Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Rambo® Wug Turnout w/ Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18713

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Wug you love, with great new features! High-neck protection from rain and snow without a neck cover. 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer waterproof and breathable protection. The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating. Anti-bacterial lining helps eliminate the conditions that cause bacteria growth, while the PVC coated tail cord and removable surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean. Heavy has 370g fill, Medium has 200g fill and Lite has no fill. All weights offer the patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snaps, PVC coated tail cord, large tail flap, removable triple belly surcingles, reflective strips and high neck cut with leg arches. Lite weight is available in Purple/Silver, Medium weight is available in Navy/Silver, Heavy weight is available in Purple/Silver or Chocolate, Duck Egg & Black. Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Rambo® Wug Turnout w/ Leg Arches is rated 4.5862 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these blankets The Rambo Wug Turnouts are the best return for your money. I bought my first Horseware Ireland Blankets 9 years ago and I am still using them!!! Still waterproof and looking good!!! Why buy anything else? I recommend them to all my equine friends. Go Rambo!!!
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Choice Love the Rambos, I have an original heavy that Ive had for 6 years and its still waterproof and looks great. Slowly switching all of my blankets over to the rambos and wanted to try the wug to keep my clipped horse warmer and dryer for turnout. I love the new rambo features and I don't doubt that the quality will be anything less than great
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet I have only been using this for about a month, but have been extremely happy so far. I have a Friesian/TB cross with a moderately broad chest, and it fits her perfectly. She normally wears between a 78 and an 80 (usually 80 in Kensington), and I got this in a 78 as I heard it runs a little large-- very glad I did, as this is perfect.It is very light but well constructed. I love the color, and it doesn't show dirt too badly. I wasn't too sure about the high neck at first, but now really like how it keeps her mane smooth and tangle-free. It has been totally waterproof so far, and appears likely to remain that way for a long time. It doesn't shift around at all, and no sign of rubs developing.The only thing I don't like is that the tail cord gets all covered with manure, but at least it is covered with plastic so reasonably washable, and can order replacement ones if necessary.Also, the belly straps are a little long-- they are just perfect at the smallest setting on my girl, but might be a problem if you have a skinny horse.I got the Saratoga polarfleece blanket liner to use this with when the weather gets colder, and when I tried them on it looked like they will work great together.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A reasonable purchase I have 3 horses and bought 6 Rambos! 3 Lites and 3 Heavy weights. I use the lights a lot when its warm but we have a lot of rain (upstate NY) I am disappointed that the belly surcingles are so long and you cannot adjust them. One of my horses when he rolls gets his foot caught and has ripped his blanket 4 times. Rambo didnt want to know about a repair even though I had only had the blanket 6 months. I paid someone to repair the surcingle and now hes done it again. The blanket was expensive and I have bought a Rambo stable blanket in England and it lasted but on a different horse. I have ended up Gorrilla gluing the clip to the surcingle and will have to put a knot in the surcingle so that it doesnt hang down too much. This is ona 16hh British warmblood. My other horses seem ok with theirs but they dont roll as much. I wish the after service was better and the surcingles were shorter. Other than that I like the WUG because water doesnt get down the horses necks.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Wug! I researched so many blankets for the winter and finally decided on the Rambo products. This turnout kept my mare snuggly warm and the durability is excellent. The fit was pretty on track, so if you think you will need extra room to put something under for extra warmth, don't worry...it's plenty warm. My mare is turned out with another biting mare and not ONE rip or tear in the turnout, even though my mare had ripped hairs from the bites underneath. I would have never known she was being bit, if I didn't remove the blanket. Love the removable tail cord...easy to clean. Overall, awesome turnout and worth the money!
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking quality Too early in the year to use it. The quality looks great and the fit was perfect. Can't wait to try it out this winter, our first in Virginia. Hope it will be warm enough... it looks like it will survive a few winters the buckles definitely look heavy duty. The previous reviews really helped make my decision to purchase this blanket.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great quality. Runs slightly large. I ordered my horses usual size (72) and it is slightly big but not so much that it isn't usable.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Rambo!! Horseware Ireland has some of the highest quality blankets I have ever seen. My horse is rough on his blankets and this seems to be the only brand that can keep up. Also, the v-neck closure system is wonderful and is the only style blanket that does not rub my horse's shoulders. No need for shoulder guards for these blankets. Although pricey, this blanket is well worth the cost. The blanket is thin but extremely warm so it is not bulky. The medium weight was enough for my horse who does not grow much of a winter coat. My horse has always worn an 81 in Horseware products but this blanket did seem a little big. Could have possibly ordered size smaller. I love the PVC coated tail cord- easy to clean, just wipe down. Also the removable belly straps are nice as well. These blankets seem to last a very long time too. Overall this is a FANTASTIC blanket that is warm without the bulk and kept my horse happy and warm all winter.
    Date published: 2011-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Rambo My horse is prone to Rain Rot so choosing the best blanket was a high priority. Rambo is pricey but my horse has been rain rot free with it's incredible water proof blanket. The anti-bacterial layer must be working for he lives in his blanket during the winter. The NEXT best thing about this blanket is the tail cord. The plastic coating should be standard on all blankets. No more messy manure straps.
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Wug - The best out there. This (2011) is the 4th winter for my 2 Wugs. My horses wear them for 3 months (except for regular grooming) and they are just this winter showing signs of wear. Still waterproof, no sliding or shifting. No wither rubbing - ever. They run, roll and play in them... Not couch potatoes. Great product!!
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I will never buy anything but a Rambo from now on. I have tried less expensive blankets and find that they rip much more easily and a waste of money. I have bought Rambos in the past and now will never try anything else.
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy Dry Comfort I love this blanket! I got it for Christmas for my horse who moved to Aiken, so he's outside now much more than he was before. He's always dry and it is a little big, but going down to the next size would be too small.I've had it for a few months and it's still almost like brand new, and trust me, he doesn't treat his clothing well!
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough blanket for a tough horse My horse goes thru stuff like wind thru his mane. This Rambo Wug is the best turnout for my tough guy.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shifty, But Warm Very well made blanket.Would have preferred a deeper drop.The tail cord is a bungee type cord covered in clear plastic. Not very functional and the plastic coating cracked and peeled on the first wearing.Much improved front closure. Actually stays closed as opposed to other Rambo blankets I've purchased.size 78" approaches being too short for my 80" horse, though an 81" would be too long.No matter how I adjust the surcingles the blanket shifts daily.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding blanket I have used the Rhino wugs for years and decided to venture to the Rambo for a medium blanket. The medium weight is heavy enough to use as a heavy weight here in VA. It is great quality- especially love the pvc coated tail cord and the v-neck closure. Never gives my horse shoulder rubs. The hardware is strong and durable. The blanket is tough and holds up well- even with the intense playing my horse does with his buddies. Great blanket for horses that are tough on blankets.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Blanket for Cold Winters Just purchased this blanket and I love it. Great looking, high quality and super warm for Vermont winters. Seems to run a little large so I ordered down and it fit my TN Walker perfectly.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to Fit Horse I have a 17.2h warmblood with a looong back. This has made finding a blanket hard. I love my Weatherbeeta 87" sheet but found that they don't make their heavier blankets over an 84 so I did some research and found the Rambos make an 87" so I went for it. It is pricey for the quality.(only 1000 denier) I do NOT like the fact that you can't adjust the front they run very narrow. My guy is not wide at all he's build very fine but it is small in the shoulders. Length is great and it goes around his belly nicely. Tail cord could be shorter(wind blows it open) I've ony had it a few days but I do suspect it will rub.
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior Product, Best Turnout Ever Great Turnout! This is my 5th Rambo turnout purchase. The 1st one I bought was over 10 years ago & I still use it. I love the new Wug. The high neck is great, rain does not drip onto the body. The new straps are fabulous, you can replace them since they are velcro. The Blue colour, is very handsome, love the addition of reflective accents, you can find your horse in the dark. With the high neck & longer sides my horse keeps completely dry, also even when he rolls, it goes right back into place. Don't forget the added bonus of the high tech tail strap, very durable. Yes, it costs more than most, but worth the price considering the quality & warranty. I now am a Rambo only consumer. I highly recommend this brand & specifically the Wug.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best! My horse is an hard fit for blankets, all the others I bought either give rubs and/or don't cover properly and give him rain rot.Rambo not only fits him, but all the other horses I've put it on.Worth every penny I spent on it!
    Date published: 2010-09-15
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.