Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Ex Stress

Peak Performance Nutrients — Item #11818
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Maintains a healthy nervous system

  • Concentrated levels of vitamin B1, other B vitamins & magnesium for nervous system function
Ex Stress is an all-natural, herb-free formula to help your horse handle the stress of travel and competition. Ex Stress contains concentrated levels of vitamin B1 (thiamine), other B vitamins, and magnesium.

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (20g) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Vitamin B-1 (min) 3977 mg 89,615 mg
Magnesium (min) 1357 mg 6.73%
Pyridoxine B6 (min) 1193 mg 26,884 mg
Riboflavin B2 (min) 994 mg 22,404 mg
Niacin (min) 298 mg 6,721 mg
Folic Acid 24 mg 538 mg
Ingredient Statement:: Magnesium Sulfate, Thiamine Hydrochloride, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Niacin, Folic Acid.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Directions for Use: Feed 1 serving twice per day with feed or as directed by your veterinarian or equine nutritionist. Serving Size: 10 grams
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Botanical Animal® Devil Be Gone™ is designed to ...
    Description:
    "Botanical Animal® Devil Be Gone™ is designed to help animals feel calm and safe. Helps address willfulness, rebelliousness, hostility, aggressiveness, anger, or an obsessive need to protect the caregiver. Directions for Use: For best results, administer The Flower Essences directly ...
    "Botanical Animal® Obsess Less™ is a homeopathic remedy ...
    Description:
    "Botanical Animal® Obsess Less™ is a homeopathic remedy designed to help pets who manage their anxiety with negative, often obsessive, behaviors. Many pets are plagued with internal stressors that are expressed through obsessive-compulsive behavior. This can lead to self-destructive tendencies ...
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone ...
    Description:
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone levels and healthy nervous system function. Perfect for helping maintain a quiet disposition in mares and geldings, this formula includes a combination of raspberry leaf, taurine, magnesium, dong quai root powder, and ...
    "Majesty’s Kalm+ Wafers are especially helpful when your ...
    Description:
    "Majesty’s Kalm+ Wafers are especially helpful when your horse is anxious, nervous, distracted, or exhibits behavioral problems. These wafers support balanced behavior and a relaxed attitude, especially during traveling or competitive situations. They contain a targeted selection of ingredients to ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that helps maintain relaxation and focus in horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-tryptophan, magnesium, thiamine (vitamin B1), ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Paste uses natural ingredients ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Paste uses natural ingredients in a proprietary blend to support sustained relaxation and focus in horses during stressful conditions. Perfect Prep EQ Gold acts gradually. Its effects peak 8 hours after first administration, and last up ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Pellets offer the same ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Pellets offer the same powerful calming support as Prefect Prep EQ Gold Paste in a pelleted formula for easy administration with feed. This formula contains a proprietary blend of ingredients that includes an amino acid complex, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ex Stress is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 73.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a product that works for my guy I needed to put my Holsteiner on stall rest, and he definitely needs a calming supplement! I tried 5 different supplements. Most of them calmed him down, but made him really mouthy and bitey. This one calms him down and he's happy. I'm SO glad I found this. Thanks Smartpak for helping with sending samples! I think it's a little expensive, but worth the results!!!
    Date published: 2010-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! My gelding is not as spooky or tense as he was before I started using Ex Stress. I believe Ex Stress made the difference and I would heartily recommend this product!
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more barn sour After trying everything with my barn sour gelding, Bandit, I finally was ready to throw in the towel when a catalog from Smarp Pak showed up at my house. A product called ExStress caught my attention and I mulled it over for about two weeks while still fighting the tension, tossing head, sudden acceration (not unlike a Toyota) and the jigging associated with him wanting to run back to the trailer. I finally broke down and bought two months worth of ExStress and started them that night after arrival. Five days after starting Bandit on the ExStress I took another trail ride and purposely went back to the trailer the same way we went out and to my amazement, there were absolutely no issues at all. In fact he was so well behaved and calm that heavy winds that day didn't even affect him. (Although the heavy fresh grass provided quite a temptation) I will tell anyone asking or needing to know about barn sour horses...I have learned that take away the stress of wanting to run back and not being able to and they immediately settle down and probably have as much fun as I do. HOORAY for Smart Pak and HOORAY for ExStress...a super product!
    Date published: 2010-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Waiting to see I have used this product in the past on another horse to help calm him for barrelrace training and it helped. I now have purchased it to help an Appendix horse that gets really nervous when he get's warmed up...I think it is helping some, will have to wait for a while more to really see...I did use it for 2 days on my good 1D horse just before a run and he seemed to be more in focus during his run...
    Date published: 2010-03-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mare Would Not Eat I tried this on my TB mare.. She will usually eat anything that is put in her grain.. This she refused to eat and would pick around it leaving some if not most of the grain. The smell is very strong and the powder does not mix very well. Not work the money if you have a picky eater.. Sorry I bought 28 days of it.... Next Time I will do the Try before you buy option....
    Date published: 2010-02-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from no results yet After one week no noticeable difference. I will continue to use. Going to a show next week, that is always the true test.
    Date published: 2010-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing beats it on the market Been using this product on various horses for 20 yrs. I have not found a better product. The Horse Journal agrees. Rated every year as the best product. Don't try substitutes. It is legal in the show arena. Even the tack shops carry it at the shows now. Not just for nervous horses. Great for young ones to keep their concentration. For nervous horse, it gives you the ability to increase their doses when necessary. I find immediate results but the longer they are on it the better they get. The perfect recipe for competition horses.
    Date published: 2010-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally I have looked for a long time for a Magnesium product without fillers and sweetners, other than Magnesium Oxide. Was very pleased to locate this. I am seeing positive results with my IR, Laminitic Gelding, and my older "nervous" Gelding. The older guy is also finicky about ingesting certain supplements (his supplements of choice are organic HERBS - smart horse), but he easily ingests this when mixed with a little unsweetened beet pulp. Thanks for a great product!
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! One that works! I've tried numerous "calming" supplements, acupuncture, change in turnout schedule,,,you name it, I've tried it and nothing really works on my Irish mare. A friend recommended ExStress and I can actually see a difference in her. I still have the same horse - she doesn't feel drugged or lethargic....It just takes the edge and nervousness off. She's been more relaxed and focused. I saw results in a few days and no problems with her eating it out of her food. It's a bit expensive, but nothing else seems to help so I'll stick with it.
    Date published: 2009-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing product! Stress EX helped my horse stay focused at the show this weekend... he usually runs on the lunge line like crazy but this show (my first using stress ex) he was calm and focused didn"t ware himself out and preformed very well!
    Date published: 2009-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I have an Arab cross and he can be a handful. On Ex-Stress no head tossing or spooking and he gets to work. Command Serene is the same and a little cheaper, but no Smartpak option. I will use this until the day I stop riding him.
    Date published: 2009-09-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my horse I gave this to her for 2 weeks so far and haven't seen any changes in her attitude, except maybe even more high strung. The powder gets left on the side of the bucket as well, and the taste must be horrible, because she will take a few bits of the grain mixed with it, then wipe her face in the grass.
    Date published: 2009-09-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from EX Stress I have a young horse that internalizes stress when at shows and gets diareha, I have tried probios in the past with no luck. The EX Stress did seem to help with the stress but did not entirely clear up the stomic upset. Being so expensive I'm going to try some other stress reduceer to see if it helps.
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent option for nervous horses in training My thoroughbred mare was hot and anxious. We were getting set to start her show career and my trainer suggested we try her on something to keep her focused and relaxed. After only a few days on this, we noticed a difference. After two weeks, she wasn't even recognized by others as the same horse as she cantered quietly around the arena with her ears and neck relaxed. It's now a go-to for all the nervous, anxious, hot horses at the barn and since it is all legal ingredients, it's perfect for show horses. Does not dull your horse, will just make them a lot more focused and attentive to you. I hated the powder, though, and had to feed it in bran or grain everyday to make sure she got it all. Tossing it in her feeder made her scoff at me.
    Date published: 2009-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediate Results After only a few days I noticed a decreased sense of anxiousness in my mare. I am hopeful that longer use of this product will prove even more beneficial.
    Date published: 2009-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good chill-out product A three year old filly had to stay in for seven days in early spring. After three days she was jumping out of her skin, I gave her Ex Stress in the mornings and she calmed down and was reasonable for the rest of her stay. Great stuff!
    Date published: 2009-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ExStress really works! I started my mare on Ex Stress for the shows seasons originally, but since she does so well on it, I've kept her on it all the time. She's so relaxed now it's nice to have a normal horse for a change. I cant live without Ex Stress ever again.
    Date published: 2009-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works I have a horse that has been laid up with a bowed tendon. He is difficult to handle on the ground even when he is out everyday. Since he has been hurt and could not get out I started giving him ex-stress and it made him so that I could still handle him while he was healing. I also give it to my other horse and we have had nothing but good rides on him since he started on ex-stress. Great product would highly recommened it to anyone!!
    Date published: 2009-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Works! I've tried other products on my hot TB and nothing has worked better than this. I now have my TB cross on Ex-Stress and it has really calmed him down and made him able to focus better on his job.
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just Didn't Do the Job I had been using SmartCalm for a very skittish gelding and it was doing the trick. I decided to give Ex Stress a try based on all the glowing reviews but I have to say it did nothing for my horse. We ended up losing all the ground we had gained on the SmartCalm. If I need a calming supplement again, I'm going to go back to using SmartCalm.
    Date published: 2009-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from QH magic! I have been hunting for a decent calming supplement for almost a year now and always shied away from this product for price and because it was vitamins and not some sort of drug (I was desperate). I finally looked into this product when nothing else worked and saw how many people had success with their crazy quarter horses. I got it and within a week she was already acting much better. She doesn't spook uncontrollably anymore! The most she does is maybe jump a little but is fine otherwise! This stuff is a dream come true and its only vitamins! I would highly recommend this to anyone especially if you have a crazy QH mare like mine!
    Date published: 2009-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like a new horse I've had my Thoroughbred for nearly 7yrs. He had been labeled out of control & dangerous. After a few weeks on Ex-Stress he became very calm, took leg to go forward, could be turned out without galloping dangerously from boredom or flies & his head-shaking when ridden outside stopped. I was just looking for a calmer horse and got a lot for my money.
    Date published: 2008-12-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ex-Stress so-so This product came highly recommended to me and I really wanted it to work on my 7yo Trakehner gelding prescribed stall rest for a suspensory injury. I put him on it and went out of town for a week. My trainer said he was a wild man! However, when I got back and took over the "controlled" handwalking, he was an angel. Unfortunately, a couple of weeks later he had a meltdown in his area and put a hole through the barn! So he went on pasture and the only way to keep him from galloping and playing was tranquilizer. Next I moved to a new barn, and had to carefully monitor him for rambunctiousness as he got used to new horses, new schedule, etc. I realize it was a lot to ask of a calming supplement (they're not tranquilizers, after all). What I don't know is how crazy he might have been during his rehab if I had NOT given him the supplement. After all, I was able to handwalk him down a road with cars and there were no explosions or spooks. I suspect it has a lot to do with whether or not your horse is actually deficient in B-vitamins. If not, this product may not do much.
    Date published: 2008-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible! I tried all the calming products. Ex Stress is the one and only that produced consistent, positive effects in my mare. For any horse that is deficient in the B vitamins, this is definitely the product to use. My mare became an amazingly calm, enjoyable, easily trainable horse.
    Date published: 2008-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awful Eiffel Isn't Awful Anymore! My daughter's "hard-to-handle" Welsh-TB pony Eiffel (aka Awful Eiffel) has been on Ex-Stress for about a month now. With some changes in his feed and the addition of this supplement, he is like a different pony! He is calm and responsive to her without that "sedated" look that other supplements have caused in the past. I have just recently ordered the Ex-Stress for my off-track TB mare and I can't wait to see how she responds to it! This supplement is great, and so are y'all!
    Date published: 2007-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I had bought a new mare that got really sensitive during her cycle. Just edgy, so I tried Ex-stress to see if it would take the edge off. It really seems to work. I can now ride her during her cycle and she is not as jumpy or edgy.
    Date published: 2007-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ex-Race Horse I have a 'free spirited' Thoroughbred who's an ex-race horse. He raced for eight years and is only 11 years old. My horse Ben still has that natural racing instinct in him. Before putting him on Ex Stress he would spook going out of gates that sounded like the starting gates at the track and when spooked under saddle he would speed off like he was competing in a race. No other calming supplement has ever worked; Ex Stress has not only helped him be more safe to be around, but it's given me the confidence that Ben won't put himself and me, his rider, in danger. Thank you Ex Stress!
    Date published: 2007-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results Ex Stress is wonderful! I noticed a difference in a short period of time, and the horse only gets better day by day. Excellent choice for calming if you don't like the idea of using herbs or other ingredients that have a "sedative property." My horse still has all the energy; he just can control it now and be relaxed!
    Date published: 2007-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Calming This product works so well that I still can hardly believe it. I have two young horses, an old off the track TB, and a Grand Prix dressage horse. It works for all of them. I try to use it at least a week or two before a show or long hauling. It settles the horses into new surroundings, keeps them calm at show, etc...I give it to one of my young horses who is very spooky and excitable and keeps him focused. He is on it all the time. This is a must to have in your feed room at all times and when you travel. Thank you Ex Stress!
    Date published: 2006-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement! I started this supplement on a very nervous "worrier" type horse. He is shown a lot, and basically gets himself worked up, so he doesn't eat well and will get a bit "high" at some shows. Within a week I noticed him being calmer and more focused in the show pen and he was eating all of his food! Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2005-09-21
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_66
    • loc_en_US, sid_1818, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders