Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
BioFlax 20
HorseTech, Inc. — Item #11263
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

The original biotin & flax supplement

  • Biotin, methionine & lysine for strong hooves, plus omega 3 fatty acids for healthy skin & coat
  • "…the hands-down choice for coat, skin, and hoof problems," according to Horse Journal, June 2000
BioFlax 20 is "...the hands-down choice for coat, skin and hoof problems" - Horse Journal, June 2000 issue. Biotin supplementation has been shown to be helpful in improving hoof quality, including improvement in density and overall integrity. Rich in natural omega 3 fatty acids, BioFlax 20 also helps to promote healthy skin, a shiny coat, and hooves that are less prone to drying out and cracking.

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (1 oz) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein (min) 24%
Crude Fat (min) 21%
Crude Fiber (max) 20%
Biotin (min) 20 mg 320 mg
Ingredients:: Milled Flaxseed, Yeast Culture, Biotin, DL-Methionine, L-Lysine Monohydrochloride, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Calcium Carbonate.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: Feed to horses at the rate of one ounce (one level scoop) per head daily. Each one ounce feeding will provide 20 mg of premium quality biotin.

The enclosed 60 cc scoop will hold approximately one ounce (28.4 g).

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Cool Omega 40+ provides a unique blend of ...
    Description:
    "Cool Omega 40+ provides a unique blend of fat and proteins for today’s active horses. Perfect for supporting a healthy weight without the negative impacts that come with increasing your horse’s serving of grain, these pellets are easy-to-use and highly ...
    "The stresses of everyday life can lead to ...
    Description:
    "The stresses of everyday life can lead to bad gas, loose stool, digestive upset, and other conditions. Probios® Treats are specially formulated for the overall wellness of your best friend. Apple-flavored. 1 lb resealable pouch (about 70 treats). What are ...
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that ...
    Description:
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that contains 22 mg biotin, 1,895 mg methionine, 1,563 mg sulfur, amino acids, trace minerals, and live stabilized microbials for optimum feed utilization. Biotin II 22X provides sound nutrition and carefully balanced rations ...
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak ...
    Description:
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak hooves in need of more aggressive nutritional support! This formula provides 35 mg of biotin for promoting healthy hoof wall growth. Higher levels of the key ingredients lysine, methionine, threonine and vitamin ...
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a ...
    Description:
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a balanced blend of vital nutrients to support healthy hoof growth, deep coat color, quality skin and coat condition, and all-year-round optimum health. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our Hoof Supplement Comparison ...
    "TriSport offers you the performance of glucosamine, chondroitin ...
    Description:
    "TriSport offers you the performance of glucosamine, chondroitin sulfate, and MSM in a easy to administer product that your horses will love! Two ounces per day (the standard usage rate) will provide a full 10,000 mg of glucosamine HCl and ...
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, ...
    Description:
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, which buffers the stomach from gastric acid. When horses are stalled, this natural buffering mechanism is disrupted, and acid indigestion often results. Neigh-Lox is designed to support normal stomach function and promote ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    BioFlax 20 is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 150.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! Seems to work as well as farriers formula double strength, but 1/3 the cost! My picky mare will eat it out of my hand! Good product!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse Tech make sexcellent supplements. This is a great hoof & coat product. I will order again. Horse Tech makes excellent supplements.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Time will Tell My horse has been on this a little under a month, so I haven't had much time to see results. I can say however, that she willingly ate it without so much as a sniff in her bucket.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse likes it! Have only been using for one month so too soon tell. But, my horse likes it and smartpaks are certainly the easiest way I've ever used to give supplements!
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this about a month ago to help my mare as she transitions from shod to barefoot. Havent used it long enough to notice much other than her coat is very glossy but the new hoof she has does seem healthy
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft coat I bought this for my grey mare. She has a noticeable shine and softness to her coat. She is kind if picky and eats it in her food.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has what you need My OTTB has consistently difficult to manage hooves and this is my hoof supplement of choice. It has what she needs (Biotin) without risk of over-supplementation. There is never a problem with her eating it and I like that it is in a flax base.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective for hoof integrity It takes awhile for any hoof product to really work but this one came through with flying colors. We had difficult and changeable footing conditions; wet, dry, icy, crunchy...and the horses were throwing shoe after shoe. This has completely stopped, even though the weather and footing conditions are the same.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from seems to work well I started feeding BioFlax 20 about 1 year ago. I also started using a new farrier at the same time and shortly thereafter started also using Keratex hoof hardener. My horse's feet have def improved as far as keeping shoes/crumbling/cracking but it's hard to say what of the 3 has made the difference. I am sure all have been helping greatly as a whole. I asked my farrier if she could tell a difference in his feet and she said that the while the hoof wall does not seem thicker (which is what you would think would happen with a hoof supplement), his hoof horn quality has improved since she first started shoeing him. Out of all the hoof supplements though, Bioflax seemed to give the best bang for your buck as far as the amount of biotin. Cheap enough to feed that there's no guilt with a "might work might not" feeding reason. I certainly won't stop feeding it because something of all the changes is working and this is the cheapest change :)
    Date published: 2014-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Supplement My filly had really flat feet now her feet look great! She was only on a months supply.
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your farrier won't believe it! No other hoof supplement is as good as this one. I started my young horse on this three years ago and have managed to keep him barefoot ever since b/c he grows strong hoof and a lot of it. He is a jumper and is ridden six days a week on all terrain of footing.My project horse had horrible feet that needed special shoes and kept loosing them. After six months of this product, he has not lost a shoe since (2 years) and has beautiful strong feet.This product blew my farrier's mind! I think this supplement is amazing and is the best hoof supplement especially for the price. I chose it b/c of the quality of ingredients and the flax base which is so healthy for our horses.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses eat this without any fuss and I believe it has helped a lot for their hooves not to chip off(barefoot). They don't seem to be as itchy as before. I just started using this in January so I'm excited to see their coats in the spring after they shed out due to the Omega3 ingredients. I had one horse (dark bay) dapple last year because of the SmartOmega3.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product My horses ate this without issue. I noticed a difference in their coats even in the middle of winter. I would continue to use, but I am switching to a complete product.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stronger feet for my mare! I initially bought Bioflax because I know TBs are notorious for having thin hoof walls, and my mare and I love trail riding. After 3-4 months of using this, I honestly haven't noticed a difference in my mare's feet, but my farrier says her feet are stronger and healthier. She's the hoof expert, so I trust her!
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiny Coat All Year I have had Shah on this for a long time now and it's a great product at a GREAT price! The thing I am most impressed with is the fact that it does indeed prevent hoof cracking. Shah has always had great hooves but sometimes in the summer they will crack a little as his feet grow - I have not noticed any more small cracks from the dryness since he has been on BioFlax 20. I also use this in conjunction with Focus Senior which also contains flax. Overall, great product for any budget with results!
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This was recommended by a friend, and I've been very happy with it. I use it for all of my horses who receive a grain ration. It is very palatable and easy to use.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a cheaper option I had my horses on Farrier's Formula Double Strength for a while. I wanted to cut back pennies so I decided to look around. I switched to Smart Hoof and it unfortunately did not work for my horse. I thought about going back to Farrier's Formula but wanted to give it another shot, so I found this. It works (at least for my horses) as well as regular farrier's formula and I have noticed no difference from the double strength. When I got my 3 year old her feet were awful, and we were not even sure if she would stay sound. I put her on this right away and almost a year later she looks amazing, and doesn't even need hind shoes.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very economal and effective product! Really great product especially for the price!
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great performer This is a high quality supplement. Within 3 months, hoof cracks & dryness have gone- coat condition much improved. Quite supportive for allergy coat conditions. Impressive sheen on the horse's coat. Hoof growth is improved. A good value for the money.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I've had my OTTB on this for about 2 months now and I can notice a BIG difference in his coat condition. He is so shiny and you can finally start to see his dapples show. His feet are starting to look a bit better but that will take more time to see a difference. So far I am very happy with it as I always am with my HorseTech products!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong, Sleek, & Shiney BioFlax 20 has given two of my horses strong, fast-growing hooves, plus intensely colored, sleek and shiney coats. It doesn't happen overnight, but after about 2-3 months feeding of BioFlax 20, the effect is noticable. I sold one horse 6 months ago & saw her recently. She doesn't look as sleek, and I found she's not getting BioFlax 20 any longer. It's a great value, but I wish it came in pelleted form for ease of feeding.
    Date published: 2012-07-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the price This does not last the the 80 days it says. It lasted about 47. Therefore, the .47 a day is not true. I switched to HoofSOLID that local place carries. That is only .48 and it has a digestions supplement in it.The supplement itself was awesome, farrier noticed a huge difference. Just NOT worth the price. My picky eater ate it no problem
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Supplement I could definitely tell a difference in his skin and coat. Hoofs will take about year to determine. My horse shed off really nicely except for his midsection. The supplement was a good choice to shed off after spring and look amazing at competitions. I am definitely getting good compliments!
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This product has helped improve weight, condition, and hoof/coat quality in my 21 yo appendix. I don't like to overfeed grain, this stuff works wonders!
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It has it all great value for the price.
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! Have used this on several horses and it is amazing! Talk about show ring shine! Farrier noticed a difference in hooves and everyone notices the soft, silky coats! Love it!! My horses all eat it fine, although a few of them weren't sure about it at first, now they lick their buckets clean.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I rescued a 5 year old chestnut mare with horrible feet. I liked the idea of putting her on a flax seed based supplement, especially for its anti-inflammatory properties. After 4 months, we have strong, healthy hooves. She kept her first set of shoes (ever) on for a solid 8 weeks and her hooves keep getting better. Her coat is beautiful, nice and shiny. I will keep her on BioFlax for as long as it's around. Thank you SmartPak for supplying it!
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Supplement BioFlax 20 is the best supplement I think I have ever given my horse! He's a 17 year old Thoroughbred and not only are his hooves growing stronger, but his coat is the shiniest I've ever seen it! I live in Colorado where all the horses grow shaggy winter coats and he is by far the shiniest horse in the barn! People will stop me and ask what I am feeding him because he is so shiny! I have tried so many hoof supplements in the past and this has by far given him the best results. Whereas before he was throwing shoes left and right, I cant even remember the last time he lost one, even in such a dry climate! If you want a supplement that gives you everything all in one (coat, skin and hooves), I would 100% recommend this one......and the price couldn't be better! The picture I attached was from January, with his winter coat.
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, Great Results, Cheap Price Every horse at our barn is on this supplement. It is AMAZING. The horse's feet grown stronger, faster. Their coats dapple out in the summer and grown long and silky in the winter. Most horses are JUST on bioflax, and no other hair coat/hoof supplement, so we know it is ALL from this great product. For the price, its rediculous NOT to put your horse on this!
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_136
    • loc_en_US, sid_1263, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders