Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Red Cell®
Farnam Companies, Inc. — Item #11527
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Supports healthy blood cell production

  • Formulated to provide supplemental vitamins & minerals that may be lacking in your horse's diet
  • Includes 300 mg of chelated iron per serving
Red Cell is a palatable yucca-flavored vitamin-iron-mineral supplement for horses. Red Cell is formulated to provide supplemental vitamins and minerals that may be lacking or are in insufficient quantities in a horse's regular feed.

Click here to view our Energy Comparison Chart.

Learn More about Red Cell

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Magnesium, min 20 mg 0.06%
Potassium, min 100 mg 0.31%
Sulfur, min 250 mg 0.78%
Copper, min 36 mg 1,100 ppm
Selenium, min 0.65 mg 20 ppm
Zinc, min 110 mg 3,400 ppm
Iron, min 300 mg 9,400 ppm
Cobalt, min 2 mg 60 ppm
Manganese, min 39 mg 1,200 ppm
Iodine, min 0.25 mg 8 ppm
Vitamin A, min 25,000 IU 356,923 IU
Vitamin D-3, min 3,500 IU 49,969 IU
Vitamin E, min 35 IU 500 IU
Vitamin B-12, min 0.12 mg 1,680 mcg
Thiamine, min 30 mg 428 mg
Riboflavin, min 25 mg 356 mg
Vitamin B-6, min 8 mg 114 mg
Menadione, min 2.5 mg 35 mg
Folic Acid, min 7 mg 100 mg
Biotin, min 0.02 mg 0.285 mg
Choline, min 200 mg 2,855 mg
d-Pantothenic Acid, min 48 mg 685 mg
Ingredients: : Water, Ferric Sulfate, Ammonium Hydroxide, Citric Acid, Choline Chloride, Zinc Sulfate, Sorbitol, Magnesium Sulfate, Potassium Chloride, Vitamin E supplement, Vitamin A Acetate, D-activated Animal Sterol irradiated (soruce of Vitamin D-3), Copper Sulfate, Xanthan Gum, Manganese Sulfate, Thiamine Hydrochloride, Calcium Pantothenate, Saccharin Sodium, Riboflavin, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Cobalt Sulfate, Menadione Sodium Bisulfate complex, Sodium Benzoate (a preservative), Niacinamide, Sodium Bicarbonate, Biotin, Sodium Selenite, Kelp Extract, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Ethylenediamine Dihydriodide, Vitamin B-12 Supplement, Artificial Cherry Flavoring, FD&C Red #40 and Potassium Sorbate (a preservative).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Instructions: Horses in training: Administer 2 fluid ounces of Red Cell daily. Horses not in training: Administer 1 fluid ounce of Red Cell daily. Administer Red Cell by mixing into daily ration or orally with a dose syringe.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Help your horse make a great first impression ...
    Description:
    "Help your horse make a great first impression with the radiant coat, mane, and tail that comes from being in optimal health. Designed to help your horse bloom from the inside out, Farnam® Laser Sheen® Skin & Coat Supplement contains ...
    "Quitt Stops Wood Chewing • Natural Supplement • ...
    Description:
    "Quitt Stops Wood Chewing • Natural Supplement • Guaranteed results within 7 days • No more spraying, painting, or costly repairs Quitt is easy to use and guaranteed to work. Quitt is a natural daily supplement guaranteed to stop wood ...
    "Mare Plus is a vitamin-mineral supplement to bring ...
    Description:
    "Mare Plus is a vitamin-mineral supplement to bring the mare’s system into a properly balanced condition, optimal for conception, parturition, and lactation. The Breeder’s Choice. View our Multi-Vitamin Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "Strong hooves and healthy tendons and ligaments are ...
    Description:
    "Strong hooves and healthy tendons and ligaments are essential if you and your horse are going to accomplish your goals. Now you can feel confident you're providing vital nutritional support for your horse's foundation with Farnam® Horseshoer's Secret® EXTRA STRENGTH ...
    "Grow Colt is a special supplement just for ...
    Description:
    "Grow Colt is a special supplement just for growing foals. Grow Colt aids in growth and development under appropriate conditions of use. Grow Colt provides 27 important vitamin and mineral nutrients. Prepared specifically for colts in their first year of ...
    "SimpliFly with LarvaStop is a highly palatable additive ...
    Description:
    "SimpliFly with LarvaStop is a highly palatable additive to prevent the development of stable flies and house flies in the manure of treated horses. LarvaStop breaks the fly life cycle by preventing the formation of fly larvae's exoskeletons when they ...
    "Horseshoer's Secret is a pelleted hoof supplement for ...
    Description:
    "Horseshoer's Secret is a pelleted hoof supplement for all horses. Helps support cracked hooves and weak walls Helps support normal hoof growth Highly palatable and easy to administer Learn More about Horseshoer's Secret View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Red Cell® is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 50.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great product Im so happy with the Red Cell because its very good in winter to my horse
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Red cell review Great product, my vet recommend it and we love it!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my horse my deeply anemic horse bounced back quicker than the vets or my trainer ever thought possible and came back better than ever thanks to this product.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He's Smiling from the Inside Out My friesian has had several bouts of ulcers (we scoped him to be sure) and a blood test revealed he was borderline anemic. A review of his ration balancer showed that he was not receiving any supplemental iron, so I went to our local feed store and read labels. Red Cell had the most iron. My horse started the recommended dose 9 days ago. For weeks, he was sour about work, resistant, balky and difficult to get going. Things have changed dramatically already. He isn't balking when I put my leg on. The other piece though is his over all attitude has changed, even in his stall. He does not like the taste of the liquid, but Red Cell comes in pelleted form and I switched to pellets and mix it with his other food.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Can See the Difference in Using Red Cell! I started my TB on Red Cell a few months back, and I saw tremendous change in his weight gain and work ethic! And plus, I know that he is getting the minerals and vitamins he needs. He is now ion stall rest from an acute chronic bowed tendon.. so I recently took him off red cell because I don't want him to have too much energy and become a handful when he's stalled. He has started loosing a little bit of weight, so I have bulked up his hay and grain intake but it seems to not be helping as much as it should. I just reordered and will put him on small dose to combat his weight loss and give him the minerals he needs for his metabolism to function properly.. and the best part is that it's VERY ECONOMICAL!
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RedCell To The Rescue I own a 25 year old half thoroughbred/warmblood horse. He loves to work, but sometimes needs a little help. RedCell gives him the boost he needs!
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have been giving this to my yearling filly to help keep her diet up while starting training! When I started giving it to her I noticed a big improvement in her attitude!
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anemic No More! When I first purchased my horse he was slightly anemic. I was told by my vet to start giving him Red Cell in his feed. He didn't seem to like the taste or the smell very much, but he still ate it eventually. After a few months of feeding my horse Red Cell, my vet said his iron level had boosted it's way up to a normal level. After he became used to the taste he had no problem eating it. I was very happy to hear Red Cell had worked for him, I was very concerned. I would definitely recommend this product for a horse that is anemic and needs a boost of iron!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by horse and vet My vet recommended this to boost my horse's iron levels. He seems to have better endurance since taking Red Cell, and he thinks it is a great treat. He is a very picky eater, but with this sprinkled over the top of his grain, he eats every bit. I will try the pellets next, but if he doesn't love them I'll stick with the liquid.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great supplement I've been giving this supplement to my mares for years, and they have stayed healthy and strong. It's very palatable, and health wise every blood check has proven the quality of this product!
    Date published: 2011-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FOR 1/BAD FOR OTHER This is a great product for my very mellow, lazy mare. She picks up her usually slow walk and her energy is definitely improved but level. It also enriches her red roan coat color.However, it is DIASTROUS for my daughter's already highstrung mare. Her eyes literally roll around like marbles in her skull after a week on Red Cell!So good for some horses, not so good for horses with hot dispositions.
    Date published: 2011-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! My purebred, imported Friesian loves this product. His coat, mane, tail, feathers, andhooves look great. His energy is perfect.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extra boost My WB can be a bit lazy once the weather warms up here in the south. Red Cell gives him the boost he needs to leave the rails in the cups during the summer.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product Very palatable, inexpensive, and effective!
    Date published: 2011-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works I'm on my second jug and I love it and my horse loves it (of course I mix it with a ground carrot). I feel that it have helped with my horse's cough. I'm happy with the product.
    Date published: 2011-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff! My 31yo Arab has been getting Red Cell for the past 20+ years, and my 2 younger Arabs have gotten it since they came to me. All 3 have been incredibly healthy--not even a cold for the past 10 years!
    Date published: 2010-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from tasty? Hmmm I have used red cell frequently, the only downside to the product is picky eaters may not like it. I currently have an ex-racehorse in the barn who I know has been on it before & he doesn't like it much. Molasses work better for mixing supplements & I usually feed more vivtamins than are contained in the red cell.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use it every winter I feed this to my older horses every winter to give them an extra boost. They all eat it. Blood tests before and after show that it helps.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from maintaining Bought this on recommention for older jumper. Was a hot summer and thought it would give him a boost. Haven't really noticed much difference after about 30 days, but figure it can't hurt. I'm giving it orally, so I do know he's getting it all.
    Date published: 2010-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Red cell My horse is not a picky eaterHe eats most anything . Even some things he shouldnt eat..He is 37 so I dont think he will get overloaded with extra energy..But he likes it .. Thank you Smart Pak
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Stuff! I have fed Red Cell for a year now to our competition horses. Just a little bit makes such a difference in their energy level, and really makes them look filled out and healthy. Most horses eat it right up, but I have one that's a little picky about Red Cell, but she does okay with it.
    Date published: 2010-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product I put both of my horses on this product(one was eating dirt, so I figured he was lacking something). He is not eating dirt anymore. They both eat it with no problems. Would recommend this product to others.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality product
    Date published: 2010-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommended Needed an iron supplement for my older mare. This is the only product she would eat! Works great and she is less lethargic now. Good product
    Date published: 2010-04-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use When Necessary... My mare I've had for 9 months who just seemed to have a lethargic-type personality recently had blood work come back with a low red blood cell count (anemia).I've had her blood work done when I first got her but since she's always acted lethargic I expect the low red blood cell count was overlooked the first time.Red Cell was recommended by my vet...I tried just mixing it in my horse's feed but she knocks all the feed out of her bucket trying to get rid of the red cell, I will have to just syringe it in her mouth or maybe mix with applesauce.Smells gross like cheap children's chewable vitamins.Before: A poor creature that really wanted to be with people but was just too tired and lethargic.Now: A Horse who is just as sweet as ever with the energy to back it up. Did NOT make her hot, just made her feel better! We're not struggling to get her to just walk any more, she's happy to trot around in the arena and still be child-safe!
    Date published: 2009-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Red Cell Works! I have used this product in past years and was pleased with it. I started using it again as my horses just did not seem to have much energy. The "get up and go" was missing.Red cell *works* is all I need to say. You will notice a difference.It does have a strong but pleasant smell to it. All 3 of my horses accept it just fine including my mare that believes anything new is poison!You only feed an ounce or 2 although I give my Percheron 3 ounces so the value is very good.
    Date published: 2009-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy fix for anemia Last winter when my horse was extra lethargic we tested him for Cushings, worms and ulcers but found that his only issue was that he was a bit anemic. Red Cell did the trick! It's much less expensive than treatments for all of the other things we thought that he could have and gives him 'good work ethic' energy with a rather than 'hot spooky' energy.
    Date published: 2009-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW What a difference Started giving this to our percheron who was normally lethargic, in a little over a week I had a different horse. It does not make him 'hot' or pushy or unmannerly in any way he is just much more alert and wanting to do things. I am not sure about the palatability, it has been over a week and he still smells his feed every morning and then gives me "THE LOOK" but then proceeds to eat it.
    Date published: 2009-10-01
    • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_1527, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders