Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
DMG by SmartPak
SmartPak Equine — Item #17177
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Economical support for normal muscle function

  • Provides 1,500 mg of pure DMG
DMG by SmartPak is an economical way to support your horse’s normal muscle function and recovery. DMG may be beneficial for horses prone to muscle soreness and tying-up. DMG also serves as an antioxidant and helps support a healthy inflammatory response. This formula provides 1,500 mg of pure DMG (Dimethylglycine) blended with rice bran and fenugreek. Your horse will love the taste as much as you’ll love the smell!

View our Muscle Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 15 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (15g) daily)
  • Dimethylglycine (DMG)
    1,500 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Dulsatin® (natural sweetener), Fenugreek Seed, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Magnesium Silicate, Stabilized Rice Bran.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use:  Administer 15 g daily (1 scoop = 15 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Omega Horseshine® is a premium omega 3 essential ...
    Description:
    "Omega Horseshine® is a premium omega 3 essential fatty acid supplement made with fortified, stabilized, ground flax. Horse Journal's: ""Product of the Year!"", ""Our First Pick - Most Concentrated Source of Quality Omega-3"", & ""Recommended Immune-Boosting Product"". Recommended by John ...
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish ...
    Description:
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish the vital nutrients lost during stress and exercise. Fortified with essential B vitamins, minerals, and iron to help increase oxygen-carrying ability and red blood cell count. Contains branched-chain amino acids to aid ...
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ingredients including glucosamine HCl, hyaluronic acid, chondroitin sulfate, and generous levels of ultra pure MSM. All of these connective tissue components are blended in a very palatable base of premium quality timothy-based ...
    "Joint Combo Hoof & Coat is a 3-in-1 ...
    Description:
    "Joint Combo Hoof & Coat is a 3-in-1 Supplement providing 1,800 mg glucosamine HCl, 600 mg chondroitin sulfate, 16 mg biotin, and 100 mg zinc all in a molasses-flavored pellet. These ingredients are known to work synergistically for healthy skin ...
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined ...
    Description:
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined with B-complex vitamins and organic trace minerals. Metaboleeze may be appropriate for supporting horses with Equine Metabolic Syndrome/insulin resistance, as well as some types of tying-up. Work with your veterinarian to determine ...
    "One AC powder is a supplement that was ...
    Description:
    "One AC powder is a supplement that was developed specifically for horses with performance-robbing anhidrosis (reduced ability to sweat). One AC has proven results from a field tests at the University of Florida. Contains ascorbic acid, niacin, L-tyrosine and cobalt ...
    "Dehydration in horses has serious consequences. In order ...
    Description:
    "Dehydration in horses has serious consequences. In order to keep your horse properly hydrated and performing his best, it is essential to supplement his diet with salt. Neither hay, pasture, nor fortified grain contain enough salt (sodium chloride) to meet ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    DMG by SmartPak is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 90.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from purchased for muscle support I purchased this product for a horse that was in need of muscle support and was to be on pasture/stall rest for 30 days. Horse has gone back to light work 2 days ago and am not sure if it helped or not since we are just now getting back to mild activity. I'm certain it did her no harm but really don't know at this point whether there were any benefits
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not notice an improvement I put my horse on this supplement hoping it would help with periodic sore muscles/poor muscle recovery. I have not noticed a difference and am switching to Vitamin E. My horse is going through growth spurts and it is possible nothing will help him except time and patience. He went from 16.1 at the end of October to 17 hands in the beginning of February.
    Date published: 2016-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Success! My 20y/o gelding has been on this supplement for 2 months now. WHAT a difference! Combined with SmartflexSenior, Dakota has the same range of motion he had when I bought him at 16. No stiffness - a miracle! Price wise it could be better - I put his dose on the smallest amount possible to be able to afford it, but it does its job!
    Date published: 2015-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from had results right away Great product. Helped reduce the chances my mare would tie up after long work outs.
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great stuff My horses are bouncing back faster while working daily.
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes great I needed a DMG product that my picky eater would eat. No problem with this one. He doesn't even notice it is in his grain.
