Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Horseshoer's Secret
Farnam Companies, Inc. — Item #10815
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Optimum nutrition for hoof health

  • 7.5 mg of biotin plus lysine, methionine, calcium, phosphorus, copper, & zinc
Horseshoer's Secret is a pelleted hoof supplement for all horses.

  • Helps support cracked hooves and weak walls
  • Helps support normal hoof growth
  • Highly palatable and easy to administer

Learn More about Horseshoer's Secret

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis
(Maintenance Dose = 1/2 scoop (3 oz) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein, min 20%
Lysine, min 852 mg 1%
Methionine, min 1,362 mg 1.6%
Crude Fat, min 5.0%
Omega 3 Fatty Acids 0.6%
Omega-6 Fatty Acids 0.15%
Crude Fiber, max 12.0%
Calcium, min 2.2%
Calcium, max 2.7%
Phosphorous, min 0.5%
Copper, min 564 ppm
Zinc, min 1,693 ppm
Biotin, min 7.5 mg 40 mg
Ingredients:: Maize distiller's grains with solubles, alfalfa meal dehydrated, wheat middlings, soybean meal, calcium carbonate, ground flax, cane molasses, bentonite, zinc methionine complex, soybean oil,  yeast culture dehydrated (grown on a media of ground corn, diastatic malt and cane molasses), dl-methionine, biotin, copper amino acid complex, l-lysine, propionic acid (a preservative). and artificial flavoring.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Directions for Use: Feed 6 oz. per day for 6 to 8 months. Change to a maintenance level of 3 oz. per day. If the problem persists, resume feeding 6 oz. per day. Dosage based on an 1,100 lb. horse. Adjust amount fed according to body weight - more for larger horses, less for smaller horses, ponies or foals.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Help your horse make a great first impression ...
    Description:
    "Help your horse make a great first impression with the radiant coat, mane, and tail that comes from being in optimal health. Designed to help your horse bloom from the inside out, Farnam® Laser Sheen® Skin & Coat Supplement contains ...
    "Quitt Stops Wood Chewing • Natural Supplement • ...
    Description:
    "Quitt Stops Wood Chewing • Natural Supplement • Guaranteed results within 7 days • No more spraying, painting, or costly repairs Quitt is easy to use and guaranteed to work. Quitt is a natural daily supplement guaranteed to stop wood ...
    "Mare Plus is a vitamin-mineral supplement to bring ...
    Description:
    "Mare Plus is a vitamin-mineral supplement to bring the mare’s system into a properly balanced condition, optimal for conception, parturition, and lactation. The Breeder’s Choice. View our Multi-Vitamin Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "Strong hooves and healthy tendons and ligaments are ...
    Description:
    "Strong hooves and healthy tendons and ligaments are essential if you and your horse are going to accomplish your goals. Now you can feel confident you're providing vital nutritional support for your horse's foundation with Farnam® Horseshoer's Secret® EXTRA STRENGTH ...
    "Grow Colt is a special supplement just for ...
    Description:
    "Grow Colt is a special supplement just for growing foals. Grow Colt aids in growth and development under appropriate conditions of use. Grow Colt provides 27 important vitamin and mineral nutrients. Prepared specifically for colts in their first year of ...
    "SimpliFly with LarvaStop is a highly palatable additive ...
    Description:
    "SimpliFly with LarvaStop is a highly palatable additive to prevent the development of stable flies and house flies in the manure of treated horses. LarvaStop breaks the fly life cycle by preventing the formation of fly larvae's exoskeletons when they ...
    "Red Cell is a palatable yucca-flavored vitamin-iron-mineral supplement ...
    Description:
    "Red Cell is a palatable yucca-flavored vitamin-iron-mineral supplement for horses. Red Cell is formulated to provide supplemental vitamins and minerals that may be lacking or are in insufficient quantities in a horse's regular feed. Click here to view our Energy ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Horseshoer's Secret is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 103.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sound feet I have been using Horseshoer's Secret for many years, it is by far the best hoof product available.
    Date published: 2013-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works good My horse has constantly battled with thrush. We have been using this product for 6 months. Since starting this product his hoof has began to grow stronger and healthier. We still have a long way to go til his hooves are completely healthy but we appear to be on the right track.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever When I got my OTTB Mare, her feet didn't look so good. I saw people at my barn using this so I thought I would give it a shot. She used to throw shoes every 2 weeks, and after almost 1 year of being on this she hasn't thrown another shoe. You won't see results overnight, but if you're patient, you will be rewarded.
    Date published: 2012-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from benn around still works
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooves Noticeably Improved Have had my mare on this for about 5 months. Took a while to see improvement, but now even the farrier is impressed with her hoof health. When she started they were in bad shape and now they are picture perfect. We got a gelding about 2 months ago and started him on this supplement also, but it's too soon to see real results, but we think the hooves on both horses are healthier looking. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good product.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement! Been using it on my OTTB for the last year. Started off with horrible, crumbly hooves that wouldn't hold shoes for the world. Soft soles, no heels, white line was almost non-existent, hoof wall was SO thin it was almost comical. This supplement, combined with good groceries, has transformed his hooves. He's literally gone from a 00 shoe to a 1!! Yes, it does take time to work, but I saw improvement within 3 months. My farrier is overjoyed. No more extra trips to the barn to re-shoe my horse, and his hooves are LOVELY now!!
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Supplement Ever I have had my paint gelding on this product for about 10 months now. He used to pull his shoes off at least every 2-3 weeks and it got to the point we had to glue his shoes on. It took several months to see how this product was going to work since obviously his hooves needed to grow out before we could nail shoes on again. It was amazing! His hooves grew out so fast we only had to deal with glued on shoes a couple times and his hooves are so strong now that he actually went 9 weeks without loosing a shoe over his winter break! I would definitely recommend this and if I have another horse with hoof problems I will put them on this immediately.
    Date published: 2012-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product When I purchased my horse his feet were split and broken and couldn't hold a shoe. The first thing I put him on was Horseshoer's Secret. There was a wonderful turn around with his feet; no splitting and able to hold a shoe. About a year later, I put him on a new feed which stated no supplement was needed for feet; it was contained in the feed so I discontinued using Horseshoer's Secret. Within 6 to 8 months, his feet were turning bad again. I have started him back on Horseshoer's Secret and have no doubt his feet will return to their wonderful condition.
    Date published: 2012-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoove care Product!! I was very skeptical about using anything in dry form for my horses dry hooves. HORSESHOER'S SECRET is the best product I have ever used. I recommend this to anyone who have dry, cracked hooves. No more loosing shoes! The Farrier was impressed on the first six weeks.Awsome product
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Change My horses ate this fine but my farrier says its not working. Seemed to have better luck with Omega Horseshine. My mare has thin soles and I thought this would help but he said she must need more of something that was in Horseshine because she did better on that
    Date published: 2011-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ME & MY HORSE LOVE THIS!!!! My mare had a crack in her hoof from her hairline all the way to the bottom and it was deep and sore we fed her Horseshoer's Secret and within a few weeks we were already seeing an improvement not in just the one bad one but in all of her hooves, shes a VERY picky eater and she ate this stuff up no problem even without it being mixed with feed. This is an AMAZING product!!!!
    Date published: 2011-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product My off the track thoroughbred came to me after being off two years recovering from an injury he sustained while racing and his feet were a mess. In fact the first time I had shoes put on him he developed an abscess because his hoof wall were so thin. I immediately put him on this product and within a few months his hoof growth and strength was so remarkable that my farrier told me that whatever I had done was fantastic & he never seen hooves in such good condition in such a short time. I continue to use the product on a daily basis.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! This product has helped my horses hooves remarkably. His feet don't hold shoes very well and are always cracking and chipping. Since starting to use this you can see a very noticeable change where his hooves are growing. And while his feet have not completely grown out from all the current chips they are still much stronger. My ferrier has given his hooves a ton of compliments after starting this. Best of all my gelding is a very very picky eater and he eats this right out of your hand! This is also one of the cheaper hoof supplements I was able to find. This would have to be one of the best supplements to buy especially for the price.
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horseshoer's Secret The "Secret" is that this product works. Our farrier reports that during the winter our two horses are the only ones she trims that have siginificant growth.Our horses had significant issues with hoof quality prior to using Horseshoer's secret and changing to natural hoof trimming.Our farrier switched based upon the changes she had seen in our horses hooves. I think that says it all.Other benefits: better mane, tail and coat quality. It is a product that works. Buy it, use it!!!
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A brand new step! I own 2 rescue horses, both came to me with horrid feet. You can see in both horse hooves a timeline of when I started them on this product. My vet to my farrier have commented on their noticable improvement! Would reccommend to anyone who wants to see overall hoof improvement. My only note would be, be patient! The hoof takes about a year to renew itself, so results aren't overnight!
    Date published: 2011-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price and very easy to use
    Date published: 2011-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice feet :) My horses have had good feet, but never excellent feet and their hooves would sometimes crack and chip. My farrier recommended this product saying that his other clients had good results come from it, and I have to say that I love this stuff. My horses' feet have never been better. They hold their shoes and my one gelding who is usually incredibly sore without his shoes acts like it doesn't hurt as much. I stopped buying this product for a bit last year, not sure why, and sure enough, the cracks and chipping came back. This product really does magic.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best prchase ever
    Date published: 2011-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NEW HOOVES! WHEN I PURCHASED MY TB MARE ABOUT 3 YEARS AGO HER HOOVES WERE A DISGRACE, CRACKING, CHIPPING, DULL. ON THE RECOMMENDATION OF A FRIEND I PUT HER ON THIS SUPPLEMENT AND IN ABOUT 3 MONTHS HER HOOVES WERE STRONG AND HEALTHY. THE COLOR OF HER HOOVES ARE RICH AND MOIST. THIS PRODUCT DOES NOT MAKE HER HOOVES GROW FAST JUST ALLOWS THEM TO GROW IN HEALTHY.
    Date published: 2011-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Easy to feed, very palatable, and works better than any of the other hoof supplements I've tried. The concentrated pellets are nice for portability but I prefer the regular pellets b/c my pony is really fat and doesn't get to eat very much and this way I feel like he's getting a bigger dinner lol.
    Date published: 2011-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Good product. Has helped my horse grow his feet out. Had some issues, and this supplement helped him stay sound.
    Date published: 2011-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horseshoer's Secret When we acquired our Belgian gelding, his feet were the worst 'I' have ever seen. Our farrier suggested we put him on Horseshoer's Secret, rasp him every four weeks, during Winter, and shoe all four in the Summer. We have now owned him for two years and the farrier wants to take a movie of the gelding's feet. We ensure we never run out of HS, as it has made such a difference in our boy's feet. We can't recommend HS enough, or often enough. His feet have improved to the extent, it's absolutely noteworthy. We recommend Horeshoer's Secret at the highest level. Thank you for carrying HS and we shall continue to utilize it forever.
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST hoof supplement BEST hoof supplement out there!!!! This was the product recommended to me by my journeyman farrier.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horseshoer's Secret Until we began using Horseshoer's Secret our horses had very poor hoof quality. After using natural hoof trimming and Horseshoer's Secret for at least four years we've seen tremendous improvement in their feet. Their feet are like iron.Our farrier says that, "our horses feet need trimming again before she gets to the end of our drive," Further she says, "none of her clients horses have winter hoof growth like ours."3 ounces per day, 'nuf said! It's a great product.
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from hoof saver! I can actually keep shoes on my jumper now! greatly improved hoof strength. highly recommended.
    Date published: 2010-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from hoof product very good quality, see improvement quickly
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    • y_2017, m_1, d_17, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_85
    • loc_en_US, sid_815, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders