a lingering little bother that did not affect riding just my sense of peace when listening to it. So, after 30 days on SmartBreathe my mare hardly ever coughs - even with these colder temps and being in the barn a little more time. Great product. I give the product full credit for the change in cough; nothing else changed in the barn. It did take the full month for full results - no going back now!
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped the cough My horse had a long standing stable cough that was getting worse, within the first 2 weeks his cough has stopped completely. Very happy with this product!
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does Not Work My horse has seasonal heaves and can’t have steroids to help thanks to an awful reaction to dexamethasone. This product had no effect on his breathing after two months.
    Date published: 2017-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lived up to it's name! My horse's respiratory issues improved within a month of starting!
    Date published: 2017-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Think It's Working?? I waited over a month to review to see if it helped my mare. She developed a cough from what my vet and I believed to be allergies to dust. It lingered and would affect our rides enough that I began a round of dexamethasone. That didn't help. I started her on Smartbreathe and at the same time reduced her activity level due to end of season, my job, and lack of day light, and also moved her home to my dirt turnout. After a month of not really riding more than once a week and being on Smartbreathe, my mare is back in work, being ridden 5 days a week, and living in a stall with a run. The coughing that was a part of every ride is gone. She isn't coughing in her hay or while hanging out in her stall. I'm not sure which of the changes caused the effect but I'm going to keep her on Smartbreathe for the time being. She doesn't normally get msm and I did notice a slight increase in her hind legs stocking up but with regular exercise they stay down.
    Date published: 2017-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I had tried other products and nothing seemed to help or my Mini wouldn't eat it. I noticed a difference in my Mini's breathing within the first week of use and he actually loves it.. No problems getting him to eat it.
    Date published: 2017-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works are promised! My 10 year old APHA gelding developed a cough and some drainage. Never off his feed and felt great. My vet and I discussed a supplement as we were going through a drought and everything was dusty and dry. After two weeks I noticed improvement and at five weeks there was no cough and drainage. Love this products.
    Date published: 2017-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Oreo my Mare has always wheezed thought out winter due to the round hay bails. With this they’re not bothering her at all!!
    Date published: 2017-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps my mare with RAO issues I have been giving SmartBreathe to my mare, Izzy, for over a year.
    Date published: 2017-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse has a physiological issue with her soft palate which causes her to cough when she eats. With the SmartBreath, she has improved due to it's healing components which have reduced the inflammation caused by constant coughing. I have tried other products that were supposed to be for coughing and to no avail.
    Date published: 2017-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought this 1 month ago for a horse that has breathing difficulty with hay and dust. Still have to give shots but does seem to help lessen his struggle breathing until the shot kicks in. Hoping with longer use it will lessen the frequency of having to give shots.
    Date published: 2017-11-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems to work ok for my coughing horse. Time will tell.
    Date published: 2017-11-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very hard pellets I don't know if this works yet. My horse won't eat it in his feed. It's rock hard and he sounds like he's going to break his teeth. I even took a hammer and pulverized it and he still won't eat it. I am reduced to mixing it with water in a huge syringe and dosing him that way. I hope it helps his breathing sooner than later.
    Date published: 2017-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Tried cough free first but wasn't quite enough, within 2 weeks he was significantly improving and by the end of the first month the cough was gone. No coughing even during work. Vet had come and gave steroids which didn't do a thing for him other than suppress his immune system further. Very pleased​ with this product! I did have to add something good to get him to eat it.
    Date published: 2017-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have an older mini that I recued several years ago. During the fall season in Florida he generally has significant coughing and wheezing. I started the SmartBreathe Pellets in September and I have noticed a difference only a month later. He still has some wheezing and an occasional cough but is much improved from prior years
    Date published: 2017-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! When my 8 year old gelding developed COPD my heart broke. He was coughing uncontrollably so I started him on Smartbreathe pellets and within a week he only had a light, dry cough. I actually had good results in only a week! I have tried other supplements but did not help at all. Smartpak supplements are truly amazing along with the customer service. You can't beat that! :)
    Date published: 2017-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has helped by Gypsy Vanner horse who has late summer seasonal breathing problems due to heat, humidity and dust. It is an overall anti-inflammatory with herbal supplements per my Vet.
    Date published: 2017-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's Working I tried this product for my horse's nuisance cough. He was on a more expensive product, so I thought I'd give this a try. So far, one month later, I am very pleased. He only coughs a couple of times as I warm him up, instead of coughing 15-20 times in a row. He does not stand and cough in his paddock. I am happy with the results!
    Date published: 2017-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them!!! These are amazing and work great for my mare who gets a cough when it's espically dusty and some allergies!
    Date published: 2017-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seemed to work well on retired horses Two retired racehorses (17 and 26) with prior coughing and allergy problems were worse than ever this spring (2017). They have very light work, but coughed even more under that little stress. After three weeks on Breathe, their coughing had almost disappeared and were able to resume their duties. I don't know if the product would have worked well under a heavier work load. They will remain on Breathe through early fall, and then we'll hope that they can go through the winter without medication.
    Date published: 2017-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far seems helpful! I bought this supplement in smartpaks about two months ago for my mare who has sever breathing issues. I had to mobe her to Virginia last fall and was worried how she would handle the summer heat and new allergens. She used to have COPD symptoms and was on steroid inhalers. So far it's almost august and I haven't had to pull out the inhaler yet! She also started allergy shots so along with the supplement she has improved tremendously. She still has issues but it is much better than it used to be up north. She no longer is coughing or has nasal discharge. I plan to keep her on the supplement as a part of managing her. The ingredients are important in boosting her immune system to help her handle the new environment. She no longer seems miserable in her stall and I'm thankful for smartpak for this product!
    Date published: 2017-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heaves! My horse has devolved such bad heaves this year from his allergies. I feed him this everyday and I can hear a difference after about 45min. It does take 2 months tho to start to fully kick in. I also naught a nebulizer to help. Dex is very bad to keep them in it could founder them
    Date published: 2017-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has helped with my horses breathing issues. It did take about 3 weeks to see a difference.
    Date published: 2017-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartBreathe My "Boy" has been on Breathe for a month with no sign of the breathing problem he has had for the last two years.
    Date published: 2017-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought a gelding that was on bad moldy round bale last winter. Has some respiratory issues. Smartbreathe has helped him tremendously! He might cough once during his ride. This is an improvement from coughing 10-15 minutes straight and every time he walks and starts back in trot or lope start coughing again. We are extremely pleased with this product. All natural, no steriods! Thank you so much for giving him his lungs back!
    Date published: 2017-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is breathing better... Our horse was having issues breathing, and the vet recommended we purchase the SmartBreathe pellets. We were told to expect this to start working after 6-8 weeks, and after 6 weeks our horse is back to breathing normally. Works as advertised.
    Date published: 2017-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 23 year old gelding would frequently cough several times at his first trot of a ride. Within 2 weeks of using this he only coughs once.
    Date published: 2017-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse had a very bad attitude with this product My Horse Scout was diagnosed with mild heaves in March of 2015. I wanted the best for him so I put him on Smartbreath, even tho my vet did not recommend me to. I gave Scout 2 wells at once and he was a maniac. I called smartpak and they told me to try giving him one well in the A.M. And one in the P.M. Scout's adittude was better. After 2 yrs Scout became disrespectful and would not listen, he turned into a horse I didn't know. I took him off the smarbreath and I have my loving, respectful horse back. I'm not saying it didn't help him, although I see no change, only in his attitude.
    Date published: 2017-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathing Great! I bought this product along with the Omega and Magnesium for my 18 year old gelding who struggled with heaves/allergies. We came too close to putting him down as it was very hard to see him struggle just to breath and the steroids and other medications were no longer working. I did more research on supplements and found the product SmartBreathe on the Smartpak website. After a little over a month he is doing great, and I am considering riding him again! I cannot say enough about this product!
    Date published: 2017-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Bought this for my 18 year old QH who still loves to run but needed some support.
    Date published: 2017-06-09
    • y_2018, m_3, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_36, tr_467
    • loc_en_US, sid_8915, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
    • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders