Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

The Cantering Chef Horse Treats

SmartPak
- Item #19141
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Cantering Chef has baked up something unique for your horse! His tasty horse cookies combine the freshest natural ingredients, including scrumptious rolled oats and molasses. Choose from three delicious flavors:

  • Blackberry Vanilla - flavored with natural blackberry flavor and pure vanilla extract
  • Apple Cinnamon Raisin - flavored with natural apple flavor, cinnamon and raisins
  • Peppermint Crush - flavored with peppermint oil
  • Banana Blast - flavored with natural banana flavor
These oven-baked goodies make the perfect bite-sized rewards. They've been tested and approved by our own horses and ponies, so your horse is sure to love them!

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Cantering Chef Horse Treats is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pony tested and approved My horse loves these cookies. They look and smell yummy. They are a little expensive but I only give them occasionally.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive These seem to be more for people to buy then for horses to eat. Smell very vanilla and my horse ate them but not as interested. She would rather eat a carrot and those are way cheaper and healthier, even if organic.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved them Blue and all his barn buddies loved them. I had all 25 horses at my barn try them and they all took seconds.
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMY! These smell so good that you would think that someone made them homemade for human consumption. I bought these in two different flavors and they look like a cookie baked in the oven. My horse goes nuts when she hears me open the bag as she gobbles them up in seconds. A great treat that isn't messy in your hands.
    Date published: 2012-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He loves 'em! I got a bag of these and I am so glad that I did! Count, my OTTB, absolutely loves them! At first, he was not sure, as he is used to his Horse Nibbles and the usual carrots and apples that he is given. However, after that first bite, he cannot get enough of these awesome treats, which by the way, I think look good enough to eat too. I will let him have them though! Anyway, these are a keeper for him. Thank you again Smart Pak for offering something wonderful!
    Date published: 2012-07-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for me! I was really excited to try these I love to give them different horse cookies -- but alas my mare would have none of them. They smell amazing, but they are really hard, (we tried to taste them ourselves and about broke our teeth!). Wound up giving them away and they were gobbled up! Not sure, have a picky eater though...
    Date published: 2012-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smell good They smelled good and I thought they would be perfect for my oh so picky mini mare... well she kind of tolerates them. They are very hard though! Can't easily break it and she seems to have a hard time chewing them..won't buy again
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One horse loves them, the other does not. My paint spits these out every time which is weird because he likes other peppermint treats, but my TB loves them.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Treat Nice little snack for my horse. He is obsessed with peppermint, so it was a hit. I like the size of the pieces. They make using them for "carrot stretches" a breeze. Plus you can break them even smaller for teeny ponies if needed.
    Date published: 2012-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Tasty These treats look and smell delicious! My horse loves these treats. I bought the apple ones and all the horses in the barn beg for them!
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from horses loved them all of the horses just loved these cookies and begged for more!
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great cookies My horses love these cookies. They are bite size, and smell fantastic. Even my dog likes them!
    Date published: 2012-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome My boys go nuts for these.Even my dog likes them.
    Date published: 2011-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE these! I recently bought the Paddock Cakes, and was VERY disappointed in them, so Smartpak sent me these treats as a gift. I LOVE them! You get SO much more treats for the price! I LOVE,LOVE,LOVE!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Horses LOVE these treats and the aroma is fabulous.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy Treats Our ponies liked these treats. Bug was a little sceptical on the first one but that didn't last long. Unfortunately, the goat likes them too so tack trunks need to stay closed or she is known to take the treats and run.
    Date published: 2011-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from yum yum cookies my horses love these cookie. they give them 5 stars
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Purchased these horsey treats for the first time. The horses went crazy over them. Thanks Smartpak for bringing them to us.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bland cookie My horse loves almost all cookies and he turned his nose up at these. They don't even look or smell good. They were inexpensive so I can't really complain but I won't order them again.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from "Most" of the horses loved them! These treats were a hit with almost all the horses at my barn, but not so much with me, the owner. Smelled delicious and great size. I wish they were a 'crunchy' cookie. The face they are chewy, I noticed some of the over-eager horses ended up swallowing them whole, which makes me nervous. Ending up feeding them only to the horses I trust to chew and not choke.
    Date published: 2011-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love these!! My horses go absolutely crazy for these treats. Got the peppermint ones as a sample at an event. They are a bit pricey I think so I use for a special reward. I like that the peppermint smell is not too strong. Will buy again.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Zack likes these! Zack got these cookies as a birthday gift. Being a finicky older TB, I wondered how he would like them. Zacks loves these and the fact that they don't crumble, means he gets all the cookie and my dog is not eating the crumbs. Great treat!
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best treats ever! My three horses went crazy over these treats.They are pretty spoiled,and get lots of different treats,and I have to say these are some of their favorites.They have had all three flavors and LOVE them all.Way to go as usual,Smart Pak!I honestly can say you are by far the best company I have ever dealt with, and I have had horses for over 40 years.
    Date published: 2011-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Treats They smell great and don't crumble. I'm not a huge treat fanatic, my horse is just as happy with an apple and will eat anything so I guess I just splurged on these becuase they sounded so good. I got the blackberry vanilla and they smelled so good too, the packaging was nice and would be great to give as a gift. Everyone in my barn happily ate them
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spoiled Rotten! I got two bags of these treats, vanilla blackberry and apple. When you open the bag, lower your head and smell the treats. A big smile will come across your face. They smell so good and I was tempted to try one. My horse loves both kinds! Needless to say, these are going on autoship with my supplements. Spoiled horse but I love him so much.
    Date published: 2011-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE Best Treats Ever!!!! My horse goes absolutely CRAZY for these treats!!! They are so yummy, healthy, and smell absolutely delicious!! I got the Blackberry/Vanilla and the Apple/Cinnamon and while he really loves both of them a full head and shoulders above the rest, the Blackberry/Vanilla is his favorite. I've shared some of my treats with some of the other boarders and they all confirmed that their horses love it too. Somewhat expensive? Yes. But totally worth it? Absolutely!
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Treats !! My horses went crazy over these treats.They smelled great, and I loved the packaging.I bought the blackberry.cannot wait to try the other flavors.Buy these treats.you will not be sorry. I wonder what I did before SmartPak.Great products and the BEST customer service ever!
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a winner I didn't like the texture of this treat at all. It was alot like a hocky puck. Very rubbery and very hard. My mare is 27 and has some teeth issues so that might be part of why this one didn't work for her, but I even put it in boiling water to try to soften it up with no luck. I also like treats you can break apart to make them smaller and there was no way that was possiable.
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a winner This treat smelled really good, but the texture is that of a hocky puck. Too hard and very rubber like. I even tried boiling it to soften it up and it hardly had any effect on it. Will not be buying it again.
    Date published: 2011-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a new yummy treat to try So I'm always in search of a new treat that is both yummy and nutritious. Looks like I found it. Though my horse eats just about anything, he gobbled up the blackberry vanilla treats nicely. Crunchy treats too so I feel like they're better for his teeth than some of the soft ones. I like the size of the package available, and an excellent price too.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    • 2015-03-05T07:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_73
    • loc_en_US, sid_9141, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.