Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

HyperKewl Cooling Vest

Item #19461
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Stay cool all summer long with the HyperKewl Cooling Vest!  A combination of unique fabrics creates a water management system to keep you cool regardless of temperature. The unique HyperKewl fabric absorbs, stores, and releases water within the multi-layered material. Water is "released" through evaporation, energy is consumed, and a chill effect is created. The HyperKewl fabric actually cools the body exactly the same way the body cools itself, through evaporation.

To activate the evaporative cooling vest, simply submerge the item in water for 1-2 minutes allowing the HyperKewl fabric to absorb the water. Gently squeeze out any excess water, wipe dry and the vest is ready to wear. The vest will remain activated for hours and can be re-hydrated by following these simple steps. The vest is meant to be worn over clothing and will feel damp to the touch.  Hand wash only.

Favorite Features

  • Fabric creates a water management system to keep you cool the same way your body cools itself, through evaporation
  • High mandarin collar for additional cooling relief
  • Provides sun protection
  • Front pockets with zipper closures
  • Fitted front seams and a gathered waist in the back for a flattering fit
  • Weight while the vest is wet is about 4 lbs.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    HyperKewl Cooling Vest is rated 4.0833 out of 5 by 24.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How did I ever live without this!! OK, I am not sure how I ever lived without this vest! I was able to get mine in black and when shows waive coats, I feel I still look good!! It does not leave you wet, you stay cool for hours and I think that is why I was able to get better scores at my last show. I rode two horses and 4 tests in 90 degree weather. I was tired, but not wilted. One poor girl passed out! I bought my husband one, since he helps me as a groom!! BEST BUY EVER. Photo is with the vest on! Smartpak should get the black!!
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Life Saver at Shows Good product, i dont know about durability since I have only had it for a month but I wore it at my last horse show and it was great. I like that it is tan instead of the other bright colors other cooling vests come in. Makes show days so much more bearable in August in the desert
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actually works! I got this vest for my birthday and tried it for the first time last weekend in 104 heat. It worked great for about 3 hours and slowly started evaporating after that. But, the first few hours were amazing! It actually kept me from getting overheated, like I normally would in the heat, and I could really feel it cooling against my skin. It is a little heavy at first, but it's not much heavier than a winter puffy vest. I wear a size 4/small usually and this vest fit great. Slightly loose, which is good because it allows air flow. I would definitely recommend this if you have to be out in the heat!
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from must have!!! I absolutely love my jacket except it's not very attractive, but will keep you cool. It's very durable and can last a long time just maintain it and don't put it in chlorine to get it wet. GET THIS YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't find one to fit I wear a lot of Lands' End and LL Bean clothes. Pants / shorts in size 6 or 8, shirts, jackets and vests in size small. I received the HyperKewl vest in size small as a gift. I could get it on but it was uncomfortably tight in the hips. I exchanged it for a medium which fit in the hips but was much too big everywhere esle, so the medium was returned as well. This vest is for women with a straight, slim hip build. It appeared well made; I think I would have liked it if it had fit. The friend that gave it to me loves hers for hot weather riding.
    Date published: 2011-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow- it really works! After living on the coast all my life and then a move to a hotter climate, I had trouble dealing with the 100+ temps. My husband bought me this vest to hopefully "keep the wife happy". To my surprise, it really works! it is a bit heavy but once it's on but once you feel how much cooler it makes you feel, it won't matter. The vest stays cool for at least a couple hours. It will make your clothes a bit damp. I've only had it a month or two so don't know it's true durability yet.
    Date published: 2011-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This vest is a lifesaver! Temperatures in Texas have been over 100 degrees for 30 days, with no relief in sight. The HyperKewl cooling vest has enabled me to continue to ride my horse in spite of the oppressive heat.To increase the cooling power, I have placed frozen ice packs in the folded vest until just before riding.The weight of the fully loaded vest is a little disconcerting when you first put it on but I don't notice it after a few minutes.I have shared this vest with others and they are amazed at the cooling sensation it provides.It has been a lifesaver.
    Date published: 2011-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a well made product The Hyperkewl vest does keep you relatively cool.However it is a bit heavy on my shoulders and does move around when I ride in it. It is good when I am working out in the barn it keeps my body temp down. I wear it when I am walking and basic warm up on my horse and then take it off. It does keep me cool when I am teaching in the sun.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Vest! I bought this vest because I don't handle the heat well. I used it at a two day show this past weekend and it did great. The fit is good. My measurements weren't right on with the ones given. The bust and hips were about my size, but the waist was 2-3 inches too small. I order it anyway, and had no problem with it fitting. There is a little elastic in the back so it had some give.The best way I found for this vest to work is to dunk it in ice water. So, you have a cool vest to put on, and then the evaporating effects help too.This vest does not work in extreme humidity. It was in the upper 80s and then it poured down rain for an hour, so the air was very, very thick. It does work in mild to mid humidity. I live in NC, so I know about humidity. This was my biggest concern before buying this vest. I still recommend it though because it works when its still humid, but not at 100% humidity. You do get a little wet from the vest, but no more than what you would from sweat. I have the kerrits ventilator jersey (listed under the products I recommend) and its a moisture wicking material and I stayed dry.The vest looks great on too, I had someone come up to me and tell me how professional it looked. They were surprised when I told them it was a cooling vest.I actually bought my vest at a different site because they had the exact vest in black and I wanted black for the dressage arena. I wish Smartpak carried it in black.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HyperKewl is Hyper Cool! I have a hyper sensitivity to heat and I love the outdoors and my horses. It makes it tough for me in the Mid-Western Summer heat when the humidity drives the temps up. I usually have to go scurrying in before I get sick and blistered (heat rash), and easily contract het stroke if I am not extra cautious. Not with the HyperKewl vest. I found it fit perfect. No strange couture sizing. It is well made, durable, stylish, and incredibly holds the cooling water for hours of comfort even against triple digit temperatures. I spent 4 hours in 100 degrees at the ferriers the other day and did not break a sweat! It was still ready for more hours of comfort. Thank you HyperKewl! Where have you been all my life?
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cooling for 1-2 hours Works great and really keeps me cool for about 1-2 hours. then it dries out and have to be submerged in the water for another 2-3 minutes to reactivate. Highly recommend! I like this better than Cool Medics – more flattering fit and it's less expensive as well.
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY PLEASED I live in Oklahoma and we have very hot summers with 100+ temps for extended periods of time. I don't do well in the heat. My sister was coming from NM for a visit so I ordered 2 of these. We rode one day before the vests arrived for 1.5 hrs in the morning and she was throwing up from the heat. The vests arrived the next day and the next morning we rode for 4 hours and it was 95 when we got back to camp. We could have ridden longer but the horses were getting hot. My friends are going to order them now. I was really happy about a lower priced vest that I could afford and it works well. And they fit well too. It is a little heavy when wet and your shirt does get moist but oh to be able to enjoy riding and not have to quit due to temperture. Thank you for selling this product!
    Date published: 2011-07-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from hyperkewl vest fell apart on first ride I bought this vest for horseback riding in the heat. It does keep you cool, but the pocket and seam stitching fell apart on the first ride. The zipper is cheap and broke already. The seam tape is poorly stitched. I have since seen the Cool Vest, they are thicker and much better made.
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK but wet one of the things they need to not in the advertising is that you need to plan an getting wet, because it uses water vapor to cool you. Would not recommend.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works!!! I ordered this during the 12 Deals in December. I have medical problem that makes riding in the heat difficult.I just started wearing it this spring and it really does work. I tested by riding 1/2 my lesson without vest and other 1/2 with vest on. With the vest was definitely more comfortable.Weight of wet vest takes a little to get used to, but definitely worth it.I read that the fit runs small, so I ordered a medium. It's too big for me. I'm ordering a small and my friend is buying my medium.Cheers to cooler riding!!!!
    Date published: 2011-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Summer Riding This is a great product for hot, humid, summer riding days. It's very easy to use, just soak the vest for a minute or two in cold water, squeeze out the extra water, and you're ready to go. With this vest, summer riding is so much more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in a hot, humid location.
    Date published: 2011-03-27
    • 2015-03-04T07:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
    • loc_en_US, sid_9461, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.