Product Image

Vitamin B1 Pellets by SmartPak

SmartPak Equine
- Item #18913
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Vitamin B1 plays a crucial role in the proper transmission of nerve impulses, allowing horses to feel more focused and at ease. Vitamin B1 Pellets by SmartPak provide 1,000 mg of Vitamin B1 (Thiamine), and your horse is sure to love the taste!

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

View Product Label

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Vitamin B1 Pellets by SmartPak is rated 4.5426 out of 5 by 94.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has helped tremendously This supplement has helped my horse tremendously. I noticed this when I decided to take him off of it one month to save a buck or two. That month he was almost unmanageable as far as the "ghost in the bush" spookiness and extreme "ADD." As soon as he went back on it he was much less dramatic within a week. He is also a picky eater to the EXTREME (sometimes turns his nose up to grain-type horse treats) and eats this with no problem.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't say for sure this worked Would recommend giving this product a chance, as it was recommended to me by several people, including my vet tech. Can't say that I saw much of a difference in my young horse, though
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable Difference After having my 3yo show gelding on the b vitamin for a couple weeks i could see the difference in how he reacts to situations. His thought process is much stronger and he spooks less. I recommend this product to anyone.
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing B1 made a huge difference to my horse! She is a 10 year old TB mare that has raced. She was always nervous, this product made a huge difference. She is a completely different horse.
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses like it Even my picky eater will eat these pellets without any grain, and he does seem more relaxed when he gets B1. He's not so different under saddle (he's good with or without) but he's quieter in turnout (which was a problem previously) and his general demeanor is more relaxed. For example, he made some really nasty faces when other horses had to walk by him in the cross ties, but with the B1 he is a little more settled about that kind of stuff. I think before he was more defensive and territorial than aggressive, and with the supplement he can relax and not worry so much that the whole world is out to get him.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inexpensive Alternative to Calming Supplements I wanted to put my OTTB on some sort of calming supplement, but they're all so expensive! He was on the track for 6 years and is still getting used to the life of a show horse. After doing some research, it seems as if deficiencies in Vitamin B1 and Magnesium are common reasons horses are anxious. I use a hoof supplement which contains magnesium, and I wanted to supplement with B1 as well. I was excited to find a supplement which was just B1, without the expensive bells and whistles and questionably effective herbs. At just a half scoop a day, I've been thrilled with the results. My horse is much more relaxed and has stopped weaving in his stall. In addition, it has taken him from unmanageable (i.e. being dismissed from classes) to manageable (still nervous, but able to perform) at shows. I now add SmartCalm paste for shows, and finally feel like his anxiety is under control at all times.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great B1 Supplement This supplement is amazing! My picky eater loves this supplement. He has slight string halt and this helps so much! It also helps calm him down and relaxes him. I must buy for stressed horses or horses with string halt.
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will never run out again I have been trying calming supplements for years with my super hot, super spooky TB. About a year ago I started him on quiessence and smart park b1. I hade used smart calm and smart calm ultra but it did not really had the results I expected soi kept looking for for the right combination for my TB. I did a lot of research and decided to keep b1 in the combo of calming but was unsure as bit b1 can actually act as un upper liKe other b vit.Anyway, one day I run out of b1, and about 10 days after I run out I got a call from my barn that my horse had lost it. He can be turned out under specific conditions that of course my barn follows, but for 2 days he was completely losing it. Running himself white in the pasture within 10 min, pacing, bucking....even going crazy in his stall. I run to local feed store to get some b1 until my smarpak ordder could come in and within a couple days he calmed down. I will never run out of b1 ever again. And smart pak has the highest concentration for the price. Just wish they would sell it in bigger bulk.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy? Well maybe.... 2 out of 4 horses readily ate the product.The horse that needed it most, an OTTB, would not touch it - even when mixed in with a hot bran mash - which is his favorite.The mustang was also very suspicious but did eventually try it when mixed in with the bran mash. We jokingly say he is eating it with his front teeth only.
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best B1 Supplement I love that this supplement is in pellet form. My picky eater eats it right up!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be working Put my horse on the pellets because he is a bit hot and with winter coming he developed "winter brain" last year with limited turn out due to the weather. I"m not 100% sure if its me riding better, him on a better training schedule, or the pellets. But for $10 a month, I"m not going to change anything. My guy eats it right up, but he eats about anything.Would definitely suggest trying this supplement before one of the more expensive ones.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!!!! I have a 10 year old Quarter Horse gelding with an attitude problem. He acts more like a mare than a gelding. The vet suggested putting him on B1. I ordered from SmartPak because I trust and love their products. Right from the start I saw a big change in his attitude and behavior. He was much more agreeable and focused. He wasn't looking for a fight all the time. Everyone in the barn noticed a change in him too. Took him to a show after he had been on the B1 for a few weeks. He was a totally different horse. All business and eager to get to work!! Have suggested B1 to a few friends and they are thrilled with the results too! If you don't see any change in your horse with this product, double the dose, some horses need a double dose. This is a GREAT product and has made a huge difference in my horse.
    Date published: 2012-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak is the best! After a poor experience with SmartCalm Pellets (my horse apparently can't handle magnesium) I decided to try the B1 supplement. After 2 weeks he is a much happier, calmer horse and is actually paying attention to me when I ride. SmartPak also called me twice about the SmartCalm pellets to find out what went wrong (stomach problems) and to make sure my horse was okay. The best customer service I've received from any equine supply company. I've told everyone I know who rides to use SmartPak for ALL of their horsey needs!
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I have put 2 horses on this supplement. Both seem to be somewhat calmer; though, one is more so than the other. Another thing noticed, is that one used to circle in his stall more. Now it is easier to clean his stall in the morning as well. While the second horse is a tad calmer, it is not a dramatic difference, but I'll take it. I noticed that in other reviewer's comments, some observed it took longer to notice results. Sometimes it didn't help certain horses at all. So we'll see how it goes. So far, based on the very economical cost per horse, I'd say it's worth it already.
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Started my new horse on B1 pellets a couple of weeks after his arrival at his new home. He's an appendix qtr. horse and has that thoroughbred mentality. Nervous & unsettled at first, he is definitely calmer & much less excitable than upon his arrival. I feel that the B1 helped him relax, focus on his job more and allow him to feel more at home in his new surroundings.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from unbelievable!!! get it now!!! i have a barrel horse that was starting to have alot of issues in the gate. after about 5 days on this he was a completely different horse! i have trained and ridden my whole life and i have never seen a product work so well or so quickly! does not dull performance or speed like other calming products. he actually wants to go now! he will be on this product for the rest of his life! oh and the smartpacks and auto ship make it effortless on my part. thank you so much!
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement This is my final review for this supplement. My mare was put on it this Spring because she was unmanageable. She was naturally nervous, and a hot headed TB mare. She was easy to work with, calmer, less jumpy and more focused within a week of being on this supplement. I would ride her off property and she was a different horse. She's no longer being ridden so I took her off and put her on a multi-vitamin that had B-1 as an ingredient. I highly recommend Smart B-1 to anyone who has a nervous, unfocused or jumpy horse. I even tried it on a few other horses (short term for training) and it worked very well!It's also picky eater approved!
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He's happy and so am I This seems to have worked pretty quickly, my horse is more relaxed and therefore so much more focused. It did not alter his sensitivity or forward willingness just seems to have given him that "sigh", I can do this attitude back.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This helped my horse tremendously , he is a calm and happy horse
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been feeding B1 to my pony for about 2 months now, and I'm happy with the results I've been seeing. He seems to be a lot more rational and less explosive, but without seeming sedated or drowsy. The B1 is very palatable (and he is very picky!), and I'm able to feed it to him by hand as a treat. However, I had to double the recommended dosage in order to see an effect. My trainer mentioned that she had the same issue with this supplement, but resolved it by simply upping the dosage. My only complaint is that this is not sold in bigger quantities! I go through a bucket rather quickly now that I feed more than the recommended dosage. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking into calming supplements and vitamins for their spooky horse.
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Same as powder...good! My 12 y/o QH gelding has been on B1 for over a year, and he and I are both glad about that. He was on the powder version until the pellets came out. The pellets are just as effective as the powder, and he eats them right off the top of his grain. Cost effective supplement that makes him more relaxed and happy.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty pellets My horse loves the taste of these pellets! It has seemed to help with his spookiness when we trail ride...except for those pesky woodchucks!
    Date published: 2011-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked for a While... For the first week I had my Thoroughbred on this supplement it seemed to help him focus... but after that it only seemed to wind him up. He did better without it than with it, but at first there definitely was a difference in his focus.
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I started feeding B1 to my extremely spooky pony after a recommendation from my trainer. It's taken a few weeks, but I'm finally starting to see a decrease in his nervous energy. He's still the same looky pony, but it's much easier to get him to focus now. I did have to play with the dosage, however. I ended up feeding him 2 scoops a day instead of the suggested 1, and it wasn't until I upped the dosage that I saw a difference in behavior.
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.