Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Cosequin® Optimized with MSM
Nutramax Laboratories — Item #14742
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Supports healthy joints & cartilage

  • Higher levels of the active ingredients in Cosequin Equine Powder
  • Also includes 5,000 mg of MSM per scoop to help manage joint health
Cosequin® Optimized with MSM provides the same improved formula as Cosequin® Optimized, but with the addition of 5,000 mg MSM per scoop (16.5 g). Tasty, apple-flavored powder!

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart 

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 16.5 grams:
  • Manganese minimum
    32 mg
  • Glucosamine Hydrochloride* minimum
    7,200 mg
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM) minimum
    5,000 mg
  • Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate* minimum
    1,200 mg
  • *Not recognized as an essential dietary nutrient
Ingredients: : Glucosamine hydrochloride (derived from shellfish), methysulfonylmethane, sodium chondroitin sulfate (derived from bovine carticalge), oat fiber, natural and artificial apple flavor, dextrose, and manganese ascorbate.

Cosequin® contains FCHG49® Glucosamine Hydrochloride and TRH122® Low Molecular Weight Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, Nutramax Laboratories® exclusive veterinary researched specifications.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
For horses under 600 pounds, feed 1 scoop (16.5 grams) daily for 2 - 4 weeks, then feed 1/2 scoop (8.25 grams) daily for maintenance.

For horses over 600 pounds, feed 2 scoops (33 grams) daily for 2 - 4 weeks, then feed 1 scoop (16.5 grams) daily for maintenance. 

Prior to and during an event or strenuous exercise, administration may be increased back to the initial level for extra support.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Cosequin ® ASU Plus is the most advanced ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® ASU Plus is the most advanced Cosequin ® formula, providing the next level of joint support. Cosequin ® ASU Plus contains NMX1000 ® avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU), FCHG49 ® glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122 ® low-molecular-weight chondroitin sulfate and high-purity MSM. ...
    Cosequin DS Maximum Strength Plus MSM & Omega-3s ...
    Description:
    Cosequin DS Maximum Strength Plus MSM & Omega-3s contains FCHG49® glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122® sodium chondroitin sulfate, and MSM in a tasty soft chew your dog will love. This combination of ingredients helps protect your dog’s joints and support healthy cartilage ...
    "Cosequin ® Equine Powder is the #1 veterinarian-recommended ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® Equine Powder is the #1 veterinarian-recommended oral joint supplement. Cosequin is used by champion horsemen to provide their horses with comprehensive joint support. Cosequin ® Equine Powder contains an exclusive low-molecular-weight chondroitin. 3600 mglucosamine and 1200 mg chondroitin ...
    #1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin ...
    Description:
    #1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and to improve joint function. Cosequin DS has been specifically designed to meet the joint needs of ...
    "Cosequin ® ASU goes above and beyond the ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® ASU goes above and beyond the traditional glucosamine/chondroitin sulfate products on the market. Cosequin ® ASU contains NMX1000 ® avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU) formulated with FCHG49 ® glucosamine hydrochloride and TRH122 ® low-molecular-weight chondroitin sulfate. Plus ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cosequin® Optimized with MSM is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant product I've had both of my show horses on this product for quite awhile. I've seen the benefits in both my 20 year old, that's still going strong in the showring, and my six year old, who is still growing. Great product!
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product works well. Price was very good compared to other stores. Vet recommended it. My horse eats it well.
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Try it My mare wouldn't eat this, so frustrating. After some trials and errors I found that if I put it on a little senior feed that it sticks to and mix it over her feed she eats it. It took a while though so stick with it.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse is 23 and is doing great. I have used this product for about a year. He had some injuries in the past but you would never know it. He acts like some of the younger horses in pasture.
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All better! My farrier recently suggested I put my horse on cosequin and when I started looking into it I felt this is what would work best for her for the price. I did have to up her grain in order for the supplement to have enough to cover and at first my mare wouldnt touch it. She slowly got over it and decided it didnt taste too bad. Since being on it shes been running and playing a lot more. Shes had the winter off so I havent been able to see about the difference under saddle.
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product i can recommend this product,have been using it for my 23 old mare when she showed first signs of arthritis.cosequin made a real difference in the way she moves.
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally impressed. I had never tried a Cosequin product before, but decided to go with this one due to its apple flavoring. I must say I have noticed a big difference.My horse had a fluid pocket drained around his hock and chestnut area, and my vet recommended I put him on a joint supplement just to cover our bases. Not only have I noticed more "free" movement in his ouchy hock, but I have noticed it all over- he's swinging his shoulder, has no trouble with turns on the forehand, and he's seemed overall more flexible and willing to stretch his body. I'm totally impressed with this product and I'm SO happy I put him on it.Only gave it a 3/5 for palatability because it is in a powder form, and so I have to mix it with a handful of sweet feed before I put it into his dry pellet feed or else I'm not sure he'd eat it up (my boy likes to dump his feed and then pick it out of the sawdust). I wish there was a pelleted version- I may switch to another Cosequin product for this reason alone.
    Date published: 2012-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin/ MSM Works for Navicular relief My 23 yr old ASB has the mysterious heel pain syndrome that used to be called navicular. He became "ouchy" when he was 7 so I have used all of the cosequin products over the years. In his case, along with a very good barefoot trim, and 24 hour turn out, the MSM version seems to work the best at keeping him riding sound and comfortable. It really makes a difference. I started using Cosequin originally because they had an actual research study available for review. I have experimented with other similar products but have always come back to Cosequin. At 23 he still really wants to gallop a field with me so it probably helps with any osteoarthritis as well.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this supplement! This is the best supplement ever! My horse is 18 and he has arthritis but because of cosequin his joints feel amazing and he can still jump and do dressage! I've had him on this for 3 years.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Him Going My police horse is now 22 years old, and the Cosequin has added many years of service to his career. He goes out in the morning just as peppy and smooth as the youngsters he is with. I am very happy with this product and the results I have seen.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Skeptic I was told by my vet to choose between this and another product. I didn't want a powder because it is expensive and he can just blow it right out of his feed bucket. But I chose this one because it has MSM in it to help with respiratory problems. I started using it and my horse is making leaps and bounds everyday. He is completely sound, he quit dragging his hind legs, and he actually wants to work instead of finding things to spook at because he doesn't want to work. He never refuses and he has become an awesome hunter. He tends to get quick and moving a little too forward(because he is no longer sore) but we are working through that. I do reccommend putting either oil or water in their feed with it because it helps the powder stick to the food but only moisten the food right before they eat it. He has made a complete transfromation but now he is going on SmartCalm pellets.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from COSEQUIN Optomized tHIS PRODUCT HELPED MY HORSE USE HIS HOCKS JUST AS WELL AS HOCK INJECTIONS. He hasn't needed them in over 1 1/2 years! He no longer drags his hind toes and is able to engage his hind end more easily. To see him so comfortable makes me very happy as it seems he is a lot happier in his work.
    Date published: 2009-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin Optimized MSM My Vet recomended feeding a supplement for joint health and matience. His educated opinion was to stay with the Cosequin products. He felt that there was definate evidence that these products produced positive results. He also advised me that there are many popular joint supplements that people believe in and word of mouth is they work but NO real proof that they do. Additionally, I understand that the Cosequin ASU works wonders if you are having joint issues. For now I am using the Optimized for daily health and matience.Ashley Bolen
    Date published: 2009-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin Optimized With MSM This is a powerful supplement that has been very effective with my Morgan stallion who does dressage. We started using this supplement after his hocks became sore. His hocks respond very well to it & we will not be without it! Good value & great impact!
    Date published: 2009-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product This product though pricey does what it says it does and is worth the cost. my two eventing horses stay sound and happy.
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healed!!! This is the best purchase I've ever made. I bought a beautiful quarterhorse who was doomed because of arthritis in his back hocks. Only 7 years old, but all of the sudden nobody wanted him. My vet advised I not buy him. Said he should be unshod, put to pasture for at least 6 months, then re-evaluated to see if his hocks had self fused. They gave me the disk with his x-rays on it. This is the first and only horse I've ever owned. I bought him anyway, researched my options, and started him on Cosequin optimized with MSM. He was more comfortable in a matter of weeks. I then rode him, gently, no jumps, and loved him, and made sure he had the correct amount of cosequin in his feed bags everyday. After a year and a half I decided to get him re-x-ray'd to see how things were going. The vet first flexed him, which went surprisingly well, then reviewed the prior x-rays. We discussed injections and so forth. Then we did the new x-rays. He is well! No other way to put it! The vet was dumbstruck. The space is there, the gaps are gone, and he is an awesome, valuable, ready to get in tip top shape horse! He will always be my baby, but I feel vindicated to say the least! I'm now known as the horse nurturer at the barn, instead of that crazy woman who doesn't know what she is doing. I'm keeping him on the Cosequin forever, but want to say to everybody out there with a horse you love who is suffering from arthritis - try this stuff! It takes some patience and some discipline, but you will be amazed at the results.
    Date published: 2009-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Joint Product This seems to be an excellent product for joint supplement for horses 10 years and older.
    Date published: 2009-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-08
    • y_2017, m_1, d_19, h_3
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_21
    • loc_en_US, sid_4742, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders