Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Cosequin® DS (Double Strength)
Nutramax Laboratories — Item #10676
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and to improve joint function. Cosequin DS has been specifically designed to meet the joint needs of larger dogs. Prescription not required.

Click here to view our Canine Joint Product Comparison Chart.

Ingredients

  • Glucosamine HCl 99%
    500 mg
  • Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate 95%
    400 mg
  • Mixed Glycosaminoglycans
    5%
  • Ascorbate
    33 mg
  • Mangansese
    5 mg
Chewable Tablets: Glucosamine HCl, sodium chondroitin sulfate, microcrystalline cellulose, dextrose, xanthan gum, vegetable oil, artificial roast beef flavor, manganese ascorbate, salt, natural and artificial cheese flavor, dried brewers yeast, and natural garlic flavor. Capsules: Glucosamine HCl, sodium chondroitin sulfate, manganese ascorbate, gelatin, water, magnesium stearate, sodium lauryl sulfate, FD&C blue #1, and FD&C yellow #5.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

The recommended initial administration period is four to six weeks. Your dog may respond in a shorter period of time. At this time you can decrease the number of Cosequin DS tablets/capsules to the maintenance level.

Chewable Tablets: You can administer the chewable tablets directly to your pet or crumble and mix with food.

Capsules: The capsules can be pulled apart and the contents sprinkled on the pet's food. Wet or moist food is preferred to ensure that the pet gets the entire amount.

10-24 lbs - 1/day for initial administration and then .5/day
25-49 lbs - 2/day for initial administration and then 1/day
50-100 lbs 3/day for initial administration and then 1 or 2/day 
Over 100 lbs 4/day for initial administration and then 2/day

Once consistent improvement has been seen, these maintenance levels may be reduced to an every other day administration. The maintenance level can also be used long term on normal dogs to help keep their joints healthy.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Cosequin ® ASU Plus is the most advanced ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® ASU Plus is the most advanced Cosequin ® formula, providing the next level of joint support. Cosequin ® ASU Plus contains NMX1000 ® avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU), FCHG49 ® glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122 ® low-molecular-weight chondroitin sulfate and high-purity MSM. ...
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin ...
    Description:
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and cats and to improve joint function. Cosequin SS has been specifically designed to meet the joint ...
    "Cosequin DS Maximum Strength Plus MSM & Omega-3s ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin DS Maximum Strength Plus MSM & Omega-3s contains FCHG49® glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122® sodium chondroitin sulfate, and MSM in a tasty soft chew your dog will love. This combination of ingredients helps protect your dog’s joints and support healthy cartilage ...
    "Cosequin ® Equine Powder is the #1 veterinarian-recommended ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® Equine Powder is the #1 veterinarian-recommended oral joint supplement. Cosequin is used by champion horsemen to provide their horses with comprehensive joint support. Cosequin ® Equine Powder contains an exclusive low-molecular-weight chondroitin. 3600 mglucosamine and 1200 mg chondroitin ...
    "Cosequin ® Optimized with MSM provides the same ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® Optimized with MSM provides the same improved formula as Cosequin ® Optimized, but with the addition of 5,000 mg MSM per scoop (16.5 g). Tasty, apple-flavored powder! View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "When liver function is compromised, the exact cause ...
    Description:
    "When liver function is compromised, the exact cause can often be difficult to determine. Supporting the liver, regardless of the cause, is essential if function is to be improved. Denosyl has been shown to markedly increase liver glutathione levels in ...
    "The popular and respected equine and dog treatment ...
    Description:
    "The popular and respected equine and dog treatment for stiff and sore joints is now available in a feline formulation! Cosequin for Cats is one of the few feline joint products that is not simply a redosage of the canine ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 173.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supplement I used this many years ago and it was recently recommended for another dog who tore her CCL. Since she and my other dog are both 8, I started them both on it. I can't say they've shown any improvements, but I'm hoping for a more long-term benefit.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to feed in food The pills are small enough to break up easily to hide in food. The pill is not beef flavored looking and is different than another brand that my dog would eat as a treat so I have to break by fingers into her food and she will eat it then.
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No change to note in my dogs hips I have to be honest here. I have been using this every day now for about a month for both my dogs with no descernable change in my female dogs hip pain. I used another product previously that had msm and hyaluronic acid that did work so I am going back to that. I think glucosamine and chondriotin doesn't always work for all dogs just as it doesn't work for all people.One other thing; these are blue and white plasticy capsules and not a tablet and though my dogs generally will eat them out of hand, they may not be the easy to does for a picky eater. I prefer and more palatable tablet myself.
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help for dog who has had ACL surgery My dog unfortunately had to have ACL surgery in 2007. She is now almost 10 years old. I had been giving her Glycoflex III for about a year and it helped her somewhat and decided to try Cosequin for a couple of months. Truthfully I could not tell any difference in the help the two products gave her. I am sure she would be less mobile without one of these products. She still loves to swim and retrieve!
    Date published: 2012-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped! Improved my 11 yo German Shepherd's mobility by about 25-30%! Great product!
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great joint help It is in a capsule so it is easy to give I use a piece of hotdog and put it in the middle. My dog is 10 so she slowed down and had some joint pain this has helped her out alt in a short time. She is running around more like a younger dog and not so ouchy.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! Purchased this for a fourteen year old dog who would lay around most of the day and moved with obvious pain. Started with the recommended loading dose, which seemed too strong for her, backed down to the maintenance dose. Now she gets up in the morning and is moving with much greater comfort. She is a much happier dog!
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps! My 11 year old German Shepherd whose "stiff" backend was moving onto "weak" seems to be moving better; maybe a 30% improvement. With the addition of Rimadyl he shows about a 50% improvement! He is still in his 1st month or so and hopefully will improve still!
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really works I have been using Cosequin DS for years. As each one of my Pugs reached a stage in their lives when they had arthritic changes or another joint issue I immediately put them on this and within days I could see an improvement every time. Fantastic stuff. I will ALWAYS have Cosequin DS in my home for my little dollies.
    Date published: 2012-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase My 12 year old dog bounces like a puppy again! Try it!
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good supplement I have been feeding Cosequin DS chewables to my German Shepherds for years. I feel like they help prevent problems from starting as well as helping with any ongoing problems.I have not had any issues with my dogs. Thanks Cosequin.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, effective product This is an excellent, high quality, supplement. My dog suffered a temporary paralysis as a result of spinal arthritis a few months ago. I started him on this product and he feels like a frisky puppy. It really helps. I call him "Cosequin Arliss" after the successful jumper "Cosequin Adam". :)
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too early to tell I was quite shocked that my dog actually ate the tablet. She takes it like a treat with her evening meal. We're only on month two, so the results may take a bit longer. My vet did say that my Jack Russell's hips and flexion are good for her age.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Dog Joint Supp! My German Shepard was having trouble with his hips at a young age. He would cry when he would stand up sometimes and would get very sore. After being on this for a few weeks he didn't have anymore problems. He has been on it for a few years and loves it! My horse is on the equine Cosequin too!
    Date published: 2011-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Started giving these once daily to my 13 1/2 year old black lab about 1 month ago. I've seen a noticable difference in her energy. She still walks twice daily and this is a good supplement to add to her diet.Also give to my 3 1/2 year old German shepherd.
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great product at a reasonable price. I give my aging husky mix half a dose for maintenance and she eats it right up. Had her on another similar product but she wouldn't eat it (and she's NOT picky!). Still a little stiff sometimes after a long day but MUCH better than before.
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This product has drastically helped our 4 year old Spaniel mix. He no longer shows any signs of discomfort in his hips.
    Date published: 2011-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) I inquired about my horse's limp to my vet and he recommended Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) to me stating that in supplement studies this product was the only one that had the actual amount of ingredients that was stated on the label. So even though it was higher priced then some of the other products that are supposed to do the same thing, i ordered it for my horse & WOW! It is an awesome product; enough so that that I also put my two older dogs with their stiff hips on it and within a week I saw the same results. They acted like much younger dogs! Free movement and no pain, running and playing again... I will recommend this to anyone with a dog or horse that has had and injury in the past or an aging animal with stiffness! IT WORKS!! So do your best friends a favor and start giving them this product and watch the magic happen, now can I get some myself LOL!P.S. I am a LMT (Licensed Massage Therapist) So I know alot about supplements and this is one of the best I have seen. Thank you makers of Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) you are life savers! :)
    Date published: 2011-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyday without fail! I split a capsule between my two small dogs and sprinkle it on their breakfast every day. I started giving it to my 16 yo terrier mix after she had an ACL repair done a couple years ago. She loves to run and still gives rabbits a run for their money thanks to the cosequin.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin DS I have been giving Cosequin DS to my dogs for 6 years. They are now both 11 and can climb stairs and run really well. I would highly recommend this to anyone with a dog, after checking with your dog's Vet.
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great suppliment I like the ability to adjust the levels of suppliment for my different dog needs. Even my finicky pitbull will eat them easily.
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Choice Joint Supplement Purchased this for my 8 year old border collie who was struggling a bit on higher mileage trail rides. Within a week she was moving better and getting up and down easier. Within 2 weeks she was able to do an 8.5 mile ride with us, whereas before the Cosequin she was stiff and slowing down after 2 miles. Good stuff.
    Date published: 2011-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made my 10 yo a puppy again! My 10-year-old Shephard/Husky mix was feeling his age. After just a couple of weeks on Cosequin, he's jumping into the car again, running up and down the stairs, and playing with his 3 yo 'sister' like a puppy! He's enjoying himself again, and has lost weight as a result of the increased activity. I put my 3 yo on it as a preventitve measure after seeing what it did to my other guy. Thanks, Cosequin!
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A no hassle purchase. First time buyer from this company. Easy purchase and came on time. My German Shepard likes them and no side effects. She is 4 weeks post knee surgery and Cosequin seems to be helping her out.Will continue the product.
    Date published: 2011-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great!! Before I started using Cosequin DS my dog had a significate lameness in her hind leg. After starting her on the Cosequin I noticed a big change after 1 week. Very happy with the product.
    Date published: 2011-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 15 year old Dog is acting like a 2 year old My 15 year old Springer Spaniel has only been on the product for a month and I can see a tremendous difference in him. He is running around and trying to get our other 5 dogs to play with him when in the past he would just lounge in his leather chair all day and sleep. It has brought out the young man in him. I would highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!!! Our rottweiler is getting up there in age, and on days he is super active, the following day he is pretty calm and doesn't want to move much. We decided to give the Cosequin DS a try, and it has worked wonders! He is always active now, regardless of how the day before has gone. He is a "pup" again.
    Date published: 2011-03-25
    • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_19
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_149
    • loc_en_US, sid_676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders