Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Farrier's Formula®
Life Data Labs, Inc. — Item #14882
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

All of the nutrients needed for hoof health

  • Contains biotin, lecithin, DL-methionine, copper, zinc, & other nutrients
Over 30 years of equine nutritional research, clinical trials and field testing have gone into every cup of Farrier's Formula®. While no single nutrient is the key to a healthy hoof, studies show that most horses with hoof problems respond to better overall nutrition. Farrier's Formula® provides lecithin, DL-methionine, ascorbic acid, copper, zinc, biotin, and other nutrients that allow the horse's liver and hoof corium to build and assemble a highly crosslinked hoof wall that is denser and more resistant to cracking or drying out. Farrier’s Formula® works because it furnishes all the nutrients known to be deficient if there is a problem with hoof growth or hoof quality. 

Farrier's Formula® Double Strength in SmartPaks

Feed at the replenishment feeding level (6 oz/170 g for a 1,000 lb horse) for horses with hoof problems. After feeding for 6 to 8 months and desired results have been achieved, the adult replenishment feeding level may be reduced to the maintenance feeding level (3 oz/85 g for a 1,000 lb horse).

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Made in the USA

Ingredients

Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Guaranteed Analysis: Maintenance/Replenishment Levels per 1000lbs
Crude Protein 16150 / 32300 mg 19.00%
Lysine 775 / 1550 mg 0.91%
DL-Methionine 2650 / 5300 mg 3.1%
Cystine 200 / 400 mg 0.24%
Glycine 690 / 1380 mg 0.81%
Proline 925 / 1850 mg 1.09%
Tyrosine 425 / 850 mg 0.50%
Phenylalanine 875 / 1750 mg 1.03%
Crude Fat (min) 6000 / 12000 mg 7.1%
Crude Fiber (max) 15500 / 31000 mg 18.2%
Choline 425 / 850 mg 500 ppm
Inositol 380 / 760 mg 4471 ppm
Biotin 10 / 20 mg 118 ppm
Zinc 125 / 250 mg 1471 ppm
Copper 46 / 92 mg 541 ppm
Iodine 0.6 / 1.2 mg 7.1 ppm
Ingredients:: Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Soy Protein Concentrate, Lecithin, Yeast Culture Dehydrated, DL-Methionine, Hydrated Sodium Calcium Aluminosilicate, Ascorbic Acid, Biotin, Zinc Oxide, Basic Copper Chloride, Calcium Iodate.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

Feed with a Good Quality Hay and Grain Ration

Farrier's Formula® should be fed with a good quality hay and grain ration. Eliminate any bran from the diet if possible. The phytate and phosphorus content of bran can alter calcium/phosphorus absorption or lead to other mineral imbalances.

DAILY FEEDING LEVEL

One standard measuring cup (237 ml) will deliver 170 grams of product. Two cups (474 ml) will deliver 340 grams of product. Top dress or mix with grain ration.

Adult Replenishment

Top dress or mix with regular feed. For each 1000 lbs (450 kg) of body weight use one measuring cup (170 g) of product per day.

Body Weight Daily Quantity
500 lbs (225 kg)1/2 Cup (85 g) per day
1000 lbs (450 kg)1 Cup (170 g) per day
1500 lbs (675 kg)1 1/2 Cups (255 g) per day
2000 lbs (900 kg)2 Cups (340 g) per day
 
 

Adult Maintenance

After feeding for 6 to 8 months, the feeding level can usually be reduced by up to one half (Maintenance Feeding Level). If problems persist, resume feeding at the above "Adult Replenishment" feeding levels.

Weanling to Adults

Feed at the predicted adult weight from the chart above.

Nursing Foals

Feed 1/4 measuring cup (43 g) per day.

 

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Farrier's Formula® is the original hoof supplement, validated ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Formula® is the original hoof supplement, validated through independent university research, and the #1 recommended* hoof supplement by farriers for 12 consecutive years. Provides a comprehensive selection of nutrients for the health of the hoof, skin, and coat! The ...
    "A Healthy Diet Starts with Barn Bag® When ...
    Description:
    "A Healthy Diet Starts with Barn Bag® When fed with hay or pasture, 1/2 cup Barn Bag® (85 gm or 1 scoop in SmartPaks) fulfills the daily nutrient requirement of an average 1,000 lb. horse. Barn Bag® is a concentrated ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Farrier's Formula® is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 89.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results At the recommendation of my farrier, I added Farrier's Formula to my mare's diet when she popped a quarter crack in the spring. It has since healed well, and she's got good, healthy hoof growth all around. I decided to give it to my gelding as well, who had trouble holding shoes since his move south from KY and NJ, and his hooves are growing faster but stronger and less brittle. I've joined my farrier in recommending FF to barnmates.
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely beautifuf hooves! I have given my mare Sadie Darlin' this product for about three years, she gets it everyday. Her hooves are so beautiful. I can't get over the difference it has made. Thankyou !
    Date published: 2011-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Farrier's Formula I have been using this for our horses for about 6 months. It is helping their hooves and is well liked by our picky eater.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Product After moving from Illinois to Virginia, my horse, who never had any hoof issues before, had trouble adjusting to the more hot and humid spring weather. His hooves became soft and stopped growing. After one month on Farriers Formula his hooves were strong and had grown considerably. I would highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2011-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have an OTT with typical "Thoroughbred Feet." Since I started using Farier's Formula his hooves have improved 100%....shoes are staying on and his feet are no longer shelly.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Farrier's Formula works for my kid!! My kid's 4 white stockinged feet were not handling the rock we had hauled in as part of the upgrade done to our farm. Even with her paddock layered with crushed rock and arena sand drawing any water away, the larger rock was leading to abscesses. Following the recommendation of my vet, she worked through one bag of Farrier's Formula Super Strength, and then switched to Farrier's Formula. No abscesses in 9 months, even with the wet and wild weather here in the Pacific Northwest. I'm a committed client for the well being of my kid!
    Date published: 2011-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best hoof supplement on the market Love this stuff!! My horse had dry, cracked, chipped brittle feet so I put him on this stuff and it made such a difference! Great Stuff!
    Date published: 2011-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definately worth the $! I have an OTTB with typical TB feet. I had him on this for a year(with fantastic results!) and then tried to switch to a cheaper brand, Well in 6 months time his feet were back to the way they were before Farriers formula... Never again! This supplement is well worth the extra cost. I wish it was available in smartpaks. Next month I'm going to try the double strength in hopes that that will have the same results!
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have Tried several others with claims to have similar ingredients, but they didn't work and Farriers Formula absolutely does -- totally can trust what's in the bag, and I feed it along with Barn Bag. His feet are great, his coat has thickened, he's a much healthier and happier horse.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product Made a difference for my horse...will continue to use this product.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Supplement Time & Again I have a thoroughbred with "challenging" hooves. I have used this supplement for well over a decade with great results. From time to time I have switched to less expensive supplements only to be disappointed. This truly is the best hoof supplement available and most all horses eat it because it is in pellet form.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps heal Hoof Problems My horse's hooves needed help and Farrier's Formula did the trick. At his next shoeing, he looked a lot better.
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healing Hooves My Tennessee Walker's hooves had dry cracks after a wet, muddy winter; at the same time, my Arabian had a close call with white line disease. Farrier's Formula and Farrier's Formula 2 were both very helpful to healthy, strong hoof growth for both horses.
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Product Available This is by far the best hoof care product I have ever used. Dispite the weather conditions, use of Farriers Formula has kept my horses hoofs in excellent overall condition.
    Date published: 2010-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Farrier's Formula Perfect for strengthening hooves. Aided in the healing of my mare's white line disease.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been using this supplement for a year on my 35 yr old QH and finally starting to see the results. It's taken a while but the hoof wall is finally looking solid again and she hasn't been lame since Fall. I like the bucket that it came in from Smartpak vs the vacuum packaging from another supplier. It stores much easier in the barn.
    Date published: 2010-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from its working this was a very good buy, all though it may take some time to work it's definetly worth it.
    Date published: 2010-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have was having trouble with my horses hoofs cracking, and my ferrier recommended Ferrier blend. Sense I have been using it his hoof are in great shap no more cracking.
    Date published: 2010-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Supplement I've had my Thoroughbred gelding on Farrier's Formula for nearly 5 months now, and his feet have improved dramatically. He was your typical Thoroughbred with soft, flat feet and a moderate trail horse (he's not my distance horse). His feet were so bad that I almost put him down twice last year, especially after he developed a cracked hoof in early October. My vet suggested Farrier's Formula.After the cracked hoof episode, my vet indicated that it would be a very long time before I'd ride him again. I started him on Farrier's Formula soon after and got him a pair of Renegade hoof boots, and my best Christmas present ever was a short ride 2.5 months later.After nearly 5 months, he's doing much, much better. The cracked hoof is nearly grown out, and his soles are developing some concavity and fairly hard. He did develop some cracks, but that may be because I had him on the initial dosing until a few weeks ago. After I talked to the Life Data folks, they think that his feet started growing too fast, so I cut him back a bit.Also, because my gelding was so chubby from not getting exercise when his feet were so bad, he's on free choice hay only. I cut out his grain entirely and just feed him 1 cup of regular strength Farrier's Formula as his "grain" so that he wouldn't feel like he was being cheated at meal time. Works out great!Lastly, I've tried lots of different hoof supplements over the years, giving each one 2-3 months at minimum. It's a little pricey, but I think that Farrier's Formula is the best one!
    Date published: 2010-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HOPEFULL RESULTS JUST PURCHASES THIS PRODUCT, SO I WILL TELL MORE IN A FEW MONTHS. I HAVE TRIED A LOT OF DIFFERENT PRODUCTS. MY APPENDIX HORSE HAS VERY BAD FRONT FEET, NO GROWTH, CRACKED HOOF WALLS, FLAT FEET AND MUST HAVE PADS ON WITH SHOES AT ALL TIMES. I DID A LOT OF RESEARCH AND I AM HOPING THIS PRODUCT HOLDS UP TO ITS REPUTATION.
    Date published: 2010-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I have a horse that had terrible feet; thin, brittle hoof wall, abcess prone, etc. After he was turned out in the pasture for a few years without shoes his feet seemed to correct themselves somewhat, but I put him on this to prevent a return to what they were. If you are looking for a hoof supplement this one has the science to back it and my horses like the taste so it is easy to give. Be sure to stick with it though, it takes AT LEAST 6 months to see a change in a horses's hoof when started on a supplement.
    Date published: 2010-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Really like Farrier's Formula..my horses feet have changed remarkably since starting him on this supplement!
    Date published: 2009-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time using New to horse ownership and farrier recommended this product to help my TWH mare's hoofs get stronger. She is picky, will not take powders, but loves this product. I'll let you know how she does on it after 60 days.
    Date published: 2009-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good one! Our horses are out 24/7 and are fed mostly hay with a minimal amount of grain. Each horse is on a different diet, however they all get Farrier's Formula. Their coats are great and ready for winter. We are working to improve their feet and have therefore returned to Farrier's Formula to give them the boost they need. We had used Farrier's Formula years ago and stopped using it when my daughters stopped riding. I have started using it again as the horse's feet really started to need improvement. They are already looking better!
    Date published: 2009-11-13
    • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_14
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_76
    • loc_en_US, sid_4882, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders