Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Quiessence
Foxden Equine — Item #10017
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Supports healthy nervous system function

  • Provides 16,000 mg of magnesium & 2.5 mg of chromium per 2 oz serving
  • In addition to calming, this formula may be helpful for horses that are overweight & cresty-necked
Quiessence horse supplement provides magnesium and chromium, which are important to proper nerve and muscle function. May be helpful for horses that are overweight and cresty-necked, and may also help with calming.

View our Metabolic Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 1 ounce:
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (2 oz) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Magnesium Oxide 7 g (7,000 mg)
Chelated Magnesium 1 g (1,000 mg)
Chromium Piccolinate 1.25 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Ameribind (binder), banana flavor, distillers grains, Powersweet, sodium chloride, wheat mids

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Directions for Use: Administer 1 oz (1 scoop) per 250 lbs. of body weight per day to start. Then drop to 0.5 oz per 250 lbs. of body weight per day when improvement is evident. Initial dose for 1,000 lbs. horse = 4 oz (4 scoops)Maintenance dose for 1,000 lbs. horse = 2 oz (2 scoops)
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that helps maintain relaxation and focus in horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-tryptophan, magnesium, thiamine (vitamin B1), ...
    MSM
    "Select the Best's MSM is an ultra-pure 99.9% ...
    MSM
    Description:
    "Select the Best's MSM is an ultra-pure 99.9% source of bio-available sulfur. MSM, or methylsulfonylmethane, is thought to support a healthy inflammatory response. No fillers, artificial colors, or flavors. View Our Inflammation & Comfort Supplement Comparison Chart View our Joint ...
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a ...
    Description:
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a healthy, balanced hormonal and nervous system in mares throughout the year, or throughout the season. Some geldings or stallions may also benefit from this mix. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our ...
    "SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets are designed to help manage insulin ...
    Description:
    "SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets are designed to help manage insulin resistance, a condition that is part of Equine Metabolic Syndrome, and frequently associated with obesity. This comprehensive formula supports healthy metabolic function by providing ingredients such as chromium and magnesium to support ...
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, ...
    Description:
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, SmartMare Harmony is the ideal formula to help take her from moody to mellow! These tasty pellets provide carefully selected herbs including chamomile and passion flower to help maintain a calm disposition, ...
    "Omega GRANDE® is a total-health, COMPLETE equine supplement ...
    Description:
    "Omega GRANDE® is a total-health, COMPLETE equine supplement made from stabilized, ground, whole flaxseed, stabilized rice bran, ground grain sorghum seeds (powerful plant based antioxidants), custom-blended vitamins and minerals, Diamond V® Yeast (direct fed microbial), and biotin supplement to maintain ...
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known ...
    Description:
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known for its ability to help horses with stiffness and discomfort associated with exercise and normal daily activity. In addition, this economical supplement may help with itchy skin due to environmental or seasonal ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Quiessence is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 561.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product overall--worth the try. I was recommended this product by my dressage trainer who has another client's horse on Quiessence (a 6-yo OTTH mare). There has been a big difference in the mare's ability to maintain focus and "it has taken the edge off without making her dull". With this horse's success, I thought I'd give it a try. My horse is an 18-yo solid paint gelding that tends to be nervous and reactive; making it difficult at times for him to focus on the task at hand. I started with the maintenance dose of 1 scoop/day and my gelding almost instantly showed improvement. I have increased to 1.5 scoops, as he seems to need a little more at this point--probably because I skipped the loading dose as recommended. Anyway, I am impressed with the product and I think it helps. (Although I don't think it will substitute for consistent exercise and training...horse's need a job to do.) For the cost, I would say it's worth the try.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great magnisium source for muscle conditions I bought this on the recommendations of my vet and chiropractor for my OTTB who, despite 18 weeks of down time due to a leg injury, looked muscle tight, buffed out like a halter horse. His body wasn't flushing tension in his muscles, so he'd get tighter and tighter every day, even with turn out and feed adjustments and plenty of attention. You could bounce a quarter off nearly any square inch of his body, he was so tight. After starting Quiessenence at a level providing 16,000mg daily , which had the highest dose of magnesium per dose available, in just a couple of days he began to be able to relax his muscles. We have kept him on the start up dose for over a month now as he continues to unwind. When he's back where he should be, we will adjust the amount he gets to find the right balance for him. I am so glad this product was available and is affordable at the levels he needs right now.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I have a crusty neck pony with awful nerves, breaks down quickly when asked for basic performance while riding. In 2 weeks I noticed an obviously difference in him while working in hand over poles and with flowers, he didn't stress so quickly and was much easier to move forward with things he is usually hesitant about. He also has crusty neck and looks much better.
    Date published: 2016-12-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse loves the taste, but doesn't seem to help I have an 18 year old chestnut Tb mare and it doesn't seem to help calm her. I bought it cause it was recommended by smartpaks wizard and I'm changing it for the next delivery. I'm on the second delivery and I still don't see a change in her. She is not an easy keeper and it's making her lose weight. Not what I was hoping for
    Date published: 2016-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of all the calming products I have tried! I got this for my 9 year old TB Gelding - have tried him on other calming supplements (Mare Magic, Training Day) and this is the only one that has made any difference. He is so much more relaxed in general and less spooky...and is finally calm enough to learn to relax under saddle - I would give it a try for sure!
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiessence "Quiet Essence" Put the quiet back into my hot horse. Quiessence allows him to focus on me and not the sometimes crazy energy around him. Thank you it makes taking him to new places fun again
    Date published: 2016-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product So please with the levels of Magnesium this product offers to support metabolic levels for my IR horses.Also a great calming supplement without harsh drugs or herbs to take the edge off. My mare focuses so much better in training.
    Date published: 2016-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for wveryone I have tried a variety of products on our horses with different issues. Two are mild stall walkers / have herd bound issues. One is hot and spooky, one stallion is quiet but distract able . some products worked for one horse and not another. This is the keeper one: it seems to work for everyone as a low maintenance dose plus on stressful days like taking the herd bound one away from home she gets a double dose. And also: one is a super picky eater that can find stuff hidden in her food a mile away/ won't eat it: she ate this easily.
    Date published: 2016-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my spooky fat mare I have an overweight, spooky mare and after 2 months of being on this she has really settled down!
    Date published: 2016-09-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very calming We bought this for our daughters barrel horse. He is very high strung. Since being on it, he is easier to catch and work with at home!
    Date published: 2016-08-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It seems to be helping him with his discomfort in the heat.
    Date published: 2016-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Updated Review After 1.5 months So I originally wrote a review after starting the maintenance dose (2 scoops/day). I think my horse had been on it for about a week. Now I've had my horse on this for one and a half months and increased the dosage to 3 scoops a day for the past two weeks. Now take this with a grain of salt because I have since moved to a new barn after being at the old barn for 5 years so a lot of the personality change could be attributed to that alone. My horse no longer rushes jumps, and I mean not at all. This was an ongoing problem that we had made some progress on, but I have never had more enjoyable and consistent rides in the entire 10 years I've owned him than I have in just the last two weeks. I have to ride with a crop now on hotter days just to give him some motivation to move out, which is much better than trying to contain an 1,100lb. ball of anxiousness.On the ground, he has also been a complete angel. He has not "nervous poo-ed" in two weeks. He has normal manure, no diarrhea side effect. I can hose him off in the wash stall with tap cold water and he just stands there and has a pleasant expression the whole time. When grooming, he used to throw his head while crossed tied when I brushed him, mainly around his abdomen. He would also pin his ears and reach around when being girthed. He still gives a simple head shake when currying, but is not concerned about being tacked up whatsoever. He's been in more work and also getting more grain and better grass, but he seems to have put muscle on more easily and I weight taped him the other day and he weighs more than he ever has in the 10 years I've owned him. I've been hesitant to admit it, but I've even started telling people that he is a completely different horse now. He enjoys being doted on now and makes it so much easier to love him. I think after I finish the 14lb. bucket at 3 scoops a day, I will buy another bucket and try 2 scoops again. I really think I can contribute a lot of his behavior to a Mg deficiency. I analyzed his diet and learned that the soil in our area is notoriously deficient so it made sense to try. Overall I'm exceptionally pleased with this product.
    Date published: 2016-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to Help, but Causes Diarrhea My easy-keeper Morgan mare has been on this for about six weeks now. I figured it was worth trying this, to aid in getting some weight, especially her crest, off, as well as seeing if it did indeed calm her down any. Combined with exercising (riding or longing) four to five times a week and putting her on a ration balancer rather than a small amount of grain, I have definitely seen an improvement. Her crest and tail head are both looking better. As far as calming, I haven't seen a change in her. Not a huge deal, as that's not the primary reason I purchased it.My one concern with Quiessence is that she has been having diarrhea and a lot of gas since I started her on it, which is never fun. I have cut her back on the dosage significantly and it made a slight difference, but not much. I did start her on the ration balancer only a week before, so it's possible that that could be the culprit. I am switching her to a different one this week, so will update my review if it is in fact the RB, rather than the Quiessence. My guess is the Quiessence, since Magnesium is a laxative. We shall see!But overall, I have been happy with it.
    Date published: 2016-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My picky eater has no issues! My horse has been on this for about two weeks - maintenance dose. He's very herd bound and fidgety in the wash stall normally. He also has a lot of skin sensitivity, much moreso than other horses to flies, and he hates to have his abdominal area brushed. He seems to be a little less anxious now. I'm actually moving barns partially because of how bad he has gotten. I ordered a month's worth of smartpaks for this supplement because I was afraid he wouldn't eat it. He eats it just fine. I'm going to order the 14lb bucket and up him to 3 scoops a day to see if it makes a bigger difference. I have a feeling that just switching barns will help greatly. I will update in the future once I have increased the dosage.
    Date published: 2016-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great place to start for headshaking My 9yo OTTB had exhibited mild headshaking on and off since last spring. This year, however, it became alarmingly severe. During meals he jerked his head up constantly, flinging his food everywhere and seeming quite uncomfortable. I started this supplement in March, and 4 months later have seen MUCH improvement. He eats his meals with maybe only one fling of his head. He is also rubbing his nose much less frequently. During rides he doesn't fling his head, even without a nose net. I decided it was best to start with the easiest and least invasive treatment first, which was just to add a supplement and fly mask (to help block *some light). I began the first 2 weeks with a single standard dose for his weight, doubled that dose for about a month, and am now back to a single does/daily. Having a hard-keeper I was worried that this product would make it difficult to keep weight on him, since so many use it for horses who are overweight, but this has not been the case. He maintains a good weight on his standard ration, and even looks more fit/muscular than normal. While I am very pleased with my results, I will add that this has not "calmed" or "quieted" my horse AT ALL! I had better calming results in the past using either SmartCalm Ultra or Vision.
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely helpful and effective Since we started using this about a month ago, our mare has acted significantly more calm and willing both in the ring and on the trail.
    Date published: 2016-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I bought this a little over a month ago and it has helped my horse TREMENDOUSLY. He was always very nervous and anxious now he has calmed down incredibly and I am able to work with him a lot better
    Date published: 2016-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Takes the edge off I started my OTTB on this product, then stopped and tried a more expensive supplement on the advice of a pro. Needless to say, The Quiessence worked better with no side effects, it's legal, and I am back. I do give 4 scoops/day though.
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my hot OTTB! I wouldn't say this prosuct was LIFE CHANGING like some people think these are supposed to be - but it has most definitely taken the edge off of my nervy, spooky, unfocused at times, Thoroughbred! And he gobbles it right up!
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for insulin resistance My older horse has been on this for years. She is doing great despite Metabolic Syndrome.
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I've had my 7 year old thoroughbred on this for 2 months and am so happy with the results. He has anxiety about a lot of things and I've noticed a big difference in his confidence and he is much more laid back about new things, places and being without his horse buddies.
    Date published: 2016-06-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful product Horse gobbles this down, seems to be taking the edge off a bit which is what I was after.
    Date published: 2016-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from something really works!!! I have my Haflinger on this product, and it is the only thing that truly controls his weight, his focus, and overall well-being. Without Quiessence, he would be on a continual diet in a dry lot, and not a happy pony. I saw results within 3 months with this supplement, and have now been using it for several years. Thank you for such a great solution to my chubby pony!! He looks better, feels better, and performs better while in harness. He is very successful in driving competitions now with his extra energy and good attitude. He was Champion 4H Driving Horse in our county for 2 years in a row, with a young driver. Quiessence has made a big difference in his life.
    Date published: 2016-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Muscles Seems to have helped with the muscle spasms in her back.
    Date published: 2016-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it! This product has helped greatly with my borderline insulin resistant horse. He has lost weight with no other dietary changes and the credit was in his neck has softened. I believe he lacked the minerals in this product and this is exactly what he needed.
    Date published: 2016-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Takes the edge off My mare tends to be over reactive and looky. On this supplement she looks less and if she does react, it's minimal and very easy to regain her attention.
    Date published: 2016-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from worked on crested neck mare This my second container and my mare's crested neck has reduced by half.
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I switched to Quiessence after smartcalm didn't have much effect on my anxious thoroughbred. I followed the instructions about using a loading dose and got wonderful results. My horse is finally a relaxed and happy boy!
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to help one horse but not the other This seems to help one of my horses a little bit but does not affect the other horses at all. Not the best palatability for my picky eaters but they will eat it if I mix it in the grain really well.
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_17
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_77, tr_484
    • loc_en_US, sid_17, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders