Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Farrier's Formula®
Life Data Labs, Inc. — Item #14882
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

All of the nutrients needed for hoof health

  • Contains biotin, lecithin, DL-methionine, copper, zinc, & other nutrients
Over 30 years of equine nutritional research, clinical trials and field testing have gone into every cup of Farrier's Formula®. While no single nutrient is the key to a healthy hoof, studies show that most horses with hoof problems respond to better overall nutrition. Farrier's Formula® provides lecithin, DL-methionine, ascorbic acid, copper, zinc, biotin, and other nutrients that allow the horse's liver and hoof corium to build and assemble a highly crosslinked hoof wall that is denser and more resistant to cracking or drying out. Farrier’s Formula® works because it furnishes all the nutrients known to be deficient if there is a problem with hoof growth or hoof quality. 

Farrier's Formula® Double Strength in SmartPaks

Feed at the replenishment feeding level (6 oz/170 g for a 1,000 lb horse) for horses with hoof problems. After feeding for 6 to 8 months and desired results have been achieved, the adult replenishment feeding level may be reduced to the maintenance feeding level (3 oz/85 g for a 1,000 lb horse).

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Made in the USA

Ingredients

Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Guaranteed Analysis: Maintenance/Replenishment Levels per 1000lbs
Crude Protein 16150 / 32300 mg 19.00%
Lysine 775 / 1550 mg 0.91%
DL-Methionine 2650 / 5300 mg 3.1%
Cystine 200 / 400 mg 0.24%
Glycine 690 / 1380 mg 0.81%
Proline 925 / 1850 mg 1.09%
Tyrosine 425 / 850 mg 0.50%
Phenylalanine 875 / 1750 mg 1.03%
Crude Fat (min) 6000 / 12000 mg 7.1%
Crude Fiber (max) 15500 / 31000 mg 18.2%
Choline 425 / 850 mg 500 ppm
Inositol 380 / 760 mg 4471 ppm
Biotin 10 / 20 mg 118 ppm
Zinc 125 / 250 mg 1471 ppm
Copper 46 / 92 mg 541 ppm
Iodine 0.6 / 1.2 mg 7.1 ppm
Ingredients:: Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Soy Protein Concentrate, Lecithin, Yeast Culture Dehydrated, DL-Methionine, Hydrated Sodium Calcium Aluminosilicate, Ascorbic Acid, Biotin, Zinc Oxide, Basic Copper Chloride, Calcium Iodate.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

Feed with a Good Quality Hay and Grain Ration

Farrier's Formula® should be fed with a good quality hay and grain ration. Eliminate any bran from the diet if possible. The phytate and phosphorus content of bran can alter calcium/phosphorus absorption or lead to other mineral imbalances.

DAILY FEEDING LEVEL

One standard measuring cup (237 ml) will deliver 170 grams of product. Two cups (474 ml) will deliver 340 grams of product. Top dress or mix with grain ration.

Adult Replenishment

Top dress or mix with regular feed. For each 1000 lbs (450 kg) of body weight use one measuring cup (170 g) of product per day.

Body Weight Daily Quantity
500 lbs (225 kg)1/2 Cup (85 g) per day
1000 lbs (450 kg)1 Cup (170 g) per day
1500 lbs (675 kg)1 1/2 Cups (255 g) per day
2000 lbs (900 kg)2 Cups (340 g) per day
 
 

Adult Maintenance

After feeding for 6 to 8 months, the feeding level can usually be reduced by up to one half (Maintenance Feeding Level). If problems persist, resume feeding at the above "Adult Replenishment" feeding levels.

Weanling to Adults

Feed at the predicted adult weight from the chart above.

Nursing Foals

Feed 1/4 measuring cup (43 g) per day.

 

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Farrier's Formula® is the original hoof supplement, validated ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Formula® is the original hoof supplement, validated through independent university research, and the #1 recommended* hoof supplement by farriers for 12 consecutive years. Provides a comprehensive selection of nutrients for the health of the hoof, skin, and coat! The ...
    "A Healthy Diet Starts with Barn Bag® When ...
    Description:
    "A Healthy Diet Starts with Barn Bag® When fed with hay or pasture, 1/2 cup Barn Bag® (85 gm or 1 scoop in SmartPaks) fulfills the daily nutrient requirement of an average 1,000 lb. horse. Barn Bag® is a concentrated ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Farrier's Formula® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 91.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I bought this product a month ago and the Farriers Formula has already made a difference.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid research behind great product Works the best of all the products and has solid research behind it.
    Date published: 2015-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was recommended by my farrier and my 21 year old mare's feet have greatly improved.
    Date published: 2015-10-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from good hoof product, not so much for my horse I haven't used this product long to really see if it would make a difference for my horses cracked hooves, but after a few weeks of being on it, I noticed my horse became quite hot and way more energetic than normal on it. He's usually quite slow so it was at first a good change, but he started rushing fences, me unable to slow him down, etc. Taking him off this product to see if he gets back to normal. I'm sure for some horses this is great to use, but just wasn't ideal for my horse and myself.
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does a Great Job! My thoroughbred has terrible feet and is notorious for pulling shoes. Farriers formula was recommended by my Farrier and I wouldn't use anything else. His feet look better than ever.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product Works fast and gives shine to cost as well as strength to hooves
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Farrier is Happy My farrier came to trim my Andaluz horse, and raved about how his hooves are-- condition and growth. He was the one who recommended I include Farrier's Formula in his diet, and is very happy with the results. I live in Ecuador so have to bring whatever horse products back in my suitcase. This was worth it!
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful product My mare suffered hoof wall separation and this product has helped rehab her
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Barefoot thoroughbreds hooves look great! I am so happy with Farriers Formula. It really seemed toake a difference!
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too soon to tell. Bought for the first time in Nov 2014. It is too early to tell how it works. Pleased on how quick it was received.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from feet first I keep both my horses on a daily ration of the farriers formula pellets.... Much better than the granular formula brands
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can definitely see improvements I always see a huge improvement in my horse's hooves and coat within only a couple of weeks.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good results Recently moved to dry western Colorado and had severe cracking and chipping of draft-cross mare. Been using product for two months with good results.
    Date published: 2014-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well My horse actually likes to eat it and I saw results in just a couple of weeks.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been Using FF for Nearly 10 Years I've been using Farrier's Formula for nearly 10 years on Thoroughbreds, which have notoriously poor feet. My horses are all barefoot and have lovely hooves.On occasion, I've tried other products for a few months to save some money or to try something new, but I always came back to it because nothing compares to Farrier's Formula.To see the full benefit of Farrier's Formula, your horse has to be on it for at least 6 months or longer. It takes about 9 months for the hoof to totally grow out. Depending on the level of nutrition in a horse's diet, it may take a year or longer to see results, but you'll know when you've reached that point. My youngest rescue mare just started to get the glossy coat and better feet this spring after about 15 months on Farrier's Formula.I'll give a new horse one cup for the first couple of months and then taper down. I give all my horses 1/4 cup as a maintenance dose every day. Two of my horses are used for endurance, and they have rock-crushing barefoot hooves. While I do give the endurance horses about 1/3 cup during competitive season, if I give them more, their feet need to be trimmed too often (yes, that's how fast Farrier's Formula make their feet grow).I use the regular formula because my horses (yes, even my endurance horses!) get no grain. They *think* they're getting grain when it's only Farrier's Formula. Don't tell!Barefoot is so much better for the horse (and less expensive for you!), and this product will help you get and keep your horses barefoot.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from TERRIFIC PRODUCT I'm an English/Western trailrider. I have been using Farriers Formula (regular) for at least six or seven years. It is the best pelleted product on the market. I have been nothing short of amazed how terrific my horses' hoofs look with FF, which has become a permanent addition to my horses' diets. My farrier also recommends it, hands down.
    Date published: 2014-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Been using for. Over a year, and my 18 year old cushing mares feet have gone from Shelley to beautiful. Also on smart park I Rcontrol and prescient.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse was having some issues with hoof growth and my vet recommending that I add this to my mare's supplements. She now grows hoof at a normal rate and both my vet and farrier really like her feet.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great supplement I really like this stuff got it for my gelding a couple months ago and his hoofs look great!!! 
    Date published: 2013-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have used Farrier's Formula for over 10 years and will keep every horse on this product for as long as I own them. I have 3 Thoroughbreds, all off the track, and within 6 to 9 months they all could go barefoot where before they couldn't. I still use front shoes due to the rocks and don't want ragged hooves but this product is worth its price tag. I have lived in 4 different states and every farrier I have ever used loves this stuff and recommends it. All of the horses coats are glossy and if they dapple it makes the dapples richer.Don't wait start this now. Just know it takes a good 6-12 months to see the results in the feet.
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth EVERY Penny! I have used Farrier's Formula for over 20 years now. Every new horse that comes into the barn shows increased hoof strength & coat gloss within 3 months of being on FF. All my horses are barefoot and are ridden on rough terrain...no stone bruises, no chipping, no soreness. I highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw quick improvement! I've had my horse on this since April and I have already seen such improvement in not only the hardness and growth of her hooves, but her coat as well. She came off the track and her feet just broke apart and she had bad rain rot. She looks great! I just bought the double strength to give it a try as I have heard good reviews for that as well.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Hooves We started both of our horses on Farriers Formula 2 months ago and we have seen some results. First, their coats are shiny and the dapples really stand out. We are seeing some new growth in the hooves but you know it takes more than two months for the entire hoof to grow out to give this product a fair review in the hoof area. My farrier loves the product and was extremely happy when he found out we purchased the product as our draft with white hooves was having a hard time with sand cracks and chips. We are very optimistic that this product will work.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality My horse has been on this for only a month, so I can only add that she likes the taste. I will want to give it a couple more months before I review the results.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST HOOF SUPPLEMENT ON THE MARKET If you want to see results, use Farrier's Formula. Within 3-4 months you will definitely see a difference in your horse's hooves and coat. Worth every penny.
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Farrier's Formula Seems to be helping our Mare's feet. She has a shallow frog and her feet were cracking. They definitely have improved.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Effective Hoof Supplement Farriers Formula works so well, my farrier told me to stop using it! It really makes feet grow fast! Just be sure to use the scoop for the weight of your horse because I was using a full scoop for my ponies, and it was just too much for their weight and made their feet grow too fast...but they love the taste, and it for sure works!!
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_17
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_76
    • loc_en_US, sid_4882, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders