Product Image

SOURCE

SOURCE
- Item #10093
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

SOURCE is an extremely broad spectrum horse supplement with at least 60 elements and their associated micronutrient compounds in a biologically active form. SOURCE contains small amounts of naturally occurring vitamins (14), the 14 currently recognized "essential trace elements", the 21 trace elements now under special consideration with respect to essentiality, plus other unidentified associative factors whose role in nutrition has not yet been established.

SOURCE contains a proprietary blend of Pure Dehydrated Seaweed Meals...and nothing else! All-natural, concentrated herbs of the ocean. 

View our Mineral Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SOURCE is rated 4.785 out of 5 by 107.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I have been using this for year on end. Every horse I have own in the 30+ years I have been riding, has been put on Source. Just an great, all around supplement. Give it a chance to work, and you won't be disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mineral Supply Tom Mayes works on my horses and he swears by this supplement. In the winter there isn't enough fresh grass to make sure the horses get enough minerals. This supplement is also much cheaper through smartpak which I love.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Necessity for me I've used Source original for years in addition to a balanced vitamin and mineral supplement. I use it primarily for the iodine content but it also seems to give that extra "oomph" the horses need to truly shine and be healthy. I would never use this as a sole supplement though because the levels of vitamins and minerals is neglible. I've called the company to inquire on levels and have been told there is nothing guaranteed, but there are minor traces of many different elements. But I do think it helps as a source of naturally occuring iodine.
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Supplement Available I have used Source for over 15 years, I wouldn't be without it. We discontinued it once a few years ago and noticed the birds picking at all the horse droppings. They were picking out hay and grain! We restarted the Source and the birds disappeared, proving that Source helps your horse get all the nutrients out of his food. Our horses have shiny coats, soft manes and tails, and strong, durable feet. I think that if you give your horse ONE supplement, it should be Source!
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! My horse loves this supplement! It helps keep him healthy and he loves the taste. This is a great supp. for horses that don't get pasture in the winter, or pasture at all. I'm West Coast and my horses get turnouts as often as possible so we primarily use Source in the winter.
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure if it's doing what I want My trainer suggested adding source since my horse was eating manure out in his turnout. He has plenty of hay so not related to hunger. He is still eating manure so may take a little longer.
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The one supplement my horse will never be without. A vet recommend this to me several years ago, she said she got a much nicer coat on her Appaloosas when she used it regularly. I ordered a small container to see if my picky mare would like it. The results were great, they all ate it, it helped put weight on my rescue Arabian and shined up my yearlings coat like you wouldn't believe.I have used it on my Arab mare for almost her entire life, she is in beautiful condition, has a great coat and feet and a wonderful disposition. She reacts badly to grain and is on a high fat forage based diet. I definitely feel this supplement helps bring a horse to their full potential.My friends keep asking why my horses look so great and I really feel the Source is a big part of that, We go through less feed when they are on this supplement as well, which is a bonus.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable "Source" for minerals Food-based supplementation is better for both humans and horses. Source is a great way to ensure that my boy has a natural, non-synthetic, and affordable mineral supplement in his pan every day.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prettier Healthier Horses in No Time You will see a shiner, healthier looking horse in less than a month with this product! Hooves are great!! Better utilization of feed so feel great about that!! So Economical and just good sense horse ownership....
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I am not sure how it is working as its only been a couple weeks but wanted to say that it is very palatable as my horse ate it the very first day it was on his feed with out even a hesitation.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Want a Healthier OTTB? Here's the Source! I own fleshy, plump and even fat racehorses and ex-racehorses. From their young years on the track to their 20's and even one into her 30's, I take pride in seeing them in good weight, strong hooves, shiney coats and gleaming eyes. And when we get a new horse missing those elements, they go on Source.,I was introduced to this product by word of mouth from friends who ride their horses long and hard over challenging terrain (competitive distance). I was truly a skeptic when it came to suppliments, and aside from a little join suppliment here and there for arthritic older jointed horses, I figured a good healthy well balanced feed plan was good enough, and if they were ribby just feed them more. Then my standardbred mare approached her 30's and I sadly saw her drop weight, coat condition and vitality. Despite aggressive deworming, frequent teeth floating, good shoeing, beet pulp soaking, oil in her diet, she was still missing something.,Based on my friend's suggestion, I read reviews, read more reviews, searched for discussions, and then decided for the pennies a day it would cost, I took the Source money back guarantee to heart and bought a pail. To say the least my mare not only improved but surpassed anything I had seen in her in a very long time. She soon looked half her age, playing in the field, riding with vitality, and feeling her throw a feel-good buck left me laughing in the saddle. Her coat grew soft and shiney, her hooves thick and glossy, her ribs covered again, hips and chest filling back in, her mane and tail like strands of silk. Even the many greys in there gleamed. And best of all, my super-picky old girl ate this suppliment without a fuss! I wish I could attach a photo to show what she looked like in her 30's! Without a doubt, Source helped her get the most out of her good diet and provided things that were missing.,With her improving so much, I started feeding it to my other standardbred mare. She was approaching 20, and while she was in good weight I also saw changes in her. Her dark bay coat use to fade, mane and tail bleached at the tips, now her hair turned inky black, and looked wet in the sun. Her good hooves became even harder, with a ring separating the new growth and new hoof leaving my farrier sweating to trim. I had to cut her feed back to just a scoop of pellets a day, as she was approaching too fluffy on the weight scale. And another thing I noticed was an absence; neither mare got the seasonal sniffles or allergies anymore.,Shortly after my mare passed at 32, a quiet aneurysm out in the pasture, I decided to keep one of our thoroughbreds as my next riding horse. At 4, she had a lean racer body, decent coat and two white feet. Having always worn shoes, I was not sure if Source could overcome the thoroughbred comminality of thin flakey hoof walls, but we were going to try it! Not only has she been barefoot since she came off the track, but we easily ride over rocks, roads, water and inclines. She is a gleaming bright red chestnut, with a mane of vibrant red-orange flame and a dark red chestnut long thick tail. Her little white ankles gleam like socks above two very solid, strong white hooves. Her eyes are bright, coat dappled and very good weight all over her body.,I've since fed this to young horses, old horses, thin horses, inbetween horses and all have benefitted, showing better weight, hooves and coats. Give it a try. I have also used the Focus WT by Source on horses that come right off the track and have a sudden significant weight drop. The additional probiotics and digestive enzymes certainly helped in those cases as well, so I can also recommend that for the very hard keepers. Source has a money back guarantee on all their products, but I've never known anyone who had to use it! :)
    Date published: 2011-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Bang for your Buck!! After hearing from at least two people in a short time frame discuss the wonderful results they had gotten from using Source for years and how it was a must have for their feeding program...I began researching it myself and read many many reviews. Since adding Source.....My horses have maintained wonderful bloom and I have been able to feed less grain, because their bodies better utilize their grain and helps to compensate for our sometimes deficient pastures and soils. Source is wonderful...hooves are better, haircoat is nice, and they seem healthier. I don't worry so much about my horses getting the very basic trace elements they need and Source provides those and then some.....You won't be disappointed!!!
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good... I have a very itchy horse with chronic skin allergies. I THINK this product is helping - I am normally very skeptical about supplements, but I decided to try this (along with MSM) and a month later this horse is much less itchy and does not have hives. I will continue to use it since there definitely is an improvement.
    Date published: 2010-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product - been using Source for years My farrier originally asked for my gelding to be given Source ~6 years ago. His hoof wall was not very solid & she wanted him to get a hoof supplement.He's been getting the standard Source for years. Eats it in his grain with no question - never reacted negatively to the taste. My farrier noticed a difference within a month or so - and his feet have maintained nicely over the years.Bucket lasts for ~6months, giving 1 scoop a day.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft and Shiny Coat I bought SOURCE for my 23 year old Arabian mare in February 2010. SOURCE has made her liver chestnut coat, mane, and tail softer and shinier. It has also brought out her dapples. She doesn't like the taste but her pasture-mate loves it. She'll eat it if I mix it with her grain and water, though. I like knowing that she's getting important micro-nutrients for such a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved my horse's coat Don't know how this product works, but within 2 weeks, my horse's coat took on a shine that is amazing. I have used it over the last 25 years on different breeds and seen the same result wtih each.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Horse Needed It... In an attempt to boost my horse's immune system against allergies, I gave this product a try. Upon opening the container, I was a bit concerned that my horse wouldn't eat it due to it's strong smell. However, I put a scoop straight into his otherwise empty feed bucket and he gobbled it right up, turning to me (and the container) and wanting more after licking his bucket clean. Since he's been on it he has stopped coughing during warmup and his bumpy, irritated skin cleared up. A great product!
    Date published: 2010-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from source is such a bargain I have been using this product since 1975 or there abouts. All of my horses have been healthy and it makes me feel like I am covering the nutrition bases for micro nutrients with out overdosing.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All horses need SOURCE! SOURCE is amazing. I have used it for about 2 years now. The first time I tried it was July of 2008 on my aged (23yo) Thoroughbred gelding. He started dropping weight, was not "himself" and his age started to show. I put him on SOURCE and within a month he was back to his same self again. His weight picked up, his temperament became young and playful again, his hooves and coat improved...it just seemed to help everything about him. I now have my two current TBs on it, and they look incredible. There's no need for hoof supplements, coat enhancers, or calmers when you have SOURCE in their diet. It doesn't smell the best, but my horses have all cleaned their buckets time and time again--so the taste must not be too bad at all. Highly, HIGHLY recommend SOURCE for a happy horse!
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long-term user My farrier asked that I feed Source to my horse starting years ago when I first switched to her. I was unhappy with the previous farrier's work & his hooves were not very strong. It's designed to strengthen their hooves. His feet have kept nice over the years since I started using it.He has no problem eating it. I mix it with his bran and other supplements & he eats it happily - which is nice since my horse is a picky eater!Cost & availability can vary at our local tack shops (so I try to plan ahead to order it), but luckily the container I get lasts for about 6 months. I feed 1 scoop per feeding (about 4-5 times a week).No complaints. :)
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff I have a belgian/cross and a paso fino on Source. I decided to try it several years ago and have had great results. My horses get fat on half the grain of what the horse feed bag recommends so this supplement rounds out their needs. Their coats are so shiny in the spring and it is very economical to feed.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If You Feed Only One Supplement Feed Source. I've fed it ever since I bought my first horse. Improved their coats, manes and tails texture, made hoofs shine. And that was just the outside. My moody mare seemed calmer and more interested in her work. My once- starved rescue horse has a shiny, iridescent dappled coat, and my black horse looks wonderful- his coat feels like black satin and all my horses' feet have a great natural shine. They all eat it with no leftovers. It's the closest thing to a full-spectrum multivitamin for horses with many of the micronutrients they need.
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Supplement I Use I mix this in with my horses' sweet feed and they don't even notice it. Their coats are absolutely beautiful year round, manes and tails long and luxurious, feet are healthy and they are full of energy.
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have a 29 year old Tn Walker and used to keep him on Source all the time but changed to another product and he still had issues so I and just placed him back on it and he just feels better after 6 days already since he is getting what his body and hoofs need. He is a real picky about eating supplements in his feed but he likes Source's taste I assume as he eats right up every time. Great Product
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best supplement ever! We have used this product for many years with all our horses and it's amazing. I am an herbalist by trade and find this product very natural and excellent for all our horses. Vet even remarked at how healthy and beautiful our animals are and I credited it to this supplement and she agreed. Well worth the price as a little goes a long way and it's value in a healthy horse is beyond price.
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY MOTHER AND I SWEAR BY THIS PRODUCT! Just good ol' Source is the best product anyone could ever invest in!!!! Are your horse’s hooves cracking or throwing shoes? Put them on just regular Source nothing fancy and in a year (a horse’s hoof wall takes 6 to 12 months to grow out from the Coronet band and be a completely new hoof) your horse’s hooves will take a turn for the better. This is said by a farrier of 24 years. Need a shiner coat Source will make them look like that show horse again! Source will help horses with many issues because it helps them use Minerals and Vitamins they are already receiving in feed. Please look at Sources website to learn more about the process that makes this product so great!!Thank you for reading and good luck!!
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.