Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Charles Owen JL9 Vest

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #18957
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A better vest for a better ride!  The Charles Owen JL9 Vest provides the feel of gel with the performance of foam. You'll feel free and flexible, instead of restricted and encased. The gel is much less rigid and molds more effectively to the body, especially in the ribs, for an optimal fit. This lightweight vest has an active joint, allowing the ribcage to expand without restriction. Certified BETA level 2, the JL9 vest provides the maximum in protection without the unwelcome bulk.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Constructed of Gelfoam® providing maximum protection without the bulk.
  • Ventilation holes covered in Coolmax® fabric for the utmost ventilation and wicking power
  • Active joint design prevents the vest from riding up
  • Lumbar support
  • Mobile phone pocket
  • Easy zip front with buckle closure
  • Outer cover is machine washable
  • Perfect for all riding whether out hacking, conquering a three day event, and anything in between! 
  • ASTM F1937/SEI

Sizing It Up

Safety Vest Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen JL9 Vest is rated 4.85 out of 5 by 20.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best vest you can get! Before buying this one I bought a cheaper, bulkier, very restrictive, pain-in-the-butt vest that I really (and I mean really) disliked. I decided to bite the bullet and take a loss on that purchase and spend a little extra to get a vest I could actually ride in. I could not be happier with this vest! The fit is fantastic, and the whole "molds to your body when it warms up" really is true. My favorite part is that I can take a full, deep breath in the vest, which is SO nice (it was terrible with my old vest). Yes, it may get a little hot in the summer, but it's really not that bad. Overall, it is the best vest that money can buy in my opinion--I could go on all day about how much I love it!
    Date published: 2014-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection I purchased this pad to offer some protection as I started my young horse under saddle. This vest is a bit heavy and can get warm, however it is very protective and unrestrictive. I like the fit, function and padding in this vest.
    Date published: 2014-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this vest I just got this vest last week and wore it in a hunter pace this past weekend. I wore it for two hours and it was really comfortable. It is flexible enough, cool enough (I wore a long sleeve shirt and a polo shirt and wasn't too hot), and it didn't feel bulky. It felt solid but comfortable. I am 5'6", 35" chest and 29" waist and got a small - I had to adjust it to the smallest size with the velcro on the sides. Anyone smaller than me would definitely need an XS. My only wish is that there was a second strip of velcro on the top side panels to secure the "extra" you get when you tighten the sides, but with the elastic belt I don't think it's moving. The material feels durable also. Can't wait for the next Pace to use it again!
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Vest This vest is solid and not too heavy. The range of motion is good. I would feel secure in it, but it is not Beta 3 approved. It is certified at ASTM level. If you don't need the higher rating you should try this.I say try because vests can be hard to fit. I tried four vest before buying. This vest in small was too big. I tried two other smalls and a teen ex large. I finally got a vest that is Beta 3 certified and comes in many women's sizes.I am an adult rider training a young horse. I will use it for daily riding and eventing when we're ready.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sadly had to return Very nice vest. Many "barn buddies" wear this vest where I ride. I am an adult, medium build and 5'2" tall. This vest was too long for my body. It would have hit the saddle as I rode. So, if you are somewhat short this vest will not work for you.
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very comfortable vest I've tried others and found this one to be very comfortable. It is snug and yet I can breathe and bend!
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I didn't expect to be a rider using a protective vest. After all, I'm a dressage rider and just how much trouble can we get in to? Then I found myself hugging Mother Earth when I least expected to. I researched vests and tried a few different ones on. I found the JL9 to have the ratings I wanted and the comfort I needed. I don't even realize I'm wearing it when I'm riding. It doesn't get in the way of sitting the trot. I also like the look because it gives a rather tailored look instead of a bulky appearance. Buy one.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, non-restricting vest This light-weight vest stands up well to 4x week use. Comfortable and non-restricting once your body heat warms the gel up a little bit. Fits well under a Carhartt jacket during the cold months, but doesn't get suffocatingly hot during the summer (breathes well). It's BETA certified, which is why I chose it over the Tipperary. I haven't fallen off yet (fingers crossed!) with it on, so I can't speak to that. I did have to go down a size though, as they tend to run large.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This vest saved me! I originally bought this for a pony club eventing rally for the XC part of it. The price isn't that bad compared to other vests. I was also debating to buy a Tipperary since it looked great, but this vest is BETA tested, unlike the Tipperary.The vest was a bit big on me (I purchased a small), and I wish there was more adjustability on the sides, because the sides were kind of big. When I actually rode in it, it felt great! It didn't make me hot, and it wasn't bulky at all. Unfortunately, I took a fall in it the first time I rode in it, and thank god I had this vest, otherwise I might have broken my back! I just brushed the vest off, and it was good as new.Overall, if you want a great vest, this is the one to get!
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Vest! This is my first vest and I couldn't be happier with it! This vest is really comfortable to ride in and isn't restrictive at all. The vest is amazing how it hugs to your body. I was concerned that I had too much room around my ribcage. I think I will just have to wear layers during the colder days and tighten up the sides on warmers days when I ride in a polo shirt. I do think that this vest is a little hot, but I tend to be hot blooded. Overall this vest was a big hit at my barn!
    Date published: 2011-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second review! After riding in this vest several times, I absolutely love it. I was a little concerned about having a little extra room around the ribcage, but with layers it fits beautifully.It was a warm day, and I did not find the vest hot or uncomfortable at all. I totally love this vest!This is an awesome vest- its comfortable, adjustable, cool, and not restrictive.I highly recommend this vest!
    Date published: 2010-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Vest! So far vest shopping has proved to be both difficult and annoying. I have tried multiple vests and have either had fit issues or comfort problems. I first tried the AiroWear Outlyne vest, which I totally loved but they didn't make them in a size that worked for me.I decided to try the JL9 out of desperation and I am pleasantly surprised. Its very comfortable after its warmed up, and does not hinder your body at all when jumping or galloping. I found that although it was a little hotter than my Tipperary, it was by no means uncomfortably hot or miserable. I actually really liked it!My only hesitation is the fit. The length is perfect, but its a little big around the ribcage even on the tightest velcro allowance. But I am just difficult to fit.Its an exceptional vest, for a great price! I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2010-09-19
    • 2015-03-03T06:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
    • loc_en_US, sid_8957, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.