Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Bug Check
Natural Horse Vet — Item #10686
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Insect control plus digestive support

  • Garlic, yeast & grape seed extract help deter biting flies
  • Diatomaceous earth helps discourage insect breeding in manure
Bug Check brings you the best of both worlds! Bug Check contains garlic, yeast, and grape seed extract to deter biting flies and diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Bug Check is chemical free and palatable, with no "spray-on" hassle!

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

NOTE: SmartPaks and buckets/bags now contain Alltech Lacto-Sacc Probiotics.

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis
(Maintenance Dose = 3/4 scoop (3/4 oz) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein Min 4%
Crude Fat Min 3.5%
Crude Fiber Max 20%
Saccharomyces cerevisiae Min 3.80 x 10(9th) cells/lb
Lactobacillus acidophilus Min 2.10 x 10(8th) cells/lb
Enterococcus faecium Min 1.50 x 10(8th) cells/lb
Ingredients:: Ground Dried Grape & Seed Pomace, Distiller Grains, Diatomaceous Earth, Garlic Powder, Brewers Yeast, Mechanically Extracted Soybean Oil, Thiamine Monohydrate, Saccharomyces cerevisiae yeast culture, Dried Enterococcuc faecium fermentation product, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, Dried Aspergillus niger fermentation extract, Dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, Dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation extract.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions:
When starting this product, top dress at the rate of 1 scoop or more daily per 1000 lbs body weight for two to three weeks. Then, maintain an amount of 1/2 scoop or more daily. For difficult situations, up to 4 scoops per 1000 lbs body weight may be given daily. Each scoop (provided) equals 1 oz.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "A natural way to condition coats and repel ...
    Description:
    "A natural way to condition coats and repel bugs! When you want to avoid harsh chemical pesticides, Wahna Win Super Fly Spray is a safe, natural choice for fly and insect control. The unique blend of oils includes catnip, argan, ...
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly ...
    Description:
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. Pick your own colors for that truly unique look. The Crochet Ear Net fits neatly under the bridle. Cotton blend."
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and ...
    Description:
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and economical feed-through fly prevention that prevents house and stable fly development. Cyromazine, the active ingredient of Solitude IGR, safely passes through the horse's system and is excreted in the manure, regulating house ...
    "Absorbine® has raised the bar in the fly ...
    Description:
    "Absorbine® has raised the bar in the fly control arena with the introduction of UltraShield® EX - the sweat resistant insecticide and repellent formula that will protect your horse for up to 17 days. This repellent is an enhanced version ...
    "More than just your average fly spray, Pyranha ...
    Description:
    "More than just your average fly spray, Pyranha Wipe N' Spray comes ready-to-use, provides insect protection, and imparts a high sheen to the hair when brushed out. A favorite of show horse owners, effective protection results can come from only ...
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears ...
    Description:
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears is engineered for durability and comfort, unlike no other! Unique patent pending Flex Spline Technology creates a canopy away from the horse's eyes, while unique contoured fit prevents insects from penetrating the ...
    "Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader ...
    Description:
    "Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. Imported"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bug Check is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 269.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from have used before and pleased I have used before and feels it helps more with ticks and fewer flies
    Date published: 2016-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feed Through Bug Control in a Powder Form I am using Bug Check mixed with applesauce and giving it to my horse in an oral paste. He won't eat it in his grain, but since it's a powder form, it mixes well with the fruit sauce. I just started him on Bug Check and hope to notice results in a few weeks.
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money Did not work in the slightest.. Horse didn't like it , had to use fly spray all year.. I want my money back!
    Date published: 2015-11-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well Had used this product in the past; but discontinued when some veterinary studies stated a link between garlic and Heinz body anemia in horses. Have re started after discussion with our vet. Seems to work well, especially in conjunction with Spalding fly predators at reducing the fly population at our farm.
    Date published: 2015-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really diminishes flies! I have purchased Bug Check for two years now and it reall does reduce the fly issues in the barn/ stalls.
    Date published: 2015-09-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to use
    Date published: 2015-09-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not repelling flies going back to simplifly as feedthru. Not working. Flies still all over horses
    Date published: 2015-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! I have had my horses on this for a few years now, seems to work very well.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big difference I have used this product for years and I didn't realize how much it helped until one year I didn't use it...big mistake!
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average product Bought this a month ago so it just into my horse's system. The bugs usually dive him crazy. This product seems to keep the edge off him so he is not as reactionary to the flies. However, the bugs still keep after him when it is warm
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug Check is the Best Do you want to be exposed to less toxic flysprays? Do you want your horses to be happier and less irritated by bugs? Do you want your outside horses to have show quality coats? Feed this. Done.
    Date published: 2015-01-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from didn't help product did nothing to stop the bugs biting this horse. Trying the smart pack brand and it seems to be helping
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works Great! It seemed to help my horses a good bit. The difference was crazy to see from before and after they started getting the supplement.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from liking the individual smart pack doses. So easy to use
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product I have used this product and it is a very good product my only problem is getting the product. We have ordered it twice and it is always back ordered and it doesn't do my horse any good if I can't get the product for him.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from May change I bought this for my stanardbred and found it worked somewhat but I would rather use something else the bugs ate really bad where I am so I'm not sure if that's it but I put my donkey on something else which I may switch my standardbred to. My standardbred is always coming in dripping swear and gross and has to be hosed off(I USE MORE FLY SPRAY THAN ANYTHING)
    Date published: 2014-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worm free every year I've been using this for about 5 + years, my horse has been worm free every stool check with his annual physical--no worms, no other de-wormers.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug Check I live in Fla, known for it mosquitoes and nasty biting flies. I swear by this product. I started it usually in April but began earlier this year because of an outbreak of Pigeon Fever in my area.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and effective I have had my horses on this for just over a month. They are doing great. One horse is allergic to gnats and noseums and he seems to be doing better this year so far with less hair loss and itching
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supplement-Bug Check I've been buying this supplement for approx. 5 years. It is difficult to determine how well it works. However, I do know that the horses are only bothered by a few flys instead of swarms despite living across the road from beef cattle. One summer I did switch to a different fly supplement, but promptly switched back the following year. I would recommend Bug Check to everyone.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! I have used this product for a while, and have had great results. The flies only land and don't bite. Obviously others results will differ, dependent on if you have neighbors with livestock who don't use fly control, etc. I feed it to both horses and donkeys. Thankfully all of them eat it right up with their feed, no problems. In fact some don't even have to eat it with something else- I've had some eat it by itself! It does have a strong smell, but the horse's skin doesn't smell like it unless they still have some on their nose from eating. Hope this info is helpful! :)
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it I tried the cheaper stuff and never again. Didn't work like the SmartPak Bugoff.
    Date published: 2013-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like it, but I have used this for 3 months and it has had some effect but not total. I didn't expect total. What I have been very happy about is that the manure is not breeding more flies! The horses like it and will eat it in their feed but not with out. The no flies in the manure is a major factor for me to continue to feed it.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't notice a difference... I bought this for my mare who is sensitive to bugs. She ate it with no problems. However, she still seemed to be annoyed by the bugs even after 3 months of being on it. I'll just stick to the fly predators and ultra shield spray. They seem to work and control the situation a lot better. Was just hoping to get away from the sprays.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from palatability is variable Used Bug Off last year, but decided to try this one this year. My horses usually blast through food and supplements, but with this product one will begrudgingly eat it when mixed with food and the other will not eat any of her food when this is mixed in. VERY strong garlic odor. Going back to the SmartPak garlic/brewers yeast insect control.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I did the ultimate test! I have 7 horses on the farm and 5 are on Bug Check and two are not. I swear the 5 that are on it have fewer bugs and seem less upset during turn out then the other 5. I still use fly spray when riding, but they are much happier than they have ever been! The other two have been started. They were not mine, but now the owners are believers!
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How to purchase less flyspray Best product. No bug-skin issues. Happy horses.
    Date published: 2013-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    • y_2017, m_1, d_22, h_19
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_236
    • loc_en_US, sid_686, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders