Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Cosequin® DS (Double Strength)
Nutramax Laboratories — Item #10676
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and to improve joint function. Cosequin DS has been specifically designed to meet the joint needs of larger dogs. Prescription not required.

Click here to view our Canine Joint Product Comparison Chart.

Ingredients

  • Glucosamine HCl 99%
    500 mg
  • Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate 95%
    400 mg
  • Mixed Glycosaminoglycans
    5%
  • Ascorbate
    33 mg
  • Mangansese
    5 mg
Chewable Tablets: Glucosamine HCl, sodium chondroitin sulfate, microcrystalline cellulose, dextrose, xanthan gum, vegetable oil, artificial roast beef flavor, manganese ascorbate, salt, natural and artificial cheese flavor, dried brewers yeast, and natural garlic flavor. Capsules: Glucosamine HCl, sodium chondroitin sulfate, manganese ascorbate, gelatin, water, magnesium stearate, sodium lauryl sulfate, FD&C blue #1, and FD&C yellow #5.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

The recommended initial administration period is four to six weeks. Your dog may respond in a shorter period of time. At this time you can decrease the number of Cosequin DS tablets/capsules to the maintenance level.

Chewable Tablets: You can administer the chewable tablets directly to your pet or crumble and mix with food.

Capsules: The capsules can be pulled apart and the contents sprinkled on the pet's food. Wet or moist food is preferred to ensure that the pet gets the entire amount.

10-24 lbs - 1/day for initial administration and then .5/day
25-49 lbs - 2/day for initial administration and then 1/day
50-100 lbs 3/day for initial administration and then 1 or 2/day 
Over 100 lbs 4/day for initial administration and then 2/day

Once consistent improvement has been seen, these maintenance levels may be reduced to an every other day administration. The maintenance level can also be used long term on normal dogs to help keep their joints healthy.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    #1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin ...
    Description:
    #1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and cats and to improve joint function. Cosequin SS has been specifically designed to meet the joint ...
    Cosequin DS Maximum Strength Plus MSM & Omega-3s ...
    Description:
    Cosequin DS Maximum Strength Plus MSM & Omega-3s contains FCHG49® glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122® sodium chondroitin sulfate, and MSM in a tasty soft chew your dog will love. This combination of ingredients helps protect your dog’s joints and support healthy cartilage ...
    When liver function is compromised, the exact cause ...
    Description:
    When liver function is compromised, the exact cause can often be difficult to determine. Supporting the liver, regardless of the cause, is essential if function is to be improved. Denosyl has been shown to markedly increase liver glutathione levels in ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 173.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!!! Had a decent effect on my extremely arthritic 8yr old Lab and was able to cut her from 4 Dermamax a day down to 2. The biggest change was our 10yr old Corgi who had never showed any signs but I gave him some to see if it would make a difference. To my great surprise, he was so excited for dinner one evening that he actually jumped over the sleeping Lab to get to his bowl! I haven't seen him jump that high since he was two!
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product I have a Corgi with back leg lameness and Cosequin DS has really helped. Rarely does she limp.
    Date published: 2011-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works I had tried a few other supplements on our 3 year old mix. He started limping when he would get up from laying down. It hasn't even been a month and I'm already seeing a difference. I can't wait for our vet to see the change.
    Date published: 2011-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Both my 9 1/2 yr old yellow lab and my 7 1/2 yr old black lab are on this product. I can honestly say that it has definitley helped their mobility, reduced pain and stiffness--they're having fun again. Black lab used to have extreme difficulty getting up from her bed after a good exercise and now she's jumping, leaping and hopping around as if she were years younger. The yellow lab has had shoulder problems plus an ACL surgery. These pills have helped her tremendously with the added plus of being able to cut back on her antiflammatory/pain prescription meds. I highly recommend this to anyone who has a companion with mobility difficulties! Have had no problems with either one of them being able to tolerate the pills but I always give the pill with food.
    Date published: 2011-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using this product for a little over two weeks and have seen a little improvement.My other concern is that I have noticed some bad breath which did not occur before use. I feel with continued use I will seen more progress.
    Date published: 2011-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perky Boxer at 12 years old My Boxer is 12 and this product is helping to keep him perky! I give several supplements in addition to this one so it is hard to know for sure which is having the greatest impact. My guy gets this, CortaFlex, Fish Oil, Adequan, Traumeel and Ligaplex. My vet is a big believer in the supplements listed above and says that they work well together.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remarkable Difference I have been using Cosequin DS for my elder dogs ever since my 10 year old Corgi had knee replacement surgery several years ago. He recovered so well on it and he needs to be on it the rest of his life. I also put my 14 year old Corgi on it to head off any joint problems that may come his way. Both my Corgis are still active and they eat the tablet with no problem at all. It is the best joint supplement made for dogs! The only downside is the cost it should be made more affordable so everyone can use it.
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just The Right Thing! My great dane is 8+ years old and although he doesn't have major issues, we wanted to prevent something from happening. It seems to be working well, he tolerates the med quite nicely. We use Cosequin for the horses and I would not be without it!
    Date published: 2011-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from in love Cosequin has really given my 6 yro Golden his mobility back. Before taking Cosequin 4 years ago Lucky could one walk .5 miles without becoming lame do to hip dysplasia now he can easily walk 3 miles without any lameness. I highly recommend it to anyone who has a breed prone to hip issues
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HUGE CHANGE I HAVE 2 very active jack russell terriers, one is VERY long legged and big for the breed, she has a tremendous amount of energy like all jacks and can jump 5 feet with ease..she started having soreness from her rough play and after several visits to the vets with no problems found on xrays or other tests we put her on this product, she is so much happier and not lame anymore...i now feed it to her 1 yo brother he is very small but active as well they are both doing great on it...
    Date published: 2010-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin DS I have an Egnlish Pointer and a French Brittany. Both take Cosequin DS. Works great and it is a real bargain. Service is excellent
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, our dog has been using it for almost 6 months as a preventative measure. No issues yet! I was slightly disappointed in the canine smartpak though. I was under the impression that the pills were going to be put directly into the food packets, but they were in their own little baggie. Next month I will just go back to buying the big bottle.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff can see a real difference in mobility since using the product, not a cure of course, but definitely a big help
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product My aging arthritic dog has been on Cosequin for a while. It has made a wealth of difference in her ability to get around comfortably.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs Love Them My dogs think these are treats so they are obviously tasty to them - and they come running for them when it's time for them each day. We have 3 large breed dogs - 2 Goldens and 1 Lab - and 2 out of the three are on the Cosequin DS now. This is the best product that I've found on the market and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who has a dog with dysplasia.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product This product has really helped our dog who is in the senior stage of her life.
    Date published: 2010-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFUL joint supplement My 7 y/o German Shepherd occasionally limps after a long day at the barn. I have been giving him 2 pills/day for about 7 months and he's doing excellent! The best thing about these pills is that they're chewable and he LOVES them! He's picky when it comes to pills, so I was worried I would have to push them down his throat, but I don't have to!! :)
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This product was recommended to me by a friend who has a dog with some joint problems. My dog is 12 years old and has had ACL surgery on both hind legs. She still has a lot of vitality. She moves easier and seems less stiff. It is also easy to administer the chewable tablets. I just put them in with her food.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is the only joint supplement I use on my dogs. I also use their horse supplement and have had equally good results with it.
    Date published: 2010-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I have had both my dogs on Cosequin for years, and I would highly recommend it. The convenienve of Smart Pak makes it even better.
    Date published: 2010-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Medication I have an 11 yr old Sheltie, who has just developed arthritis in her left front leg. She was really starting to limp, but since I started her on Cosequin double strength, the limp has gone away. She is walking and running just fine. Thank you so much.Mystic Blue
    Date published: 2010-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works I've used every kind of joint supplement for my elderly golden retriever with mixed results. I decided to give this one a try and I'm glad I did. Nothing at first but after several weeks on the product, his mobility has definitely increased. I have no problem with him eating the tablets either. I'd recommend you give this a try if your dog is facing serious joint problems.
    Date published: 2010-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product Both my dog and horse receive Cosequin. It's the only joint supplement with the research to back it up. It works great and being involved in both the veterinary and competitive horse (hunter/jumper) world, I've heard nothing but great things about it. I will continue to use this product throughout my animals' lives. Compared to some other joint supplements it may seem a bit more pricey, but I really believe that I'm getting what I'm paying for!
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_149
    • loc_en_US, sid_676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders