Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Advanced Cetyl M® Joint Action Formula for Horses
Response Products — Item #12455
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

5-way joint action formula

  • 3,000 mg of glucosamine, 3,000 mg of MSM & 1,000 mg of vitamin C support healthy joints
  • 5,500 mg of cetyl myristoleate, a unique fatty acid that helps joints manage stress
Advanced Cetyl M Joint Action Formula for horses is a powerful 5-way joint action supplement that attacks the problem at its source by regulating the immune system response to joint stress. Cetyl M is a potent, highly palatable granule for greater joint support with 5,500 mg of cetyl myristoleate, 3,000 mg of glucosamine-HCL, 3,000 mg of MSM, 1,000 mg of vitamin C, and more!

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients (per 2 scoops, 70 grams):
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (38.5 grams) daily)
  • Cetyl Myristoleate (100% Plant Source)
    5,500 mg
  • Glucosamine HCL (Shellfish Source)
    3,000 mg
  • MSM (Methylsulfonylmethane)
    3,000 mg
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
    1,000 mg
  • Lecithin
    340 mg
  • Citrus Bioflavonoid
    75 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Dicalcium Phosphate, Dried Molasses, Natural Apple Flavor, dl-Alpha Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E Supplement)

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Loading Dose for Average Horse: Administer 1-2 scoops (38.5-77 grams) twice per day
Loading Dose for Large Horse: Administer 2-3 scoops (77-115.5 grams) twice per day

Maintenance Dose for Average Horse: Administer 1 scoop (38.5 grams) once per day
Maintenance Dose for Large Horse: Administer 1-1/2 scoops (58 grams) once per day

Maintain at higher rate when needed.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Magic Mineral is an all-in-one vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Magic Mineral is an all-in-one vitamin and mineral supplement that contains a specifically developed combination of nutrients for strong hooves, healthy skin, and a shiny coat. In addition, it provides prebiotics and digestive aids to support feed utilization and the ...
    "Cool Omega 40+ provides a unique blend of ...
    Description:
    "Cool Omega 40+ provides a unique blend of fat and proteins for today’s active horses. Perfect for supporting a healthy weight without the negative impacts that come with increasing your horse’s serving of grain, these pellets are easy-to-use and highly ...
    "Augment Hoof® is a very advanced product that ...
    Description:
    "Augment Hoof® is a very advanced product that contains synergistic nutrients for strong, healthy hoof structures. The key ingredients it provides include 20 mg of biotin and bioavailable organic trace minerals and vitamins. Because omega fatty acids are also beneficial ...
    "Total Gut Health is one of the most ...
    Description:
    "Total Gut Health is one of the most comprehensive gastrointestinal support products available because it addresses the entire GI tract. It supports the growth of healthy intestinal microflora, helping to promote intestinal health and immune function as well as ensure ...
    "Renew Gold gives horse owners the opportunity to ...
    Description:
    "Renew Gold gives horse owners the opportunity to utilize the nutritional advantages of Stabilized Rice Bran in an even more effective, advanced formulation. The unique combination of stabilized rice bran with CoolStance® Coconut Meal, Flax, and Fermented Yeast Culture allows ...
    "Elevate SE was formulated to supply a combination ...
    Description:
    "Elevate SE was formulated to supply a combination of powerful antioxidants. Natural vitamin E and organic selenium yeast support healthy muscle, nerve, and reproductive functions, and help maintain a strong immune system. Selenium works in concert with vitamin E to ...
    "NEW SmartCombo Senior Ultra Pellets make it easy ...
    Description:
    "NEW SmartCombo Senior Ultra Pellets make it easy to give your golden oldie the comprehensive support he deserves. This multi-purpose formula combines the active ingredients of SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free, SmartDigest Ultra, SmartHoof Ultra, and SmartOmega 3 at a savings of ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Advanced Cetyl M® Joint Action Formula for Horses is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 111.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! I've had my 12yr old OTTB for 18mos and although sound and with no major issues, he has always appeared stiff when moving and dragged his back hooves. Many times (even at a walk) his right, rear fetlock joint seemed to "snag" and he would stumble a step before it would right itself. The vet could find no injury or serious issues to his legs/joints, etc., but felt that he definitely had arthritis d/t his early racing days, which is quite common. After doing much research and speaking to my vet, I decided to start him on Cetyl M because the research and success stories seemed unmatched by other joint formulas on the market. I gave him the loading dose for the first 28 days and then continued with the maintenance dose. WOW!! After 3 wks on the loading dose I noticed that there wasn't any "clicking" or "popping" when he moved at any gait. He was quicker to move out without needing to warm up and the stumbling had disappeared. The vet described his trot as "beautifully floating!" I just can't get over how wonderful he looks with movement and I can tell he feels better without all the stiffness. He takes the opportunity to chase and play with the other horses, whereas before, he really seemed to think twice and then moved minimally...just enough to keep them away from his hay!! Lol! This is by far the BEST money I've spent on supplements!! He will be on the Cetyl M for the rest of his life. I've heard people claim it's too expensive. I haven't found it to be much more expensive than other high end joint supplements by more than a few dollars a month. Well worth it and it WORKS! I would highly recommend it to others!As a side note~ My horse isn't a picky eater at all, but when I first started the loading dose I mixed the granules with a little water and gave it to him with his grain and he turned his nose up at it and refused to eat it. I think the super, sweet smell turned him off. I tried splitting up the dose to AM & PM and addling chopped carrots & apples. Better, but not great. Finally, by the third day, I mixed the granules in with a snack size applesauce and added that to his grain and VOILA! He gobbled it up and not a speck was left in his feeding tub! Also, I found that the applesauce is a great medium for the granules. It binds it together into a great paste and I know he's getting it all. Hope that helps!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great joint supplement I was convinced by a rep at Equine Affair Ohio to give this product a try. And Smartpak was doing a wonderful promotion at the event, so I signed up for my first smartpak. My warmblood is 9 years old in heavy work (min. 6 days/week). I decided to start joint supplements as a preventative. I used to feel that my horse had a weakness in his right stifle, evident by the fact that it was really hard for him to sit back for movements like 15m counter canter circles, followed by what can best be described as a "giving out" of the stifle (not a catch or locking). Since I started the supplement (about 2 months ago) it seems that this problem has gradually gotten better. It happens less and less. I love that it is all natural ingredients too.
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well, but needs wetting to get eaten up.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and effective Improved my horse's comfort level far more than glucosamine/chondroitin, plus it smells delicious and tastes sweet.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I have 8 horses and 2 dogs on Cetyl M and I am very impressed! I think in the future pellets might be better then powder, but all my picky eaters lick their buckets clean and they are sound. (Knock on wood)
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not palatable Ordered for our Retired Amish Draft mule who is 20 years old.....he has stifle stiffness in a rear leg.....unfortunately he wouldn't eat his food after two days of putting in his food.....so....tried Senior Flex Pellets... he is eating his food with the pellet form.....sorry Cetyl M doesn't seem to make in a pellet form.
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever My 22 year old horse is doing great on this product! He doesn't seem to have any pain from his arthritis, and is moving much better.
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from acetyl m this is a very good product; however, the smart flex is just as good at a better price.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stuff does work I originally tried this product for a mare diagnosed with irritation of the navicular bursa. She just couldnt come sound, and 10 days after the loading dose she did. She did exhibit being a little sore when I dropped her from the loading dose to the maintenance dose, but after a week she went sound and stayed sound. I did try to take her off of the supplement when I bred her this year, she went lame. She didnt get pregnant, and now that she is back on the supplement, is now sound enough to work 4-5 days a week. We have now put 2 of our "senior" geldings on the supplement, and do see a positive difference in their soundness.
    Date published: 2011-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yeah! she eats it! My picky eater Mare is eating her supplement and moving like a youngster. I am happy with the results I have seen. My Mare comes out and works consistantly every day. She is no longer showing signs of soreness.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it My horse loves the Cetyl M - I went with this product because my veterinarian recommended it. My mare was not having any problems that I had noticed - but she is 15 and I want to help her joints as she gets older. It is easy to give and a side benefit I have noticed is that her mane and tail have gotten surprisingly soft since on the Cetyl M. All in all I am happy with the product. No complaints.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps I think this is working for my 21 year old Mule with ringbone. He's getting around, and I don't want to not give it to him as a test and have him be worse. I take a supplement with Cetyl M, and it's makes a trememdous difference for me, so I give it to all my horses, and dogs, as well as myself.Trish
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product my horse is young but as a 3 yo we had to have his hocks injected. the vet said his hocks were really dry w/very little lubricating fluid. hock injections are very expensive so we had to look for other alternatives, trying many different products. so far the cetyl m has been the best. it is affordable and my horse loves it.
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has put a barrel horse back in in the arena When your vets tells you that a horse never will give you a hundred and fifty percent any more, but she will still give you a hundred and ten...she is worth saving to every person around here because of her heart and determination. She has some poor confirmation, rather large rear end and danty head, she has always been an accident waiting to happen. She is never still, never quiet, and always running everywhere! After a major barrel race she came down with a swelling on her knee, yet no pain. She was examined by the vet but no major damage was expected. A month later she became lame on that leg. She had broken a bone in the lower knee joint and caused some major injury to the tendons behind the knee. Though she may never return to barrel racing, I wanted to her feel well enough for the next twenty years to bully everyone in the pasture.She was placed on cetyl-M and it has brought 80% soundness back to that leg. Our plans are to keep her running fit to keep the knee strong yet let her be a horse. She is a very picky eater. I dumped a scoop in to her bucket and she would not even approach it. It has a rather strong sweet smell. So for a week I would sprinkle a small amount on her feed and a little more the next day. At the end of the week she excepted the supplement like her normal feed.
    Date published: 2011-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product delivers I first gave Cetyl-M to my 10 year old beagle who was having terrible problems with his hips after being run over by a cyclist. He could not put any weight on his left hind leg for months after the accident. After 3 weeks on the C-M, not only was he running on all fours, he could jump up and down from my bed that stands about 3 feet tall. He has been pain free for three years now. So when my horse developed stifle joint issues, I put him on it as well. That was over two years ago, and he has had no problems since. This product is the real deal.
    Date published: 2011-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works Started my 7 year old home bred mare on it in January. She had developed a stifle issue which was causing her discomfort and lameness at trot and canter. I saw a significant improvement within 12 hours of the first dose. I have been able to return her to light arena work and 2-3 hour trail rides, which since I ride like an old broad these days works just fine for me. I am thrilled
    Date published: 2011-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty! My horse had his hocks injected within weeksof starting this supplement. He has been on other top joint supplements for the last three years. None contained CM. I cannot see any difference yet but I am hopeful. CM is so tasty that my horse will eat it without feed. OmegaHorseshine is the only other supplement that compares in palatability.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good very palatable. two horses have eaten it well and although I don't have objective evidence, I do believe they seemed more comfortable after two weeks on the product. I think it's expensive and apparently the price is going up as the company is increasing the amount of cetyl m in the product. I wonder what their evidence is that this is needed as it does increase the price on an already pricey product.
    Date published: 2011-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing supplement I waited to review this supplement because I was not sure whether it was the Cetyl M or the HA that I added at the same time that was responsible for my 19 year old arthritic OTTB's drastic improvement. He looked great all winter. To test whether the Cetyl M was helping, I discontinued using it when the tub ran out. A few days after I stopped the Cetyl M, he started looking (and feeling) terribly stiff. He was especially stiff in his left hock, and he was also off in a front foot that has some arthritic issues after I rode him. A few days after re-starting the Cetyl-M, he is looser, more limber, and SOUND! I do not know how it works, but I guess he is on it for the rest of his life.
    Date published: 2011-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am convinced I got a new mare that was diagnosed on the prevet to have some significant navicular inflammation. We followed the vet protocol, but just couldnt get her 100% sound. The mare has been on Cetyl M since November of 2010. After 10 days of being on the loading dose, went sound. She did go lame for a week when I reduced the dose from loading to maintence, then went sound and has been sound enough to be in full work. I even jump her! I was very skeptical of this product when I started her on it, but I have to say, it has made a believer out of me. The smell of this product is so nice, I want to eat it! It really smells yummy!
    Date published: 2011-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Gelding's show career When my trainer found my gelding, he was lame. Lame, Lame, Lame. He is a 16.2 hand hunter type QH. His owner did not want a hunt horse, so he went to a trainer that forced him to be something he was not- a western pleasure horse. His hocks had scheduled injections every 3 months. He was cranky, in pain and needed to be sedated to do most anything with him. My trainer saw something great under this gimpy/cranky exterior, and I bought him. I knew about Cetyl M, and thought my gelding would be the perfect candidate for it.It has been a year since my gelding was started on Cetyl M (and ONLY Cetyl M for supplements), and not only has he NEVER needed a hock injection since, he LOVES the stuff! It literally smells like a fruit smoothy. When we go around the show ring, I always hear whispers of " that horse was lame! He never could canter.." Not only does he canter, he is usually walking away from the ring with a blue ribbon!Now almost all the horses at our barn are on Cetyl M, and it is working it's magic on them too!
    Date published: 2011-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have had my horse on this product for 9 months now and before she had alot of lameness due to a stifle injury....now she has alot more movement and dosen't seem as stiff like she was before using this product. I have tried cheaper supplements but they just don't give me the results she gets with Cetyl M....I deffinately recomment this product to anyone who has a horse with joint lameness issues.
    Date published: 2011-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stuff since sunshine I first discovered Cetyl-M when my mare was still with me... She was extremely arthritic in her hind end, so much so, I couldn't ride her anymore as she was so stiff and obviously in pain. Since I wasn't ready to part with her yet as she was the love of my life, I tried everything I could think of short of injections (she hated her legs being messed with so I wasn't going to torture her like that) I tried Next Level, MSM, Condroitin, Cosequin, all type... Some helped, but not enough ... I saw the commercial for the dog w/ arthritis, and decided to try it. It took a while, but within a couple of months I was seeing a noticable difference, within 6 months we were riding again, and she was happy. I kept her on it until the end of her days, (she was 29)She went from being slow and sore to what my friend described as " Crazy" because she just started running off with her one day... I was shocked but ecstatic that my girl was feeling her oats so well she could keep up with the youngsters. I now have my 25 yr old gelding on it and am anxious to see how well he does with it too... He's not as bad, but he injured himself, and I figured it couldn't hurt to keep him healthy :)
    Date published: 2011-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse was recently diagnosed with a stifle issue. Injections with cortizone did not make much difference. I noticed a significant improvement in her gait and being able to use her back 12 hours after giving the first dose of Cetyl M! That was 3 weeks ago and she continues to maintain the improvement. I am thrilled.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strong smell, poor taste My mare who isn't a picky eater wouldn't eat it... I was excited to try this product, but I will have to put her back on Cosequin.
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Only been using a month but very happy. Love the smell and my horse eats it with no problem. Used the dog formula with excellent results on my older dog.
    Date published: 2011-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I have a 16.3 hand Friesian who needs joint support. I've tried many, many products over the last 10 years. Some have been okay, some didn't help him at all. This product is fantastic!. I could feel how much softer & looser he was after one week on this supplement. He's been on it now for almost one year and I'm staying with this one. The stiffness is gone. Such a different ride now. I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from noticeable difference I noticed a difference in horse's movement within the first week. Now seeing consistent smooth, relaxed movement, even fresh out of the stall. I did not see these results with any of the many other products tried. Palatability is very important with my horses, but they love this...I love the smell...should try it myself!
    Date published: 2011-01-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tasty but ineffective I am slowly working my way through all available joint supplements to make sure I've tried everything I can to help my arthritic 35 year old gelding be as comfortable as possible before I have to make the decision to put him down. Despite being a supplement skeptic, about 7 years ago I started him on Senior Flex and to my GREAT surprise, noticed a distict improvement in his mobility and comfort level. About 4 years ago I switched to the Smart Senior because I wanted a product with digestive and immune system support. He did quite well on that product as well. Last winter he became noticeably more painful so I added bute, which helped tremendously. This summer he started gimping again, even on daily bute, so based on the rave reviews from other users, I switched from Smart Senior to Cetyl M. Despite keeping him on the "loading" dose for 2 months, I noticed no improvement. The best thing I can say about Cetyl M is that is smells yummy (my husband was tempted to taste it because it smells so good) and my old guy really seemed to enjoy eating it. However, it was an expensive flop as a joint supplement. I now have him on (and am seeing good results from) Cosequin ASU - despite that the Cosequin ASU is significantly more expensive, it provides a better value because it appears to actually work. Obviously every horse and situation are different, but based on my experience, I would never purchase Cetyl M again...unless I had a picky eater and was desperate for something that would entice him/her to eat!
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_18
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_101
    • loc_en_US, sid_2455, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders