Product Image
Additional Views

Hard Keeper Solution

Vita-Flex Nutrition
- Item #10097
Form: Granular
Maintenance Dose: 4 SmartPak Wells

Hard Keeper Solution was designed to help horses gain and maintain weight, as well as a healthy skin & coat. Hard Keeper Solution is an excellent source of Omega 3 and 6 fatty acids. Also contains the extra support of direct-fed microbial cultures for optimal digestive function and efficiency.

View our Weight Gain Supplement Comparison Chart

Learn More about Hard Keeper Solution

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Hard Keeper Solution is rated 4.2105 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Good Option The product does what it says it can do. My horse liked the taste, but that's not saying much, he'll eat anything! The weight gain is slow which is what you want. But the coat conditioning, showed within a week. Follow the product instructions and consult your vet. Remember that you are introducing something to the equine digestive system that is unnatural even though the animal may need it. Proceed slowly. You'll have better results in the long run.
    Date published: 2013-10-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too soon to tell? Our mare is presumed to be a QH, one of two horses I adopted from a rescue. We're not certain of her age - probably at least late teens. She is purely a companion due to severe arthritis and is on full turn out. In January all the horses at our barn dropped considerable weight, possibly due to the fact the last cutting of hay was not as good quality as usual; her Hennecke BCS was a 3. We upped her grain to the maximum our barn will feed without going to a third feeding, and the vet recommended researching fat supplements. For most of the summer, the mare seemed to be gaining on the new grain ration, although not as nicely as the others; at best she was a good solid 4. A mid to late summer drought affected the pasture quality significantly and she dropped back down to 3. I decided to act on my research. I was looking for a dry supplement so that our barn's feeders wouldn't have to deal with a messy oil. My girl is not a picky eater; I'm not sure how a truly picky eater would like this stuff. After a little more than a month on Hard Keeper we have had to increase her from the minimum dose to not quite twice the minimum, and winter is not here yet. I'll continue with it, and increase to the maximum if necessary. If she continues to drop weight as we increase, however, I'll resume my research. I want to be fair to the product by saying that we have had horrible weather of late and now we are approaching the change of seasons.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have only just used this product for 2 weeks so in fairness I really can't review it. My horse does like the taste and takes a really big bite with his grain
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing I have found that works! My mare lost significant weight for some unknown reason last winter. I dewormed her, floated her teeth, and got her on Purina Senior. She didn't gain any weight after 3 months. After a blood test confirmed she had no health issues, we tried some steroids on her and NO results! Finally, I switched her to Triple Crown Senior, alfalfa hay, and hard keeper solution! She's gaining weight for the first time in 6 months and I couldn't be a happier owner!I do agree with many previous reviews that horses find a hard time eating it because of the taste. To fix this problem with my mare, I would wet the grain before I put the supplement on it so it would stick to the grain. This forced her to eat ALL of it and helped her to get used to the taste. After two weeks of that, I stopped putting water on it and she is completely used to the taste and eats every bit of it! Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing My horse is very picky and the 4 smart-paks recommended were very difficult to hide in his grain or mash. He refused to eat anything I mixed this product with, which would have caused him to lose more weight if I would have continued feeding it. There are probably many other more palatable options out there. It is a lot of powder to sneak in...(even though it says granular-it is flake pieces more like a powder to me)
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I have a gelding who is in his mid 30's and goes through bouts where he will loose weight. Every time he looses weight I start him on this and he grains it right back and gets a nice glossy coat to boot. I tried cool calories before, because it's cheaper, but I saw no results and I learned that cool calories is actually hydrogenated fat, which is proven harmful in humans, so how good could it be for your horse?
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horse will not eat My hard to keep horse will eat food with Ultra Shine, and Repair pellets in it. I took out Ultra Shine and added this supplement and he will not touch his grain. Needs to be more palatable.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked w/i days I have a 4 y/o filly that has been started on barrels. She is about 14.3 at this time and has never been a hard keeper. She has stayed muscular, but as I have moved her around at our barn(away from her personal friends), she began losing weight in the flank. I wormed her again and started feeding her more feed and hay. Nothing helped. I read about this product and after feeding this supplement for 2 weeks, I realized that her flanks had filled out. This has been a great product and I would recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product I asked friend what they thought were the best weight supplement and everyone said beet pulp or rice bran. Well beet pulp made my horse have way to much energy and rice bran didn't do anything. When I went into my feed store I looked at weight supplement and Hard Keeper Solution was cheaper and lasted longer then a bag of rice bran. Within a couple of weeks I saw a difference in her weight! I will always use this product from now on
    Date published: 2010-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard Keeper Solution In my opinion, this is a great supplement if you have a horse that is a hard keeper and needs to gain some weight. After feeding this to our finicky eater, she gained what she needed and her weight has stabilized. We sprinkle it on her grain, mix a little bit, and she gobbles it down. She is a founder recovery (5 yrs. ago) and use to be prone to digestive upsets. None since using this product!
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-09-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No results I have an 18 hand warmblood that struggles to keep weight on. Ive had him on Hard Keeper for three months now and haven't seen any real results. I'm switching him to Cool Calories through SmartPak and some beet pulp. Hopefully the Cool Calories won't disappoint like Hard Keeper did.
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product really helped to put on weight,controlled loose stools, and gave a great shine to his coat.
    Date published: 2010-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product My picky eater seems to like this product. After 2 weeks I think his coat seems to have a little extra "sparkle".
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I just started to give Hard Keeper to my horse. I am very satisfied with the product. Everyone I talked with recommended this product in high regards.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Hard Keeper supplement is a great way to keep the weight on our "hard to keep" gelding. It also does wonders for his coat and overall health. An awesome product!!
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stuff!!! After a Colic scare I put my super picky OTTB on the Hard Keeper to reduce his grain intake, but keep his weight up. He's not just keeping his wieght, he's gaining! I started him on a double dose since we feed twice a day and he's VERY hard to keep weight on. It's taken him 6 mos on high fat feed plus oil and alfalfa to get his ribs covered. Regular teeth floats help, but his molars are like a roller coaster. This stuff is amazing. He wasn't sure about the taste at first, but after a few days he dives right in and licks his feeder clean. He's getting the Hard Keeper, Smart Gut, 2 lbs of Progressive Pro Advantage Grass formula and 2 lbs of Envision Classic with 4 oz of Healthy Coat oil. Gaining like a champ! He's also shedding a coat, and shines like crazy!
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This has been the ultimate savoir for our Tb gelding who is impossible to keep wait on. He loves the taste and it is totally affordable!
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I have a draft/tb cross that is VERY hard to keep weight on. I did not want to get a supplement that would make her too "hot." HardKeeper has been perfect for her! I have been able to really cut down on the amount of feed she eats, and it hasn't made her too hot or silly. However, it was hard for her to get used to because it is a LOT of powder (4 tubs in a Smartpak), so I'm not sure how much a picky eater would like it.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice I have a 15.3 APHA gelding that is a hard keeper with ADHD (Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder). I could not feed him enough hay or grain to keep his top line. I mix it in with his grain but it took a couple weeks before he would clean it up. He has been on it since July and I can see a significant difference, even with the hard winter we have had.
    Date published: 2009-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real Good Product A really good product! My older horse started dropping weight so I put him on this and he started picking up. He is also a very picky eater but gobbled this up!
    Date published: 2009-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders and smells great I have an older arabian/quarter horse cross. He is in his 30's and he started dropping weight, so I decided to give Hard Keeper Solution a try. As soon as I opened it I loved it. It smells great, almost made me want to try it, and my horse loved it too. He actually tried to get his head into the bucket to just eat the supplement by itself...this deserves 10 stars!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for picky eaters I have a TB that is a hard keeper and he would not eat this or he would eat his grain and not the supplements.
    Date published: 2009-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really the best. I have used other weight gain products and was always skeptical of if they were in fact working. With the Hard Keeper, I was convinced after a few weeks watching our newly aquired, emaciated Arab fill out before my eyes. This product smells delicious too. Not sour like the others.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made my Warmblood bloom and glow! I have a Hanoverian that is 17H and leggy. It has been a problem getting him up to weight and keeping him there. I took a chance and tried "hard keeper" because I didn't want to make him hot with the wrong supplement. Now, he looks like a different horse! Calm, quiet and the weight is just filling him out beautifully after about 30 days on it! The other benefit is his dry coat is now GLOWING! And his dandruff is gone! What a great product! Reasonable cost too. My horse eats it before his feed!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I started my Palomino/QH on this product because he is the lowest horse in his herd and naturally high-strung (he has some TB in him). After 6 months of maintenance dose, he looks healthy but isn't too hot. Strongly recommended for hot horses.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard Keeper Solution Was The Answer For My "Hard Keeper"! My TB has always been a hard keeper. For a long time I fed him huge amounts of grain (8+ lbs./day!), half a bale of hay, and corn oil every day to try to keep him at a healthy weight. I struggled for over a year to put weight on him, and then keep it on. Once I started him on Hard Keeper Solution, I realized I had found exactly what I was looking for all along: an effective, economical, nutritionally sound, healthy way of putting on weight. After just 3 months of use, he is maintaining a healthy weight, with just alfalfa/grass and 2 lbs. of Strategy AM & PM!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.