PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email anytime!

Natural Psyllium Fiber (monthly purge)

Equi Aid Products Inc. — Item #10186
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
Choose size & ship frequency
AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions

Supports the removal of fecal sand

  • Provides 102,250 mg of psyllium seed husk
Psyllium seed husk in flavored pellets for ease of administration. Natural Psyllium Fiber is a monthly purge. Supports removal of sand and may help reduce the possibility of digestive colic in horses.

View our Sand Colic Supplement Comparison Chart


Active Ingredient per 5 oz:
  • Psyllium Husk
Inactive Ingredients:: Artificial flavors, mineral oil, natural flavors, propionic acid (preservative)


Instructions for Use:
For average size (1,000 lb) adult horse - give one scoop (5 oz) to 1.5 scoops of Equi Aid Psyllium Fiber for one full week (7 days) out of every month. Give less to ponies, yearlings and foals; more to larger horses and draft breeds. Fresh water should be available at all times.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Bug Check brings you the best of both ...
    "Bug Check brings you the best of both worlds! Bug Check contains garlic, yeast, and grape seed extract to deter biting flies and diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Bug Check is chemical free and palatable, with no ...
    "CW is 2.11% pyrantel tartrate medicated pellets. The ...
    "CW is 2.11% pyrantel tartrate medicated pellets. The manufacturer recommends dosing a horse with a larvacidal dewormer such as ivermectin or moxidectin before beginning administration of a daily dewormer, to help destroy existing larvae and adult parasites. They also recommend ...
    "The Wholistic Pet's Deep Sea Salmon Oil is ...
    "The Wholistic Pet's Deep Sea Salmon Oil is the finest quality, human-grade salmon oil from the body of fresh-caught salmon (wild, not farm-raised). Rich in the Omega 3 Fatty Acids EPA and DHA, Deep Sea Salmon Oil is the perfect ...
    "Time-released hindgut buffer to decrease risk of hindgut ...
    "Time-released hindgut buffer to decrease risk of hindgut acidosis in at risk horses. Horses consuming grain as part of their daily ration or grazing lush pasture have an increased risk of developing hindgut acidosis due to starch or fructan overload ...
    "Fastrack Probiotic Pack contains beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, ...
    "Fastrack Probiotic Pack contains beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, enzymes, and fructooligosaccharides (FOS) to enhance digestive tract and horse health. The unique combination of ingredients enhance nutrient absorption, encourage the growth of fiber-digesting bacteria, stabilize digestive tract pH, and provide ...
    "Fat-Cat is a concentrated natural muscle developer with ...
    "Fat-Cat is a concentrated natural muscle developer with amino acids to support weight gain, coat health, and energy levels. Fat-Cat is a great way to supply muscles with protein building blocks and beneficial vitamins and minerals. View our Weight Gain ...
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, ...
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, which buffers the stomach from gastric acid. When horses are stalled, this natural buffering mechanism is disrupted, and acid indigestion often results. Neigh-Lox is designed to support normal stomach function and promote ...


    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
    • Competitor:


    Natural Psyllium Fiber (monthly purge) is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 107.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy, Healthy Horses It is nearly impossible to get my mini to eat psyllium. This is the first psyllium I have been able to give him, that he will actually eat. I highly recommend it for picky eaters!
    Date published: 2017-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been using this brand for a few years now. and have been using Psyllium 7 days a month for over 40 years! have 8-12 horses at any given time. And no stones! No colic! I'm a believer!
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product is very palatable and reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2016-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horses love this I have been using this for 6 months after one of my miniature horses had sand colic. He refused to eat other brands of psyllium, but my vet told me about the Equi Aid Natural Psyllium which she said her horse loved. She was right, all 4 horses love it!
    Date published: 2016-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Psyllium powder Works great! Simple scoop for seven days once a month.
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Love this product. My horses love it when it is time for the Psyllium because they love the taste of it.
    Date published: 2016-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Price Psyllium My mare eats psyllium daily to manage insulin intolerance. So I need a large supple at the best price. Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Psyllium pellets Less additives than other brands, it's 99% psyllium, and all our horses eat all the pellets.Best sand colic preventative avail!
    Date published: 2015-09-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Palatable My mare refused a different brand but happily eats this kind
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I bought this product for my two mares because my vet was concerned about sand colic. Both mares readily ate and I did not need to add to grain. The product has a measuring cup in the container so it is easy to measure out and feed.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horses love taste I have been using this product for years and have no problem with my horses eating this. They like the taste
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using this product for the past three years. The horses like the pellets and taste.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very picky eater - this product easily blends with Smart packs supplements and picks up flavors with overnight combination. Guaranteed consumption!
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO COLIC used for years no colic works great here in desert sand
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it - been feeding it for years! In South Florida where pasture is more like tiny grass sprigs in a sand pit ... this is a monthly necessity. Love the product. Haven't had a horse (or pony - and mine are picky!) turn their nose up at it yet. We feed it once a month for a week and are confident the sand isn't a problem.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product at a great price ok with that being said-I think they could lower the price by just putting the product into a bag and get rid of the plastic bucket. once you open the bucket-you cannot reseal it, so you have to store it in other containers anyway- but so far this is the lowest price I have found on 50lbs of psyllium and the horses seem to like it. I would also like to comment on the 'expertise rating'. I am not a trainer, but I am defiantly more advanced than intermediate. I wouldn't call myself an expert by any means, only I do have a vast knowledge of horses. perhaps 'advanced' would be more appropriate.
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding is a very, very picky grain eater. Tried the SandClear, and he absolutely hated it. This kind he willingly ate the first day, from the second day onwards I had to mix in a small handful or two of sweet feed to mask the taste, and he was ok with it. Good for the price point, he's on it as a preventative since currently drylotted.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't fix my horse's issue My horse has had chronic, low-grade diarrhea for a while and the vet suggested putting him on this product for a while. My finicky horse will eat it in his other pellets (good), but it has made no change in the problem. We don't think the problem is actually sand, but my vet believes psyllium has other beneficial properties. Not seeing it so far and it's been weeks. I was also a little put off because the tub I received smelled kind of stale when I opened it -- bought another tub from the vet when I ran out and it did not smell like that. Also felt shipping was slow.
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my mare happy and comfortable I had a mare that would mildly colic fairly often. At my vet's suggestion, I started feeding her psyllium daily and she has not had a bought of colic since.
    Date published: 2014-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to feed pellets I have been using this product for years & have no problem with it being eaten or experiencing any colic's.
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have a mare that will eat anything and a gelding that won't. The gelding picked around it the first few tries but eventually gave in and eats it fine now. We only use it occasionally but haven't had any colics so far though only the gelding has ever had colic and that was when we were boarding.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service!! Thank you so much for your prompt delivery! Sometimes I snooze on the level of my supplements and need them ASAP, and you guys are so fast!! My horse loves this psyllium, and he usually turns up his nose at additions to his feed!
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from must taste good My horse Serra is such a pickie eater, I just can't believe it. I much have thrown away a billion dollars on suppliments that she just won't eat. This product in pellet form must taste better that the powder form and for that reason, I choose it.
    Date published: 2014-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed My horses love this product and have no problem eating it. Other psyllium supplements so strong but this has the perfect amount of key ingredients.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product A friend turned me on to this brand of psylem a while back. I still had a huge bucket of the old product that I was using on my horses. So I decied that I would give this one a try. My yearling is extreamly Picky and wont eat things that tast funny to her. But she loves this and its peleted so it mixes into her feed easily.
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Natural Psyllium Fiber Some horse people say free choice, good quality hay is all that's needed to avoid sand colic, but this product also offers a bit of emotional support. I feel better for having it in my horses' nutritional plan. It's sort of like having insurance.
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sand Blaster On our barns random fecal check 5 horses were found to have sand. The vet recommended we do a spot check ourselves to have a baseline. Well, of course my horse had about a tablespoon of sand come out of a handful sample of manure, how much more is still inside him? I couldnt believe it. I knew he was a dirt eater and is on treatment for ulcers due to frequent "tummy aches" and felt the sand could also be contributing, so as a group we purchased and treated all the 5 horses. To my relief one week later my horse was totally "sand free" on recheck. I will definitely keep checking him throughout the year and use this again. Taste gets a 4, because two horses were hesitant to eat it the first couple days, but were finishing it up by day 7.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product It is best to buy this product in the 10lb. It is most economical. I have no incidence of colic since I started feeding this monthly.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value! This is a good value when psyllium is needed. Horse seem to eat it well and will definitely use again!
    Date published: 2013-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Horses actually eat it. Have a horse that requires one cup of this a day. He would leave the powder version at the bottom his feeder. He eats the pellets right up can't pick them out of his grain.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    • y_2018, m_3, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_86
    • loc_en_US, sid_186, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders