Product Image

SOURCE

SOURCE
- Item #10093
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

SOURCE is an extremely broad spectrum horse supplement with at least 60 elements and their associated micronutrient compounds in a biologically active form. SOURCE contains small amounts of naturally occurring vitamins (14), the 14 currently recognized "essential trace elements", the 21 trace elements now under special consideration with respect to essentiality, plus other unidentified associative factors whose role in nutrition has not yet been established.

SOURCE contains a proprietary blend of Pure Dehydrated Seaweed Meals...and nothing else! All-natural, concentrated herbs of the ocean. 

View our Mineral Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SOURCE is rated 4.785 out of 5 by 107.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I don't know why I didn't try this product sooner. I had been using the industry standard for my horse's hooves and wasn't really seeing much of a result. My farrier had great things to say about this product, so i decided to give it a try. My horse's hooves are stronger, his coat is brilliant. Overall amazing product, a simple solution for a variety of coat and skin conditions, or an all inclusive dietary supplement.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not What I expected I had heard and read raving reviews for Source. All about how it improved horses health and overall general appearance. I had both my horses on it for 2-3 months and never noticed a difference. Most supplements you can see differences within 2 months, but not with this and the palatibility was poor, had to wet my horse's feed down in order for them to eat it. I am going to try Vita Plus instead. :(
    Date published: 2012-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I always use Source on all my horses, all ages, all breeds, performance horses or not. Seems like they always have nice coats, good feet and excellent energy levels.
    Date published: 2012-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely Helpful!! For about six months, I had been unhappy with my horse's coat, and after doing some natural health research, came across SOURCE and decided to try it... My Quarab mare's spring coat came in with a dazzling sheen and I have never seen her look this good... wow!!I switched over to the pellets with my last shipment since I can't add powder to her pelleted feed, she won't touch it, but the product is great if you can get it into their system :D
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product A year a ago I decided to take my 10 YO TB M off of grain and to pull her shoes. As soon as I pulled her shoes, she was foot sore/lame. I started her on MVP multi vite, Source and Grand Hoof. A year later she goes for trail rides through the rocky northern Rhode Island woods, walks on pavement barefoot, and the vet said that her feet are "rock hard". Her feet are now a dark ebony color,. She is not crazy about the taste of Source, she made the flip lip up face the first time I gave it to her,I have since changed to Source Focus HF, so she can get her hoof stuff and source in one shot.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love I absolutely love this product my horse is much more bright eyed, the new coat that is coming in is very shiny and healthy looking, it made a big difference for his skin, its no longer flaky and itchy and his hair grows much faster. He has no problem eating it, well he never was a picky eater, I'm definitely recommending this product to anyone who hasn't tried it yet.
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I have all three of my horses on this after I read that abcesses can be linked to low levels of iodine. Last winter I had one horse who had 6 weeks off due to an abcess. This year they are all fine. It may be the source and it may not but its a great product and cant hurt.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Healthier Horses! We noticed our ASB getting somewhat dull and had some white-hairs popping up. Some people said it could be from a copper deficiency, but whatever it was that he was not getting from the pasture and his grain, he got from Source! His white hairs were gone, and his coat gleamed better than ever. My friend started using it on her pasture-pet horses with bad hooves and their hooves started getting noticeably stronger, and healthier looking. This is a great all-around supplement! Not for picky eaters though!!
    Date published: 2012-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for over 20 years LOVE Source!! I have used this product since I was in single digits. WHere I used to take lessons as a child, they had their horses on it. I went to another place for lesson, they used. Ever horse I have owned, every customer I have had, I put on Source. It equals out the vitamins that are missed by the hay/grass/grain. Health coat, health mane/tail, gleam in the hrose's eye. I can NOT say enough about this product
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seemed like a good idea My Pinto got a nasty sunburn this past summer and so I went to the web for an answer...one person mentioned that their horse's tendency to sunburn went away when she started using Source. So, I decided to try it. He has not sunburned again but I also purchased a fly sheet with a neck cover and he has now grown in his winter coat...it seems to have helped create a more luxurious coat than he had last year, which was the first winter I had him. I also give him flax or coconut supplements so they could be helping the coat to. At any rate it's not expensive so I'll keep him on it and see what happens next summer.
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My gelding has been on Source for two shipments. I haven't noticed a huge difference yet. I heard that Source is very effective on hoof quality, but I haven't seen notable results yet. I like that he's getting all of the micronutrient's in a palatable, easily fed manner. I have high hopes for this product.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING product My mare came back to us from a lease with her coat bleached and her skin broken out from her severe fly allergy (as she had been left uncovered). I was heartbroken to see her in such condition. I added Source and within days everything began to clear up and within 2 weeks she was pretty much back to normal. It's a wonder supplement. And at such an affordable price, you can't afford NOT to add it to your supplement plan. LOVE it.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! One of my horses seems to have a problem with sores developing on his front fetlocks every year in the fall and winter. I don't know what causes it, but everything I've tried to heal them up seems to work at first, then the sores come back - same place every time. If I use the same product to heal them up again, it doesn't work - I have to use something else. The sores came back again this year and I started feeding Original Source along with using stuff directly on the sores. They healed up and I quit using stuff on the sores. They are still healed up so far! I hope this trend continues! Time will tell if Source does the trick for him in keeping these sores from coming back at all. He eats it right up - as well as one of my mares.However, my other mare has decided that she will not eat any more powder at all. Not even the powder that forms from handling her pelleted feed that she loves! So, I've switched to the Source pellets instead - she eats those without any problem at all.
    Date published: 2011-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! I would Deffinately recommend this to anyone who wants a basic supplement. Puts a gleem on their coats and they seem more alert and bright eyed. Deffinately a great product
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would not reccomend the powder form of these vitamins to a picky eater. I love the SOURCE micronuggets!!!
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I've been using Source for years, really makes a difference in my horse's coat, feet, and overall health.
    Date published: 2011-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SOURCE I got this for my 22 year old QH who was just not looking as good as I would have liked. He grew a very long winter coat last year and would not shed out completely. In June he still had long hair on his neck and legs.I added SOURCE in July and within two weeks he was shedding like crazy. He has now lost almost all of the long, nasty hair, is shiny again and beginning to get dapples on his back and barrel. He has some nice, new hoof growth and his crusty, watery eye crud has improved. Overall, he looks like a new horse.I'm very impressed with the results of this product. Adding SOURCE to my horse's smartpak is the only change I have made, so I can only attribute his improvement to adding this. I will definately keep him on SOURCE after seeing the improvement in his condition and I'm starting my younger horse on it as well. The reasonable price is a nice added bonus, too!
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Source - my favorite supplement Ive fed source to numerous hunter/jumpers and AQHA all-around horses over the past 15 years. Within 6 weeks their coats completely dapple out and Im always complemented on how shiny my horses are. Ive also luckily never had a horse colic on me. I really believe adding kelp to the diet (including mine) helps horse and human be healthy from the inside out. I like to combine it with pro-biotics as way of keeping everything running at optimum internal performance especially for horses exposed to stressful training or showing conditions. Ive never had a horse refuse to eat Source when top dressed on their daily feed.
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from TB lloks great! I started giving my TB source and Grand Hoof to improve her poor feet. She has only been on these sups for a few weeks, so no real change in her feet. However her coat is amazing! Her color is more intense, even her white socks seem whiter, and her coat is shiney and soft
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Supplement I have used Source for more than 25 years on all types of horses.The overall health of the animal can easily be seen in the coat, hooves and the lack of vet bills. It genuinely makes a difference.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have 6 horses (including a mini) on source. All are in blooming health with shining coats and I have noticed the manure is no longer being picked through by the birds. It really is an economical supplement that affords confidence that my horses are getting those extra nutrients.
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Supplement for General Health I've used Source for my horses for over 30 years now. It helps grown strong hooves, and it does lend a shine to their coats, although it is not a coat supplement. I can tell a difference if I run out of Source and they are off of it for a few weeks. I've tried one or two other supplements at one time or another, and nothing impresses me as much as Source.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Probably good ingredients if they will eat it. Only 1 of my 4 horses would eat it and he will eat anything. Its a very fine powder which didn't work well for feeding outside horses.Other than that - it may be a very good product nutritionally - it sounded good. I just couldn't get them to eat it.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have been using source for many years. Was recommended by my vet in California. Some horses are challenged by the taste, but they get used to it.
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Positive Results My OTTB has been on Source for 2 yrs. I adopted him right off the track and he has gone through many lifestyle transitions in our time together. I immediately supplemented with Source upon adoption. Through it all he has transitioned like the champion he is and I believe Source has been a major component. He has a beautiful coat, healthy bare feet, winning temperament and sparkling eyes. I would say it is a great addition to a balanced diet for a horse.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Have used Source for many years and the always see results within 2 weeks. Horses look better and utilize their feed better. Really works!!
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.