Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Farrier's Formula®
Life Data Labs, Inc. — Item #14882
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

All of the nutrients needed for hoof health

  • Contains biotin, lecithin, DL-methionine, copper, zinc, & other nutrients
Over 30 years of equine nutritional research, clinical trials and field testing have gone into every cup of Farrier's Formula®. While no single nutrient is the key to a healthy hoof, studies show that most horses with hoof problems respond to better overall nutrition. Farrier's Formula® provides lecithin, DL-methionine, ascorbic acid, copper, zinc, biotin, and other nutrients that allow the horse's liver and hoof corium to build and assemble a highly crosslinked hoof wall that is denser and more resistant to cracking or drying out. Farrier’s Formula® works because it furnishes all the nutrients known to be deficient if there is a problem with hoof growth or hoof quality. 

Farrier's Formula® Double Strength in SmartPaks

Feed at the replenishment feeding level (6 oz/170 g for a 1,000 lb horse) for horses with hoof problems. After feeding for 6 to 8 months and desired results have been achieved, the adult replenishment feeding level may be reduced to the maintenance feeding level (3 oz/85 g for a 1,000 lb horse).

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Made in the USA

Ingredients

Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Guaranteed Analysis: Maintenance/Replenishment Levels per 1000lbs
Crude Protein 16150 / 32300 mg 19.00%
Lysine 775 / 1550 mg 0.91%
DL-Methionine 2650 / 5300 mg 3.1%
Cystine 200 / 400 mg 0.24%
Glycine 690 / 1380 mg 0.81%
Proline 925 / 1850 mg 1.09%
Tyrosine 425 / 850 mg 0.50%
Phenylalanine 875 / 1750 mg 1.03%
Crude Fat (min) 6000 / 12000 mg 7.1%
Crude Fiber (max) 15500 / 31000 mg 18.2%
Choline 425 / 850 mg 500 ppm
Inositol 380 / 760 mg 4471 ppm
Biotin 10 / 20 mg 118 ppm
Zinc 125 / 250 mg 1471 ppm
Copper 46 / 92 mg 541 ppm
Iodine 0.6 / 1.2 mg 7.1 ppm
Ingredients:: Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Soy Protein Concentrate, Lecithin, Yeast Culture Dehydrated, DL-Methionine, Hydrated Sodium Calcium Aluminosilicate, Ascorbic Acid, Biotin, Zinc Oxide, Basic Copper Chloride, Calcium Iodate.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

Feed with a Good Quality Hay and Grain Ration

Farrier's Formula® should be fed with a good quality hay and grain ration. Eliminate any bran from the diet if possible. The phytate and phosphorus content of bran can alter calcium/phosphorus absorption or lead to other mineral imbalances.

DAILY FEEDING LEVEL

One standard measuring cup (237 ml) will deliver 170 grams of product. Two cups (474 ml) will deliver 340 grams of product. Top dress or mix with grain ration.

Adult Replenishment

Top dress or mix with regular feed. For each 1000 lbs (450 kg) of body weight use one measuring cup (170 g) of product per day.

Body Weight Daily Quantity
500 lbs (225 kg)1/2 Cup (85 g) per day
1000 lbs (450 kg)1 Cup (170 g) per day
1500 lbs (675 kg)1 1/2 Cups (255 g) per day
2000 lbs (900 kg)2 Cups (340 g) per day
 
 

Adult Maintenance

After feeding for 6 to 8 months, the feeding level can usually be reduced by up to one half (Maintenance Feeding Level). If problems persist, resume feeding at the above "Adult Replenishment" feeding levels.

Weanling to Adults

Feed at the predicted adult weight from the chart above.

Nursing Foals

Feed 1/4 measuring cup (43 g) per day.

 

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Farrier's Formula® is the original hoof supplement, validated ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Formula® is the original hoof supplement, validated through independent university research, and the #1 recommended* hoof supplement by farriers for 12 consecutive years. Provides a comprehensive selection of nutrients for the health of the hoof, skin, and coat! The ...
    "A Healthy Diet Starts with Barn Bag® When ...
    Description:
    "A Healthy Diet Starts with Barn Bag® When fed with hay or pasture, 1/2 cup Barn Bag® (85 gm or 1 scoop in SmartPaks) fulfills the daily nutrient requirement of an average 1,000 lb. horse. Barn Bag® is a concentrated ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Farrier's Formula® is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 92.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time using New to horse ownership and farrier recommended this product to help my TWH mare's hoofs get stronger. She is picky, will not take powders, but loves this product. I'll let you know how she does on it after 60 days.
    Date published: 2009-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good one! Our horses are out 24/7 and are fed mostly hay with a minimal amount of grain. Each horse is on a different diet, however they all get Farrier's Formula. Their coats are great and ready for winter. We are working to improve their feet and have therefore returned to Farrier's Formula to give them the boost they need. We had used Farrier's Formula years ago and stopped using it when my daughters stopped riding. I have started using it again as the horse's feet really started to need improvement. They are already looking better!
    Date published: 2009-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Barefoot'n It After switching my horse to Farrier's Formula, I now ride him without shoes. The farrier has commented that he has the best hooves at the barn!
    Date published: 2009-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY BUCKSKIN'S NEW LOOK MY HORSE EATS IT VERY WELL,IMIX IT WITH HER GRAIN.JUST IN THE FEW WEEKS THAT SHE HAS BEEN TAKING IT,HER HOOVES HAVE CHANGED DRAMATICALLY.THEY WERE DRY AND CRACKING BEFORE,NOW THEY ARE BEAUTIFUL.I CAN'T WAIT FOR MY FARRIER TOSEE THEM.HE SUGGESTED "FARRIER'S FORMULA. I WILL CONTINUE TO USE IT.BEST EVER!
    Date published: 2009-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Farrier's Formula (The Original) Rocks! My horse used to lose shoes ALL THE TIME! Each time we shod my horse's hooves, after a few weeks, his hooves would crack and the shoes would become loose. My farrier told me to use Farrier's Formula (Original)...and I have never turned back! Farrier's Formula Rocks! My horse has been taking this supplement for almost three years, and after one of the 44lb tubs (takes approximately 7-8 months to use up), I noticed a HUGE DIFFERENCE in his hooves! My horse has not lost one shoe since! I am not kidding!!! At first, people told me that this was a great product and I was honestly, very skeptical. I finally took the plunge and put my gelding on farrier's formula, and what a difference it made...the only regret I have is not putting him on Farrier's Formula sooner! His hooves are strong, and no nails have been lost, NOT ONE! I wish I could give who-ever created Farrier's Formula an ENORMOUS hug and hand-shake because they have created a wonderful product for horse's hooves!
    Date published: 2009-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely lives up to its reputation My older QH has really terrible hooves. Since he is out of racing stock, I've been told he has "thoroughbred feet" . In any case they have been a problem and we tried all kinds of stuff (dressings, etc) until I researched supplements and learned about Farriers Formula. He has been on it several months and just yesterday the farrier said his feet have really improved. AND he loves it - my horse, that is.
    Date published: 2009-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good purchase
    Date published: 2009-09-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Painted Peach The review on this product is still out...My horse developed a quarter crack at the top of his hoof at the coronet band. Shoer recommended product. My horse has been on the supplement now for 6 months...Coat/Mane/Tail are beautiful (they were before) hoof is growing out quickly, but the crack is still there however it is thinner, and the new hoof is growing out rapidly. Vet has looked at the hoof every other month and isn't concerned about the crack, no lame issues, I just don't know if this product has helped or it just takes time for these things to grow out. Puzzled and hard to really recommend the product. My horses eat very well, and have always had wonderful coats, manes/tail and hoofs until this crack formed. Vet stated it is not a shoer trim issue?
    Date published: 2009-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supplement I believe this is the only vitamin-mineral supplement that has actually gone through peer-reviewed scientific trials and has an ISO number. It is also packed under nitrogen and has an expiration date, so it is always fresh. I have used Life Data for years and my horses look great and feel great. They have fabulous haircoats, thick and durable hoof walls, and maintain weight easily. This is a great bang for your buck!!
    Date published: 2009-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof supplement I have ever used My dressage horse loves being barefoot but his white feet wear more quickly than they grow. I have seen a substantial increase in both hoof growth and strength since starting him on Farriers Formula. I have tried several other hoof supplements over the years but this is the one that gave me noticeable results.
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great suppliment! Have used this product over many years and have found it to be THE BEST hoof suppliment, bar none.
    Date published: 2009-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Hoof Supplement I love Farrier's Formula! My horse eats the pellets, his feet look great and I definitely noticed a difference when I tried to take him off of it.
    Date published: 2009-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thicken hoof walls and strengthen hooves A very proven product we have used for years.
    Date published: 2009-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product My horses feet have never been in better shape since I have used this product. I really love what it has done for their feet.
    Date published: 2009-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Farrier's Formula I have only used this product for about 2 weeks. My farrier suggested using this product because my horse has flares, white line separation and tender feet. I have already started to see a difference in his feet. His white line separation is much better as well as his tenderness.
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product I ever purchased This was the best purchase I have ever made. My vet recommended it. At first my mare had hooves that would chip easily and lose a shoe; tearing off a chunk of hoof in the process. Also her coat was dull and weather worn. Although, she was purchased sound, there seem to be a need for a nutritional overhaul. I called my vet and she recommended Farrier’s Formula. What an improvement in my mare’s hooves. I noticed that with in a few weeks how quickly the new growth emerged, she no longer looses shoes, her hoof wall is strong, and a big plus is her over all coat is sleek and shinny. My Ferrier even commented on how healthy her hooves are now and how good she looks overall. After that said, I am well pleased with this product and will continue using it. Oh, and by the way, my mare loves the taste of it. As soon as she hears me putting it in her feed bin, she can’t wait to start eating it. Thanks to Farrier’s Formula it is a product I know is good for my mare in meeting her nutritional needs.
    Date published: 2009-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! I have been searching for a hoof supplement for quite some time for my Appendix. Cracks & thin walls have been our problems. He has been on the Farrier's Formula for approx. 3 months now and I can SEE a real difference. Other supplements just did not do the trick. Besides the fact that I know he gets every drop of it due to the pelleted formula. YEAH! I have put my Saddlebred on it now & we are seeing hoof growth when for quite some time it appeared his hooves would never grow!! I am completely sold on this product!!
    Date published: 2009-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Helpful Product!!!!! Our Farrier recommended this product because our horses hooves were brittle and chipping - we have used the product for at least 6 months and our very happy with the outcome of our horses hooves. Also, another benefit to the product is his coat - it shines and is beautiful. He also loves it.
    Date published: 2009-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works Farrier's Formula has been a lifesaver for my horses. My ex-farrier lamed 3 of my horses by doing a "barefoot trim" which he had never been trained to do. All 3 horses blew huge abscesses. One horse had no sole left on his front feet so his feet were sinking into the hoof capsule! I started the horses on Farrier's Formula in August-September 2008. They all have recovered with approx. 3 inches of new hoof growth. The one with no soles has new strong sole over about 80% of his sole. Thank you, Farrier Formula!!!
    Date published: 2009-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!! I bought this product for my Thoroughbred who had dry, brittle cracking hooves. It was recomended by both my vet and farrier. I have been using it for a month and a half and so far it is fantastic!!. My horses looks amazing! His coat is shinny and he has alot of new hoof growth. (I do also use Hoof Alive every other day) He is also a very picky eater and he doesn't even notice that this stuff is in his feed!! It is a fantastic product!!!! I defiantely recommend this to everyone!Oh and my farrier told me after just a month, to keep doing what I was doing because his feet look so good!!
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT STUFF We've tried so many hoof supplements and this is the only one that we will buy from now on! Horses's feet can be such a problem but this stuff really helped the cracking and chipping.
    Date published: 2009-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use faithfully I use this product on a horse that foundered a year ago. Right after he foundered my farrier said he had seedy toe. After using this product for a couple of months, his hooves are looking very healthy again.
    Date published: 2009-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Farriers Formula I was worried that Laney wouldn't like it. But the first dose she ate it right down. I had to put it in a bowl, and hold it so that her stall mate a woolless sheep wouldn't eat it. Now Laney looks for the bowl.Thank you for the help.
    Date published: 2009-03-26
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_4882, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders