Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Rambo® Original Turnout

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18720

FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The turnout that started it all!  The Rambo Original Turnout has the classic cut and material that you and your horse have come to know and love, with some great new features.

Favorite Features

  • Original neck design and straight front closures
  • 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer waterproof and breathable protection
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Anti-bacterial lining helps eliminate the conditions that cause bacteria growth
  • Available in Lite weight (No Fill), Medium weight (200g), and Heavy weight (370g)

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Imported

Sizing It Up

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Original Turnout is rated 4.6889 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Quality, but No Leg Straps I thought the material and fill in this was really nice and it seemed like a truly sturdy blanket, but there were no back leg straps, which I prefer to help keep a blanket in place. Instead it had a nylon strap around the butt, which would have been highly inefficient to clean should my horse poop on it. A 75 also dwarfed my leggy 16.2 warmblood cross, so that was a problem, too.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket, but too much for my horse I bought this blanket and really like the quality, but it was too bulky for my Morgan, he is a 15.3 hand gelding and I ordered him the 75.  I thought the quality was fantastic, but leg arches might have made the fit better.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All 4 of my horses have these blankets now. They are super easy to get and off and they last forever. I have tried many brands but Rambo is the best. I need to add that it arrived very quickly too.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made I have had this product before and was anxious to get a new one, however it did not fit my horse. The 78 is too tight in the chest/shoulder area but if I get a 81, it hangs off her butt. She is big chested and short backed, so unfortunately I had to purchase a different brand. But I love Rambo quality!!
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had 3 of these rain sheets for my horses. They are durable and totally water proof. Rambo makes a good product. Smartpak has the best price I have found.Thank-You
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket Ever I've owned my Rambo Original for 10 years now, and it doesn't have any rips. No leaks. No issues. No holes.After dealing with other blanket brands, I highly respect Horseware Ireland's products and am loyal to Rambo especially. Everyone in my barn has at least one Horseware Ireland turnout--I think it's partly because I'm such a huge fan!
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my 2nd Rambo rainsheet for this horse. Holds up very well and keeps him dry.
    Date published: 2013-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo quality Herdmates rough on blankets. This one still intact
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once again once again I purchase this turnout sheet. After trying other less expensive turn out sheets, I have returned to what I know. I have several if these sheets..yes they are more money, however they wear very well and keep the horses dry. I have a few of these that are 15-20 years old!
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my horse warm!! This is my second heavy Rambo, I like the changes they have made to them. My old one is over 20 years old. I feel better having this blanket on my 30 year old horse when the weather is cold.
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Durable This is the 3rd Rambo blanket I have owned. They last and last. I like this one in particular because it is one piece medium weight and stays put. I like the surcingles on the front closure rather than just Velcro. My horse runs, bucks and rolls in this blanket and it has served him well.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Original Still the Best I have tried a variety of turnouts over the years, and always end up coming back to the Rambo Original. With Arab/Saddlebred crosses, large shoulders are an issue. Other turnout brands and styles tend to cause rub marks over time. The Rambo Original is roomy enough to avoid this cosmetic problem. My only caveat with this blanket is the clips on the chest. I have one very rambunctious young gelding who manages to undo the clips in play with his field mates. For him, I have a seamstress replace the clips with a type that holds fast.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second one My first Rambo lasted about 20 years with a few usual repairs. The new Rambo has some nice durability improvements....
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Turnout Excels I use it on my retired horses that live outside year round. Holds up great in the wind and rain, keeps them warm and protected, and extremely durable. They last 4-5 years easy, worth the price you pay.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing quality! I love this blanket, I can tell it's durable ans sturdy. It's soft too, and supplies alot of warmth! I live in Illinois and it gets very cold. I find this blanket runs a little large though.
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longest Lasting-Best Quality My last one lasted over 12 years. It was worth every penny. The breathability and warmth of this blanket are unsurpassed. My horse is a dingbat too, so the fact that I got to use it on him for his entire life, plus a few years on his mom tells me this blanket is the bomb! It's comfy and non-restrictive too. Although, you'd have to ask my horse to verify this.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I heart the Rambo Original Turnout Love this blanket! It is fantastic value for the money. They are virtually indestructible, and I have learned my lesson to avoid the somewhat cheaper blankets that seem to need replacing in 7 or 8 years. I only ordered another one because I got another horse. Its nice to know that this blanket will serve him well for a very long time. Also, the fit seems to be perfect for my low-withered, round-bodied Friesians.
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than worth it I bought a Rambo heavyweight for my horse his first winter with us; now, 12 years later he is still wearing that blanket during the coldest parts of winter, all day everyday. It is waterproof as could be and there isn't a tear to be seen. These blankets are worth the piece of mind that your horse is dry and comfortable when you aren't there. And they are built to last a lifetime!! The style actually fits my 15.3 h, 1400 lbs quarter horse very well (he's an 81). He obviously has completed his collection with a light weight, medium weight, and stable sheet. I also recently purchased a whole new set of blankets for my new horse, and once again the style suits my 1100 lbs, 16.1 h quarter horse well! (78")
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Rambo got it right the first time the rug for my draft horse fits as if made for him I will always buy Rambo for him
    Date published: 2012-01-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from got a bad one I've always bought Rambo blankets and loved them. In November I purchased my sixth Rambo, I also own other Triple Crown products by Horseware. With in 12 hours of being on my horse the blanket fell apart(surcingle stitching came undone), and I found the blanket in the field. My horse is not a blanket destroyer nor did it catch on anything. It just must have been defective. My problem is that I couldn't just return it and get a new one. I had to send it to Horseware. Therefore I had to buy a new blanket while I waited for the "warranty" work to be completed(also, I had to have it cleaned before I could send it back, Horseware only accepts clean blankets). Smartpak, however, was good to deal with and I bought a cheaper medium weight blanket with free overnight shipping. Horseware refunded my money through Smartpak just over a month later. Horseware never contacted me at all through out the five weeks. I still needed a heavy winter blanket so I ordered a Rambo Supreme. Three weeks later I'm still waiting for it to arrive from Horseware(drop shipped). I think winter will be over before it arrives. Love Smartpak, starting to really dislike Horseware. By the way... my smartpak pink plaid thinsulate blanket is holding up fantastically, if I didn't live in Michigan I just use that all winter. My gelding could care less about the color.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket So far, so good. Already covered in mud and well loved. I can speak to the durability after the winter :)
    Date published: 2012-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks amazing! Good fit At first I wasn't sure about the blue with red trim but it actually looks great on my chestnut! He's 17hh and the 87" fits great! Looks sturdy and durable so far on minor little tears probably from our guys hanging it on the fence when they take the blanket off....and I do have a blanket rack, but they just don't use it don't know why....but yes I would recommend this turnout blanket, when I come to get my big boy and check under the blanket to see if he's warm and he is! he also stays dry on the rainy days so I'm not putting my saddle on a wet horse! Great buy!
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A slight change to the original I have always bought the Rambo line of blankets, and they never fail. I am writing this review just to state that the heavy is now heavier. I am from the Mid-Atlantic region and usually purchase a heavy and a light, which gets us through the winter just fine. I did the same this year, but the fill for the heavy has changed, and now the heavy is too warm for my unclipped horse (I usually don't clip until the spring). I still recommend this blanket by all means!
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket This is my first Rambo blanket and I'm sorry I waited so long to get one. Size is generous and fit is perfect for my thick necked Lusitano. It's easy for him to put his head down to graze without being chocked by the blanket. Does not slip from side to side and so far it's very water proof!
    Date published: 2011-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good turnout Although this hasn't gone through a winter yet, I think it will do just fine. The 81 fits my 16.1 Friesian Cross great and she looks good in the pasture too. Money well spent.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth every penny I purchased this blanket 5 years ago for my 16.3 warmblood. The 75 fit him perfectly (he's on the dainty side for a WB). This blanket has held up INCREDIBLY well. My guy rolls all the time, and I've never had a problem with this blanket slipping or sliding. The red trim has faded, and the navy blue isn't as deep as it used to be, but the thing still repels water and keeps my horse toasty and dry through the cold Vermont winter months.These blankets aren't cheap, but the way I see it, you can spend a couple hundred dollars on a blanket that will last 4-5+ years, or spend a hundred dollars every year to replace cheap blankets. The Rambo line is absolutely worth every penny, and when this one finally kicks the bucket, I will be buying another one.
    Date published: 2011-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket By Far!! I purchased this blacket when I first got my boy 5 years ago, and it still looks brand new. My boy lived outside 24/7 for the first two years I owned him, and thanks to this blanket, I didn't have to worry about him in these New England winters.The fit is very true, leaves plenty of room around my QH's big chest and hind end. The tail flap covers his big hiney just fine and has stood against curious goats for years!Years later, this is still my favorite blanket to put on my guy. It's withstood numerous washings and many snow storms.. and keeps my guy warm and dry no matter what!The blanket has held up beautifully, no rips or tears. Color hasen't even faded. Absolutely worth the buy! I will never own another brand of blanket!
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS BLANKET! This is a very nice well fitted blanket. I have a t-bred and although it is a wee bit wide on him, I still love it because I can layer under it. It is warm and light and easy to use. Love the material. I also had a monogram placed and it is really nice. Icing on the cake. Love this!
    Date published: 2011-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific This blanket is as tough as it is good-looking. My horses have the ability to destroy all blankets with the exception of Rambo and Baker blankets and sheets. This one is no exception.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Good Blankets But Pricey and Over rated. I really like the Rambo line and have used them on and off for years...here and there. But I really think there are way cheaper blankets out there that last just as long and wear just as well as Rambo's. These will last for years and years though if you watch your horse like a hawk..but they do rip and tear just like any other blanket on the market so the claims they are almost indestructible aren't really accurate. Horses can rip and destroy any blanket even Rambo's. I really like the fit and fittings though. BUT the color combinations available are kinda horrid. I remember in Ireland & in Australia years ago -when I lived there they had a lot of nicer color combo's I don't know why they changed them...Sizes are really accurate though they don't run too small or too large. They are very waterproof and they material these blankets are made from do breathe well. No nasty sweating.
    Date published: 2011-06-24
    • 2015-03-05T07:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
    • loc_en_US, sid_8720, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.