Product Image

Stress-Dex

Neogen Corporation
- Item #10095
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Stress-Dex is a balanced electrolyte trace element powder. Supplemental source of energy and Calcium, Phosphorous, Salt, and Potassium. Orange flavor.

View our Electryolyte Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Stress-Dex is rated 4.7778 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I got this product to use with my performance dogs, and am definitely pleased with the results. I am not using it daily, instead just when the dogs begin to show signs of heat stress. (This is the second hottest summer on record in Texas!) The dogs respond quickly, after placing a small amount on their tongue, followed by fresh water and a cool environment. I definitely recommend this product to others, as it was to me at a herding clinic.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Electrolyte This is the only electrolyte we will use at our A show barn. It is very palatable and I don't have to worry about my horse.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so thrilled Not so thrilled with this product, a full smartpak well of product, there seemed to be a LOT of sugar as a filler. My horse ate it will not problem, but he did not respond well to the additional sugar in his diet, I took him off of it after the first month. Also, I did not see any difference in performance when comparing the "stress" ingredients that were added to the electrolytes.
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have! I have all three of my horses on Stress-Dex all year round. I have tried other electrolytes and they have turned their noses up to all but Stress-Dex! Last winter with the unseasonably colder weather horses in my area were dropping like flies with colic from being dehydrated and I never had a bit of problems with my guys. I owe it to Stess-Dex!
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Electrolyte out there My mare is a super picky eater and I often have to pass up supplements because she just will not eat the powdered forms, but she LOVES stress-dex. It is a little more expensive than others out there, but she doesn't leave it in the bottom of her bucket so it makes it worth every penny. Not to mention it works!
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I don't show without this! I'm always concerned that my highly sensitive (and pampered) gelding wont drink enough water when we arrive at horse shows. I started adding this to his grain before traveling to shows, and used it throughout the competition to ensure that when the temperature rose he was staying hydrated. He seems to enjoy the orange flavor, too!I have also used the paste version of this product with great success as well.
    Date published: 2010-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very palatable My gelding, who is very picky about his supplements, eats these right up. They helped keep him hydrated through the long hot summer we had here in Michigan. I plan to use all through the cooler months, as well.My only complaint is that the most recent package arrived with the lid partly open - but SmartPak customer care is great and refunded me the amount of product lost during shipment. Just make sure you ask that the lid be taped on for shipping (if you get the tub - obviously not a problem in SmartPaks).
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised and pleased! My pony has been having horrible diarrhea, and my vet recommended a few supplements, one being electrolytes. Problem is...she may be a porky pony, but she is the pickiest horse ON EARTH when it comes to supplements (she refuses it in a BRAN MASH!). So the vet recommended "Stress-Dex". She said, "It's funny, you wouldn't think a horse would like orange flavor, but mine eat it right up!". So, we ordered this with Pocahontas' next SmartPak, hoping to be able to get it down somehow. When it came, I looked at that bright orange powder, and literally said to myself out loud, "There is no way I am going to get her to eat this...". But I poured it into her bucket, along with 3 other supplements, and hoped for the best. The next morning, I brought everyone out their food, and watched her as she took a bite and shook her head. I was like, "oh great...here we go again". I left to get hay, and when I came back she was legit LICKING her bowl! I've never seen her so happy about a supplement! Thank you!!!
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Most horses seem to like it I have tried other more expensive electrolytes and a lot of my horses wouldn't eat them.This one seems to be more palatable than others - probably due to the sugar content, but like little kids and medicine, sometimes you have to sweeten it to get it down!
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only used it for a couple weeks so far. My horse is already drinking a lot more water.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well enough I started using this product on my half percheron when she was 7. She wouldn't eat it at first in sweet feed or grain; mixed in, on bottom, or on top. She also would not drink it either. Eventually she caved (about a year later) when I just kept giving it to her. It works well enough. She has not had a hydration issue since she started eating it consistently. However, I have to give her about 2.5 times as much as recommended in the summer than in the winter, though yes she is very large and in moderate training. I think I will switch to SmartLytes, because of everything else it has in it for the same price. if you wanted jsut a very basic electrolyte though and your horse is not picky, this product is good for that.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product i have a very very very fussy eater who needs an eloctrolyte. this is the first one he will eat and finish. i am very happy with this product ( although at first the bright orange color scared me!)
    Date published: 2009-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Electrolytes I love Stress-Dex, my horse has no problem finishing it up, as it being a supplement too! I would definitely recommend this product. It keeps your horse hydrated and gives them what they need!!
    Date published: 2009-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind I live in a very hot area, and travel to other very hot areas to event. I've been warned to watch out for my horses' ability to sweat, along with their electrolytes. Now that they're both on stress-dex, I feel a lot more confident taking them out in the hot weather.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good choice My horse likes the orange flavor and doesn't mind it added to his grain. The large bucket is just the right size to last the hot summer.
    Date published: 2009-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Go-To Electrolyte There are times when you absolutely must have an electrolyte that your horse will eat/drink. This is the one for us. When my mare shows signs of mild colic, and it's cold so she doesn't want water, I can count on the fact that she will drink a bucketful of this. I wish I could find one as reliable as this one with less sugar, but when my horse is sick or not drinking, sugar is not our biggest problem. She also eats it readily mixed with her hay pellets, and drinks noticeably more when I give it to her.
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse wont eat the other flavors of electrolytes, this is the only flavor that he will eat without a fuss. He likes the orange flavor.
    Date published: 2009-06-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from LOVE THE PRODUCT- HATE THE LID!!! I fee this electrolyte every summer because itt works and my horse eats it(sometimes).I just ordered my first batch for this year and I COULDNT GET THE STUPID LID OFF!! I was so mad! They give you directions on the top of how to break the seal and open with a screw driver thing. I followed the directions explicitly and still could not get it open. I ended up having to destroy the lid to get it off and now it is open to the elements- I am sure my nice soft powdery substance will be hard and balled up due to moisture in about a week. I understand the need for freshness but now my cover wont stay back on.
    Date published: 2009-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended in warm weather Stress Dex helps our Irish Sport horse A Patch of Luck recover after working out in warmer weather and after showing! I think it's excellent in replacing key nutrients.
    Date published: 2009-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Electrolytes I keep my horse on electrolytes year round to keep him healthy and hydrated. I started using stress-dex as it is one I've been familiar with for years. Over a year ago I switched to another brand because it was said to have been better. But my horse didn't seem to think it tasted better and he always left it in his feed bucket. So I switched back and Doc is happily eating his electrolytes once again and I worry less that he's getting enough water in his system now that the warmer weather is returning.
    Date published: 2009-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product this really helps maintain the necessary elements in the hot weather while competing.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only electrolytes I will use I give my horse electrolytes year round because he gets overheated very easily and will colic, and I want to keep him hydrated. This is the only brand of electrolytes that sticks to the grain and that he will eat. All other kinds I have tried fall through the grain, and he ends up with a bucket full of electrolytes at the end of the week. I've been giving him Stress-Dex for 2 years (since we moved to hot, humid Tennessee) and he never leaves any in his bucket, AND has not been overheated or dehydrated once despite the summer weather here.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.