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for horses with tight/sore muscles I bought this for my mare who has always had tight muscles, and had tied up recently. After being on DMG for a couple of weeks, she seemed much looser and had noticeably better range of motion.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I bought DMG and Vitamin E & Selenium at the same time 40 days ago, so it is hard to tell which one helped. My Horse was a little muscle bound in the hind end and since I have been using this combination I have not noticed any more issues. He is much more willing to do lateral work and stays level at the canter though the corners. I am very happy with both products so far.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love DMG!!!! I started my gelding on this 3 months ago, his muslce definition has really started to show, he has alot more energy, and looks great. I would definitely recommend this to others!
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed My gelding always seemed a little lazy, and tired easily. Since giving him this produce he has a lot more get up and go and reminds me of when he was a baby again! He never leaves any of it behind in his feed dish either.
    Date published: 2015-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My 9 year old registered Quarter Horse suffered from a back injury this past summer. My veterinarian recommended putting him on DMG to help with the healing process and also to help with muscle function and regeneration. He has done fabulous on this product. His back is much, much better and we can tell a difference when he is under saddle. He is not as cold-backed as he was before. I will continue providing this supplement to him.
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would not be with DMG by SmartPak Started my mare who has a history of tying up on this she has not had an case of tying up since. Love the results we have gotten on this product.
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must taste good!!! I have been giving my 3 year old mare DMG for about 3 weeks , and seeing a difference in 2 weeks. She has been to an equine chiropractor for adjustments, helping her muscles is making good changes in her.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from DMG It seems to be helping my horse with a breathing problem. However, none of my horses like the taste. I have to camouflage it heavily to get them to eat it.
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from time will tell Not sure yet how effective it is but he loves it, licks the bowl clean!
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! I put my PSSM gelding on this product and hes doing GREAT! I have had no issues at all. hes moving good, no stiffness or sore. I was worried being a powder and him being a picky eater he may waste it, but he licks it off the pan. Very happy.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy This stuff smells great and my horse licks his bucket clean. I decided to give it a try because he has PSSM which I am managing with diet changes. I believe it is helping him, he seems to warm up faster and is more supple in lateral work.
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good! Very palatable formula, smartpak conveniently doubled the dose at my request. My horse is suffering from a significant muscle injury, he's definitely improving well on the DMG, though I honestly can't determine if it's the product or not. Since he seems to like eating it, i'll definitely continue to feed it. It can't hurt!
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I just bought this last week and after two days he's already much better! He hasn't been able to be ridden in over 6 months due to a sore hind end which contributed to a sore back. I've had the chiro out plus some injections to help but after about a week or so he was sore again so my vet told me to try this. After two days he is back to his happy self greeting me with his happy dance and NO pain in his back and barely a flinch in his hind end! We are recouping slowly by hand walking and doing hill work 4 days a week plus the DMG. I can't say how pleased I am and how happy he is...amazing stuff!!
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse thanks you! I'm not always sure when supplements work, but after two days of feeding this, my tb seemed to have more zest in the ring. He is warming up much more quickly and my trainer was quite surprised to find him rounded and relaxed when she showed up for our lesson. She is actually considering using it on her mare. After about a month, he is tiring less quickly and seems nit to be worn out the next day. My massage therapist also noticed his muscles are much more soft and supple. He's also usually picky about non-pelleted stuff but he licks his bowl clean.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so tasty For a horse that will eat pretty much anything, my horse will not touch this product. It is unfortunate, since I really thought it would do him some good. Even I thought it smelled a bit weird, so I can understand his reluctance. Oh well!
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been feeding DMG for about 2 months to an older dressage horse. His a heavily muscled horse that has always taken a long time to limber up. I thought perhaps it was lactic acid build up, etc. so I decided to just give DMG a try. It could be the placebo effect, but I think he warms up faster while on this product. He also finds it palatable which is amazing since I tasted it an found it very bitter. I'm going to keep him on it as it isn't expensive and I think it has improved him some.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't know why, but it works This supplement is one that I will never take my horse off of. However, it is probably the supplement that I am least educated about. This sounds bad, but after reading the feedback about this product, I decided to just give it a shot. My horse suffered an intense ligament injury, and after many months of rehab and treatments, she still didn't seem right. She had a lot of swelling in the area and she wasn't quite happy with her job. But, her ultrasounds showed that she was doing fine. After placing her on this supplement, she rarely has swelling near the injury, and her attitude and feeling under saddle has been SO much better. Since being on this supplement she has moved from trotting under tack to being back in full work and jumping. Obviously this progress was due to many factors, but the supplement has provided the additional support she needed.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Results within 2 weeks My 5yo IDSH mare is in long term rehab for substantial muscle trauma and scarring in her LH biceps/gluteals/quadriceps acquired in a stable accident 2 years ago. She experiences substantial secondary muscle pain in her back and loins due to the way she has been compensating. In order to address the secondary back pain I have added therapies one by one and given each substantial time in order to determine whether they make a difference. Her back remained stiff and tense at w/t/c even with chiropractic work, weekly massage, daily stretching, heat application and seriously lengthy warmups. I added DMG to her supplements early this month and expected very gradual long-term changes, if any, so I was caught off guard when my mare started swinging her back at the walk and rounding comfortably at the trot only 1.5 weeks later. I believe this supplement alone is responsible for her shift from barely tracking up to overtracking by a full hoof print and a half. Thank you to SmartPak for providing a powerful supplement that has very satisfyingly addressed one critical component of my horse's complex recovery.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful, but not a cure all I gave this supplement to three of my horses at one time. One of them was a pokey gelding who started smartenergy at the same time. The combination of this supplement and the smartenergy has made a noticeable difference in his stamina and willingness to move freely forward under saddle.We also gave this supplement to an OTTB who is currently not doing under saddle work, but had a tendency to be high and tight, even walking out to the field. On this supplement, you could see him relaxing around his ribcage, just an overall settling of his muscles. He now walks out to the field long and low. I'm curious to see if he is more relaxed under saddle.Finally, we gave the supplement to our uptight, cold-backed, somewhat naughty mare, and it has not helped at all. Apparently, her attitude problem was not because her muscles were tight!Not sure if this is the right supplement for your horse? It's so cheap to try that you can play with it and see if it helps solve your problem without wasting a bunch of money. Because of that, it's definitely worth a try.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fast! After only a month on DMG, my gelding changed DRASTICALLY for the better! He has soreness from overworking his back, and was not able to be ridden for months. However, once he got started on DMG, we were even able to ride in a bareback class! I'm so happy I have my gelding back!
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped a lot so far! It only took about a week for me to see a difference with DMG. My horse that I show I see the most improvements in, and while it is very cold up here and we aren't actually showing, we are still training just the same. Even in the cold weather he is much easier to warm up and we can fit more conditioning into each ride. My trainer and my friend both commented on how much muscle he has gained over the past month and he collects up so nicely now. With that comes a bit of friskiness- he just feels good and is showing it! I can make some really tight turns on him now that I couldn't dream of making on him before. I did half a canter pirouette the other day!! The extra muscle will take the pressure off his joints and make him last a whole lot longer because he is 15 now and still completely sound and very athletic. We are hoping to get at least 4 more years of showing 3'6" out of him. At the rate that the DMG is helping, if it can stay like that for 4 more years than it is entirely possible. He was well preserved as a youngster and the whole year before I got him was doing minimal work with a rich guy who wanted him because he looked pretty. The guy couldn't get him to go though so he sold him- talking him way down off his asking price was pretty easy because he didn't really care about money since he had so much. He bought the horse for $150k, He was asking $60k I believe just for a quick sale to a good home, we talked him down to $15k. Talk about a bargain that fell into our lap as a sales horse at my barn. Anyways, DMG is definitely worth a try for the price and I have recommended it to many people. Even though it isn't marketed as a muscle building supplement, it naturally gives you the boost you need to allow them to build more muscle and not get too sore.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Post-injury help? We added this to our horse's grain in the hopes it would help relax the tense muscles caused by compensating for an injury. While we're adding other items, too, and it's difficult to know which one is responsible for his condition, this was one of the few supplement available to assist in muscle comfort.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thought this was worth a try after reading others reviews. It is. Have been using it for a few months now and there is a noticeable difference in how long I have to warm up my horse, so much faster to get lovely loose swinging horse. He is way more comfortable in his work too. Travelling used to make him stiff for a day or two, not any more.
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_83
    • loc_en_US, sid_7177, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders