Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Bug Check

Natural Horse Vet — Item #10686
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Insect control plus digestive support

  • Garlic, yeast & grape seed extract help deter biting flies
  • Diatomaceous earth helps discourage insect breeding in manure
Bug Check brings you the best of both worlds! Bug Check contains garlic, yeast, and grape seed extract to deter biting flies and diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Bug Check is chemical free and palatable, with no "spray-on" hassle!

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

NOTE: SmartPaks and buckets/bags now contain Alltech Lacto-Sacc Probiotics.

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis
(Maintenance Dose = 3/4 scoop (3/4 oz) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein Min 4%
Crude Fat Min 3.5%
Crude Fiber Max 20%
Saccharomyces cerevisiae Min 3.80 x 10(9th) cells/lb
Lactobacillus acidophilus Min 2.10 x 10(8th) cells/lb
Enterococcus faecium Min 1.50 x 10(8th) cells/lb
Ingredients:: Ground Dried Grape & Seed Pomace, Distiller Grains, Diatomaceous Earth, Garlic Powder, Brewers Yeast, Mechanically Extracted Soybean Oil, Thiamine Monohydrate, Saccharomyces cerevisiae yeast culture, Dried Enterococcuc faecium fermentation product, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, Dried Aspergillus niger fermentation extract, Dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, Dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation extract.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions:
When starting this product, top dress at the rate of 1 scoop or more daily per 1000 lbs body weight for two to three weeks. Then, maintain an amount of 1/2 scoop or more daily. For difficult situations, up to 4 scoops per 1000 lbs body weight may be given daily. Each scoop (provided) equals 1 oz.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ingredients including glucosamine HCl, hyaluronic acid, chondroitin sulfate, and generous levels of ultra pure MSM. All of these connective tissue components are blended in a very palatable base of premium quality timothy-based ...
    "Grand Coat is designed to support breathtaking colors, ...
    Description:
    "Grand Coat is designed to support breathtaking colors, glossy coats and lustrous manes and tails. Unique quadruple action formula that includes omega 3 and 6 fatty acids, lecithin, biotin and Diamond V Yeast. View our Skin & Coat Supplement Comparison ...
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and ...
    Description:
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and economical feed-through fly prevention that prevents house and stable fly development. Cyromazine, the active ingredient of Solitude IGR, safely passes through the horse's system and is excreted in the manure, regulating house ...
    "SOURCE is an extremely broad-spectrum horse supplement with ...
    Description:
    "SOURCE is an extremely broad-spectrum horse supplement with at least 60 elements and their associated micronutrient compounds in a biologically active form. SOURCE contains small amounts of naturally occurring vitamins, including the 14 currently recognized ""essential trace elements"" and the ...
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will ...
    Description:
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will silently and discreetly catch indoor house flies, moths, wasps, and other nuisance flying pests. Called the Armadilha, from the Portuguese word ""trap"", this is a beautifully designed and attractive unit for your ...
    "Ecovet is a new alternative to traditional fly ...
    Description:
    "Ecovet is a new alternative to traditional fly products containing pyrethrins or essential oils. Research has shown that certain fatty acids act as insect attractants, while others are repellents. Ecovet uses a proprietary mixture of naturally occurring fatty acids that ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bug Check is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 277.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't notice a difference... I bought this for my mare who is sensitive to bugs. She ate it with no problems. However, she still seemed to be annoyed by the bugs even after 3 months of being on it. I'll just stick to the fly predators and ultra shield spray. They seem to work and control the situation a lot better. Was just hoping to get away from the sprays.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from palatability is variable Used Bug Off last year, but decided to try this one this year. My horses usually blast through food and supplements, but with this product one will begrudgingly eat it when mixed with food and the other will not eat any of her food when this is mixed in. VERY strong garlic odor. Going back to the SmartPak garlic/brewers yeast insect control.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I did the ultimate test! I have 7 horses on the farm and 5 are on Bug Check and two are not. I swear the 5 that are on it have fewer bugs and seem less upset during turn out then the other 5. I still use fly spray when riding, but they are much happier than they have ever been! The other two have been started. They were not mine, but now the owners are believers!
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got this product hoping it would help with my geldings sweet itch. No luck on that ( although I have only been using it for 2 months), but it has improved my horses coat and I will be looking forward to see how well it works in the summer with all the yucky flies.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps with bug allergies My horse was found to be very allergic to the No-see-ums. The vet recommended we put her on Bug Check and it has made a huge difference! I still have to use bug spray on her as it doesn't stop all the bites, but it has allowed her to live without swelling and welts. The only downside is she smells like garlic :).
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from seems to be effective I do see some flies from time to time, but I have all three horses on this and for the most part there are not many flies around.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from more energy I started Dressage with my 16 year old QH this past spring and he had no energy for it and was sluggish...but after a couple months of the red cell and smart flex senior I noticed quit a difference...alot more energy and was able to keep up the pace
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works I was feeding this for 2 years, then read somewhere that horses turned out 24/7 may not get the full benefit of insect products as something in pasture can neutralize the product. I decided to take my horse off this and majorly regret it. He has been off of it for a month and a half, and we have been miserable. My horse has gotten sores on his back from biting insects and our last show he was repeatedly harassed by horseflies. I am order this again and NEVER taking him off of it. Truly works and keeps my boy comfortable all year round.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Product To be honest, I haven't seen much of a difference with the bugs. Maybe just a slight difference. However, the biggest difference I have noticed is a huge difference in my mare's skin. Bug bites and the like usually cause irritation, mild hair loss, etc. in her and I haven't noticed any of that since she was started on this product. I will probably continue to use throughout fly season combined with fly spray as I'm decently satisfied with the results, but I think next year I will try something different.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I WAS REALLY SKEPTICAL OF THIS ACUTALLY WORKING,BUT ITS EVEN BETTER THAN I COULD HAVE IMGANINED.
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bugs Rosee has been on BugCheck for over a year and I was so pleased that SmartPak carried her supplements. Rosee loves the way it tastes. BugCheck does a great job at keeping flies at bay and I am very happy with this product.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does seem to work I wanted a more natural product to use on My horses. I tried it first on my gelding Who seemed to attract more flies and His stall is a little further away from the Girls. After the two weeks it says that You should see a differance and I did! As soon as I ran out of the equitrol that I had been using on the mares I purchased The larger container and all three have Been on it since May. So far so good!!
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from didn't work out for us Piper loved the first couple days then... stopped eating it. I know he has a powder/crumbly stuff limit, so thought maybe if I swapped his Cool Calories powder for an oil top dressing he'd eat his Bug Check again and.... nope. I took a good smell of the powder left in his bucket and the main ingredient was definitely this. I'm not sure if it was the taste/smell or just too many powders, but in any event it goes untouched. I finally just cut it off of his remaining smartpaks (almost a month, of course), and am trying to pawn it off onto other boarders ;) I wanted it to work, but for now looks like we'll be sticking to spot treatments.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been Using This for Years Wouldn't be without this product for our horses during the summer months in Illinois when we suffer from mosquitos, gnats, and all sorts of flying insects that make life a misery for the horses. Our Arabs (particularly the greys) are particularly thin skinned and sensitive to the bites. We like to turn our horses out to pasture, but despite fly masks, etc the insects can get at them and draw blood. We have learned to use this product daily with good success. When we had one horse boarded across town we neglected to supply him with the Bug Check...and were HORRIFIED to find TICKS embedded in his mane and tail! Once we started the horse back on the Bug Check, he cleaned right up and didn't have a one!
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work However, my Gelding does not particularly like the taste of this supplement. He gobbled up the Buggzo product last summer and would even eat it from my hand, but not this stuff. I do believe it works though because he does not have as many flies on him as the other 14 horses in the stable.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bugs don't care This product changed from my first order to the second order. The horses don't like it and it does absolutely nothing to deter bugs
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bug Check Seems to be helping with tthe flies and other critters, only starting the 2nd month, so I am not sure 100% yet. My horse sufferes from severe bug allergy reactions, worst from mid May - mid Sept. We shall see!
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful product! My horse Adiemus was having a heck of a time with bugs and was constantly flicking his head and tail in agitation and no fly spray in the world helped. So I started him on one month of a loading dose and now down to a maintaince dose. He no longer is agitated by bugs to the extreme. He seem all around more comfortable and happy. Tacking up is so much easier with him comfortable and standing peacfully.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very happy i was skeptical of this product but found my senior horse to be bug free. He normally suffers from sweet itch and is very frustrated with bugs but I am seeing a content and happy horse this year.
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't think they would eat it--but they love it! This stuff smells pretty garlicky, and when I first got a whiff of it I was sure my picky old mare wouldn't touch it. I have three mares and they all wolf this stuff down, though--in fact I would say it's probably their favorite supplement (I don't mix it with grain). It's not what I would characterize as an unpleasantly sharp garlic smell--it's pretty mellow, but I was quite surprised that my horses like it so much. I think it's unrealistic to expect that any feed-through supplement will totally eliminate insect problems, but if you have an unusually bad issue you'll try anything. My horses live in a sub-irrigated pasture with a ditch running through it, so I have to deal with a huge mosquito and biting gnat population in the spring and fall. Since I had some extra money this spring, I decided to try a bucket of Bug Check, and it does seem to have given them a bit of an edge. Too early to tell about the black fly population, but I've noticed fewer mosquito bites and the gnats don't seem to be as attracted to them either. I don't notice a garlic odor on my horses (unless it's right after they've eaten it). Will be repurchasing!
    Date published: 2012-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good My horse has been on Bug Check for about 1.5 months now, it hasn't hit the heavy fly season yet, but so far it seems to be keeping the flys down. His stall has no flies in it at all, I can walk into his stall and now swat away tons of flies. He still has flies on him while riding, but they are fewer than usual. Overall good product.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly it works I tried this at like a last ditch effort for my horse. He hates the bugs. I started feeding it to him less than a month ago and didn't think it was working he was still swatting at flies. Until last night when I noticed my retired horse who the bugs never really bothered him was covered in bug bites while my other horse who was being fed this doesn't have one. That's enough proof for me. I bought some last week for my other guy now. At first he wouldn't eat it but I mix it with applesauce in his grain and he eats it fine.
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure it worked i tried this product on two of my three horses. I saw no real difference in the flies on these two horses. I only used Bug Check for one month. I have since switched to Smart Bug Off. I hope it works better. Understand that I live in Louisiana and we have an unusually high fly population this summer. I still have to use fly spray with both products.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for picky eaters I cannot vouch for whether or not this helps keep bugs in check as our horse will not eat it. We did not think he was a picky eater, but perhaps he is.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective Supplement This is the only supplement we have found which reliably reduces the fly population on our property. We operate a small boarding stable with 11 horses and have been using Bug Check for years. Even though it is a powder, we have never had any problems with the horses eating all they are given each day. This includes picky eaters and those who only get a cup of grain a day. It isn't the cheapest one on the market, but it does work.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff I have used similar products and have found I like this product best. Since I use it every spring and summer I have reduced my flies problem down to about 75%, and the price is great too!
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only thing That helps! Living in Alabama in the summer means bugs everywhere. They get really bothersome and drive the poor horses nuts! I’ve tried everything other supplement , fly traps and even fly predators nothing made a difference. Then I tried Bug Check It doesn’t completely eliminate the fly population but it cuts them in half and they bother the horse a lot less. Price is a bit high but It dose work.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have I love this product. If you feed it consistently to all the horses it definitely reduces the fly population in your barn. We clean our pastures and stalls daily of any manure and will spray the stalls bi-weekly with a concentrated spray as well. When we stopped the Bug Check many of us noticed an increase in the bug population, ensuring us it was worth the money.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bye bye bugs! I have used this product all summer (it is now September when I am writing this review). My horse tends to be suspicious of new supplements. I figured that with the garlicky smell he would refuse his feed, but I was wrong. He gobbled it right up. I found that I got excellent results with about two scoops per day. Any less than one scoop just didn't keep the bugs away.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_244
    • loc_en_US, sid_686, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 156ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders