Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Quiessence

Foxden Equine — Item #10017
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Supports healthy nervous system function

  • Provides 16,000 mg of magnesium & 2.5 mg of chromium per 2 oz serving
  • In addition to calming, this formula may be helpful for horses that are overweight & cresty-necked
Quiessence horse supplement provides magnesium and chromium, which are important to proper nerve and muscle function. May be helpful for horses that are overweight and cresty-necked, and may also help with calming.

View our Metabolic Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 1 ounce:
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (2 oz) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Magnesium Oxide 7 g (7,000 mg)
Chelated Magnesium 1 g (1,000 mg)
Chromium Piccolinate 1.25 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Ameribind (binder), banana flavor, distillers grains, Powersweet, sodium chloride, wheat mids

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Directions for Use: Administer 1 oz (1 scoop) per 250 lbs. of body weight per day to start. Then drop to 0.5 oz per 250 lbs. of body weight per day when improvement is evident. Initial dose for 1,000 lbs. horse = 4 oz (4 scoops)Maintenance dose for 1,000 lbs. horse = 2 oz (2 scoops)
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated ...
    Description:
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs, developed by an equine veterinarian. This supplement helps protect horses from stress, supports the immune system, and aids in healthy recovery. Recommended for daily use. View our ...
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a ...
    Description:
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a healthy, balanced hormonal and nervous system in mares throughout the year, or throughout the season. Some geldings or stallions may also benefit from this mix. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our ...
    "Fat-Cat is a concentrated natural muscle developer with ...
    Description:
    "Fat-Cat is a concentrated natural muscle developer with amino acids to support weight gain, coat health, and energy levels. Fat-Cat is a great way to supply muscles with protein building blocks and beneficial vitamins and minerals. View our Weight Gain ...
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined ...
    Description:
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined with B-complex vitamins and organic trace minerals. Metaboleeze may be appropriate for supporting horses with Equine Metabolic Syndrome/insulin resistance, as well as some types of tying-up. Work with your veterinarian to determine ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that helps maintain relaxation and focus in horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-tryptophan, magnesium, thiamine (vitamin B1), ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Paste uses natural ingredients ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Paste uses natural ingredients in a proprietary blend to support sustained relaxation and focus in horses during stressful conditions. Perfect Prep EQ Gold acts gradually. Its effects peak 8 hours after first administration, and last up ...
    "Quia-Cal® is an oral paste that helps promote ...
    Description:
    "Quia-Cal® is an oral paste that helps promote healthy nervous system function in your horse with a combination vitamin B1, calcium, and magnesium. Supplied in a convenient oral syringe, Quia-Cal® has a tasty apple cinnamon flavor that horses love. This ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Quiessence is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 591.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product...my horse is doing well on it....proof will be what he looks like come spring
    Date published: 2017-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works GREAT for a nutty TB!! My OTTB has been on this product about a month and half now, and the difference is wonderful! He's not spooky or hot headed, but when it comes to attention span, he's lacking :) Quiessence seems to do the best and I've tried just about all other top rated items out there!
    Date published: 2017-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse ate it readily Seems to be quieter, not a big difference thought. I bought the 50 lb bag for a better value.
    Date published: 2017-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our vet recommended this product It definitely helped our horse with his "head shaking syndrome"
    Date published: 2017-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works In less than a month it made Wyatt calmer and ready to works
    Date published: 2017-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product was very helpful in getting my ponies back in shape after a hard winter. I will continue to use this product.
    Date published: 2017-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love it I did not get these to alter behavior. I had read this supplement can help shrink a crested neck. Figured I'd give it a shot and it was SO worth it! Within a week or two his neck looked almost completely normal! Catch is they have to stay on it to keep the results which adds up.
    Date published: 2017-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this for my horse because she is very spooky and on edge most of the time. This product helped her calm down just enough without making her to mellow.
    Date published: 2017-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped to balance and quiet by gelding I purchased for my gelding who the vet thought had EMS or Cushings. He had developed fat pads, long hairs, and was very unpredictable and spooky. This was a total change in behavior. His tests for EMS and Cushings are negative. He has been on this for one month and has totally turned around. We have watched his diet and exercise in addition to adding Quiessence. He is back to his calm self. He is working well in the round pen listening to his cues. It seems to have also balanced his metabolism even beyond his diet and exercise. We have to have the chiropractor check him out before riding, but I cannot wait to ride him. I know he is back to his normal self!!
    Date published: 2017-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge Difference! Although I am not a fan of using supplements to modify behavior, my husbands mare was constantly over reacting to everything around her. In some instances she was borderline dangerous, if you weren't paying attention! Now she seems to be able to "think" before reacting which has made a HUGE difference! This is a great product in my opinion!
    Date published: 2017-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more colic My gelding is much calmer because he is not in pain. He seems so much friendlier and pet like.
    Date published: 2017-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think it works! Mare went off regumate, and have tried this instead. She is still spooky at times, but I think it does help overall.
    Date published: 2017-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Takes the edge off. My high strung, anxious OTTB mare has been on Quiessence for 3 months. She still has her moments but this supplement has definitely taken some of the edge off. Her mood seems more even. I would recommend either this or Easy Mare Gold to riders experiencing the same anxious, unfocused behavior in their horse.
    Date published: 2017-05-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No difference after two months My gelding has been on restricted activity for about eight months and has become a bit difficult to handle during hand walks. I added this to his smartpaks after reading all the great reviews. After two months, I've seen no difference. Actually he's a bit worse now, pacing in turnout and has been territorial in his stall. Hoping something else will be effective.
    Date published: 2017-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made a huge difference! I put my TB mare on this after she tied up and chromium was recommended to help ease muscles. It definitely helped the healing process and made a difference in her personality as well. It took the "nervous edge" off and she's a much happier and more relaxed horse!
    Date published: 2017-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am certain this stuff works!! I am a little wary so supplements to help with behavior etc. That said my little gelding has been on it for a few years now ( I can't even remember why we started). Anyway, twice I let him go about a week without it--once I ran out, the second time he got loose and got into it and I was afraid he'd eaten too much..which I learned isn't likely a problem. The first time he nearly took out a horse AND rider in warmup, the second time he bucked me off with no warning. I will never go without it again! And, I might up the dose as he is still often flinchy when brushed. Great stuff!!
    Date published: 2017-04-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to use I have been using this for approximately 6 weeks. I'm not sure if it is doing anything. I will use up my 14lb bucket then stop for awhile to see if i can tell a difference.
    Date published: 2017-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Less spooky! My gelding is more relaxed, sane, and less tense and spooky since starting Quiessence. Will continue to feed it!
    Date published: 2017-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A legal calming supplement! This has been a 'go-to' supplement of mine for many years. It is great for mares or geldings that start out a little 'too hot' when riding. It allows relaxation and concentration. Great stuff!
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for muscle function Helps "calm" my hot barrel horse. I feed two scoops daily and she loves them. This product has the best value.
    Date published: 2017-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse finds it delicious! It's a well known metabolic support product, which is said to have a banana flavor. I can't really smell that, and I'm not really wanting to try it, but who cares, the horse eats it. I will say the lid is a bit flimsy, so be sure to snap it shut all the way and/or store in a larger container.
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually works! I used this in the past for my high strung Morgan and it was the only thing that ever worked to chill her out. I just started it on my generally mellow Quarter Horse mare who is spazzy in the winter- looking and spooking at everything when in the summer she is invincible. So far, she has been much calmer in the brain and more pleasant to ride.
    Date published: 2017-02-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work for my horse My anxious horse has been on this for about three months now and I have seen no change whatsoever, if anything he has become more nervous. I really wish it had worked as I paid quite a bit for the bucket of it. Not too impressed.
    Date published: 2017-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quiescence My gelding is very spoooky! This definitely took the edge off of it and he is more focused.
    Date published: 2017-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love Love this product!! I've used this supplement on a horse years ago and it worked very well. I started using it again about 30 days ago for an older saddlebred gelding I have. He was always so nervous and edgy, this supplement really took the "worry" out of him. He's much more focused and relaxed now. Not to mention that he isn't "worrying" the weight off himself any more!
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product overall--worth the try. I was recommended this product by my dressage trainer who has another client's horse on Quiessence (a 6-yo OTTH mare). There has been a big difference in the mare's ability to maintain focus and "it has taken the edge off without making her dull". With this horse's success, I thought I'd give it a try. My horse is an 18-yo solid paint gelding that tends to be nervous and reactive; making it difficult at times for him to focus on the task at hand. I started with the maintenance dose of 1 scoop/day and my gelding almost instantly showed improvement. I have increased to 1.5 scoops, as he seems to need a little more at this point--probably because I skipped the loading dose as recommended. Anyway, I am impressed with the product and I think it helps. (Although I don't think it will substitute for consistent exercise and training...horse's need a job to do.) For the cost, I would say it's worth the try.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great magnisium source for muscle conditions I bought this on the recommendations of my vet and chiropractor for my OTTB who, despite 18 weeks of down time due to a leg injury, looked muscle tight, buffed out like a halter horse. His body wasn't flushing tension in his muscles, so he'd get tighter and tighter every day, even with turn out and feed adjustments and plenty of attention. You could bounce a quarter off nearly any square inch of his body, he was so tight. After starting Quiessenence at a level providing 16,000mg daily , which had the highest dose of magnesium per dose available, in just a couple of days he began to be able to relax his muscles. We have kept him on the start up dose for over a month now as he continues to unwind. When he's back where he should be, we will adjust the amount he gets to find the right balance for him. I am so glad this product was available and is affordable at the levels he needs right now.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I have a crusty neck pony with awful nerves, breaks down quickly when asked for basic performance while riding. In 2 weeks I noticed an obviously difference in him while working in hand over poles and with flowers, he didn't stress so quickly and was much easier to move forward with things he is usually hesitant about. He also has crusty neck and looks much better.
    Date published: 2016-12-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse loves the taste, but doesn't seem to help I have an 18 year old chestnut Tb mare and it doesn't seem to help calm her. I bought it cause it was recommended by smartpaks wizard and I'm changing it for the next delivery. I'm on the second delivery and I still don't see a change in her. She is not an easy keeper and it's making her lose weight. Not what I was hoping for
    Date published: 2016-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of all the calming products I have tried! I got this for my 9 year old TB Gelding - have tried him on other calming supplements (Mare Magic, Training Day) and this is the only one that has made any difference. He is so much more relaxed in general and less spooky...and is finally calm enough to learn to relax under saddle - I would give it a try for sure!
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_81, tr_510
    • loc_en_US, sid_17, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders