Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Cosequin® DS (Double Strength)
Nutramax Laboratories — Item #10676
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and to improve joint function. Cosequin DS has been specifically designed to meet the joint needs of larger dogs. Prescription not required.

Click here to view our Canine Joint Product Comparison Chart.

Ingredients

  • Glucosamine HCl 99%
    500 mg
  • Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate 95%
    400 mg
  • Mixed Glycosaminoglycans
    5%
  • Ascorbate
    33 mg
  • Mangansese
    5 mg
Chewable Tablets: Glucosamine HCl, sodium chondroitin sulfate, microcrystalline cellulose, dextrose, xanthan gum, vegetable oil, artificial roast beef flavor, manganese ascorbate, salt, natural and artificial cheese flavor, dried brewers yeast, and natural garlic flavor. Capsules: Glucosamine HCl, sodium chondroitin sulfate, manganese ascorbate, gelatin, water, magnesium stearate, sodium lauryl sulfate, FD&C blue #1, and FD&C yellow #5.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

The recommended initial administration period is four to six weeks. Your dog may respond in a shorter period of time. At this time you can decrease the number of Cosequin DS tablets/capsules to the maintenance level.

Chewable Tablets: You can administer the chewable tablets directly to your pet or crumble and mix with food.

Capsules: The capsules can be pulled apart and the contents sprinkled on the pet's food. Wet or moist food is preferred to ensure that the pet gets the entire amount.

10-24 lbs - 1/day for initial administration and then .5/day
25-49 lbs - 2/day for initial administration and then 1/day
50-100 lbs 3/day for initial administration and then 1 or 2/day 
Over 100 lbs 4/day for initial administration and then 2/day

Once consistent improvement has been seen, these maintenance levels may be reduced to an every other day administration. The maintenance level can also be used long term on normal dogs to help keep their joints healthy.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Cosequin ® ASU Plus is the most advanced ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® ASU Plus is the most advanced Cosequin ® formula, providing the next level of joint support. Cosequin ® ASU Plus contains NMX1000 ® avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU), FCHG49 ® glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122 ® low-molecular-weight chondroitin sulfate and high-purity MSM. ...
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin ...
    Description:
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and cats and to improve joint function. Cosequin SS has been specifically designed to meet the joint ...
    "Cosequin DS Maximum Strength Plus MSM & Omega-3s ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin DS Maximum Strength Plus MSM & Omega-3s contains FCHG49® glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122® sodium chondroitin sulfate, and MSM in a tasty soft chew your dog will love. This combination of ingredients helps protect your dog’s joints and support healthy cartilage ...
    "Cosequin ® Equine Powder is the #1 veterinarian-recommended ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® Equine Powder is the #1 veterinarian-recommended oral joint supplement. Cosequin is used by champion horsemen to provide their horses with comprehensive joint support. Cosequin ® Equine Powder contains an exclusive low-molecular-weight chondroitin. 3600 mglucosamine and 1200 mg chondroitin ...
    "Cosequin ® Optimized with MSM provides the same ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® Optimized with MSM provides the same improved formula as Cosequin ® Optimized, but with the addition of 5,000 mg MSM per scoop (16.5 g). Tasty, apple-flavored powder! View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "When liver function is compromised, the exact cause ...
    Description:
    "When liver function is compromised, the exact cause can often be difficult to determine. Supporting the liver, regardless of the cause, is essential if function is to be improved. Denosyl has been shown to markedly increase liver glutathione levels in ...
    "The popular and respected equine and dog treatment ...
    Description:
    "The popular and respected equine and dog treatment for stiff and sore joints is now available in a feline formulation! Cosequin for Cats is one of the few feline joint products that is not simply a redosage of the canine ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 173.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps ou Newfoundland sound and happy. I started using Cosequin DS after one of our Newfoundland had CV a sudden onset of extreme shoulder pain. After a veterinary exam and x-rays came up with nothing more than slight changes in the shoulder, we put him on Cosequin. He is now back to his playful self. Great product.
    Date published: 2016-03-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Capsules vs tablets The capsules are easier to feed, but even though I bought the DS my dog's arthritis seems worse.The results compared to the tablets just don't seem to be as expected. I will not buy this product again.I am going back to the other brand.
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for amputees! My dog's front leg was amputated as a puppy. She's 9 now and was having issues with stumbling, pain, and stiffness. Once she was on Cosequin DS for a month I noticed that she was moving normally again and was much more active.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have seen incredible improvement I have seen incredible improvement in my 10 yr old Boxer. He has bad arthritis in his hips and suffered a lot this past winter. After a month on Cosequin DS he has marked improvement and is jumping around like a pup! Runs all day and his spirits are much better. He is a very picky eater so I put the chewable in large pill pockets and he eats them up. Great product!
    Date published: 2015-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticed a Difference I am pretty skeptical of oral joint supplements, but after 3 weeks of the loading dose there was a noticeable improvement in my dog's gait. She's a picky eater and she will take the tablets like I treat if I forget to put them in her food. Very happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at a great price! Dogs show improvement in their movement overall. Most noticeable in our oldest boy :-)
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Haven't noticed a difference yet My Rottie has been on Cosequin for a few weeks but I really haven't noticed a difference yet. Hopefully, after a few more weeks he will make progress
    Date published: 2015-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I give these to my severely food allergic dog- she can't have any of the traditional joint supplements because of this. I've seen a marked improvement in her gait and comfort level. Very happy with this product.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this product! I bought this product about a month ago and I can already tell a difference in my 5 yr old Aussie. He is feeling great! and he eats them like treats!
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw results ! Cosmo our Jack Russell is 14. Last year we noticed some occasional stiffness after walks. When it became more apparent we tried this supplement (use horse version on my horse). Cosmo is moving better again.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought the Cosequin DS a few weeks ago as my wife's dog (Squish) was doing so well on it. My Dane (Maddie) is doing amazing on the Cosequin DS as well. Both girls have improved there mobility and are enjoying running around once again:)
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your dog will thank you! My 8 year old golden has always been extremely active, especially in the summer swimming all day and playing fetch for hours. The past few months an old shoulder injury has been causing a bit of a limp, so I decided to try cosequin as our old dog had been on it years ago. What a difference! I hadn't realized how much she had slowed down, now she is back to her 2 year old self and wild as ever, no trace of a limp whatsoever. Totally worth the money, your dog will thank you!
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I bought this product and within one week my dog decided he no longer could tolerate the taste.
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I've been told that if this products works for you, your horse or your dog, then it really makes a big difference. Well, our 35 pound mixed breed dog just turned 10 and I though I would add this to her daily routine, just in case.  I am stunned at how much more active and happy she is now. We had not noticed that she had slowed down but apparently she had.  She is a very active dog that did very well in agility as a youngster. Now, she is just as active and happy but has the wisdom of a fantastic 10 year old. We are very happy with this supplement and it's inexpensive cost. She eats it right up as a treat or in her meal, even though I would consider her fairly picky. 
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My 10 1/2 year old Golden Retriever began having trouble going up a flight of stairs. After being on Cosequin for two months, she goes up the stairs like she was 3 years old again. A miracle.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My rescue arrived with an old wound stretching from ankle to hip that had severely damaged her joints as it healed. A year after we got her she tore the CCL on her opposite leg which put additional strain on the previously injured leg. We started her on Cosequin to aid healing and minimize further damage on both legs. Once she was healed and free to run, she was like a puppy! She gets her Cosequin twice a day and loves it. She bounces around the kitchen and groans if it takes you too long :)
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trusted product I have used this with two previous mastiffs as they aged, and it helped keep them going- one into her teens. My current senior mastiff is moving more comfortably up and down stairs since I've started him on the loading dose. He sits and waits to slobber them up from my hand at feeding time so no palatibility problem; he's picky about his treats.
    Date published: 2013-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin DS - good buy I started my dog on Cosequin DS in March this year - he's a 7 yr old lab/pitt mix with an old ACL injury that healed with out surgery before I adopted him at age 2. He walked around fine but would limp after any vigorous activity. He loved to fetch but would end up hurting himself so we had to stop playing. I notice that he's quicker up the stairs and can jump onto and off of the bed easily, and after a light game of fetch is not limping. As far as taste - he's a poor example because he's pretty much a vacuum, but I did forget to put it in with his food once and tried to just give it to him and he didn't want to eat it which is why I gave palatability a 4 instead of 5. I typically bury it under his food and he has no idea. He seems comfortable and I'm happy with what I've noticed. I would absolutely say it's worth a try.
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement for senior dog I give this to my senior Doberman, and it has really helped his mobility. He used to have problems jumping in the car, and after a few weeks on this he can get right in. As to palatability, he will wait by his food dish until I put the tablets on top, and then eat them first, so they must take pretty good!
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Difference! Started our older Husky mix on a partial dose of this per vet recommendation and saw results immediately. As she's aged, she's gotten a little more joint-sore and arthritic. The great thing about this product is there is flexibility to increase the dosage (easily!) and still maintain affordability. Definitely my top pick for canine joint maintenance!
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful My 14 year old lab appreciates the help she gets from these supplements!
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Favorite I am now using this on my 2nd dog and it is the best stuff!!!! When they told me my lab may have a tear and to use rimadyl, I just put him on this and it is all I use. My lab has no problem with the pills, but I like how it used to come better for overall usage.My 1st dog was on it for years and never gave him any issues! It is my go to for any joint issues in dogs.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good fit for the right dog I bought this for my aging lab and it is doing an ok job. I had started with a different consequences formula but switched to this because it was convenient to have it shipped with my other meds for my horse. My lab became a little stiff after I switched her so I think she just needs different dosing of the glucosamine, condroitin and msm. Nt the right fit for my pup but no major complaints.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I bought this for my older Corgi who was starting to have trouble going up the stairs. Seems to be helping.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonders When we first got our 8 yr old border collie, Sebastian, he was 25 pounds overweight. Every now and then he would limp on his front left leg after a good game of frisbee. I suspected arthritis so I researched and researched a good joint supplement and decided to try this. It worked wonders! After about 2-3 weeks, his limping episodes completely stopped. And I KNOW it works because if he goes a couple days without it, he starts limping again within the week. I'd say it is one of the best joint products out there. I think Sebastian would have to agree!
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great; Glad I Tried It! I was skeptical, it seems these types of things are hit or miss; with humans, horses and dogs. Either this is a great product or I really lucked out on the 1st try this time!!! My 8 year old Rottweiler is doing great. It's only been 2 1/2 weeks and I am really noticing how much easier it is for him to get up. I have a prescription for Rimadyl but I'd rather not use that if I don't need to and I've started using SmartPak for my horses so I thought I'd give it a try for Rocky and see how it went. It's went great and for about $20.00 a month I'm very happy with it. The only trouble is he won't eat them out of my hand but no problem, I simply put them in the bowl with his morning kibble and he eats them right up (I never said he was the smartest dog in my house!) I'm very pleased with Cosequin and might try some of the other products in their line too.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This product works wonders for my aging Husky mix. She has significantly less stiffness and mobility issues. I'd highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_18
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_149
    • loc_en_US, sid_676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders