Product Image

SmartDark & Handsome®

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #19476
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well



SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, dark shine in black, bay and brown coats. This unique formula provides a rich blend of Omega 3 fatty acids from Fish Oil, Flax Seed and Chia Seed combined with Paprika and Nutmeg. SmartDark & Handsome is not just for the boys – it’s great for mares, too. (We just couldn’t resist the name!)

Note for Competitive Riders: This product contains Paprika, which may contain trace amounts of Capsaicin.  

Have a horse of a different color? We recommend SmartShine Ultra.



Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartDark & Handsome® is rated 4.2994 out of 5 by 167.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results!! This stuff works great!! I have only used the one container so far, but have already seen great results. I used it on my 30 year old quarter horse who is a little slow to shed out and now he looks great!! His color looks fantastic!!!
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat Product I love this supplement! My 5 year old mare has always had a thick coat, and this winter when she was shedding out, her coat was dull and patchy and her skin was flaky underneath. I looked at many supplements and found this one for dark coats. I gave it a try and couldn't be happier! Her coat is shiny and her skin is healthy. I would highly recommend this!
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Smart" Purchase I purchased this for my black/bay Moriesian, Raven and I can't count the number of times someone at the barn has said "her coat looks GREAT", and you know, they're right. She is darker than usual and has a healthy shine. I don't think you'll be disappointed with this product, and she loves it too!
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart, Dark, and Handsome totally describes it! I put my gelding on this supplement about three months ago, and it works great! My black and white gelding usually fades out to an ugly brown/bay paint in the summer, but with this supplement, he has stayed a lovely shade of black throughout most of the spring. My gelding is in a stall during the scorching hours of the day, but he still goes out while it is still day light. I also like to show my horse, so looking his best is a must! This supplement is amazing! His coat is darker, smoother, and super shiny! He looks great! If you have a black horse and want to keep him that way, this is the supplement for you. I will say that you might get a TINY bit of bleaching on the hindquarters and should area if you have your horse on 24/7 pasture, but that is only minor. That can also be fixed with a UV protectant flysheet. Overall, I am very pleased with this product, and I will continue to buy it!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartDark & Handsome My horse really likes the taste of this product and I am most pleased with the results of his black/bay coloring - staying rich and dark.Highly recommend for those dark horses that turn brownish-red during the summer months.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far, so good! I have tried everything to keep my gelding as beautifully black in the summer as he is in the winter and spring. He has beeen on this supplement for about 2 months now, and he looks fabulous! I am still waiting to see how he looks at the end of June....that will be the real test! NO other supplement has worked this well so far, nor have fly sheets or sunscreen sprays. I am very hopeful he will look this good for the rest of the summer. His coat is not only black...its shiny, soft and dandruff free!!!! He doesn't love the taste, though. I have to add water so he eats it.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse would not eat it My horse would not eat this powder. I'm trying to get weight off of him so I didn't want to add sweet feed. Although, that probably would have worked. I tried using a little at a time and slowly adding more. But, he wouldn't touch it. I also tried using oil and he licked up the oil but left the supplement covered in oil. After nearly two months I just gave up. He can be red again this year.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rejected by my picky eater Smart Dark and Handsome is full of nutrients and appealed to me as a supplement for my horse Otis, but he left every drop of it in the bottom of the bucket whenever I added it to his grain. Maybe he didn't like the rather pungent aroma of it.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product but did have some issues I have been feeding this product for about 2 months now. I have seen a definite change in my horses coat. Its darker and feels really soft. I only had one problem. My horses wouldn't eat it! I had to get really creative to get her to eat it. I think it's because you have to feed so much of it. After awhile she ate it just fine. Other than that I love it!
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Even In Small Doses Even on a .25 dose this product has worked wonders on my horse! She is finally turning black again after only a few short weeks. I'm sure if I would have put her on a full dose I would've seen faster results... She had no problems eating it and her coat is beautiful now! It has the added perk of Omega3s and fish oil.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It The results were worth it!
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark and Handsome I put my TWH on the SmartPaks Dark & Handsome. It is taking a bit longer to work than I thought but it seems to be working.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I live in Florida and my horse is a dark bay. Needless to say, every summer he gets really really light (and even in the winter his coat bleaches some). When Smartpak came out with this, I was so excited!! And it totally surpassed my expectations!!! My horse's spring coat has grown in dark and shiny and he looks better than he ever has!
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish my horse liked it. My smart, dark and handsome horse will eat anything -- except this product! Maybe he's not as smart as I thought?Actually, he ate the first month's supply, but not the second month's supply. I wonder if there's a slight difference from batch to batch?
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wouldn't Touch It! I had my OTTB on this for a few months. She started out eating it and then as the months went on she began leaving it behind in her feed pan. I had it mixed with TC Complete, so something pretty sticky and she refused to eat it. I could see myself spending money on something she wouldn't eat, nor eat all of her grain. I switched her to SmartOmega3 and she looks amazing! Of course she is not as dark, but she is shiny, happy, and back to eating all of her food!
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from tried it for 6 months, my black horse is brown Had my horse on Black as Knight last winter and he was black ... switched him to Dark and Handsome late last summer and now he's brown. I thought at first it was his dead hair, but as he's shedding out his winter coat his hair under is brown. I'm moving back to Black as Knight and double dosing him ... hopefully I can get him caught back up to black before its too late.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellen Product A must have supplement for dark colored horses... nobody likes a faded coat!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just wish it was in pellets!! I body clipped my dark bay about two months ago and living in Alabama he got sun bleached really bad, I have been using this in my smartpak for about a month and he is significantly darker then before we started.My horse is very picky and while I trick him into eating most of it he very much dislikes powder so I wish it came in pellets!!
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from BE CAREFULLLLLL THIS IS ILLEGAL IF YOU ARE SHOWING I am very disapointed that I was never informed that there is paprika in it! I originally saw this advertisted by SmartPak in a mailing with a Hunter Show Horse, but it never mentioned that it has paprika in it, which is illegal by USEF. If you are showing, don't use this! Further after using it, I noticed only a little bit of a change. I don't normally give negative reviews, but I feel that there should be a disclaimer about the Paprika!
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingggggg My Gypsy Sport Horse is sooo shiny when he is on this! His black is so black and his white is so white! =)
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!!!! My mare came to me with almost no mane growing between her ears over her face and now shes growing mane and her current mane is coming in thicker than ever...shes so slick and shiny I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! and so affordable and my mare eats it right up!
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I KNEW my horse was a dark bay! My horse lives outside year round and during the summer months, he tends to get very sun-bleached and his coat lacks its usual sheen. I added SmartDark & Handsome to his SmartPaks and within a month he was already gaining some color back and starting to look dark bay again instead of buckskin! His coat looked nice and shiny too. (Also, who can resist the name?! =D)
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Still orange My black/bay horse has always turned orange in the sun when he is turned out during the day (winter). I started him on this product early fall and he has been on it all winter. I don't notice it preventing fading. He has always had a shiny coat anyway but he is not darker. The only thing that seems to help him is keeping him stalled during the day (summer). I have used other products and nothing works for him.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product!!! A little over one year ago I started my [then] new Swedish Warmblood, BLACk gelding, Ben, on 'Smart, Dark & Handsome. He had a very nice coat to begin with but with this product he positively gleams and he looks & feels like black satin.I love the auto-ship as well as the fact that I can order other items had have them delivered with my monthly SmartPak order for free.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not totally satisfied Yes, this product did help my horses coat have some more shine and make him "dark and handsome" yet it was not a full 28 days worth of supplements. I like the product, just don't appreciate only having 25 days of product.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.