Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartBreathe® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #18915
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Helps your horse breathe easy

  • Includes MSM & herbs to support a normal inflammatory response & antioxidants for cellular health
  • Includes N-acetyl cysteine to help protect airway tissues from seasonal respiratory conditions
SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell health. This comprehensive formula also contains N-acetyl cysteine, which has been shown to help protect airway tissues from seasonal respiratory conditions. SmartBreathe Pellets are an ideal way to soothe and support your horse’s airways. Your horse is sure to love these tasty pellets!

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    5,000 mg
  • Citrus Bioflavonoids
    4,000 mg
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
    1,200 mg
  • N-Acetyl Cysteine
    500 mg
  • Quercetin
    400 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    300 mg
  • Pancreatin 8X
    250 mg
  • Supplying:
  • Amylase
    50,000 USP
  • Protease
    50,000 USP
  • Lipase
    4,000 USP
  • Fenugreek Seed
    250 mg
  • Curcumin Extract
    125 mg
  • Bromelain
    125 mg
  • Super Oxide Dismutase (bovine)
    100 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Calcium Carbonate, Calcium Propionate, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Flax Seed Meal, Stabilized Rice Bran.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. .5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily (1 scoop = 60 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that ...
    Description:
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that contains 22 mg biotin, 1,895 mg methionine, 1,563 mg sulfur, amino acids, trace minerals, and live stabilized microbials for optimum feed utilization. Biotin II 22X provides sound nutrition and carefully balanced rations ...
    "CW is 2.11% pyrantel tartrate medicated pellets. The ...
    Description:
    "CW is 2.11% pyrantel tartrate medicated pellets. The manufacturer recommends dosing a horse with a larvacidal dewormer such as ivermectin or moxidectin before beginning administration of a daily dewormer, to help destroy existing larvae and adult parasites. They also recommend ...
    "D-Carb Balance is a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement formulated for ...
    Description:
    "D-Carb Balance is a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement formulated for horses predisposed to insulin resistance and/or an inability to metabolize high carbohydrate levels. D-Carb Balance is in a palatable pellet form with a rice bran base. Chromium and magnesium may help regulate ...
    "Farrier's Magic Plus provides nutritional building blocks to ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Magic Plus provides nutritional building blocks to support healthy hooves and a shiny coat. Farrier’s Magic Plus is a tasty, alfalfa-based pellet that contains 20 mg of biotin per serving, along with methionine, iodine, zinc, and other key nutrients. ...
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain ...
    Description:
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain healthy, efficient airways all year round. Freeway Gold is an excellent choice for stabled horses or those with limited turnout. This formula contains tinctures of elecampane, liquorice, eyebright, cleaver, marshmallow, plantain, and ...
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known ...
    Description:
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known for its ability to help horses with stiffness and discomfort associated with exercise and normal daily activity. In addition, this economical supplement may help with itchy skin due to environmental or seasonal ...
    "Probiotic for horses with beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, ...
    Description:
    "Probiotic for horses with beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, enzymes, and fructooligosaccharides (FOS) to help enhance the digestive tract and overall health. The unique combination of ingredients enhance nutrient absorption, encourage the growth of fiber-digesting bacteria, stabilize digestive tract pH, and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBreathe® Pellets is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 500.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders Daily feeding of this product has all but eliminated any abnormal respiratory sounds from my husbands heel horse.
    Date published: 2017-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Product worked as described. My horses ate it without any problem. Cough subsided in a few weeks. Love it when products actually do what they claim.
    Date published: 2017-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cough disappeared I ordered SmartBreathe Pellets since my mare came up with a persistent cough. Although it wasn't terribly bad, she would cough a few times a day and always when we started out trotting. After only one month I can report that the cough has disappeared. My mare can be picky when it comes to supplements, but she devoured this without any issues.
    Date published: 2017-05-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from MSM made my horse anxious, nervous, spooky I bought this product for my horse who has a very mild COPD. She coughs a couple times in trot during our warm up. I received this around march 15th 2017 and the following weekend I took her to a horse show fro the weekend where she was a nervous and spooky mess and started refusing fences. I was perplexed and chalked it up to maybe her first estrus cycle. The behavior continued at home and I had eyes checked, chiro done and also scoped for ulcers. She had grade one ulcers and we have been treating in hopes the nervous spooky behavior would go away. A month later I still had a very nervous and spooky horse who is usually very level headed and will jump through fire. I stumbled upon a couple of COTH message board threads that mentioned that MSM made their horse nervous and anxious and spooky. I took my horse off this the next day and within 3 days I had my horse back. I also did not notice a noticeable difference in her coughing.
    Date published: 2017-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No spring Heaves! Since moving to Colorado 3 years ago, my mare Na'vi would get horrible heaving coughs every spring when the weeds start to grow. This spring I started her on the SmartBreath and no heaves! This is invariable to me because I need her in best condition for compete in sortings and competitions. I told my veterinarian and has since recommended it to clients horses that would normally be on steroids for heaves and now don't need steroids and are breathing clear.
    Date published: 2017-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Sugar has heaves. This allergy season has been difficult with all the oak pollen and lack of rain. I noticed less of a heave line within 2 weeks. Though she's not 100% she's 100% better than she was before the smart breathe pellets. My Sugar thanks you!!
    Date published: 2017-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked! When my horse was eating his grain he would breathe heavily...since using "Smart Breathe" within a week he was breathing normally.
    Date published: 2017-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bad cough My boy had a horrible cough. This has changed that and he breathes so much better! It took a couple months, however I am so happy with it and excited about the results it had on Cisco! I would highly recommend trying this. It is also great since Cisco is such a picky eater, he ate this wonderfully.
    Date published: 2017-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Life saver My son's pony has COPD. We have used several drugs and breathing treatments to get her through the worst of it. Now I use SmartBreathe. It's convenient and easy to feed. Right now she is 110% better but allergy season is coming so that will be the real test! So far we love it. She has been on it for two months. Only downfall, it is rough on their stomached so now I ad Aloe Vera juice to her feed every time I feed her. I wish it was easier on her tummy! But overall an awesome product so far!
    Date published: 2017-04-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didnt notice much difference. Ive used for about one month. Note no changes. However cough was not that big an issue to start.
    Date published: 2017-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working well I'm in the second month of Triggers administration of this product and his cough has greatly improved. He seems to feel somewhat better as well.
    Date published: 2017-03-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still waiting I have used this for a month and haven't seen dramatic results yet but I'm going to give it more time
    Date published: 2017-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Mare Is A New Horse I've been using smart breathe for over 3 years now for my mare. She has a break in her trachea from a previous injury that makes her breathing heightened after minimal work. With SmartBreathe her breathing is much more fluid without that raspy inhale and coughing exhale. I had to take her off it for a few months and her breathing was significantly worse. Now she is back on it and feeling great! Dusty arenas and working bother her no more!
    Date published: 2017-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love SmartBreathe!! I am on my second month of SmarkPak for my horses and I wish I would have started feeding SmartPak from the beginning. My gelding is 16 years old and has seasonal allergies and heaves. After being recommended this product by a friend, I decided to try it and I honestly wish I would have started my horse on SmartBreathe years ago. Within the first couple weeks, I noticed his coughing and breathing was improving. One month into feeding SmartBreathe and he's is a completely different horse. Noticeably more comfortable. Coughing has been reduced to very very rarely if ever. I am very pleased with everything SmartPak has to offer for my horses.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse Loves This Breathing much improved. This product has worked well for my horse.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marked improvement in breathing My young miniature mare has had breathing issues for several years now and has been examined by three different veterinarians. She does not have heaves, but evidently has inflammation in her nasal passages without lung involvement. No one has been able to make much difference in her condition without resorting to steroid use. With less than two months of using this product, she has shown at least 85% improvement in ease of breathing. SmartBreathe pellets have been wonderful for her health.
    Date published: 2017-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps my mare My mare has seasonal allergies and breathing issues, and SmartBreathe really helps her out. I give it to her during the spring and fall and it really eases her symptoms. She likes the taste of the pellets and I have to admit I love how they smell. Her seasonal cough has resolved since I started using SmartBreathe.
    Date published: 2017-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartBreathe Pellets SmartBreathe Pellets were recommended by my vet. I am always skeptical about how valuable supplements are but I have seen my horse's breathing issues improve since using this product.
    Date published: 2017-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A definite must-have for horse with heaves! One of our rescue horses suffers from heaves and between this & smartimmune he no longer has to have steroids multiple times a day! In fact, since being on smartbreathe & smartimmune he has gone from 2x/day steroids to help him breathe to 2x/YEAR!! He's a semi-picky eater but has no problem gobbling up these pelleted supplements!
    Date published: 2017-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Picky eater likes SmartBreathe My gelding has allergies to the point that his vet suspected heaves. I had him on Cough Free for about 6 months and his lungs got better, but the nasal discharge and coughing continued. My gelding didn't like to eat his supplement. Now that he is switched to SmartBreathe for a month, his cough is almost all gone and there is no more nasty nasal discharge. And my gelding likes to eat his grain with SmartBreathe pellets.
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyer Beware - Do not use in horses with ulcers! I started my horse on SmartBreathe about 4 months ago. He had developed allergies following a move to a new stall where there was hay storage above him. We moved him back to his old stall and started him on SmartBreathe. He was better within a week. However, he began having chronic GI issues. After 3 courses of UlcerGard and Sucralfate, many vet bills later and a still-symptomatic horse, I stumbled upon the paperwork that came with his first month's worth of SmartBreathe and was horrified to read that SmartBreathe may be a GI irritant and should not be used in horses with ulcers (see attached pic.) I immediately went to the SmartPak website to see if it was mentioned there since I didn't remember reading anything about GI irritation. I would never have started him on SmartBreathe had I known since he had had ulcers in the past. Sure enough, there was absolutely nothing on the website. Shame on you SmartPak! That "Cautions" statement should be clearly displayed on the website so other horse owners can make a better decision than I did and so that other horses don't end up in a viscous cycle with ulcers and GI issues. In the past when my horse had ulcers, 1 course of Ulcergard did the trick. Not so this time. Ugh! Can't help but wonder how many horses are on SmartBreathe and SmartGut...
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought this to help a horse with copd it will not cure it but it sure has helped quiet his cough and make breathing a little easier
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Improvement I bought this for my mini horse who has mild heaves, it definitely has made an improvement in only a month, I'll have to see how this summer goes.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mare is no longer coughing! My 25 year old QH mare was recently diagnosed with heaves, and had a respiratory infection on top of that; which made for a very nasty, lingering cough and difficulty breathing. After completing the recommended treatment from the vet, I started her on SmartBreathe pellets. It's been about 2 months and there has been no more coughing, and she is breathing much better. The farm she is boarded at even feeds round bales (as they feed several other horses, cows, and a herd of goats), and still no issues. I'm so happy that she is no longer coughing and I plan to keep her on SmartBreathe for as long as I have her.
    Date published: 2016-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!!! This is month two of my Mae being on Smartbreathe and I am so happy I tried it I have my horse back!! I've tried several products both prescribed by my veterinarian and friends to no avail. This product is amazing. My mare has no coughing wheezing or heaving or trouble breathing anymore. I plan on taking her back into the show ring which two months ago would've been unheard up thank you so much for everything you've done for her.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just stated 1month ago and our 22 year old Welsh pony seems to be breathing with more ease while working. His warmup cough is hardly noticeable. He was coughing so much at warmup he break to a walk. This product will be but to its best test in the heat of the hot humid summer. I think it will help.
    Date published: 2016-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING Effect - Quick acting and life changing My 12 y/o gelding started showing signs of COPD last year, mostly seasonal-related. Temperature changes were his biggest trigger; dust did not seem to be an issue. Was very manageable, until he tore his suspensory ligament in February and had to be stalled 24/7 for several months. His heaves became so bad, he would go down on his front legs in coughing fits. Constant discharge and strenuous breathing. Tried changing sawdust around; 100% pine large flakes helped, but symptoms remained. Once healed up enough from the ligament injury, he went out on pasture board to alleviate. Helped some, but was still struggling. Vet had us on a cycle of Dex & Pred; started discussing expensive inhalers for his bad attacks. Then I found SmartBreathe. Almost IMMEDIATE turn-around; no labored breathing, NO coughing, and zero nasal discharge. Within weeks, he was back to the same perfectly healthy horse from several years ago. He gobbles up the supplements, even if fed alone, too, which helps a ton. Cannot say enough good things about this supplement. An absolute MUST for any horse showing signs of heaves, asthma, COPD, etc.
    Date published: 2016-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chronic cough seems to be better I started a horse on this supplement after receiving an email detailing respiratory benefits. This is a horse who has had a cough for a good part of his life that occurred with work and in his stall. He has been scoped and nothing was found. He has been on antibiotics for long periods of time but the cough continued. He has been on the supplement for about 6 weeks and I am told that there is significant improvement. He is not coughing with work. Still has occasional coughing jag in his stall but not like before. His hay and shavings get sprinkled with water. The barn manager/trainer has said to definitely continue this supplement as if has made a difference.
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cough free It's bad when your horse has as many alergies as you do. If it was dry or hay roll got damp,poor Jazz would cough, eyes water, and nose run. It was a constant vet call, shots, and eye wash. Read about this and tried it. Within a week, he was better. At the end of a month, no signs at all. He has no problem with the pellets, in fact, he thinks they are treats.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Breathing Suplement After a week in my horses system, he didn't cough anymore! Best supplement I ever used and it actually worked!
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_9
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_36, tr_464
    • loc_en_US, sid_8915, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders