Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

BioFlax 20

HorseTech, Inc. — Item #11263
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

The original biotin & flax supplement

  • Biotin, methionine & lysine for strong hooves, plus omega 3 fatty acids for healthy skin & coat
  • "…the hands-down choice for coat, skin, and hoof problems," according to Horse Journal, June 2000
BioFlax 20 is "...the hands-down choice for coat, skin and hoof problems" - Horse Journal, June 2000 issue. Biotin supplementation has been shown to be helpful in improving hoof quality, including improvement in density and overall integrity. Rich in natural omega 3 fatty acids, BioFlax 20 also helps to promote healthy skin, a shiny coat, and hooves that are less prone to drying out and cracking.

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (1 oz) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein (min) 24%
Crude Fat (min) 21%
Crude Fiber (max) 20%
Biotin (min) 20 mg 320 mg
Ingredients:: Milled Flaxseed, Yeast Culture, Biotin, DL-Methionine, L-Lysine Monohydrochloride, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Calcium Carbonate.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: Feed to horses at the rate of one ounce (one level scoop) per head daily. Each one ounce feeding will provide 20 mg of premium quality biotin.

The enclosed 60 cc scoop will hold approximately one ounce (28.4 g).

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "This pelleted formula from Absorbine has been optimized ...
    Description:
    "This pelleted formula from Absorbine has been optimized with increased levels of ingredients to support joints and connective tissues. Absorbine Flex + Max provides 10,000 mg of glucosamine, 1,200 mg of chondroitin sulfate, 5,000 mg of MSM, and 150 mg ...
    "Superior joint support at an incredible price. The ...
    Description:
    "Superior joint support at an incredible price. The proven support you expect from Finish Line, combining the ""building blocks"" for healthy joints with the extra support of hyaluronic acid (HA). HA promotes healthy joint function by aiding in the lubrication ...
    "FOCUS HF provides horses with the key nutrients ...
    Description:
    "FOCUS HF provides horses with the key nutrients of chelated trace minerals, viable yeast, and a serving of SOURCE. A sound hoof is the necessary foundation for an active horse and requires a wide range of nutrients for optimum strength ...
    "Tired of losing shoes? Dry, broken, crumbly, or ...
    Description:
    "Tired of losing shoes? Dry, broken, crumbly, or cracked hooves? Try Grand Hoof. A concentrated 1 oz serving of Grand Hoof contains a blend of 5,000 mg of MSM, biotin, methionine, lysine, zinc, copper, B6, and probiotics. Delicious apple flavoring! ...
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a ...
    Description:
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a balanced blend of vital nutrients to support healthy hoof growth, deep coat color, quality skin and coat condition, and all-year-round optimum health. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our Hoof Supplement Comparison ...
    "ReitSport HA-100 provides all the great benefits of ...
    Description:
    "ReitSport HA-100 provides all the great benefits of Reitsport with joint support! Each four ounce serving of ReitSport HA-100C (a special, concentrated formula for SmartPak) provides 100 mg of hyaluronic acid (HA), 10 grams of Ultra Pure OptiMSM (the MSM ...
    "In addition to diet and proper hoof care, ...
    Description:
    "In addition to diet and proper hoof care, circulation also plays an important role in hoof health. Poor circulation may exhibit itself in multiple ways, from unhealthy hoof wall to a shortened stride and heel soreness. SmartHoof Circulate provides a ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    BioFlax 20 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 160.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! This really works! I live in the mountains of Colorado where the winters are very cold and dry. I began noticing that my horse had dry skin and his coat was a little dull and dry, so I ordered BioFlax 20. After one month his coat is glossier, fuller and most importantly, his skin is in much better shape. His hooves have benefited, too. This is a great product at a very reasonable price. Plus he loves it. No problem at all with getting him to eat it.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by the Farrier My farrier recommended starting my Morgan Gelding on a Flax supplement because of concerns with soft hooves that might warrent shoes. This supplement is a good price, and met the requirements. After only a short time taking the flax, there is already an improvement in the hoof, and the farrier has confirmed that shoes are not needed. If you are looking for a hoof supplement that will yield results in just a couple of months, this is a good one to look at.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wanted to get some extra biotin in my horse's diet Really too soon to tell if the biotin helps my horse's hoof growth. This product seemed the perfect thing to add to Micro Phase multivitamin/ mineral and it was in a flaxseed base.hooves take 6-9 months to replace themselves , so at this time I cannot say if it helped or not.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bio Flax Several of my young horses rubbed in some broken cedar tree branches last summer and just ruined their manes. The regrowth after several months on Bioflax has been remarkable. And the horses love it. Only wish that I could afford to feed it to all of my horses all the time.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! I bought this a month ago after speaking with my vet and farrier. My horse eats it right up and what little new hoof growth I can see looks nice and healthy!
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shiny coat Originally got this after noticing some flakey spots on my horse's coat and she had started tail rubbing. After 60 days, her coat is substantially shinier and the dry spots are 100% better and her tail is growing out. The big down side is that it gave her really bad gas at first, which has gotten slightly better over the 60 days. Also of note is that the 5 lb bucket is running out at 60 days instead of 80. I'm not sure if I'll reorder this or try something else to see if it suits her stomach a little better.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Shiny & Licks it Up After sweet itch this summer, my geldings tail was dry and top half rubbed off to about 4 inch hairs. Now, his winter coat is super shiny, farrier commented on hooves, and tail is re growing!
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He likes it We have been using this for two months now and our horse eats it no problem and he is not throwing his shoes as much as he used to I think it is because he has a stronger hoof.
    Date published: 2014-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! Seems to work as well as farriers formula double strength, but 1/3 the cost! My picky mare will eat it out of my hand! Good product!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse Tech make sexcellent supplements. This is a great hoof & coat product. I will order again. Horse Tech makes excellent supplements.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Time will Tell My horse has been on this a little under a month, so I haven't had much time to see results. I can say however, that she willingly ate it without so much as a sniff in her bucket.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse likes it! Have only been using for one month so too soon tell. But, my horse likes it and smartpaks are certainly the easiest way I've ever used to give supplements!
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this about a month ago to help my mare as she transitions from shod to barefoot. Havent used it long enough to notice much other than her coat is very glossy but the new hoof she has does seem healthy
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft coat I bought this for my grey mare. She has a noticeable shine and softness to her coat. She is kind if picky and eats it in her food.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has what you need My OTTB has consistently difficult to manage hooves and this is my hoof supplement of choice. It has what she needs (Biotin) without risk of over-supplementation. There is never a problem with her eating it and I like that it is in a flax base.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective for hoof integrity It takes awhile for any hoof product to really work but this one came through with flying colors. We had difficult and changeable footing conditions; wet, dry, icy, crunchy...and the horses were throwing shoe after shoe. This has completely stopped, even though the weather and footing conditions are the same.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from seems to work well I started feeding BioFlax 20 about 1 year ago. I also started using a new farrier at the same time and shortly thereafter started also using Keratex hoof hardener. My horse's feet have def improved as far as keeping shoes/crumbling/cracking but it's hard to say what of the 3 has made the difference. I am sure all have been helping greatly as a whole. I asked my farrier if she could tell a difference in his feet and she said that the while the hoof wall does not seem thicker (which is what you would think would happen with a hoof supplement), his hoof horn quality has improved since she first started shoeing him. Out of all the hoof supplements though, Bioflax seemed to give the best bang for your buck as far as the amount of biotin. Cheap enough to feed that there's no guilt with a "might work might not" feeding reason. I certainly won't stop feeding it because something of all the changes is working and this is the cheapest change :)
    Date published: 2014-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Supplement My filly had really flat feet now her feet look great! She was only on a months supply.
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your farrier won't believe it! No other hoof supplement is as good as this one. I started my young horse on this three years ago and have managed to keep him barefoot ever since b/c he grows strong hoof and a lot of it. He is a jumper and is ridden six days a week on all terrain of footing. My project horse had horrible feet that needed special shoes and kept loosing them. After six months of this product, he has not lost a shoe since (2 years) and has beautiful strong feet. This product blew my farrier's mind! I think this supplement is amazing and is the best hoof supplement especially for the price. I chose it b/c of the quality of ingredients and the flax base which is so healthy for our horses.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses eat this without any fuss and I believe it has helped a lot for their hooves not to chip off(barefoot). They don't seem to be as itchy as before. I just started using this in January so I'm excited to see their coats in the spring after they shed out due to the Omega3 ingredients. I had one horse (dark bay) dapple last year because of the SmartOmega3.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product My horses ate this without issue. I noticed a difference in their coats even in the middle of winter. I would continue to use, but I am switching to a complete product.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stronger feet for my mare! I initially bought Bioflax because I know TBs are notorious for having thin hoof walls, and my mare and I love trail riding. After 3-4 months of using this, I honestly haven't noticed a difference in my mare's feet, but my farrier says her feet are stronger and healthier. She's the hoof expert, so I trust her!
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiny Coat All Year I have had Shah on this for a long time now and it's a great product at a GREAT price! The thing I am most impressed with is the fact that it does indeed prevent hoof cracking. Shah has always had great hooves but sometimes in the summer they will crack a little as his feet grow - I have not noticed any more small cracks from the dryness since he has been on BioFlax 20. I also use this in conjunction with Focus Senior which also contains flax. Overall, great product for any budget with results!
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This was recommended by a friend, and I've been very happy with it. I use it for all of my horses who receive a grain ration. It is very palatable and easy to use.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a cheaper option I had my horses on Farrier's Formula Double Strength for a while. I wanted to cut back pennies so I decided to look around. I switched to Smart Hoof and it unfortunately did not work for my horse. I thought about going back to Farrier's Formula but wanted to give it another shot, so I found this. It works (at least for my horses) as well as regular farrier's formula and I have noticed no difference from the double strength. When I got my 3 year old her feet were awful, and we were not even sure if she would stay sound. I put her on this right away and almost a year later she looks amazing, and doesn't even need hind shoes.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great performer This is a high quality supplement. Within 3 months, hoof cracks & dryness have gone- coat condition much improved. Quite supportive for allergy coat conditions. Impressive sheen on the horse's coat. Hoof growth is improved. A good value for the money.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I've had my OTTB on this for about 2 months now and I can notice a BIG difference in his coat condition. He is so shiny and you can finally start to see his dapples show. His feet are starting to look a bit better but that will take more time to see a difference. So far I am very happy with it as I always am with my HorseTech products!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong, Sleek, & Shiney BioFlax 20 has given two of my horses strong, fast-growing hooves, plus intensely colored, sleek and shiney coats. It doesn't happen overnight, but after about 2-3 months feeding of BioFlax 20, the effect is noticable. I sold one horse 6 months ago & saw her recently. She doesn't look as sleek, and I found she's not getting BioFlax 20 any longer. It's a great value, but I wish it came in pelleted form for ease of feeding.
    Date published: 2012-07-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the price This does not last the the 80 days it says. It lasted about 47. Therefore, the .47 a day is not true. I switched to HoofSOLID that local place carries. That is only .48 and it has a digestions supplement in it. The supplement itself was awesome, farrier noticed a huge difference. Just NOT worth the price. My picky eater ate it no problem
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Supplement I could definitely tell a difference in his skin and coat. Hoofs will take about year to determine. My horse shed off really nicely except for his midsection. The supplement was a good choice to shed off after spring and look amazing at competitions. I am definitely getting good compliments!
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_146
    • loc_en_US, sid_1263, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 109ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders