Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
MSM
Select The Best — Item #10180
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Supports a healthy inflammatory response

  • Provides 10,000 mg of MSM for a healthy inflammatory response
Select the Best's MSM is an ultra-pure 99.9% source of bio-available sulfur. MSM, or methylsulfonylmethane, is thought to support a healthy inflammatory response. No fillers, artificial colors, or flavors.

View Our Inflammation & Comfort Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 10 grams:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (10g/10,000mg) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM) (99.9%) Pure
    10,000 mg

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Directions for Use:
Loading: Administer 20 grams per day for 1 week
Maintenance: Administer 10 grams per day
Can be given during or after meal time. Note: Scoop included equals 10 grams.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement ...
    Description:
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement containing both probiotics and prebiotics. Both are crucial to help ensure the production of beneficial bacteria throughout the digestive tract. Omega Suregut is also formulated to include stabilized ground flaxseed, yeast, and ...
    "New & improved taste horses love! SmartFlex Rehab ...
    Description:
    "New & improved taste horses love! SmartFlex Rehab is the ideal choice for your horse during rehabilitation. This one-of-a-kind formula supports the healing process by combining ingredients for joint and connective tissues with those involved in the normal inflammatory response. ...
    "Hyaluronex® has the highest hyaluronan (hyaluronic acid) concentration ...
    Description:
    "Hyaluronex® has the highest hyaluronan (hyaluronic acid) concentration of any equine liquid supplement and delivers rapidly absorbed bioactive hyaluronan. More important to professional equine enthusiasts, Hyaluronex provides the premium ingredient MHB3 Hyaluronan now covered by four United States Patents. ...
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known ...
    Description:
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known for its ability to help horses with stiffness and discomfort associated with exercise and normal daily activity. In addition, this economical supplement may help with itchy skin due to environmental or seasonal ...
    "SmartOmega 3 Ultra is designed to promote wellness ...
    Description:
    "SmartOmega 3 Ultra is designed to promote wellness and vitality in your horse by providing omega 3 fatty acids from flaxseed, chia seed and fish oil. Omega 3 fatty acids are essential to your horse’s well-being because they help support ...
    "SmartCalm Ultra Paste is a comprehensive, herb-free formula ...
    Description:
    "SmartCalm Ultra Paste is a comprehensive, herb-free formula that supports proper nervous system function, helping to manage stress and anxiety in skittish horses. This convenient paste is ideal for providing extra support in new situations and during times of stress. ...
    "In addition to diet and proper hoof care, ...
    Description:
    "In addition to diet and proper hoof care, circulation also plays an important role in hoof health. Poor circulation may exhibit itself in multiple ways, from unhealthy hoof wall to a shortened stride and heel soreness. SmartHoof Circulate provides a ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    MSM is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 273.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great supplement one of our horses with lameness issues has showed great improvement and I have read so much great stuff about MSM that I have all my horses on it now.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from With a 25 year old horse, this stuff works great! I buy this stuff in the buckets and in the pellet form. My mare HATES to eat the powder. But that is with all supplements she hates the powder. My mare is 25 now and I am working on third level with her. This wasn't possible when I got her 8 years ago.
    Date published: 2014-07-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult to eat My horse is a young mare and has great joints, so, putting her on a joint supplement was more precautionary than anything, since she's a hunter/jumper. I had her on the powdered MSM for a month and it did everything it was supposed to. She had no creaky joints, no pain, and was as feisty as ever; however, I found it very difficult to get her to eat the powder, not because she didn't like the taste, but because it would just sink to the bottom of her grain bucket and be missed as she was eating. I know most people suggest putting corn syrup, maple syrup, etc. to absorb the powder and get them to eat it; however, I prefer for my horse to not get that much sugar.So, I ended up buying organic, unsweetened apple sauce from the farmer's market and mixing it in. Viola! Powder was all gone every time! However, this was getting expensive (applesauce was waaay more expensive than the MSM itself!) and after the month was up, I switched my Smartpaks over to the MSM pellets. Much easier, less expensive, and I know it'll get eaten every single time without having to add syrups, molasses, or applesauce. I went with the powdered over the pellets the first time to save a few bucks, but it ended up being more expensive. Now, I'll only buy pellets for all her supplements.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse likes it and I like that along with Devils claw plus he seems to be more comfortable. He has had navicular for 12 years now and we are constantly looking for ways to keep him healthy and happy. So far so good!
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent I have all 10 horses on msm...it helps so well..especially with our hard iowa winter..
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product to naturally control stocking up I own a two year old filly who has a lot of trouble with her hind legs stocking up from being in a stall and from the stress of training. the veterinarian told us it was nothing to worry about still I was concerned. sshortly after starting this product we saw immediate Improvement. I would highly recommend this product is a natural way to help control horses who have stocking up issues.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed and helps horse's! Great product with easy to read directions on feeding supplement . High quality!
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big horses. I buy this for two of my horses -- they are both BIG. They tend to move a lot in their stalls and I always wondered if it was because they were just kind of stiff and uncomfortable. So I tried the MSM and they both seem much more content.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been feeding MSM for years to my oldest mare, Tierra. She will be 26 years old this year and is still going strong. I have younger horses that I ride and also feed MSM, but my older grand lady is still my favorite ride. We have partnered for many, many miles together, (endurance, pleasure riding and showing) and she has always been sound. A great joint health precaution/preventative for the money.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from large size good. value for the price I give MSM to all my horses, it's a good value and they don't notice it in their feed
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, easy for itchiness, coughs. Have used this for helping my mare's itchiness, hives, and a cough she had after we got some moldy hay in. It's cheap, doesn't add energy. I've always used it in conjunction with immunity boosters to help with the hives and cough, but it's all worked.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So simple and works wonders! Love this product. It has worked wonders on my 17hh Tb gelding who recently made the switch from 24/7 turn out to rather limited turn out. He stocks up horribly and was getting very stiff adjusting to the change in turn out. Shortly after starting him on MSM he's back to his normal self. 
    Date published: 2014-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product This product works well. Unfortunately one of my two horses that receives this has decided she doesn't want to eat it anymore. It amazes me how she can eat her grain yet manage to not eat powder (has a granular texture like salt or sugar). She has been getting it for years and every now and then she decides she doesn't want to eat it anymore. She does not like powers. I purchase it for respiratory reasons (she has very slight IAD) but feed it to my other horse for joint reasons (no issues, just preventative since I order it in large quantities for my other horse). I do like this product and have a large bucket of it left that I'll just feed to my one horse that will eat it. I did switch my picky eater to the SmartPak Smart Breath and she eats that with no problem (so far).
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In 1 week you' ll see a difference Been using this for years! Took my horses off of it for about 2 months just to see, and they just didn't step out as well as when they are on it.
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great general joint supplement! My horses have been on MSM for a few months now. It has done wonders for both of them. My gelding who is getting older was stiff for weeks, and I was considering having the vet come check him out because of how "off" he was for so long. I started MSM and he began moving and feeling better with a week and a half or so. My mare is also on this supplement. She has permanent damage to her fetlock and back legs in general after being hit by a car before I rescued her. Her hocks are in horrible shape. She always walked everywhere very slowly. Now, after being on MSM for about two months, she canters and gallops out to the big pasture every morning. It has made a huge improvement in her overall quality of life. So happy to see my older horses feeling good!
    Date published: 2013-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfied Overall, I have been satisfied with this product. My horse seems less stiff and generally moves very well. I can't point to anything in particular as being an obvious difference. For the price, it's definitely worth a try!
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent results MSM works great, it keeps my 26 year old pony moving comfortably and also helps with itchy skin, could not ask for more
    Date published: 2013-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stuff! My mare is getting older and had a tendon Injury I started her on MSM to keep her from stocking up as badly at night and it worked!
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful and affordable! After purchasing man for my Ottb mare I noticed that she was more willing to step up with her hind and and was not as tense through her back:) the MSM has helped her feel more comfort in her joints everywhere!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonders! I started using MSM on my 14 year old horse to keep her in good shape. I have noticed after about 3 weeks of using this, she has been a better mood, she is better undersaddle, and her joints don't seem to "creak" like they did. I love this product and you can't go wrong with the price!
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't go wrong with this supplement I use MSM in addition to Cosequin. Even when used alone, I have seen great results, including less stiffness, and better hoof and coat quality. For this price, you can't go wrong!
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever My Senior horse is truly benefiting from taking the MSM joint supplement. He has a happy attitude and is demonstrating more flexibility in his left hock which tends to be stiff during the winter months. We are looking forward to spring and conditioning for show!
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very economical choice for MSM I have used msm off and on for years, I just started using this brand but I really like it so far. It seems to be very palatable and it is the most economic brand I have ever bought. I love that it is 100% pure instead of being full of fillers that I hate!I currently have 3 horses on this with Yucca Saponin it and they all eat it with no problems. for two of them I just mix the two supplements together in a tub and they eat it all and then fight over who gets to lick it clean (they share the tub)!!!2 of them are older and get worked pretty hard and are starting to get a bit stiff and the other one is a 11 year old race green broke mare that I am finishing on on the barrels so I can resell her. She is on this as a preventative. I don't want to have to stop training her because she is sore or worse!I will buy this again for sure! I will probably buy it in a bigger bucket(10 lb instead of 4 lb) next time though 'cause I go through it fast! Thank you SmartPak!!!
    Date published: 2012-11-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from MSM I'm not sure what the results are/will be yet. I do know one thing I don't like about it is that much of the product seems to stick to the inside of the container and I have to wipe it to get it all out. Apellet or crumble may be a better choice.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I take MSM and have seen a difference in myself. With the tough training schedule he is on, I figured a little something to help maintain him during training would be great. This is a HUGE value for a pure high potency form of MSM. And he eats it!
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Texture not the same between 1 and 4 lb packages I use MSM as a preventative for my horse, so I can't really comment on its effectiveness right now. I originally bought the 1 lb bag and then followed it up with the 4 lb bucket. I'm a little confused that they have a different consistency. The 1 lb bag was a dry granule (kind of like salt) without any discernible scent. The stuff in the bucket is almost like damp sand and has a little bit of sulfurous smell (not entirely surprising, since it's a sulfur compound) My horse still eats it, but I will switch to a different brand once I'm done with this bucket, as the difference between the two sizes leaves me a little worried about the quality control.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best MSM! Such a good product for the value! It is really inexpensive, and has one of the highest quantities of MSM. I have been using it for a long time as a preventative/maintenance measure and it is totally worth it. I recommend everyone use if for their horse, especially since it is so inexpensive!
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value of MSM as of yet! My horses have been on pure MSM for over a decade now. Every horse has something to benefit from it from stiff joints to heaves. I thought I had found the best value on another site; boy was I wrong! I buy the biggest bucket for the best value. This stuff is incredible! All of my horses are very active and this helps keep them at their best.As for the clumping some people have mentioned, it's more than manageable. I give mine a good stir and that seems to do the trick. I also have yet to have a problem with my picky eaters eating it. They don't even notice, even with only a little grain!
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_51, tr_222
    • loc_en_US, sid_180, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders