Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tredstep Custom Fit Half Chap

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #19544

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Tredstep's Custom Fit, as the name suggests, reaches a new level in fit and performance. The use of exquisite soft oiled leather enables the Custom Fit legging to mold to your leg while maintaining full flexibility and a secure feel. A truly stylish chap with an elegant top line and subtle details. Fitted with an outer stretch panel alongside a rear zip for ease of fitting and expansion of leg muscles while you ride. YKK zippers and snaps.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Tredstep Custom Fit Half Chap is rated 4.0526 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I ordered these to replace my older Tredsteps that I really liked. These are a new design & run very large. I gave up after trying two different sizes. I also didn't like that they went to a smaller zipper & not a YKK zipper.i return them so never used them so i can't rate durability.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with purchase I got these in a 14/19 and was very happy with my purchase. They took a few days only to break in and literally molded to my leg within a week. They are easy to clean with leather cleaner and some mink oil keeps them soft and protected. I have gotten many compliments on them. The zippers have held up so far but I haven't had them long enough to really comment on overall durability. I probably could have even gone a size smaller but they still look fantastic.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Zippers!! The half chap leather is nice.. but getting these half chaps zipped up will make you insane!! The zipper is super small (read: the zipper pull is small and hard to grip and the zipper teeth are tiny making them hard to set in the groove to zip up) and the position of where they lay on the half chap is absolutely NUTS! What were they thinking?!You literally have to contort your body to get these things on... I don't have time nor energy to fight with my half chaps... they went back to SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best half chaps so far! I needed a pair of half chaps that were reasonably priced, yet looked like a quality boot.These half chaps have exceeded my expectations. The quality of the leather is superior and because they come in so many sizes, they fit very well. It is actually hard to tell that I don't have on an actual field boot. The elastic that goes under the boot is a little long, as mentioned in other reviews, but that was easily remedied. I would certainly recommended these and will buy them again.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing these are amazing. i could not ask for more.who could? they form to you and are just loose enough. love the color and feel.the snap did break off and coulnot be fixed. they were replaced withot a problem. being a man and finding clothing can be challanging. these were perfect though and lasted for nearly 2 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded my expectations! I love these chaps and can't say enough of how happy I am with this purchase. The chaps are like glue once you're in the saddle, your leg never moves! Sizing is a bit tricky - I tried on a 14/18 in suede and they fit beautifully - when I bought the 14/18 in the Custom Chap they zipped right up (which is not a good sign to me because the leather will stretch). I returned the 14/18 and got a 13/18 instead, which was virtually impossible to zip up because they were so tight. After a few hours of wearing them on my bare legs with lots of Lexol, I rode in them with riding tights underneath and have never looked back. They only took a few days to really fit my leg "custom" and I will NEVER buy anything but the Tredsteps! I am an Ariat lover, but now that I have strayed and bought the Tredsteps, I'll most likely always buy Tredstep for chaps. I have had SO many compliments on the chaps and how beautiful they look on. I really recommend getting the smaller size and stretching them to your leg - you will love how molded to your leg they become! The leather quality is fantastic as well! My only criticism would be that the zipper, though sleek and classy, is a bit small and hard to grab. This I can overlook for how elated I am with the chaps overall.
    Date published: 2012-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strap too long The strap that goes under your boot is a bit too long, but very good quality leather and fits very well. Be sure to know your calf measurement because they do not stretch!
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Half Chaps I got these for Christmas and these half chaps are way better than my old ones. I had to have someone help me put them on the first 2 or 3 times but after that I could do it and now they fit perfectly. I'm glad I went with a tighter size because they might have gotten to loose if I hadn't. They broke in relatively quickly and I get compliments on them all the time. The zippers are really nice too. A couple times I thought for sure I was going to break them trying to get them on, but nope, they survived. Hopefully they last a long time and if they do I will for sure buy another pair.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!!! I look like I'm wearing beautiful tall boots! These fit SO well, are made with beautiful leather, they're perfect!! I have 12/17, which are a little tall right now so I'm keeping them unbuttoned until they drop at the ankle so I don't get that break over behind the knee. The only complaint is the strap that goes under the boot is way way way to long, but my local shoe/luggage repair guy fixed them easily. These are amazing!!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Half Chaps LOVE these half chaps. They actually fit my calves (12") and are tall enough (17"). The only issue I have is that the elastic that goes under my paddock boot is too long.
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.