Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Fresh Helmet Sack

Item #18998

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Have you ever gotten to the barn only to find that your helmet is still wet from the last time you rode? Even worse, there's that smell! Well we found the solution!

Designed by experienced riders, the Fresh Helmet Sack eliminates that musty, moldy helmet smell. Activated carbon neutralizes odors caused by everyday use and perspiration, rather than simply masking them. A desiccant helps sweat and perspiration dry quicker and more completely. Just toss it in your helmet after each ride and you'll find a fresher, drier helmet next time you ride!

Your helmet is an investment and the Helmet Sack is a great way to help prolong it's life.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Fresh Helmet Sack is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 40.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps to keep my helmet smelling fresh between rides.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO MORE SMELLY HELMET! Over night my helmet smelled so much better. I used this and put my helmet outside over night and there was zero stinky-ness the next morning. I will be ordering more!
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from in the battle of the smelly helmet I sweat a lot in my helmet and was ready to pitch it and then saw this fresh mineral bag and also bought the stick on liners. This definitely absorbs moisture which helps with the odor. I recommend this along with the disposable liners to really cover all bases.
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! The fresh helmet sack really takes the moisture out of the inside of a helmet. The helmet is dry the next day, a real pleasure. I haven't had it long enough to test durability, but it comes with instructions on rejuvenating it in the microwave.
    Date published: 2012-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was skeptical But it dries my helmet in just a few hours and keeps it smelling fresh!
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from absorbs sweat I have issues with my helmet. My head sweats a lot, my Ovation helmet doesn't breath, gets wet then stinks to high heavens. I tried a spray and washing the liner but probably will end up buying a new helmet anyway. This does dry out the helmet but mine is probably too far gone to make a difference in the smell to be honest. I do recommend it and wish I had this from the start as then maybe I would be on top of the smell issue.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep it fresh! Nifty little pouch, and effective! No more damp helmet, I toss this in after riding. We've had such a hot summer, but my helmet is still fresh for each ride.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I never thought this would work, but WOW no more stinky helmet and it's dry everytime.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Small and doesn't work I felt like this product should be larger (it's about the palm of your hand) to work better, and it does absorb some sweat from my helmet... but not enough. After 24-48 hours helmet is still sweaty both in and out of the bag with the fresh helmet sack in it.I do keep my helmet in the trunk and yes it's very hot in Texas so wet helmets are a thing, but I have noticed no difference in odor or dryness. Would not buy.
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review Update I finally took the sack home to "regenerate" in the microwave and found that the sack holding the desiccant is thin and had a couple of hole where the desiccant was leaking out. Luckily a little duct tape fixed it right up! Just be careful about handling it outside the cover because it can rip fairly easily. I still recommend it as it really seems to help dry out my helmet.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't hurt, might help! Even though I live in a very dry climate in the summer, I want to take care of my gear. This helps dry out my helmet, and I can just toss it in when I am done riding. Combined with the Charles Owen cleaning and deodorizing products, my helmet will stay fresh and dry!
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didnt Help w/ the Odor I was looking to buy this to use as a deodorizer, but I didn't notice even a slight difference in the odor of my helmet. Maybe if you used this w/ a brand new helmet instead of one that already has that helmet smell it would work better. Though it did not help w/ the odor, it did seem to keep my helmet a little less damp.
    Date published: 2012-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! So far it really has helped my helmet dry. Usually my helmet is wet the next day, but lately my helmet is nice and dry when I put it on. Not sure if it is helping with the odor, but my lining is washable, so I don't worry about it. I just hate putting on a moist helmet - living in the humid south things don't dry very well. Of course we haven't hit the hottest part of the year, but I think this is worth it to at least get some of the moisture out of my helmet.
    Date published: 2012-05-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't notice a difference Honestly didn't notice a difference with use of product.
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh Helmet I was Looking for something like this - thank you smartpak ! so far it's working great-but my helmet was pretty smelly, so I still have a little smell going on .
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really works! I was somewhat dubious about the effectiveness of this product given that nothing else has ever worked to dry and deoderize my sweaty helmet. I was very pleasantly surprised after the first time I used it that I was able to put on a dry helmet to ride my horse instead of a somewhat damp one. I definitely recommend this!
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Product I bought this product on sale just to see if it actually works and it does! I put it in my helmet after every ride and leave it there until I ride again. My helmet wasn't that smelly to begin with, but it does seem to smell a bit fresher.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! After many years of rocking the plastic helmet, I finally invested in a nice quality helmet and wanted to do something to take care of it, rather than just tossing it in the back of the tack locker. I saw this on the winter clearance sale and thought even if it didn't work, the "ready to show" design was adorable. It really does work! I ride up to 4 horses a day and my helmet can get a little ripe, just put this in and the next day it's dry and fresh. Love it!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE it!!! I did not realize how thankful I am for this product until I borrowed someone else's helmet. Yuck! It was stinky, and all I could smell was that gross helmet smell long after I had taken off their stinky helmet. Mine is always fresh and never gets that gross smell thanks to this pouch. A cheap alternative to stinky helmet head!!!
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from amazing product but poor quality of bag I bought this during last winter's 20% off sale. I have been using it since. I love it, but the actual bag that contains the charcoal (ie not the paisley bit) has split open so I was not happy to find my helmet full of charcoal bits today :( I don't know if I can repair it or if I have lost too much of the charcoal. I will probably repurchase, but beware the sudden death of this thing. Oh, and in case you are wondering, having clods of charcoal in your hair is quite irritating....
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works! I bought this on a whim because I was tiring of spraying tons of deoderizer in my helmet. In the Florida summer we tend to get a little sweaty and going through $9 cans a week can get expensive. This little bag really does work. I pop it in after I ride and the next day my helmet is dry and fresh. I just wish it was about 2 inches bigger so it would cover the entire interior of my helmet. I may buy another one and just use two for that purpose.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea but way too small! I received my Fresh Helmet Sacks (I ordered two of them) and opened the packages with great anticipation in the hope of having a dry, non-stinky helmet! When I put the sack into my helmet (size 7 3/8) it only covered about a 4 inch square on the top of the helmet. It did a great job of doing what it was advertised to do - but only in this small area. I don't know about you but I perspire on the entire inner surface of my helmet (an IRH Elite Xtreme.) Because of the small size of the helmet sack the majority of my helmet was still gross when I put it on the next day. The Fresh Helmet Sack would be the perfect product if it were 3 of 4 times bigger and covered the entire interior of a helmet. I use a wire helmet rack and the sack is small enough to fall right through the wire frame. This product is a great idea and, if it were bigger, I would recommend it heartily. Unfortunately, because of it's small size, it just doesn't get the whole job done.
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I was a little suspicious about this working, but so far it has kept my helmet smelling fresh and dry. I keep my helmet in a cover bag so I was worried about putting it back in there wet so this has worked really well! I'd definitely buy it again
    Date published: 2011-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! This thing is so cool! I've been cursed with ridiculously over-active sweat glands and my poor helmet is practically soaked by the end of a ride. It used to be that I'd show up the following day to ride and get to put on a damp helmet - no fun for anyone! But this little invention dries it out quickly (along with the straps, which also get yucky) and keep it smelling reasonably good. Plus it comes in a cute patterned sack! I love this item.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works WONDERS!! I use this in my helmet after EVERY ride because I tend to sweat a lot because of the medications that I am on. This little sack keeps my helmet fresh and wicks away the sweat.A+ on this one!
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I was really surprised how well this works. If you sweat a lot (like I do, hehe) I would probably recommend buying 2 or 3 to rotate them around. No weird smell, helmet is much drier - so nice!
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this I ride 6-7 days a week. As a result, my helmet doesn't smell the best, especially in the summer. This was great. My helmet dried out quickly, and actually smelled good after using it. I would definitely recommend this product, it is well worth it.
    Date published: 2010-08-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I thought I don't think this helmet sack actually does anything. I put in in my helmet, I take my helmet back out, and it still stinks. It must have been my mistake, but for some reason I was under the impression that I would put my helmet IN the sack, not put the sack in the helmet. Regardless, it isn't what I expected.
    Date published: 2010-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! Our tack room is always damp, but has been exceptionally so this summer with all the heat and humidity. My helmet was taking multiple days to dry out, so I gave this a try.I was dubious, at first, but it really works! My helmet dries out over-night between rides and that funky smell is GONE. I love it!
    Date published: 2010-08-25
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.