Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord

Horseware Ireland
- Item #19535
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord can be used to replace the usual tail strap on Horseware blankets.  The elasticized PVC covered cord is flexible and easy to clean taking the pressure off fittings and straps.

Sizing It Up

30cm - 60-69 blanket
40cm - 72-75 blanket
50cm - 78-81 blanket
60cm - 84-87 blanket.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord is rated 4.5862 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from About time! This PVC coated tail cord is long overdue. So much easier to clean and weighs more than the previous strap, so seems to help keep the back of the turnout from blowing open as much (we have amazing wind here). I bought one size smaller than recommended just to help keep the wind out, and it seems to help. If you don't have wind issues, I would do with the size they recommend.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so great I like that the cord is covered in plastic so it's easy to wash. However, the clips are very hard to squeeze open and clip to the metal rings. I had one break on me the first time I tried to clip it. Thank you SmartPak for replacing it promptly and free of charge!
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A "MUST HAVE"!! This is the best tail cord EVER! When they started showing up on new Rambo's people at my barn would say "finally!" and "brilliant!". I recommend my clients get SmartPak blankets and buy this tail cord to replace the SmartPak leg straps (which are too stretchy and have buckles that stick). Best of both, for only $13 more! the plastic keeps them clean, dry, and are so easy to clean. A MUST HAVE FOR BLANKETS OF ANY BRAND!!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from About Time! One of the frequent gripes people have about HorseWare horse clothes is the lack of leg straps. I understand they are designed so they should not need them. But their blankets, coolers, layers and quarter sheets often have just a 'filet string', which we all know is there just to collect..... grime. This replacement strap is a much better idea: flexible plastic tube with slightly stretchy bungee inside, and plastic clips on either end, attaching to the rear D or V rings. "Grime" and manure is much easier to clean from these. (SP does not want to see the word p**p on these reviews, it seems!) HorseWare should consider using THESE instead of the useless 'filet string' on their items, especially given the cost of their products. The filet string seems cheap, not in line with their product image. Not certain on the durability of the plastic parts, but replacements cost about the same as a pair of leg straps. Thanks, HorseWare, for finally hearing your customers' critiques.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RAMBO TAIL CORD JUST GREAT! I am so happy with this great Rambo tailcord . I bought 10 , then, I just got my 2nd ten so I can replace all tale cords in the barn!This product is really really great if you have a very old horse or a Mare ! I hope they hold up!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement tail cord especially for mares i replaced the tail cord on my mare Rambo lite weight blanket because I no longer wanted to take off and wash the urine soaked tail strap.The plastic covered Bungee tail cord is great. Does not get soaked just wipe it off once in awhile.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should come with ALL Rambo blankets I, like everyone else I know, HATE the nylon tail cords that used to come with most Rambo and Amigo blankets. They get totally covered with manure in a short time, and they are very difficult to clean. The plastic-covered replacement bungee tail cords from Rambo are a huge improvement, but why on earth did they decide to use plastic snaps on the ends that are SO hard to operate? I am using the force of both my hands and I can hardly get the snaps open, plus they don't seem to be very durable. The d-rings on the back of the blankets are metal, so why wouldn't they use metal snaps?? Especially when they charge $20 for a single tail cord!! Very strange design choice. At least the length/fit of the tail cord when placed on the blanket is good. Nevertheless, I would recommend these simply because they are so much better than the tail cords since they are easy to clean, but Rambo, please fix the plastic snap issue!!
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy To Clean I bought this because the tail cords I had were always to long even if I adjusted them all the way. I think these are so much better of a fit for my blankets (even the ones that aren't Rambos) & they are so easy to clean off! Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-02-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Disappointed - Clip Broke Let me just note that my horse is completely outfitted in Horseware/Rambo blankets. I love the quality and design as well as how they hold up. I just purchased a Rambo Wug Medium with this tail cord and an extra tail cord to add to his stable blanket.I came to the barn to find this tail cord hanging by one end off of the rambo wug. The plastic clip on the end had partially snapped off. I searched around to see if my horse had gotten caught on something and I cannot find anything. Besides his love for rolling in the mud, he is NOT rough on blankets in any way and was quite bummed to see this. He's only been wearing the Wug with this strap for 3 weeks at best.I love the idea of the easy to clean strap, I just think maybe a different clip would be better.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Idea This bungee is a great idea from rambo...it should come standard on all their blankets.It is easy to clean..I would preferdifferent clips on the ends that are easier to use.
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea This is a nicely made strap..easy to clean. The 30 is really small..somehow smaller than when you look at the measurement on a measureing tape :)
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord Bought both sizes - the larger one is very long- probably best suited for draft size horse blanket. The smaller size is perfect for my 72" & 81" blankets.Easy to clean - just started using them so not sure how well the plastic clip will hold up - but so far so good. Love that I can easily clean it!
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish all my blankets had this! What a great idea! Not only is this easier to clean than a regular tail cord, it doesn't hold manure on it like the regular ones, which means my horse stays much cleaner. I put this one on my horse's fly sheet, which he lives in during the summer and so far I'm very happy. Will have to get another for his winter blanket.
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes life easier Great replacement for stock tail straps on most blankets. I've already replaced 2 and plan to replace all before the weather turns cold again.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from way to keep a tail cord clean! What a great product! Finally, an easy to clean tail cord. i will throw out all the others and change this one from sheet to sheet/blanket. It does seem a bit large, maybe order one size down from the recommended size.
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Think I'm In Love Thank you Horseware for developing this product and thank you SmartPak for carrying it! I had abandoned the use of tail straps in exchange for bailing twine I could cut off and throw away. I will no longer despise putting a tail strap on a mare. I can just wipe the bungie off and have it clean, unlike the stinky, urine drenched old fashioned ones. I can't believe I'm so excited by such a simple invention, but I am thrilled!!!!
    Date published: 2011-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost manure free legs! I am very happy I decided to give the new Rambo tailcord a try. The price was right, and though I am a little concerned as to how the plastic clip ends are going to hold up, so far so good. I was at my wits end before finding this product- trying to keep manure from caking on my mare's back legs- it was frustrating! Regular leg straps made it worse, and I was constantly changing and then having to soak the regular tail cords, not to mention scrubbing manure off of her legs. Now I just take a baby wipe to the pvc every day or two, there is hardly any manure on her legs!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great idea Like another reviewer my horse covers his tail straps in manure and they need to washed at least once a week. The covered cord that came with his new Rambo was so great I bought 2 more to retro fit his other blankets. I can see nothing negative about them at all. The most incredible thing is that they are less expensive thatn the not so good old straps!
    Date published: 2011-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Smart Purchase I have the older model of Rambo Wugs with the regular tail cord. Every year, my horse ends up coating his tail cords in manure, smearing all over his hind legs and tail. It was disgusting! With these tail cords, I rub a wipe over them when needed and everything stays much cleaner. The PVC makes manure build up virtually inexistant! My only worry is that the plastic clips will break more quickly than the metal but so far these have been great!
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    • 2015-03-01T06:45CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_9535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.