PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email anytime!

Cough Free

Sure Nutrition — Item #10060
Our Price: 
AutoShip Savings applied
List Price:
Our Price: 
AutoShip Savings applied
Our Price: Sale Price: 
AutoShip Savings applied
: $ (%) : Member Price: 
AutoShip Savings applied
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
: SmartPerks Price: 
AutoShip Savings applied
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
: Your Price: 
AutoShip Savings applied
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
: SmartPerks Price: 
AutoShip Savings applied
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
: Your Price: 
AutoShip Savings applied
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
Choose size & ship frequency

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Supports respiratory health

  • Includes herbs such as ginger & elecampane root plus minerals to support healthy airways
  • Contains no fillers
Cough Free supports respiratory health for horses prone to allergies or related respiratory stress. Cough Free is a filler-free formula of herbs and minerals.

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart


Active Ingredients per 1/2 oz:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (0.5 oz) daily)
  • Ginger Root
    3970 mg
  • Elecampane Root
    3544 mg
  • Kelp Powder
    1488 mg
  • Fenugreek Seed
    1418 mg
  • Ferrous Sulfate
    992 mg
  • Sulphur
    992 mg
  • Gentian Root
    496 mg
Inactive Ingredients: : Calcium carbonate, charcoal and dicalcium phosphate


Instructions for Use:
For use in horses only.

Recommended to support the respiratory system.

Directions for Use:

Give 2 scoops per day for the first five days. If coughing persists, give 1 scoop per day until coughing ceases.

For a horse who is not consuming well, mix 2 scoops in a little warm water and dose syringe into horse’s throat.

Enclosed scoop holds 1/2 oz.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Air Power™ is a paste formula designed to ...
    "Air Power™ is a paste formula designed to soothe and support your horse’s respiratory tract. The comprehensive formula uses ingredients such as honey, menthol, eucalyptus oil, lemon juice, aloe vera, and apple cider vinegar to support a healthy respiratory tract." ...
    "CW is 2.11% pyrantel tartrate medicated pellets. The ...
    "CW is 2.11% pyrantel tartrate medicated pellets. The manufacturer recommends dosing a horse with a larvacidal dewormer such as ivermectin or moxidectin before beginning administration of a daily dewormer, to help destroy existing larvae and adult parasites. They also recommend ...
    "*Limit 20 per customer: Buy 3, Get 2 ...
    "*Limit 20 per customer: Buy 3, Get 2 free* Broad-spectrum paste provides effective control of the following parasites in horses: large strongyles, small strongyles, pinworms, ascarids, hairworms, large-mouth stomach worms, bots, lungworms, intestinal threadworms. Also controls summer sores caused by ...
    "Fat-Cat is a concentrated natural muscle developer with ...
    "Fat-Cat is a concentrated natural muscle developer with amino acids to support weight gain, coat health, and energy levels. Fat-Cat is a great way to supply muscles with protein building blocks and beneficial vitamins and minerals. View our Weight Gain ...
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain ...
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain healthy, efficient airways all year round. Freeway Gold is an excellent choice for stabled horses or those with limited turnout. This formula contains tinctures of elecampane, liquorice, eyebright, cleaver, marshmallow, plantain, and ...
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of grass-type hays (timothy, coastal, Bermuda, native grass)/grain-based diets. The ...
    "One AC powder is a supplement that was ...
    "One AC powder is a supplement that was developed specifically for horses with performance-robbing anhidrosis (reduced ability to sweat). One AC has proven results from a field tests at the University of Florida. Contains ascorbic acid, niacin, and L-tyrosine.. Learn ...


    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
    • Competitor:


    Cough Free is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 180.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have a QH who suffers from seasonal allergies cough free helps reduce his coughs within 5 days.
    Date published: 2017-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cough Free I used this for 3 months during high pollen season with my 14 year old Thoroughbred. He was cough free after the first 2 months so we added one just to be sure as the allergy season was longer this time. I strongly recommend it.
    Date published: 2017-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cough cough cough Works great and my mini doesn't mind taking it would purchase again
    Date published: 2017-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cough Free This works for my horse. I have been able to take him off of allergy pills. I plan to continue him on this until the end of August.
    Date published: 2017-07-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed I bought this a month ago and am disappointed. I tried it on two different horses and neither horse will eat their grain with it in it. Its a very fine powder and literally makes me cough to put it in their grain! I tried adding flax oil to take down the particles that are put into the air which worked but they still would not eat their grain.
    Date published: 2017-05-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didnt notice much difference. Used for about a week. Noticed no change. Still coughing.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, smells not so great. My horse has been on this for almost two months now and it has really made a difference in her coughing. She has to be on straw where we live, but she is very sensitive to the straw dust, but this has done the trick in stopping her thick cough. My mare eats anything mixed into grain, so I can't comment on the palatability, but it doesn't smell super great to me.
    Date published: 2017-02-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse wasn't a big fan of the flavor but gradually accepted it. I can't fairly rate this product for my horse as further vet diagnoses revealed he has pneumonia.
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Im only giving it a 1 star because my horse wouldn't eat it. I cant review if it worked or not. Only need it seasonally so I might try the pellets.
    Date published: 2017-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cough Free It has a kind of herbal tea smell but my horse ate it anyway when combined with wetted down grain. I tried this and SmartBreathe at the same time and my mare seemed to like the SmartBreathe better so I stuck with that. I think the SmartBreathe has better ingredients so I'm happy with that choice.
    Date published: 2016-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works AMAZING! Works beautifully. Worth its weight in gold for my allergy prone horse.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works and fast! My pony has mild-moderate heaves and after wetting her hay, moving her to live outside and trying another breathing supplement, it was mostly controlled except for a slightly increased respiration rate, a persistent cough (a couple coughs a day) and an occasional slight wheezing. I gave her this in hopes that it would at least alleviate the cough. After only a couple days of adding this, her respirations are almost down to normal and the wheezing and cough are gone completely. This is the best she has breathed in the two years I've known her. I will definitely continue to give her this and hope that it continues to control her symptoms this well.My pony is not a picky eater and eats this as long as it is mixed in with her grain.
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cough Free I bought this last month to see if it would help with a dry cough that my horse has. I tried everything to get him to eat it with his grain, but he just didn't like the taste. So, I don't know if it helped or not
    Date published: 2016-10-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not palatable This is the second horse I have tried to use this product on that has had seasonal allergies. Both horses refused to eat their grain and these are not normally picky horses.
    Date published: 2016-09-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I bought this for my horse and he refused to eat his feed when it was mix in it. didn't see much of a result.
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big Yuck! I bought this supplement for my older horse River. He did not like it and refused to eat it.
    Date published: 2016-09-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped some with heavey horse Bought about a month ago and it's helped subdue his heaves, didn't take away completely but I noticed a difference! Not hardly coughing and breathing a little easier!
    Date published: 2016-08-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult to administer I wouldn't recommend this product. It smells terrible and my horse won't eat it unless I mix it with applesauce and administer thru a syringe. Way too much work. Trying a pellet type instead.
    Date published: 2016-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great ... My horse's cough has improved tremendously thanks so much !!!!! So happy I found this !!
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have had my mare on this product for over 5 months now and will continue to use it. Great with allergy issues.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as advertised I bought to help with cough and breathing problems and it worked for her cough.
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beware if your horse is sensitive to sulfur This is a wonderful product that I used for a number of years for seasonal allergies with great success, but in the last 18 months or so my draft cross mare has become allergic to sulfur. She had terrible congestion and nasal drainage on exercise and increased cough in the last year of using this product, In addition to breaking out in huge welts a few days after starting use. Since we had used it for years, I did not reach check the ingredients as they had never been a problem. So the reason for which I was feeding this to her actually had become the root of the problem. I will never feed it to her again and have switched to AniHist H with excellent results and no side effects.
    Date published: 2016-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm buying more! This took over a week to make my horse's cough away completely, but it did the trick eventually. It is a little dusty, but my horse loves the taste. Some people commented on the smell. I think it smells fine. Smells like a horse that won't wake me up a night coughing outside my window.
    Date published: 2016-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cough Free I don't know how it works, but this product really works. When one of my horses is coughing I mix one scoop of cough free with a couple of cups of bran and warm water. They eat it right down and the cough goes away. Warning: Cough Free has a distinctive sort of stinky odor, but the horses don't seem to mind. If your horse is fussy you could add chopped apples or a little molasses to the mixture and he should eat it right down!
    Date published: 2016-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product really works! (And quickly!) I noticed my horse had a cough out of nowhere while I was riding one day. I started her on Cough Free and within a couple days her cough was gone. I have used this product in the past, and saw quick results then, too. This is my go-to cough neutralizer!
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it does what is says When I noticed he was coughing more than normal I started him on CoughFree (which was recommended by a friend) and within a few days he was back to normal.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unfortunately this product did not help my horse. I know that different things work for different horses, and I have moved on to another product which is working better for him.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best thing yet This is my 3rd -4th jar of Cough free. This product really works! & in 5 days!
    Date published: 2015-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super results after ONE week! My horse lives in FL-very humid! Her airways get inflamed from any sort of dust particles and has had a horrible cough. After using Cough Free in my SmartPaks, my barn manger told me she hasn't heard my horse cough all week! Good to hear this product is of quality, and inexpensive as well. Totally will continue to use! Only thing we saw at first was my horse was unsure about the taste. Now, she's completely fine.
    Date published: 2015-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more runny nose! My mare has seasonal allergies that were getting pretty nasty, so we decided to start looking for something non prescription that could help. No goopy noses or cough since starting her on this. It took her a little bit to get used to the taste, it is very herbal. A swirl of maple syrup for a few weeks got her used to it and now she eats it without anything extra! Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    • y_2018, m_3, d_21, h_23
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_161
    • loc_en_US, sid_60, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders