Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #19857
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown, buckle closures, 1" wide noseband. Offered with plain noseband and flash or crank noseband with no flash.

Complete with 5/8" rubber lined leather reins (flash) or rubber reins (crank). Available exclusively at SmartPak.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.3488 out of 5 by 86.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price My horse loves this bridle and so do I. My horse loves it because it is so padded and really nice. I love it because it is great quality and can be used for everything!
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for horses with a delicate head... I really wish this bridle had worked for my mare... The quality for the price is amazing, and this bridle has some very nice features that you can usually only find in the VERY expensive bridles. I was absolutely thrilled with it out of the box, but sadly, when I put it on, I found out it is just not meant for a delicate (Morgan) head. I got the cob size, since that is what she has worn in the past, and while the cheek pieces and noseband fit well, it was much too small on the crown and browband. My sensitive mare threw a fit just wearing it, not even riding in it.Also, it was SO bulky and awkward looking on her head - it really is for a bigger head (warmblood type) and she looked ridiculous. For horses with a more delicate head, this just is not the bridle. (But my trainer has one for her warmblood that looks fabulous, so I'd highly recommend it for that type of horse)I was very pleased with SmartPak's customer service, though. I called up to see if they could guide me to a better fit, and were very helpful in finding something in my price range and style.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks very expensive. It has the same features as the expensive brands. I especially love the monocrown. I ordered the crank style so the reins are rubber with leather ends but I would prefer the other kind that comes with the flash style. Beautiful!
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This bridle came out of the box a little bit stiff, but conditioned up really nicely. I didn't like the reins with it, but that's just personal preference. The only issue I had was that the noseband was a bit too tight on my horse, but it could just be her. Lovely leather, lovely look.
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice bridle this second one I've purchased, and it is a nice, quality bridel, and a good value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I prefer the regular Plymouth or Harwich The leather quality on this bridle did not seem as nice (soft, even) as the regular Plymouth I purchased for my pony, and I didn't like the rein style nearly as much. Since I wanted the wider noseband for his larger head, I exchanged for the Harwich and much preferred that - I would say those two bridles are much more similar in style/quality.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value I have a tight budget and really appreciate the quality I can afford with the SmartPak Plymouth dressage bridle. The leather is so soft and the design upgrade from my last Plymouth bridle is exceptional!! Thanks SmartPak for giving us such a great choice in this price range!
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I'm very pleased with this bridal - my only complaint is the noseband doesn't fit my mare. Even after punching extra holes, it is still not big enough. I wish someone made a QH size, since her head is short and wide. Otherwise, wonderful leather, great construction!
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from color fades on my grey The keepers are too big and won't stay up and the black color has stained my grey horse's face...not too happy.
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Value in a dressage bridle I ordered this for my QH. Initially I ordered the oversize since everything else I have bought (halters included) needed to be O/S to fit. Imagine my surprise when I tried this bridle on and even at the last hole it was still a bit roomier than I would have liked. Fortunately SmartPak's awesome return service took care of it for me. The F/S is just right. The quality of leather is better than I expected. It is soft right out of the box. The finishing details are not quite as nice as a more expensive bridle, but this is an excellent value. I am pleased with the overall quality - especially since I plan on using this as a schooling bridle. I can't speak for durability - I just got it today.
    Date published: 2013-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle I really love the rubberized reins. It helps to keep my hands in the correct position. The bridle has beautiful, soft leather. I would definitely recommend this bridle. It is an amazing value for the price!
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle I needed a black bridle to match my saddle and had trouble finding one. I was excited by the price of this one, it looks beautiful. I've had a lot of compliments on it, and it is comfortable for my testy mare, and soft out of the box. Love the reins, they are narrow and durable. Best of all, I ordered the wrong size, made a few mistakes, had to call SP 3 times and switch up the order, but they were pleasant and helpful and polite - the last time I spoke to them about a piece I returned by mistake was 4:30 pm, I had the piece at 9:30 AM the next morning. LOVE this company
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected. Unfortunately this bridle does not impress me. After scrolling through the reviews I chose the Plymouth Elite because it seemed like fairquality for fair price. This does not hold true. The padded monocrown is nice but the overall quality of the bridle is poor, the leather wrinkles and is shiny and plastic looking. The rubber coated cloth reins are awful, it does not come with the rubber coated leather reins unless you buy the flash version, even though the picture shows leather reins. The buckles are cheap looking and large, and buckle attachments make the bridle look bulky. The crank noseband is stiff and also HUGE. The bridle was too big overall for my horse but I will be returning for multiple reasons.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy I chose this bridle This is the nicest bridle at this price that I've ever seen. Thoughtful features provide a comfortable fit for the horse. Looks and feels like much more expensive tack. I searched many sources before choosing this starter bridle for my new horse and I'm very happy with it.
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Beat it for the $$ This bridle is way nicer than you would expect for the money. The padded mono crown is very nice as is all of the hardware. Unfortunately it is HUGE in the cheek pieces. My horse requires an oversize bridle in most other brands or the noseband and brow band are way too small. In this bridle the cheek pieces are all the way at the top. Unfortunately SmartPak cannot/ doesn't sell parts separately so I think that I will eventually have to have the cheek pieces cut down. Otherwise love this bridle. The reins are pretty disappointing overall but the bridle alone is worth the $$ IMO. Can't speak to the durability as I just got it but it seems like it should last.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Re: WOW I've had this bridle for about a year now, and I have loved it since day 1.Fantastic value, durable, and so so nice.Pair it with your favorite blingy browband (as I did) and you're ready for the show ring!As I said earlier, the fit was off, but I've lived with it and I'll have ya'll know it passed my Pony Club C3 rating inspection, so you KNOW the fit was fine enough.Thanks, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dressage Bridle I wasn't sure if I should get this bridle or the slightly more expensive Harwich Smartpak one. I was very relieved when I opened the box and got to see the Plymouth Elite Dressage bridle. It was so much nicer than I expected! I definitely picked the right one after all! It fits my large warmblood gelding perfectly. It has nice padding, and the buckles are nice too. Very impressed with the quality so far. I can't rate durability because only time will tell.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love this I bought this for my 16hh paint and if fit him perfectly and the leather was beautiful when i pulled it out of the box. My boy seemed so happy with it on I bought it for my Arab cross who is extremely finicky with her tack and she loved it also! it's gentle on them-My Arab cross stopped her head tossing! I've only had it for a couple months but already love this bridle. I did have to punch holes in the bridle for the Arab cross -Her head is a weird shape and it was too big but one or two holes made the difference!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle & great leather work Beautiful bridle! The detail around the crown piece is lovely and is padded.Lovely.Reins are not bulky and have rubber lining on the inside, with the flat leather on the outside. Very nice, except that I would have rather had rein stops so that I could better gauge my lengths.Will be my show bridle. Well done SmartPak, as per usual!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Bridle I've been a horse owner for about 10 years and have ridden for about 20, and cheaper bridles are not what they used to 20 years ago. And this bridle is a fine example of that.I highly recommend it to anyone looking to buy a nice bridle that has modern features made from more than serviceable leather.I have a hard to fit mare, she has a huge Roman nose, horse sized brow, but VERY short bit to bit measurement. It is always a challenge to get her something that fits correctly. I had to change out the brow band for one we already had and punch a hole in the noseband strap.But all in all, punching a hole was WAY worth it, for the reins alone! I LOVE the reins it comes with; rubber with leather reins stops. And they are pretty nice quality.I would certainly buy this product again. After browsing my local fancy tack store I was touching some new bridles (of $200 or more quality) and I think this one is a better buy. If I'm going to buy another bridle it will be of the much more expensive bracket. This one CERTAINLY compares to the $200 range.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Bridle Ever! I love this bridle. I ordered it for a schooling bridle for my Haflinger. It was so nice, I show in it. The rubber reins feel so good in my hands. It's the nicest and the cheapest dressage bridle I've ever had. The leather feels nice and holds up. I've had mine for almost a year now and it cleans up and looks new.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really pleased with this purchase Ordered this bridle as a birthday gift for my granddaughter (well, really it was for her Arabian!), and she was thrilled. I was impressed by the quality, leather is smooth, thick, soft - really well made. I hesitated because of the "rubberized" reigns, but granddaughter likes them alot. Overall, this is a great value.
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Bridle I purchased this bridle as my first ever dressage bridle. I wanted something inexpensive, nice enough to go in local shows and durable enough to be used as a schooling bridle. When the bridle got here the leather was softer and more supple than I thought it would be, so that was a nice surprise. When I put it on my mare, it fit perfectly. (She's 15.2h, with little larger than average sized head -- I ordered the horse size) I love the extra padding over the ears, and she does as well...now she actually puts her head down when I bridle her. The reins are great because they have the rubber which is super "grippy" but they're not really wide like most other rubber reins I've used before. Also, I love the buckles for the bit and reins. With all of my English bridles they are so difficult to open, but with this bridle I had no problems. Overall, I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! This bridle is a great buy! Love the cut out ears & soft & supple leather!! Great buy!
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product I love this bridle! Fits my 16 HH TB perfect. The leather is beautiful and soft - it looks like a much more expensive bridle; and for all that the price is great. I will buy this product again for my other horses when they need a new bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value for the Cost This is a very nice bridle for schooling! The price is great and the bridle is very soft and comfortable on both of my horses!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice looking bridle for the price this bridle is smartly designed with plenty of padding. It looks nice too. My negative comment is that the noseband buckle hole strap isnt thick enough feeling like inexpensive leather. My concern is how long it'll last. Time will tell.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL This dressage bridle is beautiful, padded and supple and CHEAP! Buy it.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I purchased two of these bridles in size full. One is for a 16 hand Paint gelding and the other is for a 15.2 hand Arabian mare. The Arabian's bridle had to be cut down to fit her shorter head, which is standard on any bridle I purchase for her--even in a cobb size. She has to have a full to give her enough room across the top of the bridle. She wears a full brow band; the Paint wears a warmblood sized brow band. Interestingly, these bridles did not need any other adjustments, such as reducing the size of the nose band, although I did add keepers to the nosebands. Along with the reins, they are a terrific value and they look awesome in the show ring. Owners of a local tack shop in Ocala, Florida, where the adjustment was made on the mare's were very impressed with the price and had difficulty admitting they did not have a comparable product with reins for the total price. My friends are planning on buying some and I am going to buy two more as soon as I get my next paycheck. Love the single piece at the poll--very hard to find. Please keep this product in stock!!!
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great value i am impressed with the quality of the leather. the price was very reasonable. when i used a leather conditioner the bridle became very soft and pliable. my only suggestion is that the noseband leather is a little short. On the second hole and it barely fits through the two keepers. i am hoping when the leather softens i will be able to go the the third hole.
    Date published: 2012-08-31
    • 2015-03-02T06:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_83
    • loc_en_US, sid_9857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.